new and update .. will launch soon .. 28th October
It’s the largest capacitive screen we’ve ever seen and it’s positively amazing. It’s crisp, sharp, vibrant, bright, and really, really responsive…doesn’t seem like it would scratch easily regardless of the material… shows off Android’s true colors.
My bad,overlooked the spec. this one doesnt have GSM unlike blackberry storm,tour on verizon
really ??.. so it wouldn't release here ?? .. its a bad new for us android fans and user outside the us country .... y they do specialize the android device phone in europe n us ... y they din do worldwide ?? sprint and verizon are taking advantages ... for this ... the only 1 i hate about android device marketing ...
----------------------
new and update for so-called-won't-be-able-to-land-here-droid....
Motorola Droid To Launch November 6th Priced At $199
During the event Motorola CEO Sanjay Jha and Verizon Wireless CMO John Stratton revealed that the first Motorola Droid handset will be available from November 6th priced at $199 as part of a 2-year service contract with Verizon.
“Our initial device is Droid, so this is kind of the cornerstone, but we will expect over time that the partnership between Verizon and Google will be a multi-year partnership.” - Verizon Wireless CMO John Stratton.
The Motorola Droid will be a Google Experience device and will not feature Motorola's own MOTOBLUR Android UI. The handset will feature 3.7" touchscreen display, Android 2.0 (first phone Eclair), Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, 5.0 megapiel camera, 16 GB memory, and a DVD-quality camera.
Video of Google Maps Navigation app running on the Motorola Droid.
This new feature comes with everything you'd expect to find in a GPS navigation system, like 3D views, turn-by-turn voice guidance and automatic rerouting. But unlike most navigation systems, Google Maps Navigation was built from the ground up to take advantage of your phone's Internet connection. - Google Mobile
Verizon Motorola Droid Press Release
"We're proud to work with Verizon Wireless and Google on the first smartphone to feature Android 2.0," said Sanjay Jha, co-chief executive officer of Motorola and chief executive officer of Motorola Mobile Devices. "DROID by Motorola delivers a rich consumer experience with warp-speed Web browsing, a mammoth screen, and Motorola's expertise in design and voice quality. Combined with Android's open, flexible graphical user interface and the power of Verizon Wireless' 3G network, DROID is a smartphone that simply doesn't compromise."
"This is an exciting announcement for Verizon Wireless, as the DROID by Motorola is the first device that we are bringing to market under our ground-breaking strategic partnership with Google," said John Stratton, executive vice president and chief marketing officer for Verizon Wireless. "DROID by Motorola gives customers a lifestyle device with access to more than 12,000 applications that will help them stay in touch, up to date and entertained, using the best 3G network in the country."
DROID by Motorola has a solid exterior, intelligent interior and is one of the thinnest full-QWERTY slider phones available. It is a no-fuss, high-tech, location-aware, voice-recognizing, over-the-air updating, multi-tasking machine - and it is available just in time for holiday wish lists.
With DROID by Motorola, you can:
-- Zip through the Web: Access the Internet at 3G speeds via the nation's largest and most reliable 3G network or from any Wi-Fi hotspot. The multi-window HTML browser with a massive processor delivers the Web the way you expect.
-- See it all in cinema-style: View the Web, e-mail, Google Maps, videos and more in widescreen on a brilliant 3.7" high-resolution screen. Boasting a width of 854 pixels to reduce the need for side-to-side panning and more than 400,000 pixels total, DROID has more than twice the resolution of the leading competitor.
-- Run multiple applications at once: Customize your DROID with thousands of applications and hundreds of widgets available on Android Market. Toggle back and forth between up to six applications at a time to juggle the universe and your apps.
-- Perform Google Search at the speed of sound: Simply tell DROID what you're looking for using voice-activated search, and it will serve up Google search results based on your location. If you want more, simply type what you're looking for into the search bar on the home screen and DROID will also search content on your phone, such as apps and contacts, and the Web.
-- Capture moments: Snap digital camera-quality photos with a 5 megapixel camera loaded with the works, such as a dual-LED flash, AutoFocus and image stabilization, or capture your friend's antics in 16 million colors with DVD-quality video capture and playback. Store it all on the included 16 GB memory card, so you always have it on hand.
-- Multi-task like a master: Keep tabs on all your messages with integrated Gmail and Exchange e-mail pushed directly to you, but don't let them get in your way. With the handy Android notification panel, go straight to the message or simply ignore it, and get back to the task at hand. And, a smart dictionary learns as you type and automatically includes your contacts.
-- Get where you need to go with Google Maps Navigation (Beta): DROID is the first device with Google Maps Navigation, providing turn-by-turn voice guidance as a free feature of Google Maps. It's powered by Google and connected to the Internet. Use voice shortcuts and simply say "Navigate to [your destination]," and you'll be on your way. See live traffic, use Street View or satellite imagery to view your route, and get access to the most recent maps and business information from Google Maps without ever needing to update your device.
Pre-loaded Applications and Enhancements to Google Mobile Services:
-- Google Maps: With layers in Google Maps, view geographic information, such as My Maps, Wikipedia, and transit lines, right on the map.
-- Gmail: Multiple accounts support and undo for common operations.
-- YouTube: One-touch recording and playback from homescreen widget or app, one-touch sharing with friends, and the ability to view your own uploaded videos and high-resolution videos.
-- Google Talk: Easily switch between chats, search your chat history, and preview pictures and videos sent by links.
-- Android Market: Browse and download applications created by third-party developers.
-- Calendar: Ability to see who has R.S.V.P.'d to your meeting invitations.
-- Facebook: Syncs Facebook contacts to your address book, and a live widget gives the ability to update status and view latest updates from friends.
-- Amazon MP3 Store: Download the latest tracks over the air.
-- Verizon Wireless Visual Voice Mail: Delete, reply and forward voice mail messages without having to listen to prior messages or voice instructions.
Pricing and Availability:
-- DROID by Motorola will be available in the United States exclusively at Verizon Wireless Communications Stores and online on Friday, Nov. 6, for $199.99 with a new two-year customer agreement after a $100 mail-in rebate. Customers will receive the rebate in the form of a debit card; upon receipt, customers may use the card as cash anywhere debit cards are accepted.
-- Experience the all-new DROID by Motorola at www.droiddoes.com.
-- To get the most from DROID by Motorola smartphone, customers will need to subscribe to a Nationwide voice plan and an Email and Web for Smartphone plan. Nationwide voice plans begin at $39.99 for monthly access for 450 minutes and an Email and Web for Smartphone plan is $29.99 for monthly access.
Picture of Motorola Droid
there is 1 more vid about droid that i cant post ... short motodroid hand-on
$199 is freaking cheap for the device ...even same price with ipod touch 3g 8gb.. and also creative zii egg... this phone almost perfect as it is .. the screen display looks so well .. the touch screen is perfectly responsive .. urghhhhhhh~!!! y do they just sell there only ...
This post has been edited by ~tera~: Oct 29 2009, 12:11 AM
WOW ~!!! thx for sharing ... is it the same spec ??
QUOTE(faizalmzain @ Oct 29 2009, 12:50 AM)
$199 price must come with the plan and contract just like iphone. it's not the actual price.
i noe but it really2 cheap and 2 years contract with verizon ....i think at US country ... services are cheaper than here .. i din expect that the contract are same price as the device monthly ... even .. it hapens .... 199x2 = 398 ... still far cheaper than hero here ....
Car Home Feature Are stunning thou with the phone holder ... it just so perfect , luxurious phone device so far ... with black solid design ... and gold d pad .. is imperial ... this is very2 perfect phone actually ...
so it take quite long to release here i think ... maybe the price are cheaper than hero(2.3k) when its new ... maybe around 2k or sumthing .. and of course its more expensive than motorola cliq/dext(1.4k~1.8k .. i see on ebay) out there ... but still din officially release here too ...
----- on drunkenmaster vid post ... i figure out sumting is wrong actually on 9.45 min ... they say the droid browser din support multi touch gesture ...
on earlier post got 1 vid about droid with gsm if u watch it .. it DO support multi touch gesture on the browser ... or ..the both verizon droid and gsm droid .. are diff specification feature ??? i think its not ...
check this out ... 1st Motorola Droid Review by engadget ..
they say the camera picture are not perfect ... the feature like macro and autofocus .. din work so well
As you have probably heard (or guessed), there's no multitouch on this device. That's clearly an issue with Android 2.0 and choices that Google is making about user interface -- we're fairly certain there's nothing technically holding back the DROID from utilizing multitouch input, and we wouldn't be surprised to see some tweaked ROMs hit the information superhighway with the functionality onboard. Regardless, the resolution, materials, and clarity of the DROID display make it an absolute pleasure to keep your eyes on. Motorola gets a +1 for the bump in resolution, and we can only hope everyone else follows suit.
Note: Android 2.0 does support multitouch events, but the functionality isn't implemented here.
i think .. its not a main problem about MotoDroid .. since they enable the on screen keyboard
the main disappointment is the multi touch feature and the new camera update it self .. i've seen tru the sample pictures that engadget provide .. its not too bad image captured.. but the extra feature like auto focus .. macro work so slow as they say .. about multi touch feature .. i'm a bit confused that the earlier droid with gsm prototype video DOES support the multi touch on the browser .. but this verizon droid .. the functionality isn't implemented . maybe the gsm droid has its own upgraded feature when the hardware itself comes out in the future ... hope so ..
While the camera certainly seems capable of taking great looking photos, getting everything to play nice isn't as easy as it should be. First off, the camera is painfully slow to focus and snap pictures -- and when it does, the results can be unpredictable. Strangely, the lens seems to be able to take pretty sharp macro photos (it's even a setting in the camera app), but it struggled with getting adjusted to close subjects, even in broad daylight. Sometimes we got lucky and cranked out a decent pic, but the process was frustrating. Furthermore, the new settings Google has added to 2.0 are contained in a hard to get to and counterintuitive menu which sits to the left of your viewing area. Trying to make changes on the fly was a hassle. If this is the best the engineers at Google can do, they need to outsource this work.
this is one of the first review ... but all of those opinion are still not 100%ly acceptable .. till the other sites doing his job for the review ..
notes: the quote are taken from the engadget verizon motorola droid review
This post has been edited by ~tera~: Oct 31 2009, 11:55 PM
Motorola MILESTONE (aka GSM Verizon DROID) confirmed for O2 Germany
We’re still playing avidly with our Verizon DROID by Motorola in preparation for the full review this coming week – check out some first-impressions and highlights in the meantime – but according to a leaked O2 Germany document the GSM European version may only be days away. The document lists the Motorola MILESTONE – with a shot of what’s definitely the Motorola DROID – as coming to the German carrier in the week beginning November 9th 2009; in fact there’s already a page for the MILESTONE on the O2 Germany site.
The document itself is aimed at business customers, but there’s little reason to presume that the MILESTONE won’t be available to regular buyers too. Pricing – again, for businesses – is €404.20 before taxes ($595) which we’re assuming is a contract-free cost; as for the product page, so far there’s nothing but a shot of the phone and its name.
It’s unknown whether the Motorola MILESTONE is an exclusive to O2, or will be available on other carriers. There’s currently no sign of it on O2 UK’s site either. The phone will launch in the US – as the Verizon DROID by Motorola – on November 6th.
Why'd change the name to MILESTONE. Kinda like DROID better haha. Anyway that would be the DROID around RM2k. I guess that's pretty standard pricing when it comes to smartphones.
its standard .. but not cheap la ... 5 mp , android , capacitive screen like milestone , hero , I7500 and maybe samsung moment .. around rm2k ~2.5k price becoz the samsung moment(3.2mp) comes with amoled screen with 16m colors .. maybe in hero and milestone standard price .. 3.2mp , capacitive screen <rm2k .. like dream , magic ... resistive 3.2mp ... tattoo <rm1.5k .... i think the most expensive android phone so far is.. SE Xperia10/X3 with 8mp + 1ghz snapdragon + 32gb internal + 16m colors large screen(4 inches) + racheal ui + video capture VGA@30fps(2xhero) .. ofcoz the xperia range is above rm3.5k starting price .. yet not release but coming soon enuf
QUOTE(Vervain @ Nov 1 2009, 10:14 PM)
driod was patent by verizon?
ya its verizon brand name .. since the htc also have droid version ... verizon droid Eris
This post has been edited by ~tera~: Nov 1 2009, 11:26 PM
when is it coming to malaysia? if not im going for hero but droid's screen is soooo big.
the release date are not inform yet ... maybe several months .. ya the screen big enuf .. can even make a portable mirror or square shape torch light .. lol
QUOTE(MaggieMee @ Nov 1 2009, 11:30 PM)
Your wrong, "droid" is a trademark of Lucasarts (star wars) which both google and verizon licensed.
really ?? lol .. sumtime i oso cant provide sum 100%ly right infos in this android subforum .. haha tq bro for the correct info ..
i knew it ~!! it is diff between droid and milestone .... but its a bit laggie than droid ... i watch it on youtube ... gsm version milestone ...
DROID headed to Germany as Motorola MILESTONE (update: Italy too, no Google Maps Navigation)
O2 Germany has confirmed a GSM version of the DROID for Europe going by the name of the Motorola MILESTONE. The news comes courtesy of a sliver of O2's online store page that left itself exposed to the wiles of Google, complete with the above picture and the new moniker, and follows close on the heels of a leaked business guide which says the MILESTONE will retail for €404.20 to corporate customers, and will be available as of November 9th.
Update: It's now official on the Motorola Germany (and english language Western Europe) website where it lists Vodafone and O2 as local carriers. Italy now too, on an unspecified carrier. Oh, and it also lists "pinch and zoom" as a feature not found on the Droid. See for yourself after the break.
Update 2: As noted by a few readers, Milestone will ship with MOTONAV turn-by-turn directions, not Google's Maps Navigation.
same as engadget review .. the droid camera are utter garbage bold are taken from gizmodo droid review
about witcher post .... i think the google only make the Android OS. Google wont make own hardware for the android os .. never , ever , ever .. so the market and the available of the handset worldwide or specific area are accordingly to the handset android based manufacture it self ..for example Verizon-motorola taking advantages of the new Eclair update only for verizon's wireless services in specific area .. while after few days the Motorola Milestone news comes out ...
correct me if im wrong .. for those other android-sifu in this lowyat android subforum
This post has been edited by ~tera~: Nov 4 2009, 05:44 AM
O2 Germany has confirmed a GSM version of the DROID for Europe going by the name of the Motorola MILESTONE. The news comes courtesy of a sliver of O2's online store page that left itself exposed to the wiles of Google, complete with the above picture and the new moniker, and follows close on the heels of a leaked business guide which says the MILESTONE will retail for €404.20 to corporate customers, and will be available as of November 9th.
Update: It's now official on the Motorola Germany (and english language Western Europe) website where it lists Vodafone and O2 as local carriers. Italy now too, on an unspecified carrier. Oh, and it also lists "pinch and zoom" as a feature not found on the Droid. See for yourself after the break.
Update 2: As noted by a few readers, Milestone will ship with MOTONAV turn-by-turn directions, not Google's Maps Navigation.
taken by engadget .. source link .. in my earlier post ..
in germany official release november 9th ... cant wait to see .. hands-on comment by those famous gadget sites .. (slashgear/gizmodo/engadget)
maybe it takes awhile to reach here ... i think .. in that time .. we already getting eclair update on hero .. hopefully ... seems htc working hard for it .. cant wait to see .. eclair + sense UI .. must be great~!!!!!!
ps: i think should change the topic title when MILESTONE coming out soon .. no point talking about verizon motorola droid already .. coz it wont reach here
This post has been edited by ~tera~: Nov 7 2009, 06:52 PM
been waiting .. the official press to comes out .. , hands-on ... it seems the rumored release date are wrong also ... not november 9th ..
i want to see and know .. about how milestone works .. diff than droid ... i heard it sumwhere ,, they down clocked the proc ??? multi touch feature ... pinch zooming .. maybe i hope better camera ..
sum cool droid commercial vid .. verizon provide in this couple days ...
motorola droid now become more popular already ... even tho ,those stupid,dork,baka flash thingy .. so-called-shoot-the-phone-to-win-it .. shoot 5 of it .. the other browser will pop-up .. on sites .. for example.. onemanga.com .. (all of u must seen it before la) .. now available with motorola droid and iphone ~!!!!!!! .. AWESOME sh** new version maaaaaaa .. older version can shoot iphone only..
This post has been edited by ~tera~: Nov 10 2009, 04:47 PM
oh really ??? nice to hear it .. but still need example .. the UK price range between here market price ..
--- since this thread also about droid ... so i came out with this link ...
1st Verizon HTC Droid Eris Review ... by gizmodo
The difference is that Verizon's selling it for half the price, making it the cheapest Android phone you can buy—and the best, for the money.
Eris is Verizon's other Droid phone. It really is a remodeled Hero, running Android 1.5 and HTC's vaunted Sense candy coating—documented CSI style here—a $200 phone stuffed inside a thinner $100 body, like a Corvette engine shoved inside a Saturn. It's admittedly less exciting than the titular Droid, an industrial beast running Android 2.0. But I have the feeling Verizon is gonna sell a lot more of these things, because, again, it's $100.
come out with cupcake is abit disappointment for those U.S android-er .. htc really put their hand to introduce Eclair with HTC hero 1st to us...
but its abit long isn't it ?? waiting for update to comes out .. it already 2 weeks since the google announce Eclair update(on october 27th) .. maybe its hard enuf to mixing senseUi and eclair .. i hope .. no such thing as " we fail to mix it .. sorry for convenience " by htc ... lol
This post has been edited by ~tera~: Nov 11 2009, 04:37 PM
really ??? or sum kind of .. "i work at marketing department , Motorola branch in penang so i noe la" "my fren/relative/gf work at Motorola company in Europe/malaysia .. so i noe la"
it will be huge sell in germany .. with only 1 euro for the motorola milestone with 2 years contract (20 euro monthly)
The Droid crossed the ocean and didn’t even get wet… it just got a new name: the Motorola MILESTONE is now available at O2 in Germany! Get this – it only costs 1 Euro if you sign a 2-year contract costing 20 euro/month. And we thought the Droid was cheap in the states!
so motorola do need near perfect hardware in terms of long contract agreement .. so that user/customer wont complain for hardware malfunction/lack/problem .. since in this early stage .. did occur problem within Verizon Motorola Droid .. internal speaker problem autofocus slowpoke-ness i think this problem is not tooooo serious yet .. hope no ..dead screen/touch screen malfunction .. then motorola will be sooo "rich" for in contract user complain source http://www.engadget.com/2009/11/17/motorol...xed-in-secrecy/
This post has been edited by ~tera~: Nov 20 2009, 06:46 AM
1st Motorola Milestone Unboxing Video~!!!! from slashgear.com
Shipments of the Motorola MILESTONE began in Germany a few weeks ago, so it’s a little surprising that we’ve waited this long for an unboxing video. jkkmobile picked up one of the Android 2.0 handsets – known as the Motorola DROID in the US – and promptly opened it up on video. No great surprises to be found inside, with Motorola’s by-now usual packaging for an Android handset (we’ve seen it before with the CLIQ/DEXT) and the same accessories as we’ve already seen. Still, if you want a slick Motorola for use on GSM/UMTS networks then the MILESTONE is certainly appealing; it’s available SIM-free in Germany priced at around €500 ($750).
root .. they must bring up , recovery mode and nandroid backup .. its possible since the droid/milestone already popular enuf .. and will take over dream/g1 for biggest android community .. soon .. here only u can see la .. din release here .. still can up to 9 pages .. >__> after release 999 pages of course
Retailer eXpansys (which is big enough to actually produce some meaningful sales trend data, we suspect) is reporting that the just-launched Droid clone for GSM became "the fastest selling gadget in the website's 11 year history, even more successful than the iPhone" when it sold out inside of three hours on its site on top of the roughly 1,000 preorders they had taken prior to the 10th.
This post has been edited by ~tera~: Dec 12 2009, 07:11 AM
I'm looking to buy my first smartphone rite now... and it should be Android based. Is Hero still around 2.4K or has dropped??? Might consider waiting for Moto if that one still floating around 2.4....
Thanks!
just wait for Moto Milestone .. u wont regret .. bigger screen , camera flash .. hero doesnt ..