Getting banned for earning money

Vagabond
post Oct 12 2009, 11:03 PM

30 posts

I just got suspended as well for the same reason. 'Exploiting the economy' Seriously, what the hell? And they had to do it while I was waiting for my regular priest to log in for Heroic TOC10. Almost 5 years of WoW and they had to slap me with this.
Quazacolt
post Oct 13 2009, 10:07 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(Aggroboy @ Oct 12 2009, 03:44 PM)
If you main just one character and don't really bother pimping out your alts, gold is never an issue. You can pretty much survive on WG quests and 1-2 dailies alone.

You have to understand that people with many alts and specs to bring to around level 258 (PVP and PVE)  on itemization and enchants won't feel the same way.
ilevel 245 you mean? lol. 258 mane datang

oh and many alts doesnt mean crap when they can do their own dailies tongue.gif
just need more time

unless ur said alt = lowbie twinks
then lol crusader orbs @ 700-1k gold QQ melees
lung
post Oct 13 2009, 11:09 AM

Film & Computer Gaming Freak
1,187 posts

ilvl 258 is from togc25 if i'm not mistaken.

well there are those epic riding costs (5k per char), that's prolly why ppl need so much gold. i dun have any high lvl alts so like the rest i just don't really bother to 'play' the AH for more gold. just sell what i have in excess.
sherly
post Oct 13 2009, 04:03 PM

230 posts

I got banned at one time for powerleveling my alt's mining. I think it was from 50-200 in a day and I had lots of ores for sale in AH. Got the "exploiting economy" ban also.
ray123
post Oct 14 2009, 01:13 AM

Senior Citizen
2,510 posts

Server's down and I can't figure out why my gfx card is making a racket with the fan. Stupid Asus SmartDoctor software doesn't seem to control the fanspeed itself.
Quazacolt
post Oct 14 2009, 01:52 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(ray123 @ Oct 14 2009, 01:13 AM)
Server's down and I can't figure out why my gfx card is making a racket with the fan. Stupid Asus SmartDoctor software doesn't seem to control the fanspeed itself.
if its nvidia card, their recent drivers can control the card fan speeds from their own software... you need to download one small software called nvidia system tools though
TSSophiera
post Oct 15 2009, 08:21 PM

Sophtopus
706 posts

My ban was lifted a day early, and now the accounts section is trying to negotiate a compensation with the billing section.

Rambu didn't get banned, he was away on a business trip.

Money? It's for a rainy day. What is a rainy day? You'll never know until it rains.

I've talked to a GM and he confirmed that I do not have worms flagging me falsely. Sometimes it could be the speed we mine/auction.

The machine is on too much coffee
patalim
post Oct 16 2009, 01:59 PM

I was going to make a new bank alt and transfer my gold over but since I was suspended earlier, I ticketed a GM to make sure I wouldn't set off any red flags.

Here's what happened tongue.gif

[img=http://img42.imageshack.us/img42/3005/part1b.th.jpg]
[img=http://img22.imageshack.us/img22/9092/part2c.th.jpg]
[img=http://img22.imageshack.us/img22/2384/part3rm.th.jpg]
Quazacolt
post Oct 16 2009, 02:05 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(patalim @ Oct 16 2009, 01:59 PM)
I was going to make a new bank alt and transfer my gold over but since I was suspended earlier, I ticketed a GM to make sure I wouldn't set off any red flags.

lmao the cake is a lie
Erubus
post Oct 16 2009, 02:16 PM

188 posts

QUOTE(Sophiera @ Oct 10 2009, 01:27 PM)
And it's not real life money.

Twice I've been banned in 3 weeks for making ingame gold the legal way.
First time they think I am selling gold
Now they think I am buying gold!

I'm thoroughly pissed. There is this aussie guy who buys and sells by five digit numbers and he never gets banned.

Has anyone else been getting such unfair treatment?
ive not gotten ban for making too much wow gold. i still have bout 100k. mostly from AH trading.
im using tunneling service but i think coz the tunnel i use is from local ip it prob doesnt get flag.

i've also bought game time once with ingame gold and even got scammed once. both of these occur couple weeks back. i sent a ticket to blizz when i got scammed explaining i was buying game time and was kinda expecting a couple days suspension but instead i got my gold back and the scammer was ban for few days.

Sophiera, could it possibly be that the items you sell are very high above market price (500% or more) and some gold scammer drop the gold to u ? or prob something along that line where someone buy stuff from you on AH or trade with stolen gold?
Aggroboy
post Oct 16 2009, 02:27 PM

637 posts

rclxms.gif good one
TSSophiera
post Oct 17 2009, 01:10 AM

Sophtopus
706 posts

My prices are definately not 500% XD It's like, a 2% increase tongue.gif

Lol the pie is truth. I like blizz gms...they have a lot of humour.
myremi
post Oct 17 2009, 04:18 PM

1,846 posts

Nice one uncle beebs. LOL!
soitsuagain
post Oct 18 2009, 11:08 AM

Let's do it together!
3,817 posts

50k gold here. daily junkie. I used to do at least 15 dailies a day. It stretch until a few months.
Jas2davir
post Oct 18 2009, 01:50 PM

461 posts

my friend transfers so much gold among his alt but never ever got baned sad.gif why he never get banned b4 sad.gif he has 320k gold sad.gif or more we shall never know rite mr kiss?
patalim
post Nov 27 2009, 06:39 PM

Well, after my account got suspended for the 2nd time in a few months, I dialed the billing department number and managed to get my suspension lifted after a few hours.

Miffed, I emailed them asking why. This was the reply I got, the information might make things a bit clearer.

Thank you for contacting the World of Warcraft Game Master Department.

1. What did I do this time that was causing my account to be
flagged..........again? If I don't know, I can't fix it or change my
it so it won't happen again. I don't want to be suspended again two
months later for another "random" incident.

>>  Our system does look for foreign IP addresses, large amounts of gold being transferred and/or deposited into Guild banks

2. FWIW, does my account have a clean slate now?
>>>There are currently no “strikes” on your account

3. Your billing department said I was "whispering people about wow
gold buying websites" around 4am pacific time on the 25th of November.
If I am not mistaken, I was in Wintergrasp at that time or had just
finished it and was back in Dalaran. For the next few hours, I wasn't
"kicked" from the game, so that means no one else was attempting to
hack or steal my account or had control of my account at the same
time, right? So if I did say something that can be taken to be
encouraging gold buying/selling, can you please tell me what it is? So
I can avoid doing the same thing again.
>>> I am unable to verify that

4. Is my use of a tunneling service contributing to these
misunderstandings? I occasionally log in from different IPs on the
tunneling server when my local ISP is acting up and giving me 2k in
game latencies. This means I will sometimes use the Malaysian,
Singaporean or even occasionally, Los Angeles based tunnel servers to
connect.
>>> The Tunneling service will certainly flag your account for investigation as it uses Asian IP addresses

5. Is it because I have too much gold in my account (300k-ish)? Or
because I send gold to my own toons on my own account? Or because I
occasionally sell stuff for the guild and deposit the returns in the
guild bank?
>>> Combined with the foreign IP addresses, it does seem to be a gold seller’s account at first glance. But only at first glance, which is why we reverse any actions taken.

6. Was my account flagged due to an automated process? Or was it due
to me being "reported" by fellow game players? If it was due to in
game "reporting" by fellow players, may I know which toon was the
offending one?
>>> I am sorry but our internal processes and customer identity are confidential and we will be unable to share that information

Should you require further assistance, please submit another help request the next time you are online. We hope you continue to enjoy your experience in World of Warcraft!

For any game play questions, please refer to our site at http://www.blizzard.com/support/wowgm/

*** Please do not respond to this email as all conversations on this matter would be best handled online. ***

So its pretty much confirmed that having > X amount of gold, Asian IP and/or frequent (5k to 10k a day is a lot? heck, a bike cost 16k already....) gold transfers WILL flag your account.

0.0193sec    0.94    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 05:00 PM