TSverajelly
Oct 14 2009, 11:04 PM, updated 17y ago

Sorry for the very noob question but : What is the point of employers "keeping for reference" your CV instead of issuing a clear rejection? Does it mean you are automatically considered for future positions? Or are they gathering personal data of the public to be sold to tele-salesmen?
What do they do with your CVs when they "KIV" them?
accitzone
Oct 14 2009, 11:06 PM
as it said KIV i.e Keep It View.. usually if some future post is suitable for the candidate, will call for interview.. usuall tht's wht i do.
TSverajelly
Oct 14 2009, 11:08 PM

QUOTE(accitzone @ Oct 14 2009, 11:06 PM) as it said KIV i.e Keep It View.. usually if some future post is suitable for the candidate, will call for interview.. usuall tht's wht i do. I see. Do you work in HR? How long do they keep CVs for?
azarimy
Oct 14 2009, 11:08 PM
mister architect: the arrogant pr*ck
QUOTE(verajelly @ Oct 14 2009, 03:04 PM) Sorry for the very noob question but : What is the point of employers "keeping for reference" your CV instead of issuing a clear rejection? Does it mean you are automatically considered for future positions? Or are they gathering personal data of the public to be sold to tele-salesmen? What do they do with your CVs when they "KIV" them? normally, they will keep it for future reference. if there's a vacancy in the near future and feel that u might be suitable for it, they might call u up. human resource is such a big deal nowadays, they might pass on u today, but they might need u tomorrow. and i've never heard of such information being sold to telesales companies lol. they must be very corrupt if they do that, and u should sue them  .
TSverajelly
Oct 14 2009, 11:11 PM

QUOTE(azarimy @ Oct 14 2009, 11:08 PM) normally, they will keep it for future reference. if there's a vacancy in the near future and feel that u might be suitable for it, they might call u up. human resource is such a big deal nowadays, they might pass on u today, but they might need u tomorrow. and i've never heard of such information being sold to telesales companies lol. they must be very corrupt if they do that, and u should sue them  . I am very suspicious of people asking for my personal details. They can easily take out loans using the information you give them, for example. I find people very relaxed about giving out their personal information, but not me.
accitzone
Oct 14 2009, 11:14 PM
QUOTE(verajelly @ Oct 14 2009, 11:08 PM) I see. Do you work in HR? How long do they keep CVs for? no time frame... depends on case by case..
azarimy
Oct 14 2009, 11:46 PM
QUOTE(verajelly @ Oct 14 2009, 03:11 PM) I am very suspicious of people asking for my personal details. They can easily take out loans using the information you give them, for example. I find people very relaxed about giving out their personal information, but not me.  loans require certified copies of IC. what i always do is whenever i need to hand out copies, i will always cross the copy twice and wrote "for use of XXX company only" on the copy itself. front and back. if u're really worried, what's stopping them from taking ur CV for 30 seconds and photocopy it while they're interviewing u?
TSverajelly
Oct 14 2009, 11:57 PM

QUOTE(azarimy @ Oct 14 2009, 11:46 PM) loans require certified copies of IC. what i always do is whenever i need to hand out copies, i will always cross the copy twice and wrote "for use of XXX company only" on the copy itself. front and back. if u're really worried, what's stopping them from taking ur CV for 30 seconds and photocopy it while they're interviewing u? Ah that's a good idea. I shall start making notes on my IC copies. Well I'm still uneasy about giving out my details to private parties. Obviously they can do all sorts of things if they are hell-bent on keeping my personal details, but I prefer my details to not be in the hands of unrelated outsiders. Anyway, I wonder why companies keep CVs of people they rejected the first time around when they could just advertise their future vacancies and get fresh applicants.
azarimy
Oct 15 2009, 12:09 AM
QUOTE(verajelly @ Oct 14 2009, 03:57 PM) Ah that's a good idea. I shall start making notes on my IC copies. Well I'm still uneasy about giving out my details to private parties. Obviously they can do all sorts of things if they are hell-bent on keeping my personal details, but I prefer my details to not be in the hands of unrelated outsiders. Anyway, I wonder why companies keep CVs of people they rejected the first time around when they could just advertise their future vacancies and get fresh applicants. bcoz it's like a catalog. most people are not tied down by long-term contracts. they are free to leave whenever they want. in business, they wanna keep track of individuals who can boost their companies if they were to expand in the future. i've had one experience on this. i did my practical training in an architecture firm in KL for 6 months. they told me to leave my CV behind, which i had no problem of doing. a year later, i graduated. the firm called me back bcoz they wanted a group of architects to spearhead their branch in bosnia-herzegovina. i had to decline bcoz i just accepted a post as a lecturer in UTM. i'm sure others here could give a lot of other examples. human resource is like a whole world of MMORPG  .
TSverajelly
Oct 15 2009, 12:36 AM

QUOTE(azarimy @ Oct 15 2009, 12:09 AM) bcoz it's like a catalog. most people are not tied down by long-term contracts. they are free to leave whenever they want. in business, they wanna keep track of individuals who can boost their companies if they were to expand in the future. i've had one experience on this. i did my practical training in an architecture firm in KL for 6 months. they told me to leave my CV behind, which i had no problem of doing. a year later, i graduated. the firm called me back bcoz they wanted a group of architects to spearhead their branch in bosnia-herzegovina. i had to decline bcoz i just accepted a post as a lecturer in UTM. i'm sure others here could give a lot of other examples. human resource is like a whole world of MMORPG  . Well if you are kept for reference in a place you've done some work in (eg uni practical etc) it makes more sense than a one time unsuccessful application. Oh well.
azarimy
Oct 15 2009, 01:24 AM
QUOTE(verajelly @ Oct 14 2009, 04:36 PM) Well if you are kept for reference in a place you've done some work in (eg uni practical etc) it makes more sense than a one time unsuccessful application. Oh well. here's a different view: if u dont trust the place u're applying to, why apply there in the first place?
TSverajelly
Oct 15 2009, 01:39 AM

QUOTE(azarimy @ Oct 15 2009, 01:24 AM) here's a different view: if u dont trust the place u're applying to, why apply there in the first place?  I do not like people holding on to my personal details unnecessarily. Period.
Txi
Oct 15 2009, 01:40 AM
na lah KIV means killed in view .
don't believe local employers when they say o/wise all bullsh**ters
keeseng12
Oct 15 2009, 07:01 AM
QUOTE(azarimy @ Oct 14 2009, 11:08 PM) normally, they will keep it for future reference. if there's a vacancy in the near future and feel that u might be suitable for it, they might call u up. human resource is such a big deal nowadays, they might pass on u today, but they might need u tomorrow. and i've never heard of such information being sold to telesales companies lol. they must be very corrupt if they do that, and u should sue them  . +1 They might not need you today, but still they will keep your CV/resume for future position.
sp@wn
Oct 15 2009, 07:09 AM

just be sure that your CV has enough information about you and your capability - and stops there
put in a bad way, it is a catalog - about you, the product.
you want people to know what you're about - but not every part of your life
i do advice 1 thing though - make sure your CV/portfolio is done so with enough protection on your work, be it watermark/signage or even personal logo.
some cheap-ass company do....... 'take' applicants portfolio and dubbed it as their own.
azarimy
Oct 15 2009, 07:40 AM
QUOTE(verajelly @ Oct 14 2009, 05:39 PM) I do not like people holding on to my personal details unnecessarily. Period. something just crossed my mind: u actually put IC numbers, address and DoB and similar details on ur CV? coz most people dont. only phone number and email.
tgrrr
Oct 15 2009, 08:45 AM
QUOTE(azarimy @ Oct 15 2009, 07:40 AM) something just crossed my mind: u actually put IC numbers, address and DoB and similar details on ur CV? coz most people dont. only phone number and email. I don't put my IC # and other sensitive information on my CV. Also those job application forms that requires many ridiculous details like what's my siblings current job and their co, etc... I'll tell them straight that's P&C and nothing to do with my job application.
opjust
Oct 15 2009, 09:55 AM
what is the worse can happen if we put al those IC no n the wrong ppl get it?
keeseng12
Oct 15 2009, 10:13 AM
QUOTE(opjust @ Oct 15 2009, 09:55 AM) what is the worse can happen if we put al those IC no n the wrong ppl get it? identity theft. someone potray as you and try to get information from bank or whatever place. But that's for pro la if they have only your IC. But don't underestimate the power of Internet. Put in your IC, they may the entire other information that make their job easier.
Joey Christensen
Oct 15 2009, 10:41 AM
K.I.V files? Grab 'em and Bag 'em. To be kept for future/desperate times only. How it feels like when there's 6 A4 paper boxes containing CVs? Basically it's a dump site for me. Salvaging will only take place in desperate times.
Regards, Joey
thedarknight
Oct 15 2009, 10:53 AM
QUOTE(Joey Christensen @ Oct 15 2009, 10:41 AM) K.I.V files? Grab 'em and Bag 'em. To be kept for future/desperate times only. How it feels like when there's 6 A4 paper boxes containing CVs? Basically it's a dump site for me. Salvaging will only take place in desperate times. Regards, Joey spot on sir... i think 'KIV' is a polite way of saying you're rejected! better luck next time..
aed_ee
Oct 15 2009, 10:53 AM
KIV can also means that if the candidate they selected bail out, then you are the first choice
TSverajelly
Oct 15 2009, 01:05 PM

QUOTE(Joey Christensen @ Oct 15 2009, 10:41 AM) K.I.V files? Grab 'em and Bag 'em. To be kept for future/desperate times only. How it feels like when there's 6 A4 paper boxes containing CVs? Basically it's a dump site for me. Salvaging will only take place in desperate times. Regards, Joey That's how I imagine it to be as well. Letting a pile of CVs sit in a corner gathering dust seems bit of an odd practice if you ask me, unless you like azarimy have spent time working in the firm. Added on October 15, 2009, 1:07 pmQUOTE(azarimy @ Oct 15 2009, 07:40 AM) something just crossed my mind: u actually put IC numbers, address and DoB and similar details on ur CV? coz most people dont. only phone number and email. Yea, DOB, IC # and address are pretty standard details to have in one's cv, at least in Malaysia anyway. I think. This post has been edited by verajelly: Oct 15 2009, 01:18 PM
Joey Christensen
Oct 15 2009, 02:33 PM
Details such as name (with your surname bolded font), contack number, corresponding address and email address on top left is sufficient.
Regards, Joey
Aggroboy
Oct 15 2009, 03:38 PM
QUOTE(thedarknight @ Oct 15 2009, 10:53 AM) spot on sir... i think 'KIV' is a polite way of saying you're rejected! better luck next time.. Correct. There is no point keeping a resume for future purposes since resume will change with work experience, and many HRs won't bother to find the KIV resume when someone reapplies in the future.
keown83
Oct 15 2009, 03:46 PM

QUOTE(verajelly @ Oct 14 2009, 11:04 PM) Sorry for the very noob question but : What is the point of employers "keeping for reference" your CV instead of issuing a clear rejection? Does it mean you are automatically considered for future positions? Or are they gathering personal data of the public to be sold to tele-salesmen? What do they do with your CVs when they "KIV" them? sometime it means; we may gonna need u later..... sometime it means; u sucks, we dont want u (dat KIV term is just for "jaga hati", reject in polite way).... anyway, its more sounds like; don call us, we call u... u know wat i mean... This post has been edited by keown83: Oct 15 2009, 03:47 PM
azarimy
Oct 15 2009, 06:02 PM
QUOTE(verajelly @ Oct 15 2009, 05:05 AM) Added on October 15, 2009, 1:07 pmYea, DOB, IC # and address are pretty standard details to have in one's cv, at least in Malaysia anyway. I think. no. it is ASSUMED that it's the standard. but it's not. what u need to put in the CV is just whatever that's relevant to the potential employers. they may need to know ur address so that they could send future letters, but they do not need to know ur IC number, date of birth (maybe once to justify ur age), race, religion and so on. CV is not ur personal online dating service profile  .
Txi
Oct 16 2009, 12:06 AM
The thing is if you succeed in getting job then you will have to put in all these details .
But I do agree that even if you did get it , why should the employer know IC etc?
It has nothing to do with the job.
Joey Christensen
Oct 16 2009, 09:41 AM
It has nothing to do with the job. It's part of standard operating procedure (SOP).
Regards, Joey
TSverajelly
Oct 16 2009, 10:22 AM

Well, to be honest, I know the "KIV" line is very often used on rejectees especially the decision is delivered face to face. But the reason I'm asking is that I'm getting "Kept For Reference" on several job apps on Jobstreet. On the internet the meaning is less clear because they can easily afford to hand out outright rejections without having to worry about being "polite" about it. It makes the status more ambiguous than it might be in real life.
Txi
Oct 16 2009, 01:52 PM
SOP? says who ?