Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Bump TopicReply to this topicRSS feed Start new topic Start Poll

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

> Sim Card - 16k/32k/64k/128k, Whats the difference?

Shinichi
post Sep 28 2009, 10:42 PM, updated 9y ago

◆【 真一 】◆
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 4,051

Joined: Jan 2003
From: 槟城



Hi all, can I know whats the difference between 16k/32k/64k/128k sim card? Let say I'm using 16k sim card, am I able to enjoy full 3G speed while surfing?

Thanks.
ilovelyn
post Sep 28 2009, 11:53 PM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 2,279

Joined: Nov 2008
the capacity is different..
thats all i think..
not sure..
wait pro come in give comment..
Darkmage12
post Sep 29 2009, 12:08 AM

shhhhhhhhh come i tell you something hehe
********
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 16,905

Joined: Jan 2003

Should be the capacity only but some people say 3G need to be 128k to enjoy full speed not sure about this
alessamourner
post Oct 10 2009, 05:53 AM

Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 164

Joined: Feb 2009
From: Beranang-Lenggeng


so nobody know nothing ?

I googled about this and did'nt get any answer
just found this thread sweat.gif
MNet
post Oct 10 2009, 08:36 AM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 8,938

Joined: May 2007



128k can store more function such as 3g and number
cybpsych
post Oct 10 2009, 09:00 AM

---------------------
*********
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 37,590

Joined: Jan 2003
smartcard (in general) or SIM card (for mobile) is like a ultra-micro-mini computer.

it has a processor and storage. This storage is very small because it serves a very basic function (like floppy -> cd -> hdd).

similar to hdd, u have different type of "partitions" for different kind of "applications"

the larger the size, the more "applications" can be fit into.

why 3G sim (it's called USIM or Universal SIM) starts from 128K because it needed a dedicated "application" for 3G functionality.


off-topic: do you know our MyKad has different functions? National ID, e-passport, drivers license, MEPS, ATM, Touch'n'Go?

all these are individual "applications" stored inside a smartcard chip.

Each application DOES NOT interfere with the others. It has it's own multi-level encryption and authorizations.

Each entity (or govt / private agencies) dictates their own security and HIGHLY proprietary. Each security level has 2 type of encrytion/decryption key: PRIVATE and PUBLIC.

for e.g. to access drivers license, u need the PUBLIC decryption key and access authorization from National Transport Dept.

To update your IC, u go to National Registration Dept. To reload TnG, u go to Touch'nGo counters

why we can "read" these info everywhere because data is retrieved ONLY (with PUBLIC DECRYPTION key). You CAN NOT write/overwrite any information into the chip without knowing the PRIVATE DECRYPTION/ENCRYPTION key.
alessamourner
post Oct 10 2009, 01:00 PM

Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 164

Joined: Feb 2009
From: Beranang-Lenggeng


ohh thanks that was helpful blush.gif

it's mean for 3G user better take 128k sim right ?

will get mine soon
clown_krul07
post Oct 10 2009, 02:31 PM

Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 175

Joined: May 2008
From: mALaySIa...


capacity n speed broo..
Vervain
post Oct 10 2009, 06:09 PM

Scathach
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 5,033

Joined: Mar 2005
Capacity only. NOT speed. The reason why they need the extra storage is to store all the configuration and added features on the SIM. Nowadays we don't store our contacts on the sim itself so pretty much you can neglect the storage size as long as the sim itself can offer the added 3g functionality. The speed depends highly on the package which you signed in and the coverage area. Surfing on a congested zone might yield a lower speed. Just my 2 cent
aspire2oo6
post Oct 10 2009, 06:48 PM

Banned
*********
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 34,712

Joined: Oct 2006

QUOTE(alessamourner @ Oct 10 2009, 01:00 PM)
ohh thanks that was helpful  blush.gif

it's mean for 3G user better take 128k sim right ?

will get mine soon
*
no such thing my old maxis simcard is 64k not upgraded to 3G. I just need press code to activate 3G using till now also no problem.


The 16k,32k,64k and so on its the memory capacity how much it can store such as smses and phonebook including some additional features
crysqy
post Oct 11 2009, 01:07 AM

Casual
***
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 351

Joined: Mar 2009
From: KL(Cheras)



128k can store more contact num i think
Vervain
post Oct 11 2009, 01:09 AM

Scathach
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 5,033

Joined: Mar 2005
Yes. But what's the use of storing 1 name with 1 number when today's contact storage is somewhat limitless.
cybpsych
post Oct 11 2009, 07:35 AM

---------------------
*********
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 37,590

Joined: Jan 2003
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Universal_Sub...ity_Module#USIM

http://www.justaskgemalto.com/en/communica...-and-usim-cards

Gemalto is a very huge corporation, merged between Gemplus and Axalto few years back. A LOT of smartcard/sim card/credit card uses Gemalto's chip.


Also, there will be 1MB USIM (or MegaSIM). Google it.

This post has been edited by cybpsych: Oct 11 2009, 07:38 AM
bingozero
post Oct 11 2009, 10:13 AM

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 4,316

Joined: Jan 2009
Any of the teleco provide 256K simcard? So far I know is maxis provide only.
aspire2oo6
post Oct 11 2009, 10:22 AM

Banned
*********
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 34,712

Joined: Oct 2006

Actually does it matter? How often do you use the simcard memory?
These days ppl use phone memory


Even it support the sim memmory they divide it to like 5 phonebook.

This post has been edited by aspire2oo6: Oct 11 2009, 10:24 AM
Darkmage12
post Oct 11 2009, 01:54 PM

shhhhhhhhh come i tell you something hehe
********
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 16,905

Joined: Jan 2003

QUOTE(bingozero @ Oct 11 2009, 10:13 AM)
Any of the teleco provide 256K simcard? So far I know is maxis provide only.
*
Why do you need such big simcard?
radi0head
post Oct 11 2009, 08:05 PM

A Shocker
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 2,472

Joined: Jan 2009
the sad thing is that the divided phonebook is not linked to each other... if i switch phonebook2 d and my fren in phonebook1 called, no name will come out... duH~ doh.gif

wink.gif

alessamourner
post Oct 11 2009, 09:00 PM

Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 164

Joined: Feb 2009
From: Beranang-Lenggeng


lulz laugh.gif so it does'nt affect 3G speed at all

no need change,keep my 16k sim
aspire2oo6
post Oct 11 2009, 09:03 PM

Banned
*********
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 34,712

Joined: Oct 2006

QUOTE(alessamourner @ Oct 11 2009, 09:00 PM)
lulz  laugh.gif  so it does'nt affect 3G speed at all

no need change,keep my 16k sim
*
not effected i am also using 16k sim card for my 3G also no problem
Vervain
post Oct 11 2009, 09:28 PM

Scathach
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 5,033

Joined: Mar 2005
QUOTE(radi0head @ Oct 11 2009, 08:05 PM)
the sad thing is that the divided phonebook is not linked to each other... if i switch phonebook2 d and my fren in phonebook1 called, no name will come out... duH~  doh.gif 

wink.gif
*
then copy the contacts in the sim to your phone.
Darkmage12
post Oct 11 2009, 09:57 PM

shhhhhhhhh come i tell you something hehe
********
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 16,905

Joined: Jan 2003

Is there any reason why maxis 128k sim have a 3g ready thing on the simcard?
fat16
post Oct 12 2009, 09:57 AM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 3,504

Joined: Jan 2003
From: West johor


hmmm. my celcom blue have big sim, xpax 3g have small sim cip. so size dosent matter. both 3g sim.
squall3377
post Oct 12 2009, 01:46 PM

Y bother...
*****
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 790

Joined: Jan 2007
From: Kuala Lumpur

didnt know there's such a thing... good to know...

i usually store my contacts in my Sim card... means consume space...
does it affect my sim card 3G capability?
cute_boboi
post Oct 12 2009, 04:27 PM

° 忍 °
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 5,614

Joined: Nov 2004
From: [Latitude-N3°9'25"] [Longtitude-E101°42'45"]


The sim card memory, like explained in previous post, is used to store contact details and sms, if you choose to use sim card memory on old phones. e.g. nokia 3310, 8250, etc.

Nowadays, most phone uses its own memory to store contact and sms. Or you can opt for memory card (micro-SD, etc.), hence it can store many multiple times more than the 64/128kb sim card.

The advantage of using SIM card to store, is you can put into other phones and straight call numbers in phonebook previously.

The SIM card memory storage has nothing to do with mobile download/broadband speed. 1kb is more than enough to store all the configuration strings.
cybpsych
post Oct 12 2009, 05:25 PM

---------------------
*********
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 37,590

Joined: Jan 2003
1KB settings is one thing.

the applet is another matter because it take space.
Darkmage12
post Oct 12 2009, 05:42 PM

shhhhhhhhh come i tell you something hehe
********
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 16,905

Joined: Jan 2003

QUOTE(fat16 @ Oct 12 2009, 09:57 AM)
hmmm. my celcom blue have big sim, xpax 3g have small sim cip.  so size dosent matter. both 3g sim.
*
Actually big sim and small sim got difference?
cute_boboi
post Oct 13 2009, 11:01 AM

° 忍 °
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 5,614

Joined: Nov 2004
From: [Latitude-N3°9'25"] [Longtitude-E101°42'45"]


QUOTE(Darkmage12 @ Oct 12 2009, 05:42 PM)
Actually big sim and small sim got difference?
*
No difference for all current latest h/p. Unless you are still using Nokia 8250, 3310, etc. and you choose to store contacts and SMS in SIM card.
gastacopz
post Oct 13 2009, 11:06 AM

Newbie
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 4,061

Joined: Feb 2008
From: /K/opitiam Pak Hang Status: Permaban



128K is better laa...

can install lots of java application provide by d network provider n oso banks...
Darkmage12
post Oct 13 2009, 04:08 PM

shhhhhhhhh come i tell you something hehe
********
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 16,905

Joined: Jan 2003

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Oct 13 2009, 11:01 AM)
No difference for all current latest h/p. Unless you are still using Nokia 8250, 3310, etc. and you choose to store contacts and SMS in SIM card.
*
Well whenever you change a phone you will find a larger capacity simcard handy
podgie
post Oct 14 2009, 10:31 AM

Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 182

Joined: Jan 2008
From: ``GOmbak``



QUOTE(gastacopz @ Oct 13 2009, 11:06 AM)
128K is better laa...

can install lots of java application provide by d network provider n oso banks...
*
all telco have 128k sim? coz my maxis oni 64k..didnt have easyacces option
Darkmage12
post Oct 14 2009, 11:28 AM

shhhhhhhhh come i tell you something hehe
********
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 16,905

Joined: Jan 2003

QUOTE(podgie @ Oct 14 2009, 10:31 AM)
all telco have 128k sim? coz my maxis oni 64k..didnt have easyacces option
*
Yes I think but you need to pay to get 128k sim
aspire2oo6
post Oct 14 2009, 11:33 AM

Banned
*********
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 34,712

Joined: Oct 2006

QUOTE(podgie @ Oct 14 2009, 10:31 AM)
all telco have 128k sim? coz my maxis oni 64k..didnt have easyacces option
*
I am using 32k simcard also have easyaccess. Maybe u look at the wrong place of your phone?
cybpsych
post Oct 14 2009, 05:50 PM

---------------------
*********
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 37,590

Joined: Jan 2003
QUOTE(podgie @ Oct 14 2009, 10:31 AM)
all telco have 128k sim? coz my maxis oni 64k..didnt have easyacces option
*

highlight this to Maxis service centre.

they should provide free fix or free sim for you.
bingozero
post Oct 14 2009, 08:30 PM

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 4,316

Joined: Jan 2009
QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Oct 11 2009, 10:22 AM)
Actually does it matter? How often do you use the simcard memory?
These days ppl use phone memory
Even it support the sim memmory they divide it to like 5 phonebook.
*
When your phone cannot on, and need to repair, thats you should think twice you should save your contact in your phone memory or simcard memory.

QUOTE(Darkmage12 @ Oct 11 2009, 01:54 PM)
Why do you need such big simcard?
*
To save my contact, I prefer save it in my simcard.

This post has been edited by bingozero: Oct 14 2009, 08:31 PM
ilovelyn
post Oct 14 2009, 09:09 PM

Look at all my stars!!
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 2,279

Joined: Nov 2008
QUOTE(bingozero @ Oct 14 2009, 08:30 PM)
When your phone cannot on, and need to repair, thats you should think twice you should save your contact in your phone memory or simcard memory.
To save my contact, I prefer save it in my simcard.
*
ya..
me too..
prefer save in simcard..
if change phone no need to hassle to move the contacts from old to new phone..
Vervain
post Oct 14 2009, 09:31 PM

Scathach
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 5,033

Joined: Mar 2005
I just sync with the pc. The puny little storage isn't big enough to save a single name with address, pics, multiple contacts and description.
Shinichi
post Oct 14 2009, 10:31 PM

◆【 真一 】◆
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 4,051

Joined: Jan 2003
From: 槟城



QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Oct 14 2009, 11:33 AM)
I am using 32k simcard also have easyaccess. Maybe u look at the wrong place of your phone?
*
My 16k sim dont have easy access...
Darkmage12
post Oct 14 2009, 11:01 PM

shhhhhhhhh come i tell you something hehe
********
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 16,905

Joined: Jan 2003

QUOTE(Vervain @ Oct 14 2009, 09:31 PM)
I just sync with the pc. The puny little storage isn't big enough to save a single name with address, pics, multiple contacts and description.
*
Older phones cannot sync with PC
Vervain
post Oct 14 2009, 11:05 PM

Scathach
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 5,033

Joined: Mar 2005
From what I recall, phones that can transfer contacts via bluetooth can literally backup the data correct me if I'm wrong.
gastacopz
post Oct 15 2009, 02:40 PM

Newbie
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 4,061

Joined: Feb 2008
From: /K/opitiam Pak Hang Status: Permaban



QUOTE(Shinichi @ Oct 14 2009, 10:31 PM)
My 16k sim dont have easy access...
*
for sure dont hav ler...16k only oooo sweat.gif
aaronlim18
post Oct 15 2009, 02:56 PM

== IT FREAK ==
*****
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 802

Joined: Jan 2003
From: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia


the larger the space the more developer can store mini apps inside the USIM, but then use 3g or not, does not matter one, once 3g activated use what K sim card also can one geh
cute_boboi
post Oct 15 2009, 07:12 PM

° 忍 °
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 5,614

Joined: Nov 2004
From: [Latitude-N3°9'25"] [Longtitude-E101°42'45"]


QUOTE(bingozero @ Oct 14 2009, 08:30 PM)
When your phone cannot on, and need to repair, thats you should think twice you should save your contact in your phone memory or simcard memory.
To save my contact, I prefer save it in my simcard.
*
I don't really agree with it. With Nokia,
(i) I can backup Phone Memory into Memory Card and manual backup out into my PC
(ii) Use PC Suite to backup Contacts, SMS
(iii) Use Online Ovi to backup Contacts

I have all in place. If it is urgent, I can buy the cheapest S60v3 phone and restore within <1 hour.

In fact, I have done option (i) before to swap a phone. All apps and data are intact.

QUOTE(Vervain @ Oct 14 2009, 09:31 PM)
I just sync with the pc. The puny little storage isn't big enough to save a single name with address, pics, multiple contacts and description.
*
Agree on this point.

eanson
post Oct 17 2009, 12:47 PM

Casual
***
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 423

Joined: Oct 2006
From: Malacca



hi guys...a noob question here...how to check the capacity of the SIM? thanks sweat.gif
aspire2oo6
post Oct 17 2009, 12:59 PM

Banned
*********
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 34,712

Joined: Oct 2006

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Oct 15 2009, 07:12 PM)
I don't really agree with it. With Nokia,
(i) I can backup Phone Memory into Memory Card and manual backup out into my PC
(ii) Use PC Suite to backup Contacts, SMS
(iii) Use Online Ovi to backup Contacts

I have all in place. If it is urgent, I can buy the cheapest S60v3 phone and restore within <1 hour.

In fact, I have done option (i) before to swap a phone. All apps and data are intact.
Agree on this point.
*
Just use logic Simcard is for emergency just like phone failure but for normal usage on select phone memory. Just remember anything transfer from a device to another device is always slower compare to device that transfer directly
gastacopz
post Oct 18 2009, 12:35 AM

Newbie
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 4,061

Joined: Feb 2008
From: /K/opitiam Pak Hang Status: Permaban



QUOTE(eanson @ Oct 17 2009, 12:47 PM)
hi guys...a noob question here...how to check the capacity of the SIM? thanks  sweat.gif
*
wut capacity u want to check??

is it d size???just take a look at d back of ur sim...
c what is written there....

either 64K or 128K rclxms.gif
eanson
post Oct 18 2009, 01:01 AM

Casual
***
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 423

Joined: Oct 2006
From: Malacca



QUOTE(gastacopz @ Oct 18 2009, 12:35 AM)
wut capacity u want to check??

is it d size???just take a look at d back of ur sim...
c what is written there....

either 64K or 128K  rclxms.gif
*
thx...check d..mine is 64k sweat.gif
gastacopz
post Oct 18 2009, 01:05 AM

Newbie
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 4,061

Joined: Feb 2008
From: /K/opitiam Pak Hang Status: Permaban



QUOTE(eanson @ Oct 18 2009, 01:01 AM)
thx...check d..mine is 64k  sweat.gif
*
normally, all standard sim comes wif d package is 64K....but not all..like xox comes wif 128K..n some others i think...
azzfar29
post Oct 20 2009, 02:50 PM

Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 95

Joined: Oct 2008
From: Johore / Cyberjaya



for more contacts n sum other app only mehh
developer
post Oct 22 2009, 11:14 PM

Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 236

Joined: Jan 2006


from what i know is, umobile 128k sim card can store 1000 number. no saperated phonebook. and some of the 64k sim card restrict maximum characted u can save as the name. example if you put lelaki anak lelaki, the sim will not store all the car. instead they will only store lelaki ana something only.
Darkmage12
post Oct 22 2009, 11:30 PM

shhhhhhhhh come i tell you something hehe
********
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 16,905

Joined: Jan 2003

QUOTE(developer @ Oct 22 2009, 11:14 PM)
from what i know is, umobile 128k sim card can store 1000 number. no saperated phonebook. and some of the 64k sim card restrict maximum characted u can save as the name. example if you put lelaki anak lelaki, the sim will not store all the car. instead they will only store lelaki ana something only.
*
yup restrict max character is not good thing
ninjamerah
post Nov 5 2009, 03:02 PM

Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 261

Joined: Dec 2005
From: kulim/seberang jaya/parit buntar/kuala kangsar


QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Oct 15 2009, 07:12 PM)
I don't really agree with it. With Nokia,
(i) I can backup Phone Memory into Memory Card and manual backup out into my PC
(ii) Use PC Suite to backup Contacts, SMS
(iii) Use Online Ovi to backup Contacts

I have all in place. If it is urgent, I can buy the cheapest S60v3 phone and restore within <1 hour.

In fact, I have done option (i) before to swap a phone. All apps and data are intact.
Agree on this point.
*
do we have to pay for using ovi service?
do we charged if browse ovi via phone?



Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic
 

Switch to:
| Lo-Fi Version
0.1199sec    1.80    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2017 - 07:55 AM