average people may b can use 3% - 6%.. y?
where did about 90% of our brain gone?
Is it because its burnout just like fuse?
Science Why we cant use all of our brain function?
Oct 10 2009, 10:50 AM, updated 17y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
15 posts Joined: Oct 2009 |
I dont know how much Einstein use but i heard about juz 9% of the brain.. hmm.. kinda tangle there.. dun u think?..
average people may b can use 3% - 6%.. y? where did about 90% of our brain gone? Is it because its burnout just like fuse? |
Oct 10 2009, 10:54 AM
408 posts Joined: Feb 2008 From: puchong |
maybe god forbidden us..
Oct 10 2009, 11:01 AM
157 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Gotham City |
if user 100%... then will hang lar... we need a lot of free space for caching
Oct 10 2009, 11:06 AM
15 posts Joined: Oct 2009 |
Oct 10 2009, 11:13 AM
360 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
Oct 10 2009, 11:26 AM
3% - 6% for normal person... einstein use 9%... that figure might be for program that enable processing of data to stimulate our knowledge...
don't know how many we use for storage purpose... immediate retrieval and also old memory that require us to take some time to remember... hidden memory that need certain event for us to remember and bla bla bla.... if that 3% - 9% meant for conscious mind... how many do we use for unconscious mind that control our fear, body processes and bla bla bla... if i'm not mistaken.... it was told that eventhough einstein is a geneius... he have trouble to remember address and having poor sense of direction... maybe... as u use more of your brain... some of the basic function will become unstable or perhaps will be uninstalled This post has been edited by myxzspzlx: Oct 10 2009, 11:39 AM |
Oct 10 2009, 11:38 AM
25,802 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Penang |
I don't know where is the theory we only use 3-6% of out brain, how to quantify it? Can enlight on this issue.
We human still not fully understand how brain work actually. We knew some part responsible for some function, but we don't understand fully the actual mechanism. There are a lot of sub-conscious like breathing, heart beat blood flow, which seem 'auto' function which still need brain power for processing. Try to use your processor be in i7 or Phenom II, at 90-100% see how sluggish your computer will be. This post has been edited by cherroy: Oct 10 2009, 11:39 AM |
Oct 10 2009, 11:45 AM
QUOTE(cherroy @ Oct 10 2009, 11:38 AM) I don't know where is the theory we only use 3-6% of out brain, how to quantify it? Can enlight on this issue. ya lor... how they calculate... i first heard about this long time ago when i'm still a little boy...We human still not fully understand how brain work actually. We knew some part responsible for some function, but we don't understand fully the actual mechanism. There are a lot of sub-conscious like breathing, heart beat blood flow, which seem 'auto' function which still need brain power for processing. Try to use your processor be in i7 or Phenom II, at 90-100% see how sluggish your computer will be. before this got comics from hong kong that use this theory where the more u explore your brain... the stronger u will be Added on October 10, 2009, 12:14 pm QUOTE(visionary1993 @ Oct 10 2009, 11:13 AM) don't u think the free will was given so that God can use it to confirm that those who follow orders really because of their faith and not because they were unable to do otherwise??? This post has been edited by myxzspzlx: Oct 10 2009, 12:29 PM |
Oct 10 2009, 05:58 PM
417 posts Joined: Feb 2009 |
QUOTE(cicakidop @ Oct 10 2009, 10:50 AM) I dont know how much Einstein use but i heard about juz 9% of the brain.. hmm.. kinda tangle there.. dun u think?.. Seems like the <10% of brain being used was a myth. average people may b can use 3% - 6%.. y? where did about 90% of our brain gone? Is it because its burnout just like fuse? If we use only 10% of it, is it ok then to remove the 90% since it's not being used? If so, one would then question 'How do we know which part to remove?' Exactly, if we do not know which part to remove, how did we came to the conclusion that only 10% is being used? |
Oct 11 2009, 09:11 AM
2,703 posts Joined: May 2007 From: where you need wings and awakened to reach |
mind I share bit on science side of buddhism?? I think now the west are researching how buddhsit monks can control their mind.. like what I watch on discovery science yday night... they put hundreds of sensor on the monks head and ask the monks to meditate.. interestingly, only small parts of the monk`s brain are detected to have activity... once a monk said... our brain is like ocean.. what we use daily is only the surface... we have use till the bottom of the ocean.... I think this is why... throughout history, the mind are conditioned to think with several kind of "programme" religion is a programme where you think and act from the processor logoc of god... and LOGIC and COMMON SENSE is a programme by itself... where by you think that A =B and A+A=2A... |
Oct 11 2009, 09:45 AM
1,281 posts Joined: Sep 2008 |
Maybe we haven't come across something that needs to fully use our brain.
We can't just use the strength of lifting 50kg dumbbell to lift a tissue paper, can we ? Not heavy enough to force your muscle to put your strength into use. |
Oct 11 2009, 02:17 PM
65 posts Joined: Apr 2008 |
My lecturer said that theory (man only uses 10% of his brain) is obsolete. Just like the tongue-map theory, you know, the one that says this part of the tongue detect sweetness, this one sourness etc.
I dont know what the latest brain stat is. 20%? 80%? In the past, it was thought that you can remove certain part of someone's brain and that person can still live. Recent study says every part of human brain has their own task, thus removing ANY parts of the brain will reduce a portion of human ability or skills. For example; the prefrontal lobotomy. In ancient times human believe that there are something inside the skull that is responsible for evil and illness. So they crack open a little hole in the patient's head to "cleanse the evil." In 1940's the procedure was practiced in US, especially by a certain Walter Freeman who believe he can "calm" schizophrenic patients by lobotomizing them. It did calm some individuals, but often the result was often disappointing. Human biology is only beginning to make its mark in the world. What you learn now could be obsolete by next year. Maybe tomorrow they'll announce "We found out that XXX was responsible for dreams and imagination. Therefore when waking, you use Y% of your brain, but when you're (day) dreaming, it's Z%." If you remove the stats, I'd say we are unable to be able to use certain part of the brain because; - brain degenerates as we grow older. Prove: there's a certain frequency of sound that only people below 20 years old can hear. This is because the part in the brain that corresponds to the said frequency degenerates as one age. - we don't utilize enough brain muscle to use certain part yet. If you go to gym and lift weight everyday you'll gain weight and muscle. If you think/perform certain task frequent enough the neurons will establish lots of strong connections in the brain aka using more part of the brain. Maybe we DOES use all of the brain function, just not all at once. When your dreaming your motor sensory are at rest. When you're thinking numbers your imagination might be in stand by. |
Oct 11 2009, 02:43 PM
1,044 posts Joined: Dec 2008 From: 127.0.0.1 |
Time to install widgets to monitor brain processing power usage.
Oct 11 2009, 02:52 PM
597 posts Joined: Sep 2009 From: Earth |
90% left free coz if we have brains more than that, we'd end up in tanjung rambutan. LOL
Oct 11 2009, 03:15 PM
QUOTE(JustForFun @ Oct 11 2009, 09:45 AM) Maybe we haven't come across something that needs to fully use our brain. Good analogy there, I get exactly what you mean We can't just use the strength of lifting 50kg dumbbell to lift a tissue paper, can we ? Not heavy enough to force your muscle to put your strength into use. Have any of you experienced this? Sometimes during exam, when the questions are like very difficult, when I had to think really hard and recall everything I've learnt, after the exam I felt as though my brain has been fried. I'm saying not only headache, but I felt as though my head was heating up. I can't exert my experience unto you guys. You might beg to differ and it's fine by me. But occasions like this is what made me felt perhaps it is true that we can't optimise our brain all the time. If the usage exceeds the rating ( |
Oct 11 2009, 06:38 PM
113 posts Joined: Dec 2008 |
If we use too much of our brain, we may end up very tired
Oct 11 2009, 07:31 PM
2,003 posts Joined: Oct 2007 |
Are all brains created equal?
Can our brains be trained to be equal? Eg. Whats the difference between a smart person and a not so smart person. Can the not so smart person be as smart as the smart person with proper training? |
Oct 11 2009, 08:35 PM
349 posts Joined: Jun 2008 From: Sabah\(^∀^)メ(^∀^)ノ |
some say u have to meditate hard enough to understand whats in your 'mind'...
Oct 11 2009, 09:08 PM
QUOTE(teongpeng @ Oct 11 2009, 07:31 PM) Are all brains created equal? The main difference between a smart person and a not-so-smart student is just whether or not they use their brains before saying or doing anything.Can our brains be trained to be equal? Eg. Whats the difference between a smart person and a not so smart person. Can the not so smart person be as smart as the smart person with proper training? |
Oct 11 2009, 10:04 PM
685 posts Joined: Apr 2007 From: malaysia |
QUOTE(Ensu7 @ Oct 11 2009, 05:17 PM) - we don't utilize enough brain muscle to use certain part yet. If you go to gym and lift weight everyday you'll gain weight and muscle. If you think/perform certain task frequent enough the neurons will establish lots of strong connections in the brain aka using more part of the brain. frequent repetition of tasks aka practice is the method for your brain to familiarise itself to tasks that are important. as our brain is limited, we also live within the rule of 'use it or lose it'. some posts in this thread are ridiculous. |
| Change to: | 0.0198sec
5 queries
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 11:21 AM |