Cable Management Thread V2, Share your cabling tricks here

Clem1982
post Oct 13 2010, 09:38 PM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

QUOTE(mpstr @ Oct 12 2010, 11:55 PM)
imo,
the way u manage the cable is quite good..
cant hide those cables u have managed?
nice try anyway!

Added on October 13, 2010, 2:18 ammy first time doing cable management...
lots of things learn from this thread... thumbup.gif
took me about 2 hours as im noob about this... sweat.gif
do comment my cable management...

if only i have sum budget...i think ill sleeve those worms... sad.gif
anyway, how to manage that 6-pin GPU cable? hmm.gif
anybody?
Nicely done there, My 6-pin also protrude like that, not much can do lolz is your PSU modular?
Clem1982
post Oct 14 2010, 11:11 AM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

QUOTE(mpstr @ Oct 13 2010, 11:10 PM)
thanx dude...
nope..just have non-modular one...dats why all cable like cacing and as stated, not enuf budget...so no sleeve for the PSU.. sweat.gif
lol U have less cables than I have I think thats y still kemas looking haha, planning to change out the 700W PSU on mine soon rclxub.gif
Clem1982
post Oct 14 2010, 01:53 PM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

QUOTE(mpstr @ Oct 14 2010, 12:04 PM)
really?!
i dunno about how many cables with dif brand of PSU...so what brand and model of ur PSU?
if want to change just give it to me ur 700W... brows.gif  brows.gif  brows.gif
Its on my Sig but anyway.. its a Huntkey 700W box said rated at 80+ but dunno how true, I bought it cause it was cheaper than what normally a 550W modular would cost lol RM280 I think.. Back then I dunno how much power I needed lol

Wa.. giv kenot la..wanna sell for some $$$ to get modular lol but now also no budget or plan to change yet.. maybe by christmas wink.gif
Clem1982
post Oct 29 2010, 02:04 PM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

QUOTE(Jet23sky @ Oct 29 2010, 09:53 AM)
Guys, it is possible to get those black cover box to cover the exessive cable? I'm planning to get one as I really cant find any other way to hide those cables >.<
Black cover box?? u mean like the one they have for the CM HAF-X? haven't seen any of those around sold seperately bro... maybe u can ask the forumers here and see who is willing to part with it? lol tongue.gif but then again.. you could make it out from alumunium sheets ......or acrylic... and paint them UV reactive..... hmm... hmm.gif now thats a thought.... biggrin.gif
Clem1982
post Dec 15 2010, 04:52 PM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

Was "de-dusting" my PC so took a few shots of the cable management before closing the side panel tongue.gif

Overall shot, shaky hands tongue.gif

So wish I have 90degree angle SATA on my mobo sad.gif and also more SATA ports cry.gif

Wishing for modular PSU now, cable mgt here has been rclxub.gif
Clem1982
post Dec 19 2011, 10:01 AM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

QUOTE(Source96 @ Dec 18 2011, 12:49 AM)
Not all are very poor.But i do admit those entry-level ones are poor built.The elite series cases are so light,yet i assume its extremely fragile.
But HAF series shouldn't be a problem. wink.gif
I agree with u, especially the side panels... flimsy and tend to flex when handled.. rattles badly with a side fan on it rclxub.gif
Clem1982
post Dec 23 2011, 07:16 AM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

They are hot from the beginning, its just that they started off being very expensive with the 800D and slowly they expanded to the Graphite then finally the Carbite series
Clem1982
post Jan 7 2012, 10:11 AM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

QUOTE(Lurker @ Jan 7 2012, 09:33 AM)
may i know where can i buy the power cable for hdd like the pic posted before? what is the porper name to call it? tongue.gif
thanks!

that comes with the case actually cause it features hot-swap for the HDDs, but u can get them "molex to multiple sata power extension" like so

from here http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1939861
Clem1982
post Jan 13 2012, 09:03 AM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

QUOTE(azizul9736 @ Jan 12 2012, 09:16 PM)
how ?

hmm... Start from the top 200mm fan... tuck the wire behind the tray from the top instead of going for the CM hole

shift the 24-pin connector to the upper CM hole for a better look and ur pcie 6-pins to be shifted to the middle Cm hole so that its wrapping as close as possible to the GPU

Have your USB2.0 connectors come out from the side of the PSU... should be a little hole there if u move the PSU out a bit wink.gif

other front panel connectors u can do what cyntrix does and rout them between the mobo and the mobo tray... u will have to remove ur mobo to do this though

lastly, shift the 2 HDDs u have down to the smaller drive cage so that u can hide the sata cables easier wink.gif
Clem1982
post Jan 13 2012, 10:21 AM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

QUOTE(j_petrucci @ Jan 13 2012, 10:17 AM)
me? of coz i can but other people i cant say the same too.. lets say u put 3 pics + spoiler and in if 1 page u have 4 posts how many pics already?? and what if other users following u with 3 pics also have posts on the same page.. that wud be so many pics already right??? pity to other people u have slow connections they are having a hard time to even load a single page if this persists.
I think its fine the way it is.. I mean u can't expect to click this topic expecting no pictures right?? its bound to be heavy with picts cause not everyone will know how to resize them cause ppl who post here are normally those seeking advice who are new to the forum anyway
Clem1982
post Jan 15 2012, 04:15 PM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

QUOTE(azizul9736 @ Jan 15 2012, 10:26 AM)
re-do cable, But concern on my HDD getting heat-up , prevly i separate it. HOW?

no cause for concern there I suppose check with HWmonitor to see ur HDD temp... I doubt its anything close to overheating... HDDs works best at about between 35C to 55C IINM so go figure... wink.gif

anyway nice job on the CM, looks a lot neater IMHO biggrin.gif
Clem1982
post Jan 20 2012, 10:27 PM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

@SoR, good improvements there bro smile.gif
Clem1982
post Jan 21 2012, 08:54 AM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

QUOTE(soR @ Jan 20 2012, 11:59 PM)
yeah went ace hardware and bought 2-3packets of cable ties and it realy helps alot

Added on January 21, 2012, 12:00 am
whats that?
ACE hardware is expensive IMHO I usually just go to a normal hardware shop lol

and yes sleeved cables are expensive.. not necessarily to be done now but u may do that next time
Clem1982
post Feb 9 2012, 09:11 AM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

QUOTE(ashSDPC @ Feb 9 2012, 03:38 AM)
hello all LYN mamber...want ask where i can get this??its come with casing or i can buy separate??if can buy separate where i can get??
that comes with the chassis unless someone wanna sell off lol
Clem1982
post Feb 13 2012, 09:07 AM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

QUOTE(Shahzz85 @ Feb 12 2012, 10:54 AM)
how about my cable management?..still noob..hehe..any other way to improve?..

p/s: sorry for bad quality pic,just snap via fon..hehe
Looks good with stock cables, lol 1st time I see a GPU slanting upwards wink.gif might wanna release the tension of the cable tie holding it a little so that it would sit horizontally with ur mobo

if u want ur cables to look better maybe u can consider sleeved extensions or custom sleeving for ur PSU wink.gif but for now this is good, well done thumbup.gif
Clem1982
post Mar 5 2012, 08:50 AM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

QUOTE(demons88 @ Mar 4 2012, 07:03 PM)
Here you go...

600T
i5
gtx560
corsair vengence 4gb x 2
silverstone strider plus 600w
60gb ssd
samsung dvd writer
Nice work on the cables at the back thumbup.gif is that a fan controller on the 7th expansion panel?? it'd probably be better if u route it up along the side of the back exhaust fan rathre than across ur mobo to where ur PCIe power is wink.gif

This post has been edited by Clem1982: Mar 5 2012, 08:50 AM
Clem1982
post May 30 2012, 09:18 AM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

QUOTE(ijatneda @ May 29 2012, 07:42 PM)
Want to show some of cable that I can manage,
Comment and suggestion are welcome.
[attachmentid=2865308]
on a CM690 basic thats a very good job with the cables IMHO but if you really want an opinion.. try getting the PCIe power cables to hug closer to the GPU and shorten the protruding 24-pin power cables wink.gif
Clem1982
post May 30 2012, 09:34 AM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

QUOTE(ijatneda @ May 30 2012, 09:24 AM)
Thanks for the opinion,I try do what you suggest,but back side already pack.And to assemble the back cover,need to force a little bit since the gap of the tray motherboard is so little and the 24 pin cable is so thick.
I know how u feel, have a 690 basic at hometown too and I dun dare squeeze the cables between the mobo tray and side panel so I bundled up the unused cables near to the PSU before the bottom fan, and place the 24 pin as closely as possible to the bottom of the mobo lol been that way since 2 years ago... always saying that I'd single-sleeve the PSU and tuck them in the back but never had the chance
Clem1982
post Jun 15 2012, 09:03 AM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

QUOTE(demons88 @ Jun 11 2012, 12:50 PM)
Thank you so much...
Nice work there thumbup.gif modular PSU really helps and good work with the cable ties
Clem1982
post Jun 26 2012, 09:50 AM

Just Helping Out ^^
8,746 posts

QUOTE(Jackzz9011 @ Jun 23 2012, 10:37 PM)
Ya same.. When i doing the cable management.. I got think to hide the motherboard supplies  to the back but my power supplies cable is not enough long to make it... And i cant manage to find any extension 8-pin power cord for the motherboard at ipoh.. I will try go do survey at low yat see got anot..
you could order the 8-pin extension from LYN here u know... niclasteoh one that will do custom cable extensions while some sellers will have sleeved cable extensions from the likes of Bitfenix or NZXT

0.0361sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 08:29 AM