Travel Iceland

estcin
post Oct 24 2016, 02:14 AM

407 posts

QUOTE(digitalz @ Oct 22 2016, 11:52 PM)
Planning a getaway to Iceland with friends for this coming Dec! Cheap flights from London too! approx £100+ for return tix from London to Iceland. Most likely taking up Airbnb depending on the number that we have.
U taking WOW Air, Iceland Air or Easy Jet?
estcin
post Oct 24 2016, 04:39 PM

407 posts

QUOTE(digitalz @ Oct 24 2016, 02:50 AM)
All around that range for the time that we're planning to go. Does it make a difference? Apart from Stansted and Gatwick?
Price not much diff but maybe luggage allowance
estcin
post Oct 24 2016, 10:58 PM

407 posts

QUOTE(digitalz @ Oct 24 2016, 10:53 PM)
Yep. But makes no difference if we're going to get extra luggage for our trip. I've actually used easy jet quite a few times lol.
Enjoy ur trip. Share photos of Northern Lights when u are back
estcin
post Oct 25 2016, 12:22 AM

407 posts

Some itineraries from FB
https://www.facebook.com/yanyan8800/posts/1127866933966837
http://www.travelbook.my/%E7%A9%B7%E6%B8%B...94%BB%E7%95%A5/
https://www.facebook.com/%E6%88%91%E7%9A%84...100082756701344
https://www.facebook.com/chuxian.rachelle/m...e=3&pnref=story
estcin
post Oct 25 2016, 12:04 PM

407 posts

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Oct 25 2016, 11:49 AM)
thanks for sharing. too bad mostly in chinese. only able to view the pictures instead haha
I'll share my itinerary here after I finish planning
estcin
post Oct 25 2016, 12:04 PM

407 posts

-double post-

This post has been edited by estcin: Oct 25 2016, 12:05 PM
estcin
post Oct 28 2016, 04:47 PM

407 posts

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Oct 25 2016, 01:37 PM)
thumbsup.gif  thanks. looking forward to it  smile.gif
I will just post what I have first then edit from time to time.

Flying into Iceland:
1. WOW Air
2. Icelandair
3. EasyJet

Airport transfer:
1. Gray Line ISK2100 one way to/fro Gray Line bus terminal
2. FlyBus ISK2500 (airport to Reykjavik bus terminal), ISK3000 (airport to your hotel)

Learn basic Icelandic: (although English is widely understood there)
http://www.101languages.net/icelandic/basics.html

Weather:
http://www.accuweather.com/en/is/iceland-weather

Camper van:
http://www.kukucampers.is/

Car pooling:
http://www.samferda.net/

Driving license: (means no need to pay JPJ RM120? need clarification from ppl who went before)
"All driving licenses issued from the U.S.A, Canada and the European Economic Area (EEA) are valid in Iceland. A driving license from anywhere else is valid provided it has:

- A license number
- The license holder´s photograph
- A valid date
- Been printed in Latin characters

If your driving license does not fulfill ANY of the above requirements then you MUST obtain an International Driving License to be able to drive in Iceland."
source

Mobile wifi:
www.wiyo.my

Aurora forecast:
http://en.vedur.is/weather/forecasts/aurora/
http://www.aurora-service.eu/aurora-forecast/

Famous hotdog
http://www.cntraveler.com/stories/2014-08-...-eat-in-iceland

Helicopter tour (expensive!)
www.helicopter.is

References (thanks to their tips and info):
https://www.facebook.com/yanyan8800/posts/1127866933966837
http://www.travelbook.my/%E7%A9%B7%E6%B8%B...94%BB%E7%95%A5/
https://www.facebook.com/%E6%88%91%E7%9A%84...100082756701344
https://www.facebook.com/chuxian.rachelle/m...e=3&pnref=story

This post has been edited by estcin: Oct 28 2016, 04:53 PM
estcin
post Nov 3 2016, 11:06 PM

407 posts

QUOTE(houlierr @ Nov 3 2016, 10:02 PM)
Anyone been to Iceland in mid Dec? Is it really that bad?
Never been but I heard winter is 20 hours of darkness at the Artic circle
estcin
post Nov 16 2016, 02:38 PM

407 posts

QUOTE(ehlim64 @ Nov 16 2016, 02:26 PM)
Hi everyone,

I will be going to Iceland early December 2016.
Would like to know where to convert Ringgit to Iceland Krona.
No direct change from RM to ISK. U can change to Pounds or Euro and then change to ISK in Europe or Iceland itself. Anyway, credit card is widely acceptable in Iceland to even small stalls. U might not need to change much ISK
estcin
post Dec 22 2016, 11:43 AM

407 posts

QUOTE(digitalz @ Dec 22 2016, 06:09 AM)
Back in the UK from Iceland for a week. What an adventure I should say. Drove for the past 7 days and tons of different experiences involved.
Please share more, i.e. itinerary, photos, tips and places to stay. Thanks
estcin
post Dec 30 2016, 11:49 AM

407 posts

QUOTE(WTF2008 @ Dec 30 2016, 11:27 AM)
Hi All,

Just asking, do you all get a sim card in Iceland? Or i can get a sim card in london airport, and it is still use-able at iceland?

ANd what is the cost?

Simmin - ISK 2,790 (SGD 32 / €21) – 5 GB of data with ISK 500 worth of call credit (for approximately 30 minutes of call). The SIM card is free of charge.
Vodafone - ISK 4,490 (SGD 48 / €32)- The SIM card first cost ISK 2,000 with ISK 1,000 worth of call credit and 300 MB. Then an additional ISK 2,490 is needed to top to 5 GB of data.
Nova - Nova offered the cheapest and most value-for-money data bundle but due to its limited coverage, we decided not to get it (sorry I forgot to record down the prices).

Prices as of Sept 2015. Sos: http://www.foodiebaker.com/14-things-to-kn...to-iceland-faq/

estcin
post Jan 12 2017, 01:43 PM

407 posts

QUOTE(misscreamypie @ Jan 12 2017, 09:01 AM)
Hope can share itinery! Bought my tickets for march and im very excited yet worried ( as im afraid to burn a hole in my pocket there!)

Btw, in need of suggestions on where to buy winter clothings before going there! Thanks!
Hiking shoes from Sports Direct: brands like Gelert, Karimor
Clothes: Uniqlo, North Face
North Face sale @ Bratpack Jan 12 - 15
estcin
post Jan 13 2017, 04:13 PM

407 posts

QUOTE(LivingLife @ Jan 13 2017, 03:50 PM)

We will be visiting Iceland this coming 11-15th April.

Day 1
London Gatwick - Reykjavík Keflavik Airport
Þingvellir/Gullfoss Waterfall and Geysir Hot Springs/Kerið/Overnight at Selfoss

Day 2
Seljalandsfoss/Skógafoss/Dyrhólaey/Reynisfjara beach/Kirkjubæjarklaustur/Overnight at Vik

Day 3
Skaftafell National Park/Svartifoss waterfall/Jökulsárlón Glacial Lagoon/Overnight at Vik

Day 4
Blue Lagoon/Reykjavík/Mount Hekla/Overnight at Reykjavik

Day 5
Early flight to Amsterdam

Is the route workable? Can someone advise if a 2x2 car is sufficient for the route we will be driving on?

Thank you in advance for the feedback!
2x2 should be workable if you not using F-roads. Not sure about 2x2 going to Mount Hekla though.

This post has been edited by estcin: Jan 13 2017, 04:14 PM
estcin
post Jan 13 2017, 04:13 PM

407 posts

-repost-

This post has been edited by estcin: Jan 13 2017, 04:14 PM
estcin
post Jan 16 2017, 02:58 PM

407 posts

QUOTE(misscreamypie @ Jan 16 2017, 02:03 PM)
Hi, anyone can share / recommend budget car rental in Iceland? Does driving in march requires 4wd? Is it safe to self drive ?
2wd will be sufficient. Get 4wd only if u wish to travel to the highlands and through F-roads only. 2wd banned frmo F-roads. Most likely need to self drive if u wish to travel around the island. Generally safe but check road conditions and weather as some roads might be closed during winter or bad weather.
http://www.road.is/travel-info/road-conditions-and-weather/
Car rental price almost same among few companies, u can google and compare. I saw one company that is cheaper a lot and check tourist review on the company, seems like a scam and didn't proceed to book.
http://icelandreview.com/stuff/ask-ir/2015...als?language=en

estcin
post Jan 16 2017, 03:29 PM

407 posts

QUOTE(misscreamypie @ Jan 16 2017, 03:24 PM)
Okay, thanks ya smile.gif

Is it recommended to only stay in Reykjavik? Any other places recommended to stay for a nite or two as well? 😊
I wouldn't stay in Reykjavik only, try to explore other places. Where to stay depends where u are going. I'm going around the island, so I will be staying different place every night
estcin
post Jan 17 2017, 05:07 PM

407 posts

QUOTE(Rochilli @ Jan 17 2017, 05:02 PM)
Has anyone been to Iceland in September? Planning to visit there in Sept but afraid cannot do self drive and catch Aurora because of the weather
September is cheaper and less crowded cause past summer (peak period). September is also beginning of Aurora and weather not too cold yet before the winter. Sure can self drive. U only have to worry about driving during winter due to snow.
estcin
post Jan 17 2017, 05:07 PM

407 posts

QUOTE(Rochilli @ Jan 17 2017, 05:02 PM)
Has anyone been to Iceland in September? Planning to visit there in Sept but afraid cannot do self drive and catch Aurora because of the weather
September is cheaper and less crowded cause past summer (peak period). September is also beginning of Aurora and weather not too cold yet before the winter. Sure can self drive. U only have to worry about driving during winter due to snow.
estcin
post Jan 19 2017, 12:08 PM

407 posts

QUOTE(angkee83 @ Jan 19 2017, 11:37 AM)
Anyone book from this website before? are they reliable?

https://guidetoiceland.is/
They are like one stop center for different tours and car rentals. You can survey the price, then contact the tour/car rental company directly to get cheaper price. Cut out the middleman
estcin
post Feb 16 2017, 11:43 AM

407 posts

QUOTE(phas3r @ Feb 16 2017, 06:43 AM)
Yeah might be going around the time as well

Any itinerary suggestions? What is the minimum suggested days? Are northern lights difficult to see around the time?
Northern lights normally from September to March depending on your luck. Minimum days 5 if you only go to Golden Circle and South part. 10 days and above if you make one round around the island

0.0232sec    0.76    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 07:28 AM