10 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 >Bottom

SVS Product Launch Event, 3rd October 2009, 12.00pm

TShtkaki
post Oct 5 2009, 11:48 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(hsiengloong @ Oct 5 2009, 10:35 AM)
I sat at the back in the event but soemhow i feel the lack of punch and dynamics which i felt during HTkaki's hse lol..

Ronaldjoe also shared the same comment but he managed to get another chance to demo it in front and he said that it was superb... my guess is that either Audyssey wasnt calibrated for the back row or the 2 sub setup wasnt enough as the room was quite huge...
Jz back from sending Ron back to hotel. Yes, it is due to the length of the cable itself. It could only reach a bit more than ha;f of the area. That area is a massive 26' x 33'.

For those whole do not feel the bass, it is because the sub is not set to run hot. It is being set to be the same level as the front. We intend to let you listen to the intended recording w/o any coloration or extra 'spice'.

I have told Ron that 99% Malaysians into HT loves to run hot if not extra hot for their HT. Heavy bass. But, no. For the purpose of AS-EQ1, we need to run it as what the recording studio intends us to hear. Unfortunately, as it seems it didn't go down well with most of us.

That's the very same comments from a lot of users when they use the AS-EQ1; bass is gone. Nope, not actually disappear. It is that we have been listening to 'hot' tuned movies. Yes, it is of personal preference.

i thought it was also 7.4 during 1st demo according to htkaki.

could it be that the AS-EQ1 is doing its job to flatten the bass response curve resulting in perceived 'less' bass whilst our home systems suffer from boominess due to room issues?   hmm.gif

Spot on. If you want bass, we could have tuned it up and let hell break loose. Just ask jchong abt the SVS PB13-Ultra does in a single living hall when being run hot.

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/824330/+1620

The speakers being bright, yes. It is all due to puny 4310. It didn't has the juice to drive that even with the front pair being driven by Rotel. Oh yes, we did not employ the '-3dB' switch on that. With that on, it could have been better.

This post has been edited by htkaki: Oct 5 2009, 11:49 PM
jchong
post Oct 6 2009, 08:35 AM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Oct 5 2009, 11:48 PM)
Jz back from sending Ron back to hotel. Yes, it is due to the length of the cable itself. It could only reach a bit more than ha;f of the area. That area is a massive 26' x 33'.

Can you check with Ron if people are a factor. I mean that all those people in attendance also acts to reduce the bass? Maybe that's why those in front get a better experience than those at the back?
ronnt88
post Oct 6 2009, 08:42 AM

2,353 posts

I do notice that with more ppl in the room the bass is less.. Our body mass must be real good bass traps.
hsiengloong
post Oct 6 2009, 09:44 AM

~Bass Maniac~
899 posts

QUOTE(megatron007 @ Oct 5 2009, 10:46 PM)
tat's my same concern... the room size will kill the setup sad.gif

Added on October 5, 2009, 9:47 pm

I saw u ...hahah  drool.gif  we at back row...seriously speaking nothing can be felt... except my HM complaining the harshness of the surround speaker..

sakit telinga sad.gif

Added on October 5, 2009, 9:51 pm

ppl like us at the back suffer abit  doh.gif  btw, i saw the volume -2 or -4 level... tat's for ??

also the "movie" in FILE format " HANG KIE" for a few time.. pardon my HM question " THE SUB TOO POWER n caused HANG KEI ar" ?  sweat.gif
Hey bro, were u seated at the far left back corner? Right beside the surr speakers? Lol..Because i saw the couple left half way during the demo (transformers, i think) and i suspected it was because the surr speakers were too bright tongue.gif

BTw, i din recognise anyone in the event la.. Maybe bcos i'm the only 1 that put my stupid looking face as my avatar lol
car_o_scope
post Oct 6 2009, 10:33 AM

Cars & HiFi fever!!
1,829 posts

maja_5365
post Oct 6 2009, 10:35 AM

129 posts

Sorry fo the late posting.

Overall the event was quite ok and many thanks for htkaki for organizing the event and the shirt of course. biggrin.gif

Yes I agreed with u all who was sitting at the back the bass wass less and futhermore the surround speakers tend to be bright abit but I can still feel the vibration

Got to meet bro sx9,arremie,ronaldjoe,arj and few forumers which I didn't get their name.

Didnt get into detail discussion abt my sub setting but It was a nice experienced talking to the man himself(Ron). rclxms.gif

To htkaki good luck on yr sales.

p/s : htkaki,Do u hv the picture at the end of the event where there were quite a few of us posted with Ron and the sub. Can get a copy?

Cheers.

This post has been edited by maja_5365: Oct 6 2009, 10:37 AM
car_o_scope
post Oct 6 2009, 10:45 AM

Cars & HiFi fever!!
1,829 posts

Pic below (From L-->R): PC12-Plus, PB13-Ultra, MTS-01

Pic below (From L-->R): MTS-01, PB12-Plus, PC13-Ultra
TShtkaki
post Oct 6 2009, 11:13 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(hsiengloong @ Oct 6 2009, 09:44 AM)
Hey bro, were u seated at the far left back corner? Right beside the surr speakers? Lol..Because i saw the couple left half way during the demo (transformers, i think) and i suspected it was because the surr speakers were too bright tongue.gif

BTw, i din recognise anyone in the event la.. Maybe bcos i'm the only 1 that put my stupid looking face as my avatar lol
Lesson learnt. Next time, I sld burn-in all speakers for good hours and not less than 8 hours. The spkr cables are brand new. Just terminated and lay in my home. It's Belden. The PB13-Ultra is being used for less than 8 hours. PC13 brand new as well as SBS-01. Right out of the box. Almost all are right out of the box. The 4310.... less than 15 hours on the clock.

It's ok. I will set it up again here. And those who are interested may come and experience it while waiting for my new showroom to be ready.
hsiengloong
post Oct 6 2009, 11:16 AM

~Bass Maniac~
899 posts

Lol bro, i can help u burn in if u want tongue.gif

BTW, does that mean u will have a second round of demo? Would be great stuff...
TShtkaki
post Oct 6 2009, 11:30 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(hsiengloong @ Oct 6 2009, 11:16 AM)
Lol bro, i can help u burn in if u want tongue.gif

BTW, does that mean u will have a second round of demo? Would be great stuff...
Hotel again, nope. Just too expensive to cover my cost. Too much of a hassle. I will set it up at my pad again. And once the showroom is ready, there will probably be 2 different setups there. The MTS-01 system with 13-Ultra and another S series setup with 12-plus or 12-NSD. You are allow to bring your sub for a comparison. Erm, how about your SPL1200-Ultra? smile.gif
hsiengloong
post Oct 6 2009, 11:42 AM

~Bass Maniac~
899 posts

U mean my peasant SPL1200? I scare after comparing i might just ditch my spl at yuor shop and carry back a svs tongue.gif
TShtkaki
post Oct 6 2009, 11:43 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(hsiengloong @ Oct 6 2009, 11:42 AM)
U mean my peasant SPL1200? I scare after comparing i might just ditch my spl at yuor shop and carry back a svs tongue.gif
Don't waste it. Make it a 7.2 setup wink.gif
hsiengloong
post Oct 6 2009, 11:45 AM

~Bass Maniac~
899 posts

sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif

lightning69
post Oct 6 2009, 02:23 PM

2,298 posts

While the SVS was launching their product in KL, I was having a small demo for my friends here.

They are very impress by the PC12+ so looks like there are some convert here in Miri too.

Will be recommending them to Htkaki. One of them is interested but not really like the canvas exterior of the PC12+. Is there a piano finish PC sub?
TShtkaki
post Oct 6 2009, 02:26 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Unfortunately, no. Only in black fabric. Tks a lot.
lightning69
post Oct 6 2009, 02:29 PM

2,298 posts

PC13Ultra also no piano black?
TShtkaki
post Oct 6 2009, 02:51 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

It applies to all cyclinder.
ar188
post Oct 6 2009, 02:52 PM

9,206 posts

the centre channel is huge! but got nice gloss black top..
gnsumas
post Oct 6 2009, 02:53 PM

/k/+ps=WIN!
736 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Oct 6 2009, 02:51 PM)
It applies to all cyclinder.
Abang htkaki,

Your sub is box or cylinder ah?

jchong
post Oct 6 2009, 03:19 PM

5,989 posts

His is a box sub.