Wow, we've finally hit v2. Go Amex community! =p
American Express® Cards v2, Membership Rewards™
Oct 11 2009, 04:23 PM
6,106 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Klang |
Wow, we've finally hit v2. Go Amex community! =p
Oct 14 2009, 07:37 AM
For those of you who haven't received your amex gold cc, you might wanna check with cs. Mine didn't come for weeks last time, and when I called up, apparently they sent it to the branch near my workplace -.-
Quite sure I ticked courier to house, but who knows |
Oct 14 2009, 08:05 PM
Hmm but Amex was relatively widely accepted in Tokyo, from what I observed when I was there at least.
And yea, with the new amex gold cc, and how widely they're advertising it, it does somewhat give u the impression that they're moving to the mass market a lil, rather than remaining a niche. Still, compared to a number of years back, Amex acceptance is getting better, though not to my satisfaction yet. I mean, I obviously don't expect the lil shop down the road to accept Amex, but there are decent places that doesn't take Amex as well. Point in case that comes to mind is Sushi Zanmai outlets |
Oct 14 2009, 08:40 PM
QUOTE(winner @ Oct 14 2009, 08:32 PM) Oh, Zanmai in The Gardens at MV? I'm a Japanese food lover and I patronised it once but the bill wasn't settled by me. I thought most of the outlets in MV accept Amex, especially TG, a higher end wing. This is not a good news but thanks for the update anyway. Yeah, that Zanmai (and even the one in 1U and Pyramid). Exactly, I expected to be allowed to roam freely around TG with my amex |
Oct 15 2009, 08:11 PM
QUOTE(tachlio @ Oct 15 2009, 11:02 AM) QUOTE(Alec.Yong @ Oct 15 2009, 11:05 AM) Different CCs for different purposes ma QUOTE(clsia1001 @ Oct 15 2009, 06:17 PM) Called Maybank, the officer said she already submitted on 1st Oct..and no way for her to check on the status.. As in branch officer already submitted to credit evaluation department? Well if it's not appearing in the system, it does sound like the application is lost somewhere. Don't think it's in transit considering how long ago the application was sent.Should i reapply? Later call maybank CS again.. |
Oct 16 2009, 07:20 AM
QUOTE(clsia1001 @ Oct 15 2009, 11:05 PM) Just called AMEX CS again, this time a guy told me my application was pending bank credit proof on 3 months salary.. Oh you're prooving salary via bank statement and not salary slip? Hmm the PB only shows 2 months? Might be sufficient for them. Did the CS specifically mention that your application only shows 2 months and that was insufficient? |
Oct 16 2009, 09:06 PM
QUOTE(Dozz @ Oct 16 2009, 08:53 PM) Amex CS rang me again just now to follow up the invitation of platinum charge card. quite tempted but RM2380 for a card per annual is too much? any thought? You gotta weigh it. Think the last time we listed it down, the extra benefits were kinda limited to travel related, in specific air flights related. If you're gonna utilise that, then it's probably pretty good.Plus I can't deny it, a portion of the high price is for the prestige as well. In my eyes at least, this is the most prestigious card in our country. Yes I know you can buy other stuff with RM2.4k, but if RM200 per month is no big deal to you, then I would say go for it. At least try it out for a year and see for yourself what you think about it |
Oct 17 2009, 10:41 AM
QUOTE(Dozz @ Oct 17 2009, 01:35 AM) If you talking about RM200 per month that sound acceptable but now we have to pay RM2380 in one goal. Hmm...with this amount of money, i can go HK return twice or buy one new iphone. haha... anyway, i will think about it. thanks for the opinions. Ah yea, was just spreading the cost over the period you'll be utilising it. |
Oct 23 2009, 08:25 PM
Yeah unfortunately Amex will be rather badly hit, since ppl consolidating their cards will look to cancel their charge cards in particular as it's not as widely accepted.
To top that up, their recent heavy campaigning of the free for life Amex Gold CC is gonna go to dust. What are you guys planning to do? (assuming no banks come up with response) I'll keep my charge card, and probably 2 other credit cards max. |
Oct 23 2009, 10:17 PM
QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Oct 23 2009, 09:57 PM) I probably will switch back to debit card only as my annual spending is not high enough to absorb the service fee at the moment Service fee is RM50. If each RM spent with an Amex is worth about 1 cent (since we get 2 points per RM spent), we'll need an expenditure of RM5k to cover it.Seriously, considering the low acceptability of Amex, retail doesn't seem like a good ground for them anymore (despite recent efforts). Lots of ppl are gonna cancel it. They'll probably have to refocus on getting their corporate ones out. And yea, suddenly Maybank's new MasterCard Platinum Debit Card doesn't seem like a bad option at all. |
Oct 23 2009, 10:48 PM
@tinker
Yeah, didn't say it was hard, was just an observation of how much needs to be spent =p The 2nd part was in reference to ppl consolidating their cards. Especially for ppl who want to have like 1 single card, they'll probably ditch Amex for a visa or mc since the latter ones are more widely accepted. |
Oct 23 2009, 10:53 PM
@tinker
Same here, I doubt I'll be keeping just 1 card. Like you, I'm happy with my Amex, and don't want to lose it. But at the same time, there is a need for the MC/Visa for acceptability. Or if I really decide to keep just the Amex, I'll probably have to switch over to Debit cards, meh |
Oct 23 2009, 11:04 PM
@tinker
Simple, the plat. privileges > points And there's still the 10x plat partners, so technically the plat is not all privileges and no points,lol. |
Oct 23 2009, 11:09 PM
@tinker
Well, you could do some rough math and see if your annual petrol+grocery extra 3x points will be very substantial. It's gonna add up to abit obviously, but is it substantial enough for you to forego plat privileges Which brings us to the point you missed.. privileges > points Ok, maybe I'm being slightly bias in suggesting you keep the plat and all,lol |
Oct 23 2009, 11:21 PM
@tinker
I guess unless you golf alot, eat at Shangrila/Westin often, or shop at their plat partners alot; the Gold CC would be better. Plan to keep a visa/mc apart frm an amex? |
Oct 23 2009, 11:56 PM
@tinker
You could opt for debit cards for visa/mc =p |
Oct 24 2009, 11:38 PM
@Shinichi
I'm quite sure I opted for e-statement in the form as well, but I've been receiving the paper statements, albeit without a charge for it. @zenquix Yes, unfortunately due to the lower acceptibility of the charge cards in our country, when ppl consolidate their cards, amex/diners will be the ones to rid off |
Oct 24 2009, 11:49 PM
@tinker
For the SCB rebate, it's probably for the application stage only right? As in from the 2nd year onwards you don't get it anymore. Well yes, there're ways they can go about it. But the cost to the bank can be pretty huge. Unless they're totally confident that with such an offer, they can steal a large share of the market, and ppl will consolidate to their cards. Btw same here, thinking of keeping 2 (including my charge card) or at max 3. Does seem I'm gonna give up the gold cc which is real good, though feel like it's quite a waste to do so |
Oct 28 2009, 08:23 PM
@sykz you work for Amex?
I have a question for you. Any chance they'll waive the RM25 payable to enrol into MR for green charge cards? I mean, it's free for gold and plat charge cards, but they decide to charge on the green charge cards =.= Also, do they offer ppl upgrades like from green to gold, say if I'm an active user. Or it's a must to resubmit financials to show I qualify for a gold or somethin Thanks! |
Oct 29 2009, 10:15 PM
@Optiplex330
Well yes, as pointed out, acceptability in Malaysia is unfortunately on the low side. If most of the places you frequent does not accept Amex, then the card simply doesn't suit you. Some on the other hand, swipe rather large amounts over time at the places they frequent |
| Change to: | 0.0416sec
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 08:23 AM |