Getting banned for earning money

TSSophiera
post Oct 10 2009, 01:27 PM, updated 17y ago

Sophtopus
706 posts

And it's not real life money.

Twice I've been banned in 3 weeks for making ingame gold the legal way.
First time they think I am selling gold
Now they think I am buying gold!

I'm thoroughly pissed. There is this aussie guy who buys and sells by five digit numbers and he never gets banned.

Has anyone else been getting such unfair treatment?
novo
post Oct 10 2009, 01:51 PM

120 posts

i always borrow gold to my friends.. usually around 10k etc..
so far no problem..(in thaurissan)

but theres 1 time i give 1k gold to my friend in US realm, i kena 3 days ban bcoz of economy exploitation. But later after talking to wowaccountadmin@blizzard.com i found out that it is bcoz of using 3rd party program.. the economy exploitation is juz an excuse to warn u..
TSSophiera
post Oct 10 2009, 02:28 PM

Sophtopus
706 posts

I have no 3rd party programs running either.
Aggroboy
post Oct 10 2009, 02:53 PM

637 posts

Have you been playing the AH market, like arbitrage?
Hell Fire
post Oct 10 2009, 04:44 PM

5 sTaR n00bs
741 posts

Oh shi-, i just put up cheap prices for the skin i skinned and cloth i farmed, like cheaper for 5 golds, will i be banned or something?
TSSophiera
post Oct 10 2009, 06:31 PM

Sophtopus
706 posts

Nope. I've not been playing the AH. I just prospect saro in large volumes, sell gems, craft, DE...I didn't even HAVE the chance to DE all of my stuff before they ban me too

Nah Hellfire, you won't get banned for that.
Hell Fire
post Oct 10 2009, 06:59 PM

5 sTaR n00bs
741 posts

Thanks for clarifying, was worried as i couldn't touch my WoW, at office now sad.gif

TSSophiera
post Oct 10 2009, 07:08 PM

Sophtopus
706 posts

Try not to undercut so much though. It crashes the market and sellers don't like it

Buyers love it though.
myremi
post Oct 10 2009, 07:40 PM

1,846 posts

Did you tell Blizzard that you were using a tunneling service?

I did when I got ban a month back. They unban me and no more problems since.

Was doing everything like you.
Quazacolt
post Oct 10 2009, 08:21 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(Sophiera @ Oct 10 2009, 01:27 PM)
And it's not real life money.

Twice I've been banned in 3 weeks for making ingame gold the legal way.
First time they think I am selling gold
Now they think I am buying gold!

I'm thoroughly pissed. There is this aussie guy who buys and sells by five digit numbers and he never gets banned.

Has anyone else been getting such unfair treatment?
1) the econ exploitation could be a template reason
ask them for a clarification

IE: using tunneling service while dealing in large sum of money (like what you said below, selling gems etc) could result you being flagged as a china farmer

2) if you know such person in buying/selling high volume of gold, instead of being pissed, why not report his ass? it is illegal after all
TSSophiera
post Oct 10 2009, 10:01 PM

Sophtopus
706 posts

He's not selling or buying gold. He just do big virtual business. Nothing illegal about that.

The last time I asked, they admitted it was a mistake and gave me compensation. No indication of dodgy addons or tunnel issues or anything.

This post has been edited by Sophiera: Oct 10 2009, 10:01 PM
SUSPerunding
post Oct 11 2009, 12:24 AM

183 posts

QUOTE(Sophiera @ Oct 10 2009, 10:01 PM)
He's not selling or buying gold. He just do big virtual business. Nothing illegal about that.

The last time I asked, they admitted it was a mistake and gave me compensation. No indication of dodgy addons or tunnel issues or anything.
auctioneer? or quick auctions? is this add on legal?
myremi
post Oct 11 2009, 11:39 AM

1,846 posts

QUOTE(Sophiera @ Oct 10 2009, 10:01 PM)

Errr...Blizz doesn't give compensation? Or u mean more gametime?

Actually, ask them that your account be also given a clean slate. Else it's going to be problems in the future.
sp@wn
post Oct 11 2009, 02:31 PM

106 posts

you can always appeal if you did not commit any action against the EULA

however, in your case - have you participate in any bug exploitation activity recently, example: the summon trick using warlocks?

that is, a definite ban
TSSophiera
post Oct 11 2009, 07:41 PM

Sophtopus
706 posts

Exploited no bugs.
Installed no illegal addons.

And yeah I asked for more gametime. I assumed that all charges against me were cleared since they messaged "We've not found that you've done anything wrong". I'm going to ask for a clean slate this time I suppose.

They did not tell me if anything that I have is indeed illegal. They apologized for false actions, and that was it.

They didn't tell me it's because of my tunnel (I don't use proxy)
They didn't tell me that I have a fishy addon.
They can't even verify that I've been hacked or using hacks.

All they did was apologize and told me that my account was absolutely sparkling clean and the whole thing was unjustified.

Tentris
post Oct 12 2009, 02:36 PM

We all think Rambu got banned too. He hasn't logged on for a few days now.

But actually... whats the point of all the gold?

When i started back wow, i went from 11k gold to 5k gold (to buy a lot of stuff to help me catch up in terms of gear etc), then within two weeks i'm now back up to 11k gold again.

Making money is easy and fun, but after a while... its like why bother having so much.
Quazacolt
post Oct 12 2009, 02:42 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

if at the end of the day its just a misunderstanding, like previous posters said: demand a game time refund. its only appropriate
Ignoramus
post Oct 12 2009, 02:44 PM

25 posts

Maybe your name matches a farmer name list?
Quazacolt
post Oct 12 2009, 02:51 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(Tentris @ Oct 12 2009, 02:36 PM)
We all think Rambu got banned too. He hasn't logged on for a few days now.

But actually... whats the point of all the gold?

When i started back wow, i went from 11k gold to 5k gold (to buy a lot of stuff to help me catch up in terms of gear etc), then within two weeks i'm now back up to 11k gold again.

Making money is easy and fun, but after a while... its like why bother having so much.
thats what i thought lol. i had like 10k way back then end of tbc... and thought: wtf for?

so now i never really bothered getting gold and im left with ~1k right now ROFL
still, never had issues with gold.
Aggroboy
post Oct 12 2009, 03:44 PM

637 posts

If you main just one character and don't really bother pimping out your alts, gold is never an issue. You can pretty much survive on WG quests and 1-2 dailies alone.

You have to understand that people with many alts and specs to bring to around level 258 (PVP and PVE) on itemization and enchants won't feel the same way.

0.0212sec    0.81    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 12:34 AM