iPhone 3G[S] Maxis Registration-Booking-Buying V4, Unconstructive post will be deleted

djkeoni
post Nov 2 2009, 11:26 AM

167 posts

hi there,

Just to ask if anyone has booked at the Machines outlet in Midvalley? I booked my 3GS 16GB Black on saturday and the guy said they would only get their stocks in about 45days time! :-( Anyone has had better luck?

Did most of you buy from Maxis or Machines? I picked Machines coz of the future member card discounts if I wanna buy stuff :-p
djkeoni
post Nov 2 2009, 12:19 PM

167 posts

QUOTE(Urban @ Nov 2 2009, 12:12 PM)
45days are the full day. Since you booked You will get your phone 3 week to 4 week la. the time is getting shorted and shorter already
lol agree... is bisness after all to maxis and their workers. to us is gadgets.
That's a relief to hear biggrin.gif *fingers crossed* I was also undecided to take black or white rclxub.gif i booked black but now thinking if should call and change to white! Any pros/cons if choose one colour over the other except personal choice? hmm.gif
djkeoni
post Nov 2 2009, 12:38 PM

167 posts

QUOTE(jssl @ Nov 2 2009, 12:28 PM)
Went to Machines@One U last Friday to get my case,
1 of their staff told me that they (not sure referring to all Machines or just branch at OneU) had stop taking any order for i3G as Maxis give all the priority to their walk in customer, and they(machines) received too many complaints, so they decided to stop it(?)
Cheers
Oh really? Well the guy at Machines Midvalley never did say anything like it. He even suggested me to go and check with Maxis store (there's one MASA across it and official Maxis at Gardens) but since it was almost 10pm I just checked out the MASA and the guy there said waiting time is 2 months and no additional extras/benefits.

So I decided to go back to Machines since he said 45 days and plus we get membership etc. I know the number of days is subjective but I guess it just felt better buying from a Apple Premium Reseller than a MASA with a small shop that night tongue.gif

Damn la I hope to get my iPhone soon!!!!!!!!!!!!
djkeoni
post Nov 2 2009, 03:00 PM

167 posts

QUOTE(djkeoni @ Nov 2 2009, 12:38 PM)
Oh really? Well the guy at Machines Midvalley never did say anything like it. He even suggested me to go and check with Maxis store (there's one MASA across it and official Maxis at Gardens) but since it was almost 10pm I just checked out the MASA and the guy there said waiting time is 2 months and no additional extras/benefits.

So I decided to go back to Machines since he said 45 days and plus we get membership etc. I know the number of days is subjective but I guess it just felt better buying from a Apple Premium Reseller than a MASA with a small shop that night tongue.gif

Damn la I hope to get my iPhone soon!!!!!!!!!!!!
After much Googling and reviews read, I called up Machines and changed my order to a White tongue.gif guess it looks more Mac'ish in white, less visible smudges and scratches etc.......guess the virginal white got to me in the end!

Hmm now to research which case is the best to invest in hmm.gif
djkeoni
post Nov 2 2009, 05:12 PM

167 posts

QUOTE(sploj @ Nov 2 2009, 04:52 PM)
I can attest to that. I was one of the first few on Saturday morning, at the Pavilion Maxis centre. I snagged myself a 16GB black iPhone. They have limited stock and the Maxis staff told me that people who have placed bookings at Maxis Centres (MEP not allowed) can head on down there to collect.

So HURRY guys!
Hmmm this just makes waiting hopefully not 45 days for mine I ordered on sat night just the more painful ;p what's going on at Maxis Pavilion makes me wonder if those units being sold like this are actually units which have been pre-booked but they selling it to walk-ins to create a marketing stirr to get customers rushing to their store. If this is the case, pity the people who pre-booked at that store unsure.gif

Ah maybe im just plain jealous of u people hahahaha
djkeoni
post Nov 3 2009, 10:52 AM

167 posts

Bro's,

Would any of you know if it is possible to collect at Pavilion if i booked mine at a Machines outlet? Or am i doomed to have to wait for Machines to bring it in? Thanks!
djkeoni
post Nov 3 2009, 11:05 AM

167 posts

QUOTE(Kenny_Yong_9 @ Nov 3 2009, 10:53 AM)
djkeoni, it's possible...
just gv a try...
Thanks Kenny

Added on November 3, 2009, 11:14 am
QUOTE(djkeoni @ Nov 3 2009, 11:05 AM)
Thanks Kenny
But eh considering the loss of free membership, future rebates etc at Machines if i manage to collect from Pavilion...hmmm

This post has been edited by djkeoni: Nov 3 2009, 11:14 AM
djkeoni
post Nov 3 2009, 11:30 AM

167 posts

QUOTE(mugenz @ Nov 3 2009, 11:20 AM)
I will be goin there after work today..
if anyone goin later and help me ask if still got 16gb black?
pls update me here.. millions of thanks!~~
Likewise here! I need 2 units of 16GB White smile.gif
Hopefully they have the maxis shares BLUE form as well.
Would anyone have the phone number of Pavilion Maxis Centre coz it's not listed on the Maxis website? If you do, would appreciate if you could PM it to me, thanks! biggrin.gif
djkeoni
post Nov 3 2009, 03:51 PM

167 posts

@mugenz

If it's not too troublesome, could you do me a favour and ask if there would be any problem if I pick up one from them even though I booked mine at a Machines outlet? Thanks!
djkeoni
post Nov 3 2009, 05:43 PM

167 posts

QUOTE(mugenz @ Nov 3 2009, 03:54 PM)
lol. because i wont be goin home so soon... as i m from pj.. prolly i reach home will be late @ nite..

perhaps if u guys can pm me ur handphone i can sms u... so u can help me update biggrin.gif

@djkeoni: will do.. i will ask for u
Thanks! Will PM you my number thanks!

QUOTE(chernloon @ Nov 3 2009, 05:33 PM)
at least, they still checked for u. when i called, they asked if its postpaid or prepaid, directly say no. lol. till now maxis CS not yet update me regarding their comfirmation with orange. might write another email to maxis to complain bout their CS later.
Sorry for the noob question but who/what/where is Orange? Is it the name of a MEP outlet?
djkeoni
post Nov 3 2009, 05:58 PM

167 posts

QUOTE(chernloon @ Nov 3 2009, 05:52 PM)
Orange mobile, MEP at ampang point there. used to accept booking for iphone under prepaid plan but not sure if they still do so now smile.gif
I see. Thanks.

Added on November 3, 2009, 6:03 pm
QUOTE(tnsai @ Nov 3 2009, 05:51 PM)
A heads-up to you guys getting your IPhone from Paviliion maxis.. there is definitely stock for walk-ins for the 16GB 3GS.. in fact, my friend went yesterday and he would have gotten his except the unit he was given had a dead pixel, so he rejected it and he also mentioned that his friend had the same issue.

So please double check your IPhones.
Thanks for the info. A dead pixel can simply be noticed as a black square emitting no light or am I mistaken? Yea it does puzzle me and I am sure many others if the stock they have are 'doubtful rejects' or worse, reconditioned sets! unsure.gif since they seem to have ready stock whereas the rest of KL have none hmm.gif

Or i may be just wrong tongue.gif

Added on November 3, 2009, 6:09 pm
QUOTE(djkeoni @ Nov 3 2009, 03:51 PM)
@mugenz

If it's not too troublesome, could you do me a favour and ask if there would be any problem if I pick up one from them even though I booked mine at a Machines outlet? Thanks!
I just got an sms from @mugenz that unfortunately I cant redeem my phone from Pavillion since I deposited at Machines cry.gif icon_question.gif

But yes to the rest of you hopefuls, he says there still is stock of 16GB models now tongue.gif Go get yours!

This post has been edited by djkeoni: Nov 3 2009, 06:09 PM
djkeoni
post Nov 4 2009, 11:04 AM

167 posts

Great to hear all you people managed to get your iPhones!

I just have to sit and wait till dunno how long until Machines gets mine sad.gif

I find it ironic how I cant for eg get my unit from a Maxis centre since Maxis is the one who has authorised Machines to accept bookings, deposits, purchases & plan choice on their behalf!

As usual la Malaysian telcos dont practice what they preach. The consumer is really taken for a ride. So different how we have much more status and rights to enforce as a consumer when I used to study in England before.
djkeoni
post Nov 4 2009, 12:24 PM

167 posts

QUOTE(mugenz @ Nov 4 2009, 11:59 AM)
Sorry 2 hear that u cant collect it...
the whole thing is wrong, but i guess the rationale is to satisfy those customer that walk into maxis center.. since machines are only dealers..
Well.. did u book 32gb? perhaps u change it to 32gb will be faster, as most of the people that booked 32gb only waited for 1 week.
Thanks. However if you look at the business model, the MEP's are also dealers as are Machines for eg. If Maxis decided to start giving the dealers the opportunity to broaden their base and give the customers the choice and convenience, I believe there shouldn't be any double standards. The fact that they have given Machines and the MEP's the right to do all the necessary for the iPhone as at a Maxis Centre, I fail to see why the discrepancy exists. In fact the fact Maxis has appointed the Apple Resellers to conduct business for them elevates the status to a quasi-MEP already. Typical way of our countrymen to not exercise fairness and equality.

Even the issue of uncertainty and each staff giving conflicting information at Pavilion for eg makes me think that the Manager should be taken to task! It simply shows how ill-managed that branch is notwithstanding the fact it seems to suspiciously be the only Maxis Centre/MEP/Apple Reseller in the Klang Valley to 'happen to have and not have' at the same time available stock.

This is the problem when a monopoly is given to one company and they have endless demand which makes an idiot of a consumer such as us.

This post has been edited by djkeoni: Nov 4 2009, 12:26 PM
djkeoni
post Nov 6 2009, 10:36 AM

167 posts

aiyoh all this drama all because of one shop called Orange tongue.gif chillout le guys, you can all argue till the cows come home but unfortunately you're dependent on when Orange decides to give you your phone. From what i see, those who knew Maxis doesn't sell via prepaid, yet you went ahead knowing of such 'under table' transactions, well i guess the latin term "caveat emptor" - meaning 'let the buyer beware' applies to you. At the same time, yes Orange has misrepresented to customers and they should be taken to task and not be allowed to do conduct business in such a way which is contrary to their service agreement as an MEP of Maxis.

Lets not get all unnecessarily riled up here as this is not a Maxis/Orange quarreling forum. We are all here because we all share the same passion. So if you decided to take the risk of getting a prepaid from Orange even tho clearly prohibited by Maxis themselves, you are at the mercy of the now infamous Orange store tongue.gif

Unfortunately I too am at the mercy of Machines where I booked mine because even tho they are authorised to conduct all booking & buying with regards to the iPhone by Maxis, the deposit I paid at Machines is not applicable for collection at Pavilion. So yes, I guess a patience is a virtue we all have to bear with. We had waited till now to get the iPhone instead of in July if we were so desperate for it and without it our entire life thus far so I guess a few weeks wont kill anyone, and for that matter make this forum a healthy fun forum for all.

Just my 2 cents worth. Not being personal with anyone for the record. Thanks.
djkeoni
post Nov 6 2009, 10:51 AM

167 posts

QUOTE(k3v1n @ Nov 6 2009, 10:49 AM)
Pavillion really got ready stock for iphone 16gb and 32gb? Who can give me their contact number? I try call to comfirm...
Yes they have been having ready stock the whole week if you read previous posts. And no, they do not have a listed phone number so just walk in.
djkeoni
post Nov 9 2009, 02:53 PM

167 posts

Sigh...I just buzzed Machines MidV and the moment I asked about iPhone availability status he said just have to wait the 45 days or so as mentioned during booking.....the waiting period is cruel hahaha
djkeoni
post Nov 9 2009, 03:34 PM

167 posts

QUOTE(hazma82 @ Nov 9 2009, 03:31 PM)
for me:
booking date:4th Nov 2009
Collect:dunno(2,3weeks said by the lady)
lets pray i dun hv to wait tht long..
You booked at Machines MV as well?
djkeoni
post Nov 10 2009, 12:48 PM

167 posts

QUOTE(djkeoni @ Nov 9 2009, 02:53 PM)
Sigh...I just buzzed Machines MidV and the moment I asked about iPhone availability status he said just have to wait the 45 days or so as mentioned during booking.....the waiting period is cruel hahaha
Damn! My friend whom I booked with on the 31 Oct got a call from Machines this morning that her unit is ready already!
Ordered : 31 Oct
Received: 10 Nov

10 days only!

But damn la they didn't call me even tho we booked together. However a few days after booking I called to change from black to white and the guy on the phone took note of it. So I just called them today.

The lady on the phone says mine not ready coz i changed colour so next batch! she's confused as to how the change happened so I told her. Then said they have black for me. I was like why didn't you update your supplier thereafter instead of just accepting a unit you didnt need? She has no real answer putting me on hold then said well since I changed then the waiting period starts from that date again...im like hello! the reason i called to change is in the natural hope you would update my order to bring in the right phone and not restart a new order - this isn't a new order! she's supposed to call me back.....darn

This post has been edited by djkeoni: Nov 10 2009, 12:57 PM
djkeoni
post Nov 10 2009, 05:10 PM

167 posts

QUOTE(djkeoni @ Nov 10 2009, 12:48 PM)
Damn! My friend whom I booked with on the 31 Oct got a call from Machines this morning that her unit is ready already!
Ordered : 31 Oct
Received: 10 Nov

10 days only!

But damn la they didn't call me even tho we booked together. However a few days after booking I called to change from black to white and the guy on the phone took note of it. So I just called them today.

The lady on the phone says mine not ready coz i changed colour so next batch! she's confused as to how the change happened so I told her. Then said they have black for me. I was like why didn't you update your supplier thereafter instead of just accepting a unit you didnt need? She has no real answer putting me on hold then said well since I changed then the waiting period starts from that date again...im like hello! the reason i called to change is in the natural hope you would update my order to bring in the right phone and not restart a new order - this isn't a new order! she's supposed to call me back.....darn
The moment I called Machines and mentioned my name only the Asst Manager already knew my case tongue.gif it seems he has enquired from Maxis why they only sent one unit when 2 were booked at the same time. He said still waiting to hear from them and willl contact me back. Well at least he sounded genuine so will give him a day or two brows.gif

Seeing that stock has arrived today, I'm guessing quite a few of us would be receiving our units soon rclxm9.gif
djkeoni
post Nov 11 2009, 02:09 AM

167 posts

QUOTE(Jarod @ Nov 10 2009, 09:59 PM)
hsbc
the reason they gave me is that they only make a margin on rm50. so they have to charge 2.5%. actually i hvn't pay yet. just got a call from them to collect. then only they told me got charges if pay by cc. i'm gonna print the news you gave and show them when i go collect.
Yup it's illegal for them to charge extra. As consumers we should never allow that or else it will just continue from a habit to a cancer among merchants. Their profit margin is not your concern. The deal is between the merchant and the card issuer i.e. bank. In addition to the Star report print it and show it to them. It's even clearly stated here - http://www.bankinginfo.com.my/04_help_and_...ntPrefLangID=1& under "Do I have to pay additional costs to the merchant if I use my credit card to make purchases?"

If they insist, I advise you to call up Maxis and tell them you would report this to Bank Negara. They must learn not to take advantage of consumers. If you give in, this practice will just continue. We must make a stand!

An additional useful site for comparison of various bank products : http://www.bankinginfo.com.my/04_help_and_...tPrefLangID=1&#

This post has been edited by djkeoni: Nov 11 2009, 02:14 AM

0.0498sec    0.64    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 01:38 AM