There has been quite a bit of discussion on what to do to clean our dog's beard. I still have yet to find a suitable method, but recently, Scottie's beard has been rather clean compared to his younger days. I can't really pinpoint what was done to make his beard white, but I can list down what I had done previously:
1) I use a whitening shampoo for his beard and white areas. When I wash the beard, I not only use a brush to brush it, but also use a handkerchief to sort of 'scrub' the beard as well.
2) I try to keep the beard as dry as possible. After he eats, I use wet tissue to wipe the beard clean from anything that might get stuck in the beard.
3) Some say drinking water from a bottle might help. I used to do that, but Scottie doesn't like to drink from it, so I ended up buying a Yogi bowl to lessen the mess he would make when drinking from a normal bowl.
4) Whenever I send Scottie to the groomers, I would ask them to trim off as much of the brown bits of beard as possible (but at the same time maintaining the 'shape' of the beard) This helps to keep him looking clean most of the time
5) I did try a product before called "Health N' Shine" for Scottie. It's a powder like product that you sprinkle on the food for the dog to eat. It would work from the inside out, eliminating the bacteria and yeast that might cause the brown stains from the eyes and stuff.
6) Another recommendation from a fellow Schnauzer owner is to use saline solution (the solution used in cleaning contact lenses. ONLY get the bottles that say "Saline Solution") to wipe the beard everyday to keep the area clean and free from bacteria that might grow. I tried that a bit, but it got a bit too much for me, so I only do that every now and then.
Thanks for advice....but even i always clean her up after eating and drinking...she still use her tongue to lick it...make it wet.....really headache leh....