Headphones HEADPHONES/ EARPHONES Recomendation Corner V4, MOAR Recommendations !!!

Eiraku
post Sep 29 2009, 04:22 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(danieltan @ Sep 29 2009, 01:20 PM)
bijou v3 or pl-30? which one is the best for bass. ?
PL30 is not quite bass heavy IMHO. Good bass, yes; bass heavy, not really.

Hippo Boom recommendation seconded, even if sorely on bass quantity (supposedly, haven't tried it yet).

Also, at around the same price point, the Music Valley SP1 is great if you want good, tight bass (just don't expect oodles of it like you get from the Bijou or the Hippo Boom - it's much clearer then the Bijou IMHO). If you don't mind ordering online and waiting, there's also the NuForce NE-6, the king of sub RM200 budget bass (at least according to Head-Fiers).

But really, how does one define good bass? For most people, flabby, boomy bass that covers everything else is what they call GOOD BASS. I blame Sony and Megabass.
Eiraku
post Sep 29 2009, 06:47 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(peinsama @ Sep 29 2009, 04:50 PM)
Was wondering where can i purchase this ear canal in Malaysia?

IHarmonix IHX Platinum ev-Series

Link : http://www.headphone.com/products/headphon...m-ev-series.php
Any particular reasons as of why? Haven't heard much news about these babies... hmm.gif

As for where you can buy em, I really have no idea... Try search garage sales or bulk? sweat.gif

Though, for that price I'd say get a Music Valley SP1 (if you want bass) or the Soundmagic PL50 (if you want balance/vocals), although both these plugs lack the IHX's volume control (which adds distortion/is prone to breaking most of the time anyhow).

Good luck!

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Sep 29 2009, 07:10 PM
Eiraku
post Sep 29 2009, 07:22 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(danieltan @ Sep 29 2009, 07:01 PM)
oh, thanks for ur all great suggestion.
my budget normally around less than rm200.

from what i see in forum, ear bud pl-30 build for deep or clean bass. but if compare with bidou v3. the bass is more clearify.

if do u all meant
from the best to poor categories
hippo boom > pl-50> bidou v3 > pl-30
Okay let me see if I get this right... I'm no real audiophile either, just an enthusiast. Lets break down the IEMs in your list into catagories (based on my limited knowledge anyway):

In terms of bass quantity (from most to least):

Hippo Boom/Bijous > NuForce NE-6 (just adding here for comparison) > SP1 (again adding here for comparison) > PL30 > PL50

In terms of bass quality (from best controlled to most flabby/boomy - inderectly influences clarity.):

PL50 (not that much bass to control to begin with) > SP1 > NE-6 > PL30 > Hippo Boom (according to Xandman anyway) > Bijous

If you want a lot of good quality bass that rumbles deeply in your ears WITHOUT covering up every other sound on the track, I'd suggest you try the Music Valley SP1. Given the right tracks, and the right EQ adjustments (I need to add bass a a little in EQ myself), it will blow your socks off (Markus Schulz's "Cause You Know" and "I am" comes to mind - the SP1 is very well suited to Electronica/Trance but works ok with a lot of other types of songs). It's also within your budget at RM180.

However, if you need EXTRA amounts of consumer level bass ("boom boom" rather then "thump thump"), you probably would be better off with the Hippos or the level 4 (or is it level 2, for extra bass) Bijous. They have more raw amounts of bass compared to the SP1 IINM.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Sep 29 2009, 07:41 PM
Eiraku
post Oct 3 2009, 02:53 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(zachyEnWaykins @ Oct 2 2009, 10:38 PM)
evening to all, just wondering is there a earphone that like have a mic feature that allows you to choose whether to shut out the rest of the world or to turn on the mic and hear it again?
it would be so cool....
Ah, Shure makes an attachment that does just that. Its called PTH (push to hear)... Sadly it costs as much as a decent mid-range IEM (RM4xx)... sweat.gif
Eiraku
post Oct 3 2009, 07:53 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Oct 3 2009, 02:53 AM)
Ah, Shure makes an attachment that does just that. Its called PTH (push to hear)... Sadly it costs as much as a decent mid-range IEM (RM4xx)... sweat.gif
As per above, comes with the Shure SE530 as a bundle if i'm not mistaken.

People really don't read forums thoroughly, do they?
Eiraku
post Oct 3 2009, 10:08 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(chingwooi @ Oct 3 2009, 09:44 PM)
Haha, Who the hell does? There're so many topics in LYN, it's kinda impossible to read through so many pages just to look for something, even the "search" button also rendered useless sometimes.
LOL, understand what you mean. Anyhow, my legs are trembling in anticipation for my incoming (and no update) PR2s... Ahh, faster so I can poison other people... biggrin.gif

Also, I'm wondering why the Music Valley SP1 is not selling as well as it should (from the looks of it anyway). For the clarity AND tight bass that it has (for RM180 anyhow) it should sell like hotcakes. It has real character mannnnnn for such a (relative) cheapy... sweat.gif

Buuuuut, I'm partial to thinking that "normal" (non aural crazy) people over here either like boom boomy bass (the majority - bass quantity alone = good SQ)... Or high volume... Or brandedness... ohmy.gif

Oh well... One man's poison is another man's cure! sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Oct 3 2009, 10:29 PM
Eiraku
post Oct 4 2009, 01:06 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(xtrifor @ Oct 4 2009, 09:20 AM)
i just lost (dunno where i put it / sumone might stole it) my Philips SHE9500 earphone last few days. need to buy new one...

my budget around RM100-RM150 only... i would like "in-ear" form factor.

want to use with my Nokia 5800 XpressMusic!

ps: actually, is it called earphone/headphone?
IEM is the exact term, but earphone/canalphone/earplug can be used. Headphones = the big cans to smaller KSC75 types, Earbuds = Yuin PK2 type.

Anyhow, considering your budget, here's your choices (in my limited knowledge ah - items marked "From my readings" are based on my research and hearsay only):

1) Soundmagic PL21 (RM80) - From my readings
- Balanced bass / clarity (supposedly)
- Over the ear (OTE) /normal cable down design
- Ok isolation
- Cheap

2) Soundmagic PL30 (RM98) - FMR
- Less bass, more clarity
- Over the ear design (hard to wear normally)
- Less isolation
- Read up reviews on Head-Fi

3) Soundmagic PL11 (RM60) - Tested with 5800
- More bass, less clarity
- OTE/normal design
- Ok isolation (if you can get it, I struggled to get a good fit with the Silicones)
- Cheapest

4) Hippo Boom (RM150) - FMR
- Most bass, lesser clarity (IINM - from my readings)
- OTE/normal design
- Comes with a bundled amp (Fiio E3 - great little thing)
- Good-ok isolation (according to how deep you can stuff em in your ears)
- Had the Bijous a while back, used it with the 5800. They look the same, I wonder if they sound alike... sweat.gif

If willing to spend a bit more and like bassy but still clear sound: Try the Music Valley SP1. They sound great (slightly bass heavy) on the 5800 (to my ears anyway) but are largely overlooked... Of all my previous IEMS (Bijou, Quattro, PL11, SE HPM-70/75), I like the SP1 best... biggrin.gif

Everything else just costs more, lol... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Oct 4 2009, 01:16 PM
Eiraku
post Oct 6 2009, 07:32 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(vaires @ Oct 6 2009, 07:22 PM)
most of them below rm100..
nearest price is Hippo Boom..but i don't like too much bass..prefer more clear sound..
beside i already have E5..
Get the SoundMagic PL50 then, perfect fit to your needs: Balanced sound (more focus on vocals), good fit (over the ears = less chance of falling out) and it's available for RM190... biggrin.gif

In terms of isolation it's not the best though, but that's better for jogging (you can still hear the world around you a tiiiiiiiiiiiiiny bit - safer). But it's a fully closed design (I think) meaning it won't leak much sound and bother the other passangers.

Get them from kitsune-fox HERE!

Will get a pair myself later, when my Cyclone PR2s arrive and I can spare a little dough!

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Oct 6 2009, 07:36 PM
Eiraku
post Oct 6 2009, 10:12 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(QuickFire @ Oct 6 2009, 09:30 PM)
So it boils down to these two: Shure SE102 or SoundMagic PL-50. Help me decide. A friend of mine fervently recommends the Shure, and I'm not too sure about Taiwan/China brands. How is the build quality?

Btw, I'm looking for something neutral and balanced, I listen mostly to rock and pop, and some film scores and electronic.
Taken from the "old, music-crazy geezers" over at Head-Fi (according to this one crazy dude over at twitter anyway):

Comparing to Shure Se102 and 110, since they are in the same price range, and the 102's are said to be the best choice under £70 in UK.

In my opinion the PL50 clearly wins over the SE102.

From: http://www.head-fi.org/forums/f103/my-revi...ic-pl50-431694/

Build seems to be solid too (for an all plastic IEM anyway), much improved compared to the days of the PL30 (ahhh bass knobs falling off) and my own PL11... It's their flagship for now summore... And with the newest batch, the little issue of the foam tips sticking too hard to the point of breaking the PL50's nozzles when changing tips seem to have been fixed... biggrin.gif

Based on this, it'll be safe to say that the PL50 is your best bet. Bass is sufficient for electronica as well (for people seeking balanced sound anyhow)... biggrin.gif

QUOTE(xtrifor @ Oct 6 2009, 09:52 PM)
how much is it Music Valley SP1 IEM? if RM180 normal or abit expensive?
Yep it's normal... It's already an absolute steal at that price IMHO (if you like bass-centric but clear sound, that is. For more bass, get the Hippo Boom)... thumbup.gif

IINM it's out for around USD$50 from ebay, and when you factor in shipping and stuff - it's about the same, minus a bit only (plus you would have difficulties getting support in terms of warranty claims).

Can't wait to see what Music Valley would come up with next, seeing that the SP1 is only their entry level contender in the market.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Oct 6 2009, 10:42 PM
Eiraku
post Oct 6 2009, 11:08 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(QuickFire @ Oct 6 2009, 10:56 PM)
Alright, thanks! I dont have much to base my decision on anyhow, so this will probably do it.
Oh btw do the earphones sold by kitsune-fox have the foam tips issue?
I've asked - planning to get a pair myself actually, I'm missing a mid-centric IEM in the lineup - and he said that it's the new batch.
Unfortunately, the only way you can differentiate the old one from the new is if taking off the foam tips feels near impossible (if it does, don't try harder, ask for a replacement or better, COD in the first place and test).

Though, I warn you, if you like the PL50s, you'll slowly but inextricably want the JHP-13s later (even if that takes years)... Like the SP1 is for the basshead, the PL50 is for the balanced listener an affordable entry ticket to the dark (and indescribably rewarding) world of the ever spending audiophile... laugh.gif

Though I still think it's a much more affordable obsession compared to, say, being a Lens-collector... laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Oct 8 2009, 12:38 AM
Eiraku
post Oct 7 2009, 11:28 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(xtrifor @ Oct 7 2009, 08:22 PM)
tomorrow government worker get salary... finding IEM below RM100, any recommendation? sweat.gif
Lol, you asso gomen servant eh? Try the PL21 (bass-balanced)/ PL11 (bass) / PL20 (clarity), I really can't fault SoundMagic for good IEMs for the price... biggrin.gif

Ah, gaji time... Now to get me my PL50s (and a projector while I'm at it)... brows.gif

:NEWSFLASH: The Hippo Booms have just gotten an offspring it seems... Or maybe I just wasn't aware of it's existance... sweat.gif

Meet... The Hippo VB... biggrin.gif

Think Hippo Booms with Quattro tuning plates... Looks like one lonely Quattro and one lonely Hippo Boom decided to get it on one day and *poof* the VBs were born... sweat.gif

Some guy's review is up st Hi-Fi HERE.

Interested in how the tuning plate concept would fit and mold the sound from the the larger 10mm dynadriver though (compared to the 9mm one on the Quads)... Already, the initial reviews are showing that the ports are working in reverse then those on the Quads (more bass - less soundstage, more treble - more airy)... biggrin.gif

The pricing on these: SGD98 + free Fiio E3s (that's RM240 right there, easily undercutting the Quads by a bit)... sweat.gif

Need to bash them against the SP1s, the Quattros (the only beast with the same tricks), my upcoming PL50s and my M-I-A PR2s.

Real hard.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Oct 8 2009, 01:14 AM
Eiraku
post Oct 11 2009, 11:21 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

Waahahaha... This one is either a request or an answer (sorry TS), but just posting to say my hands got really reallllllllly itchy and I got myself the PL50 + E5 (due to the fact that I can no longer promote the PL50s soooo much with a clear conscience without actually owning them)... rclxm9.gif

Initial impressions (w/o the E5, charging it rite now):

1) Great clarity - esp. the mids.

2) Bass is actually not bad at all (though, for comparison, I need to pump up the lowest end in EQ by 4-5 notches - the SP1 needs only 1-2).

3) Soundstage is noticeably narrower than the SP1 (intimate, call it) - UPDATE (a few hours later): Correction, the SP1 has a NARROWER soundstage vs the PL50 (had to do a few rounds of listening to make sure - I'm really no expert audiophile to begin with... lol), especially when amped through the E5.

4) Isolation is superior to the SP1 (the PL50s the best inbox Shure clones yet IMHO, the ones in the SP1 box don't even come close).

5) Cable is far, far better then the SP1 (thicker looking yet less microphonics - tested by tapping the cables).

Many thanks to Kitsune-Fox, via his prompt response from my SMSes, if not I would have been "saved" from getting them at all.

Annnnnnnnnnnnnd, my PR2s are coming (yes, they did finally appear), and they're due next week!

Time for my own "China Mari Tembak-Tembak: The Budget Basshead IEM Psuedo-Shootout": The PR2 vs the SP1 vs the PL50 (as they have considerably good bass for a single BA) vs the Quattros (as reference - even if they ARE from Korea/Singapore actually); with and without the E5.

This should be fun - though breakfast, lunch and dinner for the next two weeks should be a rotation between Instant Mee or Rice + Sardines as a result of my splurging (read below).

P.S. Got a huge portable battery as well - one that can not only charge my 5800 at least 10 times from empty to full; it can power/charge my laptop as well! But that's a whole entirely different story, rite?

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Oct 12 2009, 01:11 AM
Eiraku
post Oct 12 2009, 01:07 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(QuickFire @ Oct 12 2009, 12:14 AM)
Is the soundstage narrow? Reviews I read say the soundstage is pretty wide, especially for BA earphones. I dont want one with a narrow soundstage.
Correction, just did a quick compre with the SP1 (WITH the E5). The SP1 has a NARROWER soundstage compared to the PL50 (will correct the post above to reflect this). The PL50's really not that bad, but soundstage aside, the SP1 is a killer on the Nokia 5800 amped through the E5 with all flat EQ (to my cheapo bass-heavy ears anyway).

The PL50s, on the other hand, need +4 notches EQ on the lowest end to even compete, even when amped. But this clutters up the sound a bit, and the PL50 really can't match the SP1 in terms of bass (especially for the more thumping tracks).

Though, keeping in mind I got the PL50 for the mids rather than the bass, I tuned down the bass to +2 notches EQ for use w/ the E5; and it works rather well for non-bass-centric songs. Vocals and instruments are clear, and the bass is just enough to make a difference.

The SP1 + E5 sounds like what I've wanted any IEM to sound like through since Day 1 (initial impressions anyway). For now at least. Lets see if the PR2 trumps the SP1 when it comes along.

Plugging in the Quattros, however, made me remember why I need to burn the Quattros EVEN MORE (it just sounds wrong).

I might just sell my Quads for a good price after the Shootout. I'll have farrrr too many bass-oriented IEMs for practical use by then (PR2, Quads AND SP1).

P.S. Tomorrow is PL50 day for me.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Oct 12 2009, 02:27 AM
Eiraku
post Oct 12 2009, 05:25 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(yuheng @ Oct 12 2009, 11:04 AM)
crossroad woddy vs pl50 is a must biggrin.gif
Woody 1 or 2? Lol... But not really fair IMHO, dynamics vs a BA (even if it IS a Jays SIREN clone there in the PL50). Woody 1 and 2 vs the Cyclone PR2 is more like it. Similar price tag, both dynamics. Wood vs Metal!

Care to send me review samples, lol... brows.gif

And what about the Hippo VB and Klipsch S4, you guys not bringing it over? Now THOSE would prove as great contenders for the best " 'round RM200" dynamic bassphones.

Oh, and if anybody's interested, there's a bulk on the Clip+ and Fuze over at bulk - players with (supposedly) the best SQ for the price. Contemplating getting myself a Fuze AND a line-out-dock cable (all for the sake of aural science).

Oh, and the day spent with the PL50 + E5? Let's just say that I'm liking these small, cute plugs very much, even if they lack the bassy-ness of the SP1. A keeper in my books, fo' sho'... biggrin.gif

Now, time for a completely off-topic rant (you have been warned):

Added on October 12, 2009, 5:32 pm
QUOTE(moniqee @ Oct 12 2009, 05:08 PM)
lol... if u wanna let go ur quads cheaply to me... let me know ya... wink.gif
Will do. They're fresh replacements from bro Wala (old ones died, remember) barely a month old IINM and hardly used... biggrin.gif

If I do decide to let them go (the tranformers-y attraction of tweakable sound is still an interesting concept - lets wait til the PR2s arrive), I'll supply you (or anybody who ends up buying them) with the box and everything that comes with it, plus replacement tips for the ones I've used.... thumbup.gif

Plus there's a fair bit of warranty left (bros yuheng and wala, no problems transferring warranty?).

Urk, 5800 external battery supply box blinking and dying. Means I have less then 30 mins left on the 5800's internal battery for WIFI-3G. Time to log off and enjoy some music sans electricity!

Added on October 12, 2009, 6:56 pmOh my, me ears getting REALLY used to the PL50s + E5. Imaging is godly in comparison to the rest of my lineup of current and past IEMS (Quads, PL11, Bijou and SP1): I can distinctly make out instruments all over the place (especially on James Morrison's You Give Me Something), and that's on MP3, with the 5800 and it's constrained soundstage (enhanced by the E5, though).

Gonna spend another day with the PL50s... Maybe two... brows.gif

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Oct 12 2009, 10:49 PM
Eiraku
post Oct 13 2009, 04:57 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Oct 13 2009, 02:11 PM)
Looking for some portable earphone, already owned 1 kcs-75 and grado sr60. Prefer the kcs over grado, not because of quality but the characteristic i guess..

wondering cx 500 is good? price range around 200 + -
Must be durable and comfortable, with clarity, and I'm not fancy of bass
By portable earphone you mean earbud? IEM?

If IEM, then IMHO only one IEM fits the bill as per bolded above: the SoundMagic PL50. It's well built (for a plastic IEM anyway) with a good cable, ample (considering the price bracket) strain relief and great fit and comfort. The SQ is great as well, having the clarity you want. But, it's not TRUELY analytical and flat IMHO and is a tad (a tiny winy bit) colored in my view.

You might not want anything to do with the CX500 as it's said to be bassy to the point of being bloated (not as bad as the CX300, I suppose)... sweat.gif

You can get 'em from a host of people over at Audio Garage Sales or Bulk, but I got mine for RM190 from bro kitsune-fox HERE.

If you mean earbuds, uh... I really don't do earbuds much.

As for MY PL50's, they've pretty much been replacing the Music Valley SP1 in regular use. Details after the jump for those who like to read my drivel... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Oct 13 2009, 05:27 PM
Eiraku
post Oct 13 2009, 06:24 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(QuickFire @ Oct 13 2009, 05:45 PM)
Ok I just bought myself an iPod classic. All I have at the moment are my stock ipod earphones, and I find them unsatisfactory (as expected). I'm looking to get a pair of PL50s, how do they compare with the stock ipods? I especially find the bass to be weak, and turning on bass booster simply results in distortion. Not sure if this is inherent in all iPods or the issue lies with the earphones. I know the PL50s dpnt have a lot of bass, but do they at least perform a lot better bass-wise than the stock earphones?
I'm under the impression that ANYTHING is better then the stock earphones (judging on how the iBuds are bashed everywhere on the net), but I don't have the iPod, and I don't really know how crappy iBuds are to definitely say anything. But, the ADDIEMs (the Apple Dual Driver IEM) are well regarded as having great performance for the buck (if bought cheaply from online retailers or ebay - but make sure they're original).

The PL50s have a fair amount of bass. Not THAT much and it doesn't reach THAT low, but what it has is well defined at least.

But if you REALLY want bass, dynamic is the way to go for cheap bassy fun (the PL50 is balanced armature driver based - not many bassy BA IEMs exist at the PL50's price point IINM).

Here's my shortlist for sub-RM200 bassy dynadrivers, ranked by my preference from having owned or having researched on them (the ones researched on are marked "from hearsay":

1) MusicValley SP1 - RM180 from Godluvsxs (OWN AND USING)
2) Hippo Boom - RM150 + a free Fiio E3 from bro Walabies or Yuheng (from hearsay)
3) Nuforce NE-7m/NE-6 (with/without iphone mic) - RM180+- from online retailers (from hearsay)
4) Crossroads Bijou (3 for more balance, 4 for more bass - or something like that) - RM 180 from bor Walabies or Yuheng (OWNED)
5) SoundMagic MP21/PL21 (similar as above) - RM80 from kitsune-fox (from hearsay)
6) SoundMagic PL11 - RM60-70 (OWNED)

Also, if you want to try online, there's also the Lenntek Sonix (or something like that), recommended by some guy up in Head-Fi.

P.S. Funny that I and Monique came up with a list at almost the same time, LOL... biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Oct 13 2009, 06:27 PM
Eiraku
post Oct 14 2009, 12:24 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(Fantasia @ Oct 14 2009, 12:12 AM)
help my friend to ask
budget: RM 170 below
want in-ear type and need good clarity, bass average.for musics, movies and gaming purposes
Try to ask him to add RM20 to his budget and get the SoundMagic PL50 (RM190)... Problem settled.... biggrin.gif

If he can't, the next best thing would be the SoundMagic PL20 or PL30, as per his requirements of clarity and average bass IMHO.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Oct 14 2009, 12:27 AM
Eiraku
post Oct 14 2009, 10:48 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ Oct 14 2009, 10:22 PM)
Among the list you suggest it would be the PL50? well I have not used any IEM before so far, not sure if I can get use to something stuff right into my ears.

Much appreciate for your reply anyway, from your description it sounds like I'm gonna like it
Those in the list are all bass-heavy dynamic driver IEMs (for QuickFire, who wanted bass a bit)... As you mentioned earlier you didn't want much bass, my recommendation is STILL the PL50. It STILL has a little bass, but focus is on clarity and vocals... thumbup.gif

And rumors has it that ClieOS has found something brand spanking new that kicks the Klipsch S4's bottom everywhere. As the S4s are said to be GREAT all rounder dynamics, I'm EXTREMELY curious as to what can be better.

Here's hoping that the great big surprise turns out to the be PR2 by some freak chance... In that case I won't have to go on another shopping and shipping spree... brows.gif

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Oct 14 2009, 10:51 PM
Eiraku
post Oct 15 2009, 11:05 PM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(jimmy8910 @ Oct 15 2009, 10:41 PM)
are the altec lansing muzx series good? im curious about the one with natural wood drool.gif
Haven't heard much about those, which on these Internets is really not a good thing most of the time. Are those full headphones or IEMs?

If it's wooden IEMs that you want, try the Mingo MW2 (online), Crossroads Woody 1 or 2 (from bro Yuheng) or - at the very top of the wood IEM chain - the JVC-Victor FX500 (online from Japan only).

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Oct 15 2009, 11:06 PM
Eiraku
post Oct 16 2009, 12:47 AM

Geeking since 1985!
7,037 posts

QUOTE(jimmy8910 @ Oct 15 2009, 11:36 PM)
IEM la lowyat is selling rm109. ur recommended 1 2 expensive la no money  sweat.gif
Lol... Was talking wood and pure sound quality - as I have no idea what the quality is like on the Muzx (although the Mingo MW2s are supposedly cheap, but have to be ordered online). Word on HF is saying that it's bass heavy though:

They actually never really settle down much and remain bass dominant. Pretty much a basshead phone but I like them taking some bass away.

They do have treble though. For one, I used them on the trip to work the day after I sent my Phonak's back. Of course not Phonak treble but can't say they have no high end.

The Altecs are a cool little phone that is comfy and quite rich sounding and handsome looking.
Taken and edited from: http://www.head-fi.org/forums/f103/altec-l...lphones-406605/

So, you okay with a really bassy sound? I mean lotsa boom boom bass covering over the sounds of the cymbals, vocals and guitars (or whatever instruments the song is played with).

If you're cool with that, get em. They look really cool to boot!

If not, what kind of sound are you looking for?

For sub RM100 IEM, my recommendations are (no wood though):

1) SoundMagic PL21 = RM90 (bulk/garage sales) - Fun sound (bassy and warm also quite clear, good for most popular music) <--- Current Sub-RM100 personal favourite.
2) SoundMagic PL30 = RM90-100 (bulk/garage) - Flat (clear sound, less bass).
3) SoundMagic PL11 = RM60 (bulk/garage) - Bassy, but better then the EP630 (still some high notes)
4) JBL Reference 220 = RM90-100 (garage) - Flat, clear.
5) EP-830 = RM80-90 (bulk/garage) - Much clearer then the -630, good amount of bass.
6) EP-630 = RM60-70 (bulk/garage) - Really bassy, most probably like the Muzx (but the Muzx SHOULD have a little better bass) but almost half the price.

As a rule of thumb, for your money, any of the SoundMagic earphones are really not bad at all, you just have to choose the kind of sound you're into.

I'm using the SoundMagic PL50s myself (Flavour of The Month, lol) - I asso have little money to go up the audiophile ladder... sweat.gif

QUOTE(hapa @ Oct 15 2009, 11:15 PM)
i'm looking for a new earphone..
budget below rm200...

currently looking on sony MDR-EX300SLB.. is it recommended? how the sound?
As far as earbuds go, the Sony isn't bad (most Sonys are okay - even the ones bundled with my mother's cheapo low end Sony MP3 player sounded great to my ears), but most Sony earbuds die easily (I should know, back in the day I bought hundreds of them) due to weak cables and stuff.

Also check the Xbrand and Xbrand2 earbuds in bulk sales, they're said to be very good for the price (say, RM60-80?).

I'm more of an IEM guy, so I hope anyone else with earbud experience come chime in.

This post has been edited by Eiraku: Oct 16 2009, 01:04 AM

0.0232sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 05:13 AM