Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V32!, The Orange Legion

Sp00kY
post Oct 6 2009, 11:51 AM

3,366 posts

clivengu: Ur lens seems to suffer from focusing problem. download a focusin chart and do the test
Sp00kY
post Oct 6 2009, 06:19 PM

3,366 posts

QUOTE(lildaredevil906 @ Oct 6 2009, 04:52 PM)
LOL.. another reason why i wanna stealth my gear, prevent stuff like these.. I have my manager who just bought a nikon d3000 just for the sake that she thinks nikon are great, i think the pics turn out like sh!t.. ok la.. give credit.. some pics nice.. but the attitude towards sony.. wa.. xboleh tahan..

Again, people say, its the brain behind the viewfinder that creates the pics.. so.. mix with sony thread more, youll learn alot more..

side note, whats d3000 equivalent to? a700?
why do you bother so much on how ppl look at the gears? i understand if ya wana be humble with the gears but i dont see why u cant be proud of having a sony? what's wrong? :s......

d3000 is the lowest in the line up..no where near a700 smile.gif....

Sp00kY
post Oct 9 2009, 04:09 PM

3,366 posts

A850 is dirt cheap and i wonder what will canon and nikon do to fight back.......im gonna try a550 later woohooo
Sp00kY
post Oct 9 2009, 10:05 PM

3,366 posts

QUOTE(ahtsong @ Oct 9 2009, 05:17 PM)
pls do some hands on review after test it...my full body itchy de
pls poison me...--> cari mati
haha just did a small test on a550...

first impression when i hold it,
i like the size and the weight compared to the A2XX and A3XX series...this fits much better....

summary

like:
- the size
- the weight
- the noise control seems pretty impressive on sony! Need to further verify on pc!!! I tried up to iso3200
- AF seems faster or isit my imagination....
- the 50mm 1.8 MFD
- typical sony colors flex.gif I used "standard"(not vivid) FYI smile.gif

Dislike:
- no dedicated top LCD
- small VF and slightly dark
- no dedicated rear dial
- pic doesnt seems that sharp until ~f/2.8
- i dont like the style of the menu, reminds me of A230/A330 smile.gif...though good for beginners....
- couldnt locate the 7fps sad.gif...

all in all, the iso performance is really a step higher than the previous sony models that I have tried.....
Sp00kY
post Oct 9 2009, 10:09 PM

3,366 posts

noprob: hope u dun mind, too saturated....for me, WB and 'originality" is utmost important for food photography..
Sp00kY
post Oct 9 2009, 10:16 PM

3,366 posts

food taken quite some time ago :

Sp00kY
post Oct 9 2009, 10:40 PM

3,366 posts

u can change the AF on-the-fly like A200/A300 , thank god smile.gif..
top LCD is really useful...at least for me....faster and easier control....

Added on October 9, 2009, 10:41 pm
QUOTE(luminarist @ Oct 9 2009, 10:34 PM)
Where did u test it? Hoping 1Utama has it tho..
the curve smile.gif

oh, a550 body color is pretty funky too smile.gif>..

This post has been edited by Sp00kY: Oct 9 2009, 10:41 PM
Sp00kY
post Oct 9 2009, 10:50 PM

3,366 posts

hehe....try it then u will understand...

besides, the front lcd is hard to view under sunlight..

with top lcd, i can change almost any settings on the go without accesing the menu, i can just press and scroll.
i can change
1) drive
2) wb
3) af
4) pic quality (fine, medium ....
5) iso
6) exposure
7) flash settings....

etc etc etc etc etc etc
Sp00kY
post Oct 9 2009, 11:11 PM

3,366 posts

lol, no idea about alpha la....50d says to have that coating too...but under sun sorry babe...
Sp00kY
post Oct 13 2009, 02:46 PM

3,366 posts

albnok: nice review...frankly, a550 is a step up from the previous models! I like the weight and the feel of the camera though smile.gif
Sp00kY
post Oct 13 2009, 03:28 PM

3,366 posts

trust me,a550 LV is impressive smile.gif
Sp00kY
post Oct 14 2009, 10:53 AM

3,366 posts

QUOTE(albnok @ Oct 14 2009, 10:42 AM)
Anyway, a shorter focal length macro is easier to use for closeups because:

1) you get a lot more of the background
2) you don't need to stop down the aperture so much
3) you may not need to use flash due to 2)
4) it is easier to use as a multi-purpose focal length prime (90mm becomes a telephoto/portrait only lens)

countdracula: Ah yes, someone who gets it! You will enjoy the 30mm macro I'm sure of it.

achew: A 50mm Macro (on the A850) would do better for your figurine closeups because you can include the background. Imagine you built a diorama but the background is all too magnified due to the 90mm's focal length!
bro, on point 2) that u pointed out, i somewhat understand it and i think i can visualized it when taking pictures too, but what is the theory behind it?

alpha users are lucky to have sp90 + SSS leh.....sp90 is one of the best macro lenses around...other brands have to live without SSS sad.gif (some might say why need SSS? okok, but i dont mind having extras and i love extras hahah)

Added on October 14, 2009, 10:55 am
QUOTE(AlphaBeta @ Oct 14 2009, 10:44 AM)
haha depends on each person..i don use live view...i prefer looking through OVF..so im craving for bigger view finder.  shocking.gif  A bit regret didnt get d300/a700 in the 1st place.. laugh.gif
same here, i prefer looking through VF because it feels more confortable than holding a big chunk using live view...but live view comes in handy sometimes when i wana see how a pic look (for composition) and WB (though i use a white balance cap ahah)....smile.gif....sony LV is 1 step ahead of everyone .....

This post has been edited by Sp00kY: Oct 14 2009, 10:55 AM
Sp00kY
post Oct 14 2009, 11:29 AM

3,366 posts

seng_kiat: the balls are making me a bit dizzy...prefer all balls to be clear...what's the f-stop btw?
Sp00kY
post Oct 15 2009, 10:39 AM

3,366 posts

countdracula: nice and sharp, slight underexposed and i think the WB a bit warm(it is slightly bluish).nice...
Sp00kY
post Oct 19 2009, 07:42 AM

3,366 posts

QUOTE(freddy manson @ Oct 19 2009, 07:33 AM)
my pop-up doesnt trigger their flash bro..
ask some sifu there and they said maybe cant (coz obviously they NEVER lay hands on a SOny alpha before this)

so i guess the hunt stills comtinues~ eh
in nikon CLS, u have to set the external flash to a certain channel & group so that it can correspond to the body.
ie: if flash set at channel 1 group A, the body has to set that too in order to trigger the flash using the pop up flash..
Sp00kY
post Oct 19 2009, 07:54 AM

3,366 posts

QUOTE(ieR @ Oct 19 2009, 07:45 AM)
dont think can lerr, i also tested it with sb6/900 too... they are not optical triggered too i suppose, some infra part too...thus when thier sb sensor are turned backward to thier camera, it cannot be trigger for thise sb6/900 during some shooting session me and my friend did. base on experince la, dunno whats the real deal of it.

unlike our's infra red is used to send data only(F58 on commander mode) and optical to trigger. not 100% accurate/comfirm thou, waiting for sifu albnok to give his word of wisdom on sony WLF system
if im not mistaken, there is this small sensor thingy besides the sb600, i once tried covering it and CLS couldnt work, i think it is used to send the data (channel & group)..yes?no? LOL
Sp00kY
post Oct 19 2009, 08:05 AM

3,366 posts

Yup....correct-o...
Sp00kY
post Oct 19 2009, 05:35 PM

3,366 posts

i dun think u can trigger sb900 with sony pop up.....because its not 'entirely' optical triggered.
Sp00kY
post Oct 19 2009, 11:04 PM

3,366 posts

clivengu: that is very very very bad after sales service..from what u said, he is not trying to understand at all...all he wants to do is just to push the blame to u....a genuine seller will try to understand customer's needs and wishes and try to fulfill it....i will boycott such seller..im sorry
Sp00kY
post Oct 19 2009, 11:04 PM

3,366 posts

why not get ur body calibrated with sony first and prove him that the lens has a problem...

0.0688sec    0.73    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 06:57 PM