26 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Bottom

Plan to buy a NEW / USED car?, ASK HERE for recommendation.

zenix
post Sep 18 2013, 11:16 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(HeReLiSm @ Sep 17 2013, 11:41 PM)
why is that focus is much cheaper than japanese cars? is it because of ford's resale value or something else? even comparing with same year production of japanese cars  hmm.gif
yeap resale value is really terrible for Focus doh.gif
zenix
post Sep 18 2013, 03:32 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(prince_katana @ Sep 18 2013, 03:09 PM)
If vios how? Easy to search sparepart?
vios too common of course laugh.gif
zenix
post Sep 20 2013, 01:41 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(HeReLiSm @ Sep 18 2013, 10:08 PM)
can you tell us why is that so? the price range for used focus is very tempting, but sometime too good to be true, since its a conti car.
My answer would be similar to what I wrote about the Pug 308T below.
Conti's usually have very poor resale value.
They're not too good for non-petrol heads that just want to pump petrol and drive then send it to service center every 3 months and expect to only pay rm200 or less each service.

If you love cars you'll love conti's.....high spec...high safety features....low price, just need to give it TLC on maintenance and do some research to find the best specialist workshops and parts stockist to keep cost low.

QUOTE(prince_katana @ Sep 19 2013, 09:10 AM)
if i get for Vios 2004 at rm38k is that worth for money? can it last longer for 7 years?  blush.gif
You're going to buy a car that is going to be 10 years old, and then its expected to be working until is 17 years old. Maybe abit difficult, I know Toyota is known for quality cars but those are like the ones they built in the 80s and 90s, the Toyota nowadays aren't built to last forever anymore.

They're built to last a product lifecycle which is typically about 10years.
Year 1 - launch new model
Year 5 - facelift
Year 9 - replacement model arrives

Although there is no doubt you'll still be able to service, fix and get parts for it when its old but if I were to get a car that is going to last I think I would go for something better.

2006 Nissan Sentra - you can find cheaper ones but I think this one being advertised is in very good condition, plus it is 2 years younger than the Vios. But I think if you're really looking for something which is good and going to last you another 7 years get something younger like this 2008 Nissan Sentra so rm5000 more gets you a car an additional 2 years younger. So after another 7 years it is still going to be 4 years younger than the 2004 Toyota Vios....food for thought?

2008 Toyota Avanza - cheap and cheerful, you get a young car at a very low price. Although I've complained about this car before for being underpowered and handles like a barn, when you don't have much budget the choices aren't alot.

2007 Ford Focus 1.8 - if you're willing to put abit of effort on car maintenance which includes regular servicing and joining the clubs so you can get information on which parts stockist to get the best price for parts then i thoroughly recommend you to go for a Focus. No doubt maintenance wise it will be slightly higher but it is a very very good car. Powerful 1800cc engine, 6AT gearbox, many features like rear aircond, good handling, good looks, high safety equipment, etc. Of course after 7 years the resale value is going to be very low or next to nothing but before that happens you have a very good car to drive on and enjoy it.....then again any car above 10 years is going to have shit resale value.

QUOTE(mr.hikano @ Sep 19 2013, 04:08 PM)
May I ask why Peugeot 308 Turbo 2nd hand selling price is so cheap???
2010 and early 2011 can buy for 65k - 69k only? may i know why?
Plus same price with same year 308 VTi
A few reasons:

1. Continental cars usually bad resale value, resale value and depreciation is tied together. So if the market likes that car it will always have a good price, e.g. Honda Civic EK you can still see this car demanding a price of at least RM20,000 while all the cars in her era are below RM20,000 already. More demand so higher resale value.

2. Higher maintenance cost as with all conti cars the maintenance is spread out longer but once it comes its a going to burn, e.g. Japanese cars 5000km service rm200, Conti cars 10000km service rm400, and that's just counting the normal service if lump in together with major service its going to be more than rm1000 as major service for Japanese cars do tend to be about rm500-700. * ballpark figures for average C-segment Japanese car vs Conti. Additionally, conti cars aren't as common thus parts stockist normally don't have many variants for you to choose, if you ask them for parts for a Toyota Altis they'll ask if you want new original UMW,new original Toyota Japan/new oem local/new oem japan/new cetak rompak/used/recondition for conti's you don't have so many choices.

3. For a Turbo car it lacks kick. I've driven and sat as a passenger in one. It doesn't give me that surge of power a Turbo should give. Fortunately, the Pug 408 which is essentially a sedan version of the Pug 308 has fixed all these issues and feels decently fast, even the newer facelifted Pug 308 with 5AT feels better. So because all pre-facelift cars that has the 4AT sucks, it doesn't take a stretch of the imagination as to why people aren't interested to buy it second hand.

If the Turbo sucks you think the VTI would be any better? laugh.gif
zenix
post Sep 23 2013, 10:11 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(kenling @ Sep 20 2013, 05:03 PM)
looking to buy an estima for below 150k but its so confusing. some 2008 models can go for 136k all the way to 160k. i really don't know how to choose. my requirements are simple: 2 power doors and 7 seater. anyone can advise and or recommend a good salesman/shop to go to around cheras area please?
We're just going to focus on recons, the variable price usually is because of the variable amount of trim the Estima can be had, plus also the year it was made, then another factor is the condition it is when it arrives in Malaysia. Anything with some mileage is considered recon, don't be fooled by the dealer to pay for new car price when it is really a recon in very good condition.

Generally...

First Gen - only can get used no more recon as they're made from 1990-2000

Second Gen - most common version being sold at recon car dealers, made from 2000-2006 (yet some dealers state that their version is last batch most updated facelift from 2008 whistling.gif )
Engine variants 2000cc diesel, 2500cc petrol, 3000cc v6 petrol.
Gearbox variants 4AT (4 speed auto), 5AT and CVT (hybrid only).

Third Gen - made from 2006 to present
Engine variants 2400cc petrol and 3500 v5 petrol.
Gearbox variants 4AT, 5AT and CVT (hybrid and non-hybrid).
IINM they have many specs but the ones our recon imports usually have are G, X, S.

G Model is better than X. For Aeras, there is G-Edition and G-Package. Areas G-Package is a 3.5L. G-Model doesn't have the body kit. Here is a list of standard equipment in X and G-Model.

2.4L X Model
- 205/65R16 tires
- Halogen headlight with manual leveling
- Silver instrument panel

2.4L G-Model
- 215/55R17 tires
- HID with AFS and automatic leveling
- Rain Sensor
- Cruise Control
- Long Slide console box with wood grain
- Plasma Cluster Air-Con
- Driver's electric seat
- Rear automatic Air-Con
- Wood grain instrument panel

Major differences between X and S:
- driver's side power door is included in S package (otherwise only left side)
- AFS front lights
- 18" factory-fitted rims (this is unique to S package)

Differences between S package and G-edition are mostly interior packaging
like cruise control, electric seats, plasmacluster aircon, meter, woodgrain, etc.

All editions have 2.4 and 3.5 litre options except G.

Save yourself alot of headache just go for 2008 Toyota Estima 2.4 S-spec @ RM145k

QUOTE(khoo8118 @ Sep 22 2013, 05:42 PM)
daiko...is it kuga a good buy? how is the fc?
Ford Kuga is basically a Ford Focus bodyshell with AWD drivetrain and higher profile. However, for the Malaysian market I don't find any spec sheet which states it has AWD so I'm guessing we're getting the variant without AWD so it will look like an SUV but it is only going to be a 2 wheel drive.

Kuga uses a GTDI engine which essentially means (Gasoline Turbo Direct Injection) or also known as EcoBoost which translate to 132hp with 240nm torque on a 1682kg car. That's about the same performance if it was installed with a 1800cc or 2000cc engine, the reason why most conti's are using lower engine capacity with turbo chargers is because of emissions. So this "turbo" isn't a performance variant like the ones you'll find on the Ford Focus ST, it is tuned to be fuel efficient, so while it is enough to lug the car around -- don't expect sports car like pickup and performance.

Safety wise it is pretty tricked out no complaints here and some of the accessories are pretty neat like opening the boot by just triggering the sensor under the bumper with your feet.

So in conclusion, if you're okay with just normal performance and lack of AWD it is a decent buy.

An alternative around the same price range would be the Subaru XV. Like the Kuga is it built from a sedan car bodyshell as the XV lends its "bones" from the Impreza but doesn't get to retain the fire-breathing turbo engine, instead it is stripped down to become a normal aspirated engine (non-turbo, Subaru-fags will call it crippled). Unlike the Kuga the XV gets to keep its AWD drivetrain because symmetric AWD is so tied to Subaru DNA it is quite rare to find Subaru cars without it.

With the "crippled" engine it manages to output 110hp with 196nm troque but the XV is lighter at only 1430kg over Kuga's 1682kg, so that's roughly 270kg which is equivalent to having an additional 4 passengers with an average weight of 60kg! Now you can imagine abit why I'm proposing the Kuga isn't going to be too spiritedly when moving forward from a complete stop?

2013 Ford Kuga 1.6 EcoBoost @ 150k

2013 Subaru XV 2.0 @ 130k

Though I'd rather put my money on this car even-though it might be boring common on the roads, at least I can afford to trade-in and get a new car because it doesn't depreciate like a rock on water.

2013 Honda CRV 2.0 iVTEC @ 145k

zenix
post Sep 23 2013, 01:41 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(freddie @ Sep 23 2013, 12:40 PM)
bro... i think you meant kW, not hp for both kuga and xv's horsepower.
go convert here nazi
http://www.convertunits.com/from/kW/to/hp
zenix
post Sep 24 2013, 09:20 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(henkisdabro @ Sep 23 2013, 03:10 PM)
Hello guys. I am about to buy my first car in Malaysia and look for a good option on a very low budget. I have been driving my company's old Proton Iswara and feel comfortable with doing repairs behind Grand Seasons Hotel in KL where all the taxis go. Hence I like the cheap/fast repairs done there to the Protons.

Price range is between 4k-8k, but prefer the cheapest options. But if you all agree that it is better for any feasible reason to spend RM8k for a certain vehicle to SAVE money on repairs down the line, I like that concept.

Thanks in advance for your recommendations.

CODE
1. Brand : ANY
2. Budget : RM4000-RM8000
3. New/Used/Unreg : Used
4. Specs : ANY
5. Transmission : ANY
6. NA or FI :  ANY
7. Type : ANY
8. Remarks : Prefer a smooth ride (my last iswara was BUMPY-HARD)

I guess you'll be buying on cash terms so there isn't any loan limitations.

1989 Merc 260E @ rm9900 - this might be above your budget abit but I couldn't resist to recommend it to you because I'm a big fan of this model. First off the issues you might face are worn parts for alot of components, the car is 24 years old so you might spend quite abit after purchasing it to iron out the bugs. Let's say the engine, gearbox and suspension is well taken care of then you still need to do an engine service, change brake pads, change brake fluids, radiator fluids, perhaps maybe some perished rubber seals, etc. I'm expecting after purchase it is going to cost another rm2000++ for repairs and restorations afterwhich the car would be problem free if it was problem free when you bought it to begin with. A well taken care of engine of this era from Merc can last up to 300,000km before needing an overhaul (as told by my mech). Considerations....the large 2600cc engine is going to pinch abit when you renew your roadtax but I don't know if you'll be able to get any classic car discounts for that or not, but its a powerhouse when you drive it, lotsa pickup on low revs, and pushes very well even beyond 120kmh. Merc's of this era are also quite cheap to maintain.

1996 Proton Wira 1.8 Sedan @rm9800 - it is quite rare to find an original example of this car because of its strong 1800cc engine many boy racers bought this and tricked it out with accessories to make it look mean and fast. Fast it is but for me I feel this car is more of a good cruiser than a brutal rice boy machine. It does have good pickup from traffic lights, it does cruise at high speeds quite well, going up genting is quite a breeze. I think if you're going to look for Proton's in this price range and era you better pick the better ones, and the ones with 1800cc engine's are mostly good and have alot of parts sourced back from Mitsubishi (Satria GTI, Wira 1.8 and Putra). Maintenance is quite straight forward as the three I said earlier do share alot of common parts between them and of course there is a plethora of parts to choose from for Wira's. So there is a choice from various part type from original to oem to fake to recon to used.

1994 Toyota Camry @rm6500 - i'm thinking this is a pretty good deal, now its cheaper the merc and proton above yet it is also a good car, i know many people don't really like this car because of the 2200cc engine they have to pay abit more for roadtax but then the performance is about there of a normal 2000cc only, well actually they had to increase the capacity because they needed to maintain the performance of a 2000cc while keeping up with increasingly strict emission standards.

I think whichever car you choose you'll still need to spend on-top another RM2000-3000 for some restoration repairs and servicing, how much you use will also largely depend on how much you want to get done, if the car being sold to you doesn't have any issues then probably a simple service and changing of all the fluids with new brake pads would be good enough....though some would also want new rubber for the doors and maybe new tires....all depends on person to person.

Above are pretty good cars, however if you want the absolute cheapest then look for Nissan 120y or Nissan 130y or Proton Iswara nod.gif

QUOTE(freddie @ Sep 23 2013, 07:04 PM)
I meant you meant to say Kuga and XV are 132kW and 110kW, not 132hp and 110hp respectively...
laugh.gif  tongue.gif
that's 142hp and 176hp respectively laugh.gif
they're considered 'just right' or underpowered for their range imho doh.gif

QUOTE(khoo8118 @ Sep 23 2013, 09:13 PM)
Sifu...Kuga not "AWD"?????
dun think got, you can double check but nothing stated on spec sheet rclxub.gif
zenix
post Sep 30 2013, 04:17 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(b787 @ Sep 24 2013, 10:50 AM)
1. Brand : Any
2. Budget : RM50k to 60k
3. New/Used/Unreg : New/Used
4. Specs : Any
5. Transmission : Auto
6. NA or FI :  Any
7. Type : Any
8. Remarks :
Im just thinking of either to get a new Myvi 1.5SE or a used 2010 Forte SX.. Both are roughly the same price.
Would welcome any suggestion for other model or comment on the model above.
Thanks  rclxms.gif
2013 Mitsubishi Mirage 1.2 - you can put this as an option, what do you think? Its a normal engine tweaked to perfection and gives as good a gas mileage as hybrids without the additional costly to replace and fussy hardware brows.gif

QUOTE(prince_katana @ Sep 24 2013, 11:12 AM)
dude im thinking of getting some proton gen2.. under rm20k.. so how the sparepart? easy to get? cheap service price?
Well, I think its a good buy if you can get one in good condition, low mileage and age.
At that kind of budget if you want Japanese brand it has to be older than 10 years.

QUOTE(Neo|ofGeo @ Sep 24 2013, 11:55 AM)
Asking the sifu here,
is it better to go for
http://paultan.org/2012/09/13/ford-focus-s...k/dsc_0156b-12/
or to just increase the damage straight for Golf GTI?
I'm guessing a sub-200k budget?

2013 Ford Focus ST - the best deal in town is going for RM185K brows.gif of course there is a catch the ST is a manual while the VW GTI is a DSG. In terms of looks and exclusivity of course the Focus ST would get your higher street cred just being on the driver seat makes you feel like you're in the cockpit of a serious sports car with its custom bucket seats and updated interior, it is the same kind of feel and upgrade you'll feel when you step inside a Honda Civic Type-R it feels very purpose built as a sports car but with 4 doors so the missus won't bite your ear off. If you can handle a high powered stick car then you should put serious considerations for this car.

2010 VW Golf GTI Coupe UK-spec - the MK7 GTI is mighty expensive now and of course it should be as our kiasu culture demands we try to get the best spec of the range if we can afford it which is why its a good RM20k more expensive than the MK6 GTI. Of course you can spend more for the MK7 GTI but then I don't really see the point, GTI is too common on our roads (either that or there are alot of TSI's wearing GTI gear) even when I sit inside the cockpit of a GTI its an upgrade from the normal one yes but not really a huge significance for me, it is like the difference of sitting in Civic 1.8 and Civic 2.0 different yes but better? Depends on your butt I guess laugh.gif

2010 Subaru Impreza STI Version 10 Sedan - if you're going to spend that kinda money and want performance and street cred in spades then you need to consider bigger things. The GTI has good performance but its not performance orientated unlike the STI and ST so you might run into a few riceboys tailgating you or want to jock you up for a traffic light drag race. Riceboys might mistake the ST as a bodykitted version of the ordinary Focus and also do the same but when you roll up to a traffic light in a Subaru they're balls instantly shrink because the STI is the top-of-the-line model and the most basic sold here is the WRX which is already at GTI and ST level of performance in general (2000cc vs 2500cc on the STI). So being the bigger fish you only need to fear the really big fishes like GTR's, Evo's and Italians.

QUOTE(edtrend @ Sep 24 2013, 01:26 PM)
1. Brand : HONDA Civic / TOYOTA ALL NEW VIOS
2. Budget : 90K
3. New/Used/Unreg : Year 2011 / New
4. Specs :
6. NA or FI : 
7. Type : 4 Seater
Want to buy a car either HONDA CIVIC 2011 1.8L S-Spec vs All New Vios G Variant
Can anyone advised or prefer?
2013 VW Polo Sedan - you can consider this car, the link above is for a dealer in Penang but there are alot of sellers in LYN and do expect good discounts since it is almost year end. The only problem I see is that it doesn't have a Twincharger engine but it has a much better 6 speed wetbox gearbox which is bullet proof. It can be sluggish for some drivers whom are used to performance but if you're not too demanding then its a good bargain because of its size and premium feel.

2009 Honda Civic 1.8 - if you want a new number plate with your used Civic you can always go for such options brows.gif

QUOTE(eugoreez @ Sep 25 2013, 12:01 AM)
So in recent turn of events.. i had to get a new car.. ive been eyeing on jazz and fiesta..
so far from ive read, jazz is a better choice in the long run.. better resale value, low FC, better after sale service.. but then ive heard the fiesta ecoboost 1.0 coming in November.. i dont know much about this car, but it seems like the FC could rival jazz hybrid? Anyone got opinion on this? Should i wait first?
And then there is problem with the resale value of fiesta... some say it's still unproven, some say it will be worse compare to honda or toyota.. =_=
Btw, im still open for other options, so below are my requirements
Brand: no proton, perodua or KIA..
Price: around 70k to 80k
Type: compact
Years of service: probably 5-7 years, after that probably sell it and change to sedan or mpv after getting married and family get bigger...
Others: low FC, probably 5l/100km or lower?
i might not really care about resale value if in the long run, taking consideration of fuel consumption and maintenance cost is low enough, that it just sets me off about 10k more or less compare to other car..
Ford is going to have to make a painful decision regarding its Fiesta in Malaysia soon.
Word is they're going to keep it simple, the new Fiesta is going to get the new body which is essentially a new re-worked nose which falls in line with the new Focus design DNA. However, it isn't going to have the Ecoboost 1.0 engine it is going to have to make do with the current engine and gearbox combo.

Apparently, they do not want to obsolete the current models when new one comes so it makes more sense to have the new look but keep everything as it is so the cars on the streets now won't depreciate like a rock as the Fiesta and Ranger are the few Ford cars that have a decent resale value. Thus, they don't need to do any changes in the supply chain other than some parts for the new nose which are basically 2 fenders, 1 bonnet, 2 lights and 1 grille. Probably the savings will translate into a cheaper Fiesta or more discounts? Not too sure.

You can read more about the Fiesta Ecoboost 1.0 here.

I think the Jazz gives an unbeatable value, I'm quite hard pressed to find anything else that comes close. It is a good buy, do consider the Jazz is coming to the end of its lifecycle and the new one is just around the corner which is why the current Jazz is so cheap now as they're clearing stockpiles of the old model to make way for the new one.

Either way it is still unbeatable value, you're still guaranteed parts and services long after they discontinue the model.

This post has been edited by zenix: Oct 1 2013, 04:51 PM
zenix
post Oct 1 2013, 04:34 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(kenling @ Sep 26 2013, 12:21 PM)
Thanks Boss. Very informative.
You're welcomed!

QUOTE(selikatwo @ Sep 26 2013, 10:12 PM)
1. Brand : toyota vios
2. Budget : montly less than 700
3. New/Used/Unreg : used
4. Specs : S
5. Transmission : auto
6. NA or FI :  -
7. Type : -
8. Remarks : my friend looking for used toyota vios, can recommend me good shop or place to find this car. Tq
Toyota lovers go here.

QUOTE(HeReLiSm @ Sep 27 2013, 08:59 AM)
CODE
1. Brand : ANY
2. Budget : RM40000-RM55000 (targeting monthly installment RM5XX)
3. New/Used/Unreg : Used / New
5. Transmission : ANY
6. NA or FI :  ANY
8. Remarks : reliable, high fuel efficiency, low maintenance and comfortable for long journeys

So I've been looking into the market for a while and these are the cars that i'm interested in.

1. Myvi 1.3SE (New)
2. Persona 1.6 (New)
3. Saga FLX SE (New)

4. 2006/7 Vios 1.5
5. 2004/5 Civic 1.7
6. 2007/8 City 1.5

Any suggestions?  icon_question.gif
1. Although I don't find it a fantastic car the perceive advantage of this car is better quality over Proton, which is why most people don't mind paying the same amount of money for just a 1300cc hatchback compared to a 1600cc sedan from Proton.

2. Good choice.

3. Might as well get the Persona, it is bigger and also better looking.

4. I don't find second hand Vios giving good value for buyers, its about as good as a Persona.

5. Civic 1.7 batch better not touch, as many have complained about them having many issues.

6. City of that era has the notorious CVT gearbox, which is wonderful if it works since it gives great FC but a nightmare when it breaks down as its very expensive to replace.

2008 Nissan Sentra 1.6 - why not consider this if you're looking for a C-segment car like the Civic 1700cc, unlike the Civic this model has withstand the test of time and is still being sold until this day by Tan Chong. Maintenance is easy due to the low tech hardware, parts are cheap to replace, but the car is quality and reliable as any Japanese brand would be.

2008 Nissan Latio 1.6 - similar to the Sentra in that it is a C-segment car though many mistake it for a B-segment car, a worthy consideration as well since it is about the same as the Sentra in its qualities.

2007 Ford Focus 1.8 Ghia - this would take you to the next level in terms of performance, safety, comfort, handling and also accessories. Among all in this round-up this car has the best safety features, best performance from its 1800cc engine and that famous Ford handling (Ford was known for handling long before Proton put "Tuned by Lotus" stickers on their cars). The accessories you get are like top notch stuff like Shiftronic gearbox, rear aircond vents, leather seats, etc.

zenix
post Oct 1 2013, 04:49 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(kim014621 @ Sep 27 2013, 06:30 PM)
1. Brand : any
2. Budget : rm20000 max
3. New/Used/Unreg : Used
5. Transmission : manual
6. NA or FI :  ANY
8. Remarks : Prefer a fuel consumption, easy maintenance, smooth ride
2007 Proton Wira 1.5 Manual - you just can't get this sort of value in other cars that is because until now the Wira is probably still king on the roads. It is very cheap to maintain you can find parts for it anywhere in Malaysia in any form....new/old/used/slightly used/japan imported MMC compatibles/recon/etc! Normally I'd recommend people to stay away from the 1500cc and its lousy 3AT gearbox but this is a nice 5MT brows.gif

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Sep 28 2013, 05:56 PM)
No, pokai sad.gif
Why didn't buy Westport IPO?

QUOTE(alexcky @ Sep 29 2013, 10:00 AM)
where do u guys buy 2nd hand jap car? is topmark a good choice?
Yeah, it is a good choice.
They also provide alot of facilities like when you buy a new car.
Help you renew your roadtax and insurance every year.

QUOTE(NecroPhilia @ Sep 29 2013, 03:25 PM)
guys what is the best deal for perodua myvi 1.3 SE(A)
You can ask this guy.
zenix
post Oct 1 2013, 06:11 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(Jenna Maybe @ Sep 29 2013, 09:16 PM)
1. Brand :  Peugeot 308 VTI 1.6L
2. Budget : RM55,000
3. New/Used/Unreg : Used Car
4. Specs : Full Specs
5. Transmission : AT
6. NA or FI :  Whatever
7. Type : 4 seater
My net pay about RM2,300, commission not consistent, sometimes 3k, sometimes just basic, this is my first car, just wanted to have a comfortable car as I spend most of my working time in the car.
Some dealer can offer full loan without paying a dime to get the car, just wonder if my basic salary can afford as if everything add in the loan will be RM60,000 approximately. I only own some credit card which i pay full every month.
I do sales, just wonder if this car will consume lot of petrol? I didn't consider the Turbo as it would be expensive and also consume lot of petrol too...
please give me some advice. Thanks
Honestly, I think the Pug 308 either VTI or Turbo is shit.
Looks ugly, performance is crap, parts are expensive but is a very nice and comfortable interior.
If you want a nice cheap conti car but at a more affordable purchase price and not too expensive maintenance parts let me recommend a few to you but beware that for conti's not to burn a big hole in your pocket you need to be more active in the owners forums to find the best specialist workshops that knows the car well and can do a good job without being too expensive, and also search around the owners forums for places to buy parts cheaply either original/recon/oem.

If you're not willing to do that and think maintenance is going to any workshop after 5000km/10,000km then tell the mechanic to "settle it" for you, then the bills are going to be high because normal workshops are used to low tech cars like Proton, Nissan, Toyota, Perodua....you bring in a hightech conti they can do a few simple things like change brake pads but i wouldn't recommend them to fix your every problem as they aren't specialist for that brand.

2007 Ford Focus 1.8 Ghia - at the asking price of only RM38k the monthly commitment is only RM500 something which is cheap for what you're getting. You still get the same large C-segment interior as the 308, the Focus has a much more powerful 1800cc engine and better handling, and they both have alot of safety features. Maintenance wise either the 308 or the Focus would demand about the same commitment though, so both would be a pain in the ass when it comes to maintenance but you'll enjoy driving a Focus much more.

2007 Skoda Octavia 1.8T - Skoda is from the VW family so all parts are shared with Audi and VW models, this Skoda is a cute one it has the 1800cc turbo engine found in the VW Polo Sport 1.8T, so this car has alot of power and grunt. I don't know who told you turbo cars would consume more petrol, they actually are suppose to be more fuel efficient plus giving more power to the driver so you're making the most out of your hardware.....perhaps "consume more petrol" because drivers of turbo cars love the speed so much they drive more often and press the pedal more to go faster laugh.gif

QUOTE(d3play @ Sep 29 2013, 10:12 PM)
1. Brand : Nissan Murano (1st Gen) / Toyota Harrier (1st or 2nd Gen) / Kia Sportage (1st or 2nd Gen) / Nissan X-trial
2. Budget: ~RM 80k
3. New/Used/Unreg. Used.
4. Specs: Not Sure yet
5. Transmission. Auto
6. NA or FI ? N/A
7. Type: SUV
8. Remarks

Hi, I'm currently planning to go into the market looking for an SUV. This will serve as my main car as I plan to trade in my current one ('05 Myvi M)
Within my budget, I've seen some of those shorlisted cars are closing to 10 years. I have a few friends driving Harrier (05 or before models) and the car itself seem to be doing great still, both performance and interiors. Occasionally, some parts replacement, which I believe is norms given the age. I've seem some of these Harriers less than 50k (safe to buy?)

Would appreciate if you could give me some insights into buying used car like these in such age. Will the normal maintenance be “afforable” and also the availabiity of parts.

Another thing, I've seen used Kia value is not really good and have been looking at the new Kia Sportage which I think it's around 115-120k for one year old. What does the “Free Maintenance” pakcage that come with the car covers?

I have no experience with purchasing used car, in fact this would be the 2nd time I'm buying car. Will loan be an issue for cars with such age? Max tenure and approx. interest rate?

Thanks for your time and if you have other suggestion please feel free to point out. For the budget I'm somewhat flexible if the price really gives a much upgraded option from my shortlist.

Many thanks
Regarding loan issue you can always get a loan for any car as long as it is not more than 10 years old. The amount is usually not more than what the bank valuation of the car. Lets say you want to buy this car but the owner doesn't want to sell at the market value of RM60k he insist on RM70 but the bank only will loan you up to RM60k so you need to pay the difference via cash. Try not to get cheated by sneaky sellers when it comes to this point, if they asking you to commit too much you can always go buy from another dealer.

Harrier first generation was famous for gearbox issues, not too sure about the second generation. As usual I'm biased against Toyota's when suggesting cars to buy because their resale value is so high it is almost always better to choose something else.

2008 Toyota Harrier 2.4 - now this is being advertised as a recon unit and it does look quite new and for the price it is practically a steal but then advertisers have been known to post up used cars as recons before then hustle the buyers when they go to the showroom to have a look, do be warned when you visit this showroom to verify if it is really a recon or used car. If it is a recon car you're entitled to new car loan rates which is cheaper than used car rates. If it really is a recon and in good condition then its a good buy for the asking price and generally Harriers are quite reliable.

2007 Nissan Murano - this is a good choice if you're looking for a Harrier alternative (premium SUV), there are alot of these on the market at around this price but I found one which is made in 2007 and the owner is asking for an amount which normally gets you something much older, so its worth a check-out. If it really is a 2007, accident free and maintained well....then you should consider it.

2008 Nissan Dualis - when you click on the link you'll find this car looks like a mini Murano then you look at the specs it isn't bad at all as well, it gets better. Dualis/Rogue/Qashqai is basically a reskin of the X-trail, so underneath you have the reliable hardware and benefits of the X-trail like push button 2WD/4WD/AWD function as well as cheap parts and maintenance on engine, gearbox and transmission hardware....yet you won't be driving around in a boxy uncle mobile....you'll be driving around in a sleek mini Murano.

QUOTE(voluslolol @ Sep 30 2013, 01:04 AM)
1. Brand : Popular in Malaysia (Ford, Honda, Toyota, etc.) Easy to find service centers.
2. Budget : Around RM100k(+-)
3. New/Used/Unreg : Doesn't matter
4. Specs : Mid/Full
5. Transmission : Doesn't matter
6. NA or FI :  FI (preferred)
7. Type : 5 seater.
8. Remarks : I'm finding for a car that has comfort when you're slowly cruising around town and, puts a smile on your face when you step on the gas and go around turns. p.s. I'm currently looking at Ford Fiesta and Kia Cerato
Hope that I can find the car I'm looking for from you, thanks.  smile.gif
2013 VW Polo Sedan 1.6 - since you already have done a bit of research on those cars then let me intro you some others which you weren't looking at. Here is a good car although it won't get your heart racing with its performance its not any worst than the performance of a Cerato or Fiesta. Plus you get German engineered quality and specs, real 5 stars for safety.

2010 VW Polo 1.2 TSI - one good thing about buying VW's is the 5 years warranty so this car although you're buying it second hand you're still guaranteed another 2 years of warranty so peace of mind when you buy the car if there are problems which is related to manufacturer issues you can still claim. Performance wise like most modern VW's this baby is twincharged so it doesn't fall prey to being underpowered unlike most of the cars on the road. Still considered a new model so no worries on parts availability. It is a very sweet deal, for about the price of a Toyota Vios TRD you can get something of the same segment with real performance not just bodykit and placebo.

2008 VW Jetta 1.4 TSI - to truly cruise in town in comfort you need a nice C-segment car like the Jetta (which is essentially the sedan version of the Golf) the supercharge will give you lots of power in every gear and speed when cruising around town, then when you hit the highway and stand on the pedal the turbocharger takes over and the world starts to get blur. This Jetta is based on the MK5 body, don't worry there are still many parts available for it although its discontinued.

QUOTE(CWS-Petaling Jaya @ Sep 30 2013, 06:45 PM)
[zenix] is the 2009 bmw 320 convertible rm 170k a good buy? previously ask about lexus ct200h.
Performance, street cred, looks is good.
Just maintenance will make you cry laugh.gif

2009 Merc C200K - why not consider something like this if you're looking for a prestige car, comfort car and also one that won't burn a hole in your pocket?

QUOTE(CP88 @ Sep 30 2013, 09:11 PM)
Does this means new car interest applied instead of 2nd hand interest ? hmm.gif
Nope, new car interest only applies for cars without malaysian car card, once a car has one then it is considered used. Imported/recon cars also can get new car rates because they do not have a malaysian car card yet. Like surat lahir.
zenix
post Oct 2 2013, 10:58 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(T_flash @ Sep 30 2013, 10:16 PM)
Sifu Zenix,

I would like a new Mazda 6 2.5, but I'm really not sure if spending 185k on it is a better choice or spend 100k on a second hand car is wiser. If buying this C200K you've mentioned before, is it a better choice?
2007 Merc C200K W204 - if I'm going to buy a D-segment car of course for RM170k I can get the lower spec Honda Accord, Toyota Camry, Mazda 6, Pug 408, etc. however I think my money would be better spent buying a recon W204 because firstly first appearances matter alot, when meeting people and you're driving one of the cars I mentioned above they'll treat you differently than say you're driving a BMW or Merc -- that's why MLM guys always brainwash people by telling their downlines they're "successful" because they drive a BMW/Merc. Secondly, when not talking about parts from the service center the parts are quite affordable -- there are many stockist for Merc which sells OEM/compatible/recon parts so maintenance and parts are quite cheap in the context of a conti but its still going to cost you around the same as maintaining a Camry/Accord. Thirdly, safety equipment and spec would be on-par exceeding that of top-spec Japanese D-segment cars with things such as airbags, traction control, etc. standard.

If you're really interested in the W204 you should get more information at Mercedes-Benz C-Class W204 Forum.

W204 - Buying guide

2013 Suzuki Kizashi 2.4 SDLX - for the price you cannot find any new D-segment cars for sale in Malaysia with better specs and safety features. Just how safe? Below are a few video's to compare. Now the only issue you'll face is the dealership woes as there aren't alot of dealerships and service centers around for this brand, parts price and availability could be an issue because of its rarity, resale value is unknown at the moment but if it becomes desirable later on its resale value will rise (it could rise because people want a safe car but not willing to buy new because their budget not more than RM100k?).

Suzuki Kizashi

BMW 3-Series F30

Merc C-Class W204

2013 Mazda 6

2013 Toyota Camry

2013 Honda Accord

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Oct 1 2013, 04:54 PM)
U stalk me shocking.gif
you're easy to read laugh.gif

QUOTE(HeReLiSm @ Oct 1 2013, 10:54 PM)
On the second thought, I'm not sure on the quality and reliability of used cars as me myself is a newbie  blush.gif  and not really good at checking used cars.  sweat.gif and I'm also plan to use the car for long time.
if i stretch my budget a little bit to rm60k, Preve Executive is in the range. What's your opinion on this car? Is there any other cars fall into that range?
2013 Mitsubishi Mirage - around your budget for something new and Japanese you've got a limited choice, of either the Mirage or a heavily discounted Toyota Vios stock clearance of previous model. Mirage is an excellent car, its engine is rated as an eco engine because it is able to reach mileage as good as hybrids without being a hybrid -- which is good too for our Malaysian market because hybrids tend to have very bad resale value. My only concern for this car would be it's size, is it big enough for you?

On the other hand. would you be able to afford monthly repayments like this?

Honda City deal

Honda Jazz deal

QUOTE(capt jack @ Oct 1 2013, 11:42 PM)
Hi, can anyone give some review on 2013 Ford Focus Sedan 2.0 ti cvt titanium. Planning to buy thats why need to know about it. Thanks in advance.

Ford Focus - Review

Ford Focus - Special 1.38% interest rate until October

My opinion - its a good car and the 1.38% interest rate is going to save you alot in the long run, now the only issue I have to gripe with are issues not related to the car itself but the dealership. Firstly, there aren't alot of dealerships and service centers around so you need to drive quite a distance to find the nearest one to your home. Secondly, similarly to Peugeot (another affordable conti) is that parts aren't so easily available from outside parts stockist which leads to a situation where most parts come from Ford service centers so prices aren't going to be cheap. Thirdly, resale value isn't great because 2nd hand demand isn't strong which isn't a surprise since parts are expensive people aren't going to buy 2nd hand cars and buy parts from service centers only new car owners within warranty period would do that but 2nd hand car owners want to get cheap parts from stockist which are either OEM/compatible/recon.

Facelift Fiesta - debuts in Malaysia

Facelift Fiesta - test drive

A few excerpts which caught my eye from the article:

Safety kit, by and large, continues as before, and on the list are Electronic Stability Programme (ESP), traction control, ABS with EBD, emergency brake assist, rear Isofix mounts and hill launch assist (which Ford says has been refined) as seen in the outgoing model. By and large, because as airbags go, the facelift features two, and it doesn’t matter which body-style you choose.

The omission of the Safety Pack and its seven airbags is surely to be a source of contention, especially since the outgoing Fiesta LX sedan introduced it in 2011, and the limited-run Beta and XTR hatches as well as the last run of 1.4 LX manuals had it too.

In ticking the boxes with a view of working to a price point, the inclusion of auto AC, auto headlamps/wipers, keyless entry and push-button start as a package (the entire kit is bagged as an optional Sport Executive Pack for the Australian market) looks like it has been chosen ahead of the Safety Pack. Then again, the best-selling version of the pre-facelift Fiesta was the Sport hatch, and that had two bags, so maybe the marketers know what they’re doing.

As I suspected they're not bringing in the 1.0 Ecoboost variant.

The 1.5 litre Ti-VCT develops 112 PS at 6,300 rpm and 140 Nm at 4,400 rpm. Conversely, the outgoing 1.6 Ti-VCT offers 120 PS at 6,000 rpm and 152 Nm at 4,050 rpm, an eight PS and 12 Nm difference in output – marginal, but vis-a-vis there are some performance differences, notably in low-to-midband acceleration aspects.

There’s a bit less punch here if you jump directly from the 1.6 to it, less obvious on its own. This despite the 1.5 actually having a marginally lighter kerb weight, at 1,125 kg for the 1.5 Sport hatch to the 1.6 Sport hatch’s 1,153 kg; the new Titanium sedan is also lighter, at 1,141 kg.

zenix
post Oct 3 2013, 09:49 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(epie @ Oct 2 2013, 11:04 AM)
guys,
i need some opinion here
my fren is goin to sell her civic 1.8 year 2006 accident free low mileage
i wanna make the lowest offer...so i need to know the lowest price in the market  drool.gif
you can survey carlist, mudah, motortrader and oto laugh.gif

QUOTE(CWS-Petaling Jaya @ Oct 2 2013, 06:36 PM)
do you think income of rm 3k can maintain a ct200h? given that 50k is the downpayment
Honestly, no.

RM50k downpayment?
The car is worth RM500k? shocking.gif
Seriously, I think I know why that person said the down-payment is so high because it is probably the only way you can qualify for loan by lowering the total loan amount.

QUOTE(T_flash @ Oct 2 2013, 07:41 PM)
Sifu Zenix, what's the differences between elegance and avantgarde (just sporty look?)?? and k and non k c200(which engine is more reliable?)??
Is C200K the best model to get for w204??? or the newer model C200??
Classic was the entry level with electric windows, heated mirrors, front airbags.
Sport was as classic but with lowered suspension, sun roof, leather gear knob, arm rests etc.
Elegance had electric glass sunroof, door exit lights, auto dipping rear view mirror, alloy wheels.
Avantgarde was as Elegance but with sports suspension, tinted glass, sports suspension, better trim, chrome grill different alloys.
zenix
post Oct 3 2013, 12:20 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(epie @ Oct 3 2013, 10:52 AM)
did the survey and the price ranges between 65-75k for civic 1.8 2006
any other car i shud consider within this budget
civic resale value very good so don't expect to get it cheap laugh.gif
your budget can get some pretty sweet used cars, but really depends on your character.
what you expect from the car and how much effort you going to put to maintain it.
if you want simple A-B car, cheap maintenance, easy maintenance, minimum japanese brand then honda/toyota/nissan only laugh.gif

QUOTE(summeracres @ Oct 3 2013, 11:22 AM)
Guys, need to check on something.
So I was in the midst of selling my Honda Jazz. There are all sorts of people from Mudah asking all sorts of question and just now I was ask regarding my plate number. I find it a bit weird to sms and ask my car's plate number. Should I give?
most probably want to check got saman or accident or not hmm.gif

This post has been edited by zenix: Oct 3 2013, 03:08 PM
zenix
post Oct 4 2013, 09:51 AM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(CWS-Petaling Jaya @ Oct 3 2013, 12:30 PM)
the lexus hybrid is a very high maintanence car? i tot i wud b more or less d same as toyota
It shares alot of common parts with the Prius (the 1800cc one not the C), so you can get an estimation if you go to a toyota sc there is a calender like thing with the costing.

QUOTE(LazyKurosaki @ Oct 3 2013, 12:34 PM)
Sifu zenix, is kia optima k5 a good car..? Beside the resale value
Which year?

QUOTE(epie @ Oct 3 2013, 02:14 PM)
zenix bro..
i think i need a simple sedan car with cheap and easy maintenance
fyi i have jazz hybrid which i will pass to my wife
now my friend suggest me to get brand new preve instead of 2006 1.8 civic
really appreciate ur opinion..other members are also welcome to give opinio
ty
Around there for new you can go for things like Nissan Almera, Toyota Vios and Mazda2 Sedan.

2011 Nissan Sylphy - this car is good value for money, you can get 2009 models for under RM60k, this one is a 2011 model which is about the same price as the 2006 Civic you were thinking of buying earlier. In terms of performance of course the Sylphy is going to be better than the 1800cc Civic but isn't a match for the 2000cc Civic, that one has a very good engine, but all-in-all the 2000cc lump from the Sylphy is still very good. Maintenance is easy and quite cheap. You still get the interior and luggage space of a C-segment car. Not a bad choice.

2010 Toyota Altis 1.8 - Toyota's generally have better resale value so you're not going to get one cheap, Altis would still be cheaper than Civic's because they aren't that popular even compared to the Civic of that generation. As with the Sylphy it's easy and cheap to maintain, power-wise is decent about the same as the 1800cc Civic. One benefit the Altis would have over the Sylphy would be the VSC (vehicle stability control) safety feature.

QUOTE(javet @ Oct 4 2013, 08:56 AM)
Planning to buy 2nd Ford Fiesta, about 4-5 year old, any one know about the price range and need some advice
Try looking up mudah and oto.my
zenix
post Oct 4 2013, 02:10 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(javet @ Oct 4 2013, 10:12 AM)
u r welcomed! rclxms.gif

QUOTE(summeracres @ Oct 4 2013, 11:29 AM)
Ooo but right...that person haven't even see the car...didn't even wanna buy...for what wanna check? U check when you are buying la.
i wouldn't know what they use it for since i am not a mind reader.
the most plausible usage is checking saman and accident case from pdrm/jpj.

QUOTE(LazyKurosaki @ Oct 4 2013, 01:03 PM)
Brand new k5 or 1 to 2 years old
wait 3 years its going to be less than half the original price if Kia's resale value continues its current trend.
zenix
post Oct 7 2013, 03:52 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(apersaje @ Oct 5 2013, 10:57 PM)
I'm currently having thoughts about these models below.
Any thought from sifu zenix?
1. Skoda Octavia (2006-2007) 1.6/1.8 (A)
2. Peugeot 307 (2003/05) 1.6 (A)
My concerns are mostly about reliability and maintenance. I understand if it would be slightly higher since they're continental cars but I would like to have a baseline on that.
On top of that, any other recommendation for continental cars around the same price/year tag?
2007 Skoda 1.8 T 20v @ RM25k - I think you'll be hard pressed to find another conti which can give you the same amount of value as a Skoda. This Octavia is basically the same as a Audi A4 1.8T (B6). Usually Skoda's like last years designer fashion wear is cheaper because its not the cutting edge from the VW group in terms of technology, sometimes they're one generation back on selected models -- because R&D cost is already amortized by VW and Audi sales they can afford to just restyle the body and use back the same engine, gearbox, suspension, etc. to make Skoda's cheaper (similarly like how Toyota is recycling everything since 2002 for their Vios with just restyled bodies). If you're living around KL area it is worth a shot to try out Skoda, the seller for this car is a conti specialist and told me about a specialist center for Skoda in USJ, then you can also go to the official 3S at Dunia Prestasi @ Glenmarie, or if you wish you can also source from Singapore as they have a large and lively community there. In terms of reliability of course the Skoda parts are going to outlast the Pug since they're made by VW some made in Germany, mostly around Europe, some in China as well. For some of the more common parts like brakes, wipers, etc. there are always compatible parts from Japan, Taiwan, and China since these components are quite standard among all cars. Price wise it should be about the same for both brands in terms of maintenance and parts. With Skoda being not too well known and rare it is quite possible to get away with driving around a 2007 model and people thinking its a 2013 model, plus the entry price is so low it is really worth a shot especially with its engine and gearbox which is at current two generations below VW Malaysia's latest offering.

Pug's in general I wouldn't touch because lacks the overall prestige (or even the look of a prestige conti, more akine to Japanese/Korean atypical styling) and equipment. Firstly, the 307 you spoke of lacks a turbo so you can't compare the performance of the 307 with the Skoda Octavia above, then also the interior and luggage space is also inferior, and coupled with maintenance cost of equivalent value you'll be a sad sad man in a Pug. Secondly the 308, you'll have to look really hard to find someone selling the 308T below RM50k at the moment though there are some 308VTI's floating around which brings the question of getting the Turbo or VTI? Well, that is your decision but first some head's up on what you're getting into; while the VTI would be more economical to maintain since no fussy turbo to take care of it isn't much of a powerhouse so expect sluggish performance from it, then the Turbo is base on the 1600cc Prince Turbo engine which is used by BMW, Citroen and Peugeot (PSA group) it is a decent engine though the spec on the 308T for me is kinda crappy as it doesn't feel fast nor is fast (the better incarnation from Peugeot of this engine is on the 408) plus according to foreman's i've chat with it requires alot of TLC and pretty big service every 50,000km with belt change as well.

Would you be interested in other D-segment or C-segment conti cars less than RM50k? hmm.gif

zenix
post Oct 8 2013, 03:05 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(xmastermind7 @ Oct 5 2013, 05:35 PM)
1. Brand: Either Proton or Mitsubishi (Inspira or Lancer GT)
2. Budget: looking for installment below RM700-600 per month. D/P can afford till 20-25K
3. New/Used/Unreg: New or Used also can
4. Specs: Inspira 1.8 MT , Lancer Gt 2.0
5. Transmission: preferably manual , last choice would be auto
6. NA or FI: n/a
7. Type: Sedan
8. Remarks: 7 or 9 years loan
Not too sure what will be the final price but here is some information for you since you love Mitsubishi.

OFFICIAL: Mitsubishi ASX to be CKD in Malaysia, Tan Chong Motor Assemblies Sdn Bhd will be the contract assembler for the ASX. Production is slated to start in January 2014, with sales to begin soon after in February 2014.

As for buying a new car your, RM90k less downpayment RM25k with standard interest rate of 2.5% on 9 years loan so monthly is RM737.27

I've just plugged in the figure into the calculator here. You can go in yourself to play around with the figure to your liking, for the purpose of my discussion with you I'm taking the maximum allowance.

Alrighty then! RM90k can get you the Proton Inspira 2.0E or stretch it abit by RM3k to get the 2.0P. Well, if you ask me what I think about getting this car then I'd have to think about it. Yes, it is a new car and yes you're getting something like a CKD version of a very good car. If you do not mind the badge then go for the highest spec and don't think about the 1.8MT as I always feel like I'm in a stripped down taxi version.

Of course even at RM90k you need to break the RM110k barrier to get a Mitsubishi Lancer, then of course you'd think that the Mitsubishi Mirage is too small of a hatchback for your needs....if only there was a sedan version of the Mirage. Well, there is actually....it is called the Mitsubishi Attrage and its starting price for the base model is RM59k which undercuts every other B-segment car out there even the king of cheap now which is the Nissan Almera. Actual prices and specs aren't available at the moment I am writting this but I think by the time you buy one everything would be much clearer.....an alternative for you to think about.

So now lets talk about used car, RM60k less downpayment RM25k with standard interest rate of 4.5% on 5 years loan so monthly is RM737.27 to compensate for the higher interest rate (you can probably find lower outside just putting the market average) and of course used car you might want to sell it off earlier as when you buy it, it is probably already a 3-5 years old so adding another 5 years would make it 10 years old, abit difficult to sell because banks only provide loans for cars younger than 10 years. So, perhaps getting a used car which is 4 years old or younger and use it for 5 years and then change car after that.....your choice. Anyway, I'm going to skip B-segment cars and straight away talk about C-segments because you're already buying used might as well make your ringgit stretch more.

2010 Nissan Latio 1.6 - is a good choice to start off with because it is cheap to buy and maintain, Nissan cars have poorer resale value than Toyota so you can get a better spec Latio (which is a C-segment car as opposed to Vios which is B-segment) at RM52k than you would be able to get from a Toyota Vios but still enjoy cheap ownership as it is not very expensive to maintain and parts are cheap. The design and styling might not be everyone's cup of tea but it is a more newer design but for around the same price range you can get 2010 Nissan Sentra 1.6 which offers the same as what the Latio does but in a much sportier looking package yet its sporty lines could be dated if you prefer the cars with the newest kinetic design looks then you might need to look for the top range C-segment from Nissan which is the 2008 Nissan Sylphy 2.0 which has new design, look and space utilization.

2007 Mitsubishi Lancer GLS - I think since you're a Mitsubishi-man this will interest you more, it is a real cheap bargain buy if you ask me. Although, I am in the opinion that the 1600cc engine isn't enough but then it is paired with a CVT so I don't think it is that bad since the CVT makes use of every drop of power the engine can churn out so with less power loss and better efficiency I think it is a bearable engine unless you're a performance freak then this isn't the car for you.

2004 Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 4 - if the car above doesn't get you excited then this would but please take note this car is going to be 10 years old in a few months time but being a sports model and rarity of its breed the design look will of course be timeless thus you won't get the "i just bought an old junk" feeling but of course it really is old so there would be many parts that are worn and need replacing. Maintenance for a sports car isn't cheap but luckily its a Mitsubishi so you can of course grab any compatible Proton part to lower your cost for things like window rubber seals, washers, etc. but it is still a sports car so don't expect cheap maintenance.

zenix
post Oct 8 2013, 03:34 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(apersaje @ Oct 7 2013, 04:13 PM)
Thanks for the comprehensive explanation sifu zenix.

Earlier I considered the pug because my pug enthusiast friend racun me many times bout getting a pug.

After I came across your post a few pages back and digging aroudn some info, found out about the Octavia. There's even a facebook group for it.

Too bad only one Mk2 model up for sale currently but it's been targeted by one group member and it's out of my budget range of around 30k. There's also another Mk2 for sale but SW version.

Since the new model has been launched, is it possible that more existing (tho small number) existing Skoda owner gonna let go their Octavia?
I've been chatting with an owner of a Skota Octavia L&K yesterday.
As the conversation went on it seems like unless you're playing original there aren't many stockist for parts in Malaysia, he is mostly getting stuff either from chop shops or Singapore.

His next plan is to link up with some suppliers in China to bring in OEM or original stuff from there since it is 20-25% cheaper than parts sold here.

I've been told the current model there is one unit which is new and unsold but it is the 1600cc model, you're interested to buy, the price is about RM60k.
zenix
post Oct 8 2013, 05:07 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(FiragaZ @ Oct 5 2013, 05:20 PM)
1. Brand : Any
2. Budget : 70k-90k
3. New/Used/Unreg : Any
4. Specs : Any
6. NA or FI : Any
7. Type : Any
8. Remarks : New here, thinking to get http://www.carlist.my/used-cars/1200315/ho...d-cbu-2012.html or a used BMW 320i E90, but not sure about quality and reliability of used car, should i just get a new vios or honda city?
Yes, buy the new Toyota Vios, your father in-law will love you. laugh.gif

At first glance it does looks nice doesn't it but you're getting a used car, cannot choose your number plate, no new car experience or smell, haih.....and the difference is just RM100 in the repayment!

2012 Honda CRZ @ RM88,500 - RM1180 monthly for 7 years.

2013 Honda CRZ @ RM98,000 - RM1233.75 monthly for 7 years.

So which one you going to choose now? laugh.gif

Since your taste and requirements seem to jump around abit from CRZ to BMW, I'm guessing you're looking for something fun to drive with high prestige yet reliable and not too painful to maintain? Below is my round-up for you according to my guesstimate of your taste laugh.gif

2005 Mini Cooper S 1.6 - the S version is the top spec version with turbo engine and sunroof, making it the hot pick for people looking for this model something like Toyota Vios TRD while the Mini One is the basic one similar to Toyota Vios J-spec. This car is fun to drive, high prestige, the look is ageless so won't age as fast as say a Toyota Vios 2014 model. The bad bit is although the engine is shared between PSA partners like Peugeot and Citroen unless you find a good enough mechanic you might still have to go back and buy original BMW parts for your Mini which is not going to be cheap. And I've stated the Prince Turbo engine does require some TLC every 50,000kms so maintenance isn't on the low side, reliability wise it is quite decent being a German car but do watch out for things like oil coolers which may not be spec for our climate eventhough it is a CBU.

If you can stretch your budget to RM110k here are two tasty options for you, the 2005 VW Golf GTI MK5 or 2010 VW Golf TSI if you're a speed freak you can't really pass up the opportunity to own one of the top cars in our market, although it has aged abit it is still a proper sports car. I won't sugar coat it for you, the maintenance for this baby isn't going to be a cakewalk because it is already 8 years old and without warranty anything goes wrong and it will need to come out from your pocket so are you ready for that? On the otherhand the younger TSI still has another 2 years of warranty left, although not as brutal as the GTI, the TSI is no slouch when it comes to performance and would easily beat other cars in the same segment.

2010 VW Polo 1.2 TSI - though I think you can satisfy your 'need for speed' or 'turbo-lust' with a Polo TSI, it is far cheaper to own gives the same feeling of power though size-wise is a plus or minus depending on the person. If you want a chili-padi this is a good option because it is a small nimble light car with a yummy turbo engine. Maintenance wise of course you cannot runaway since it is a conti, although it is a B-segment car you're going to be paying Civic/Altis like of maintenance money to keep this baby.

2007 Audi A4 - okay, lets say you have 'turbo lust' but can't stand being cooped up inside a small box like the Polo then perhaps you can consider an A4? Similar case as with the GTI this one doesn't come with any backup warranty if anything goes wrong after you buy it (especially since not all used car will give warranty nor honor it). What you get out of this package is a comfortable sedan which you can use to cruise at high-speed on highways. Outstation travel isn't so tiring yet with such refinement you might feel abit departed from the action and not feel as brutally bashed as you would in the GTI. Well, maintenance? Need I explain it is going to be a killer as well? tongue.gif

2010 Toyota Altis 1.8G - sensible options but boring when compared to the yummies above, really depends on what you think. Although the Civic for the same year and spec is going to be more expensive there is no harm going for an Altis which is just as good and probably you'd get props from your Toyota loving father-in-law for buying it. Prestige and performance wise it isn't bad but isn't great, I'd say its good. Prestige wise although it isn't a sports car it is still a respectable C-segment car not many people will look down on you. Performance wise a 1800cc for a C-segment car is decent enough you will be able to hit 200kmh. Maintenance is a world apart from the above especially if you don't use original and send it to the service center for maintenance it can be very very cheap.

zenix
post Oct 8 2013, 05:26 PM

Pirate Captain
6,249 posts

QUOTE(Att90 @ Oct 5 2013, 10:00 AM)
1. Brand : honda/toyota/any good brand in msia
2. Budget : 70k-110k
3. New/Used/Unreg : New/used 2010 above
6. NA or FI :  ANY
8. Remarks : Prefer a fuel consumption, easymaintenance as I'm a girl i dont know much about car
I am planning to buy a car. I just started working 5 months ago and my basic is 4k.At first I'm planning to buy honda civic hybrid but then I'm afraid the battery will rosak (a friend of mine got a hybrid and the batt rosak after 2 years and he got it replaced once and he said the warranty only cover the first time u change the battery,the rest is all yours to cover) and plus they never let ppl test drive the hybrid car. I am now considering honda ctiy or civic 1.8. So which one i shud buy? I travel subang to klcc everyday..
You should just straight away go for the Civic 1.8 because unlike the other C-segment cars in that range Honda doesn't skimp on features especially safety features, you can read more here. You get a full featured car for the price you pay. Don't skimp that 10-20k to get a Sylphy, Lancer, or Altis as the basic models for those don't have any form of traction control.

However, I don't really see a point for a freshie that just started earning money to jump straight into the RM100k mark for cars. I'd suggest something sensible like a Honda Jazz the latest CKD version is fully equipped with everything even VSA (traction control) for around RM74k.

QUOTE(russ @ Oct 5 2013, 01:34 PM)
1. Brand : no local/korean
2. Budget : 80-90k max
3. New/Used/Unreg : New/used 2010 above
6. NA or FI : ANY
8. Remarks : considering between the new Ford Fiesta and peugeot 208..any ideas? Thanks!
Fiesta is a good choice if you're not worried about depreciation. Technology and design for that amount of money is a value buy. However, it seems the facelift versions don't come with all the safety features as the pre-facelift models (please read my post in the previous page).

Pugeot 208 IMHO is a waste of time. Ugly, not powerful, and maintenance as pain in the ass as any conti.

Why not think of Jazz? brows.gif

This post has been edited by zenix: Oct 8 2013, 05:34 PM

26 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Top

0.0979sec    1.10    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 03:43 PM