Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V32!, The Orange Legion

ieR
post Oct 3 2009, 12:12 PM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

A700 compare to D90, i like A700 DRO more then D90 D-lightning. the A700 photo usually gives a light HDR feel to it. and remember, A700 has build in SSS which mean, all lenses has steady shot, so night shot usually is far better then D90's lenses IS choice.
ieR
post Oct 3 2009, 12:25 PM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

D90 have lotsss of good review, during A700 release, Alpha wasnt that popular yet, so review might be limited. and D90 is release about a year after A700, so the tech inside D90 should be superior. but i think D90 still cant come close to A700 in terms of overall.

instead of reading 100 pages of review to get to know what u wan, why not flickR it? u get to see more result out of A700 and D90. that way, u will also learn the skill that can bring the power of the machine out, instead reading all the spec, but still unable to shoot like pro tongue.gif

This post has been edited by ieR: Oct 3 2009, 12:28 PM
ieR
post Oct 3 2009, 12:30 PM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

actually, why not wait for A550? 14mp, 7fps, LiveView(the one missing in A700), Better ISO and DRO (compare to A700)... price? cheaper then A700

Added on October 3, 2009, 12:34 pm
QUOTE(lwliam @ Oct 3 2009, 12:26 PM)
D-lighting will usually hogs up your camera's processing speed when its turned on...
DRO will do it on the fly, so you don't have to wait for the camera to process the image and lose precious time

Added on October 3, 2009, 12:29 pm

spec is one thing, it's good to know what you have and what you don't.

i'd rather advice that the buyer test the machines out for himself 1st than to look at other ppl's images.. that way it'll do the camera more justice as over in flickR, you're looking at pros/near-pros/pro-amateurs around the world at work..

at the end of the day, its all about the one behind the viewfinder that makes the most out of the camera.
well, yes, that why i said check out flickr, see how people reach the limit of the machine, said-so, is like having a good D3x but not able to push it, but shoot like D60... flickr helps u to learn composition, as human are like monkey, monkey see, monkey do. tongue.gif hehe also, end of day, u are improving toward to pro skill, so as people always say, best way to learn is to learn from pro

testing the machine even with first 1000 shot wont justify you'll really like it or not in the end of the day, because people only realise how good it is when they jump tongue.gif like how most A300 user misses the LiveView after the A700 jump smile.gif

some may say how good is D90 how good this that, by looking at how pro pushes the camera limit, u would know which camera justify a limit of your choice. and the common problem with all buyer, the regret factor is reduce.

This post has been edited by ieR: Oct 3 2009, 12:40 PM
ieR
post Oct 3 2009, 12:57 PM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

QUOTE(Banzai_san @ Oct 3 2009, 12:44 PM)
I like how Sony implement the LiveView thing. Other camera makers implementation lag like tortoise compared to Sony's QuickLiveView bunny speed  tongue.gif thumbup.gif
Photogs who use LiveView should try Sony's QuickLiveView and feel what they are missing
agreed, but then, they will give excuse like, "noone use liveview one laaaa" or "liveview for noobs" hahaha, they really dont know what they missing. but they will shot back at use, why sony dont have video? hahahaha, i say, sony have leading HDvidcam, they dun wan spoil thier own market, and they are pretty cheap too.. tongue.gif

and yup LiveView is a major improvement, i primary use it during tripod shot, because i need to cover the OVF eyepiece, else unwanted light may get it from the OVF. landscape, long exposure, staged shot, live view help a lot, and it gives real emulation of the shutterspeed and apperture effect...
ieR
post Oct 3 2009, 03:47 PM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

naaa, i believe sony and ziess wont be so dumb to design an uncomfortable strap... maybe is the soft leather type? super comfortable?
ieR
post Oct 4 2009, 08:12 AM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

i think is because of the DOF, u are not really taking candid potraiture, and the bokeh is over too much, or the sharpening cause the bokeh to look wierd... it looked like plasterised.

*edit: too much typo, too early in the morning on sunday

This post has been edited by ieR: Oct 4 2009, 08:14 AM
ieR
post Oct 5 2009, 12:03 AM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

went to have a drink with friends, nothing to do, shot this, C&C welcome tongue.gif
ieR
post Oct 5 2009, 12:27 AM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

QUOTE(lovexoxohug @ Oct 5 2009, 12:21 AM)
hi all. i'm new with my new baby alpha

can u guys help me.. how can i take a pic like this http://www.flickr.com/photos/misschievous/...57594135139324/ ENJOY MUSIC

Added on October 5, 2009, 12:21 am
drool.gif
isnt that technique style about 80% of what i just did on the above photo? having the light-source from above. u can do it with wireless flash setup, or studio light, or DIY lightning.
ieR
post Oct 5 2009, 01:05 AM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

QUOTE(achew @ Oct 5 2009, 12:28 AM)
low key???

go darker place..flash on the face..or use a lamp to light up the face..AEL there n shoot?
AElock dont really do much. if u using flash, the TTL will auto detect. if u use lamp, use liveview to check the amount of light, use spot metering (on the face, local metering will to too), use the EV to adjust the tone u wanted, then the rest is up to photoshop.
ieR
post Oct 5 2009, 01:34 AM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

spot metering will follow ur focus point, unless ur focusing not on ur subject, then u still have live view to figure the exposure out (u cant rely on the metering-bar anymore)

hkhk: photoshop is optional, but the photo lovexoxohug showed the color is edited. u cant shoot that color directly from the camera. smile.gif instead of trial and error (indirectly, wasting shutter) shot one raw, edit ur heart content out smile.gif

shooting trial and error is for learning the setup method. but once u get the rough figure, or if u know what to do to shoot, u wont go and shoot 10 picture just to find the right one, post processing is the key smile.gif

*edit: also, my picture above, shot at iso100, with F5.6, environment is like a bar/pud/cafe... with no post processing, just the framing.

so, let ur imagination run wild, iso100, F5.6 in a pub lightning environment. smile.gif

This post has been edited by ieR: Oct 5 2009, 01:38 AM
ieR
post Oct 5 2009, 02:12 AM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

ohhh, forgotten, i dont have exp with A700 sad.gif so lack of the knowlegde of it. but if i recall, they have a preshot something, that u can set ur setting after the preshot to see the result of the new setting on the new shoot?

Added on October 5, 2009, 2:14 amopps, wtf am i talking about >.< okay, just let me assume, most new users, are using A2xx,3xx inculding Ax30 series, those who have liveview, and are starters, so LV would be a good option to learn.

those who dont have the luxury of lifeview, 99% that, u guys own a camera that shows u guys are experinced user tongue.gif so... LV make no diff for u guys. hehehehe...

This post has been edited by ieR: Oct 5 2009, 02:15 AM
ieR
post Oct 5 2009, 02:27 AM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

dont worry, try to use ur instinct, and train it. here is an instinct shot i hav (wedding job i had yesterday), which LV is erm, unable to use/see.

LV for me, i use it for the mirrorflip to close the OVF when i shot long exposure, i cant stand near it to cover the OVF(may shake it), so if the miror did not close it, unwanted light will go in from OVF.

Added on October 5, 2009, 2:35 am
QUOTE(achew @ Oct 5 2009, 02:18 AM)
to be frank..i miss my LV alot.....lighting wise i can live without LV..but sometimes framing / focusing in awkward positions really makes me  cry.gif
hehehe u are experinced user, u must know the lightning by now tongue.gif i seen ur work in ur flickR, very impressive... me only noob... hehe

This post has been edited by ieR: Oct 5 2009, 02:35 AM

ieR
post Oct 5 2009, 02:47 AM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

ssaturn!!!! yoooooo, where have u been? we haven seen each other like 3 years?
ieR
post Oct 5 2009, 03:00 AM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

i think the dof is not enough, too shallow, if only u can have new more batang of matches to be clear, except the burned one (let it be bokeh). it brings better msg.
ieR
post Oct 5 2009, 03:27 AM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

depends, primary apperture. (P for programme, not present) and some time manual. depend on the available light source we have.
ieR
post Oct 5 2009, 12:40 PM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Oct 5 2009, 09:01 AM)
One question about warranty.

Let's say we buy 2nd hand Sony Alpha Camera/Lense/Flash and the seller's warranty card is blank and not register at MySony, do we get full 1 year warranty from the date we put on the warranty card ?

Sony CIC based the warranty date on which criteria ?
- invoice/receipt date
- warranty card date
- MySony Registration date
hmmm since noone answer this, i will.

if the warranty card is unfilled. here is the tips to workaround to get the warranty working properly.

first of all, sony service centre (SSC) requires u to have an official reciept of the AUTHORISED shop u brought from to be able to send in for warranty service. unauthorised shop usually, u send it back to the shop, the shop to the supplier, and supplier to the backdoor SSC. but if u already register it in sonystyle, ur unit able to go in front door wink.gif

the date will be refer to your official reciept+filled warranty card and sonystyle registration (make sure it match).

what u need to do to work around it is, (for unfilled and unregister unit, with or without reciept,...)
1. if u dont have the reciept
2. unfilled warranty card.
3. not registered online with sonysytle/mysony. (with all this, u can basically throw away the reciept)

let say ur camera was damange today.
1. go register ur gear in mysony/style.
2. during registration, when there is a column where it ask, where u get ur item from, pick, "GIFT" (so u wont have receipt! yay)
3. pick a buy date, maybe a week before (so u still eligible for the additional +3 month warranty)
4. then wait for a month, (dont send ur camera instantly, they will smell something fishy... wait for a few month)
5. email to sonystyle, they mostly will pass ur mail to ms. ann (sony alpha customer service smile.gif)
6. write some bullsh*t how ur camera failed you. and ask how can u do ur warranty without a reciept because u got it as gift biggrin.gif
7. they will give u instruction how to send it in for warranty biggrin.gif

* i went to SSC in midvalley without any documentation, just the camera, and they still accept in for me biggrin.gif
ieR
post Oct 5 2009, 12:47 PM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

a lot ppl still misslead with the Ax00 and Ax30 camera. for new users or going to be Alpha owner. let me enlighten you.

A330 is not any 'worst' then A300, infact, the result/output of A330 is Better then A300! (pls dont compare it with A700 and A900)

the diff is just, the practical-ness of A300 has be alter in A330 that it is not that practical anymore sad.gif BUT, more then 50% of the A300 user dont use it's MWB, or the quick local AF. so it doesnt really matter to Alpha developer.) but they do give u a better interface~ for easy learning.

BUT, A330, better shutter, better SSS, better DRO, better ISO will give u a upper hand in picture quality. e'nuf said.

thus the conclusion is, A330 is a good camera for a new owner. but it is not an upgrade for existing A300 user.
ieR
post Oct 5 2009, 05:31 PM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

w00t, regarding the A330 grip, i know a lot people (actually, just the alpha's owner) hate it. let face it, it is bad because u compare it to A300. if A300 were never around, and pop out A330, i best everyone will still be screaming how good the camera is.

Uzumaki NaruTo: i do agree, except, lx3 is not for everyone too. smile.gif again, that is ur humble opinion, my opinion may diff, so is other people. if A330 is not a learner camera? which is? A550? tit for tac, look at the price tag first. A300 is obselete, face it, A330 is the new, better A300. lol... *edit: opps why i sound like some advertisement? hahaha

i still think A330 is still a good camera with the price tag at hand, compare to the "WHOLE DSLR Market". but still, A330 is still NOT AN UPGRADE for user of A100, A200, A300... it's like owning a proton2008, then u wanna upgrade to proton2009... ex1pect it to have new ICU and new fuel injection, answer is NO, u dont. people with A300, should just look at the upcoming A550 or A700. and sell ur A300 to the new comers... hehehehe tongue.gif

This post has been edited by ieR: Oct 5 2009, 05:45 PM
ieR
post Oct 5 2009, 05:57 PM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

QUOTE(cjlai @ Oct 5 2009, 05:43 PM)
go check out www.dofmaster.com/dofjs.html
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

hey, i will be getting my raynox tomolo muahahaha, hope i can learn from u too~ tongue.gif
ieR
post Oct 5 2009, 07:20 PM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

QUOTE(Poadster @ Oct 5 2009, 06:49 PM)
Want to ask the sifus here....

Anyone knows where to get a SDHC -> CF converter?? Any downside to using SDHC via converter as compared to using CF directly??

Am wondering as I have some SD and SDHC cards lying arnd, and wanna utilize them instead of buying more CF cards.
hi, the price for sd>cf adapter cost u a new decent 8gb cf. go figure wink.gif

8 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0521sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 11:47 AM