Shoes for (real) men

lanatir
post Sep 24 2009, 09:14 PM

472 posts

QUOTE(zuth @ Sep 24 2009, 08:39 PM)
for the price I would go for a custom made shoe here: leather lining, insole and sole of your choice -rubber, leather you name it.  And they make it to your choice of design, of course within their range of skill.

Where? USJ 8 around Restaurant Syed. 

Patronize local products. and how much you might ask? rm200 and above depending on your choice of design and accessories.

I am a happy customer.  And they make ladies shoes and boots too, not only for men.
good news to hear. will u share with us photos of your purchases so we can see how they are?

Added on September 24, 2009, 9:31 pmfeedback from a friend who got some C&Js and cheaneys from PLal. he loves the C&Js but says the cheaneys are not very good

This post has been edited by lanatir: Sep 24 2009, 09:31 PM
lanatir
post Oct 14 2009, 09:57 AM

472 posts

QUOTE(Calvin Seak @ Oct 13 2009, 04:16 PM)
Hey Sifus! I have a few leather shoes and i take good care of them but i do not know which product should i use i was about to polish my hugo boss oxford shoes today and this question came to my mind after looking through all the products i have for shoes

[attachmentid=1248330]

Heres the picture!

from left to right

Tarrago- Protects against liquid - for all kind of leather

PALC - Self Shining shoe cream for Dark Brown Shoes

Kiwi - Colour Shine Brown Instand Polish

Minit - Cleans, protects and cares in an instant

Aldo - Instant Gloss

Woly - Fashion Leather Cream for Black Shoes

After polishing a shoe do you remove the old polish and polish it all over again?

Or do you polish over the the previous polishes?

Thank you very much!

I suck in taking good cares for me shoes but i love them =)
pls throw away all of them except maybe the woly. u can use the woly as a form of cream.

then, if u don't want to go to PLal for saphir, i suggest u buy urself some kiwi waxes to top off the cream. none of the wipe on super shine nonsense.
lanatir
post Oct 14 2009, 03:12 PM

472 posts

QUOTE(Calvin Seak @ Oct 14 2009, 03:07 PM)
Oh i totally forgotten about wingtips! where can i get wingtips again?

do i need to bring my shoe along or can i just install it my self? because my shoes are pretty heavy i cant bring every shoes there sad.gif
are you asking to INSTALL wingtips to your shoes?!?? unsure.gif

btw wingtips are the batwing shape at the front (vamp/toebox zone)

on another note, gorgeous AE Evanston

This post has been edited by lanatir: Oct 14 2009, 03:17 PM
lanatir
post Nov 29 2009, 11:43 AM

472 posts

saw a couple of Clarks goodyear welted shoes in isetan for RM400-600 iirc.
lanatir
post Jan 8 2010, 11:22 AM

472 posts

QUOTE(Harvey_7 @ Jan 6 2010, 11:12 PM)
hi guys..i'm 21 this year and i'm looking for a black men's leather shoe which comes with nice stylish design and comfortable at the same time..any brand recommendations and where can i get it from? budget around RM 350 - RM 400..thanks smile.gif
go for the Tangs sale. during peak, those RM500-700 shoes should fit your budget after sales discounts.
lanatir
post Jan 9 2010, 10:51 AM

472 posts

biker voodoo, good job!

i really really like the westbourne and it's next on my list. fell in love after seeing a friend wear a pair with his jeans.

followed closely with the selbourne

lanatir
post Mar 31 2010, 05:33 PM

472 posts

could hv some interesting stuff... hmm.gif
lanatir
post Apr 3 2010, 06:32 PM

472 posts

QUOTE(ahtiven @ Apr 3 2010, 06:02 PM)
very disappointing.

however looking at rm350k jimmy choo heels is something though.

ah nothing noteworthy for men?
lanatir
post Apr 4 2010, 06:06 PM

472 posts

QUOTE(rebecks @ Apr 4 2010, 05:56 PM)
P. LAL is a store (or used to have a store in jln tar in kl) which sells shoes, and i mean real shoes like how kotmj puts it. They carry crockett and jones, cheaneys and loakes. They now operate in an apartment at perkarangan tun ismail in kl but will be moving soon to a proper store in jln gasing, pj.
very nice collection! now make sure you have matching belts etc biggrin.gif
lanatir
post Apr 4 2010, 06:09 PM

472 posts

QUOTE(rebecks @ Apr 4 2010, 06:08 PM)
its a bit difficult to get a matching belt for the chestnut belgrave's...should i purchase the c&j belt in chestnut?  hmm.gif
nah u dont hv to get the exact match. i'm eyeing westbournes. and yes, go get some double monks and also some penny loafers.
lanatir
post Apr 4 2010, 10:11 PM

472 posts

QUOTE(FusioneX @ Apr 4 2010, 09:29 PM)
Lanatir, any nice patina on your CJ's yet?

Added on April 4, 2010, 9:34 pm
I prefer single but I know some gents in here prefer double.
my shoes have some creases here and there and some tiny scuffs which are more or less well hidden from my regular polishings. u can see the grain showing more and more due to wear and polish but i'm liking how they're developing smile.gif
lanatir
post Apr 4 2010, 11:12 PM

472 posts

QUOTE(bloke1 @ Apr 4 2010, 10:29 PM)
Pictures or it never happen  tongue.gif
when it gets on my priority list icon_rolleyes.gif
lanatir
post Apr 5 2010, 01:29 PM

472 posts

QUOTE(rebecks @ Apr 5 2010, 10:58 AM)
a pair of c&j lowndes in dark brown is what i have been eyeing actually...but not so soon yet, maybe in a couple of months and i hope they still have my size in stock.

lanatir, how do u find the 348 last (it seems more elongated) compared to the 337 last? ur opinion on the lowndes?
the 348 is of course much sleeker than the 337. it's still comfortable for me and i really like the 348. however, i find the 337 has more 'presence' but it's unfair to compare the 2 especially since the 348 normally comes in benchgrades and the 337 in handgrades. i would not hesitate to use both but i know some ppl have difficulties with the 348 being too tight.
lanatir
post Apr 5 2010, 03:39 PM

472 posts

ok here are my C&Js are about a year or so of usage (lots of walking and some travelling) and regular polishings. i've enhanced the contrast on the pics to show off the grain and scuffs. the chelseas get the least mileage.

lanatir
post Apr 7 2010, 03:01 PM

472 posts

QUOTE(Neek @ Apr 7 2010, 12:44 AM)
all new.
Top 4 are my dads.
btm 2 are mine.
too bad my feet arent the same size, other wise can pau his shoes. lol

wah ur dad bought 4 pairs one shot? i hope they all have their shoe trees?
lanatir
post Apr 7 2010, 03:13 PM

472 posts

QUOTE(Neek @ Apr 7 2010, 03:06 PM)
Yeah got. diff polishing colors and own horse hair brushes too.

he hasnt bought any new shoes for few years. might as well get em one shot. heh heh
that's nice. what are the shoes in the pic anyway? i recognize a couple
lanatir
post Apr 27 2010, 09:50 AM

472 posts

QUOTE(whatsayyou @ Apr 25 2010, 10:30 PM)
can anyone describe the tools he uses?
if i'm not mistaken

1) horsehair brush to clean off dust and grime
2) rub shoe cream all over
3) brush off with horsehair brush
4) buff with cloth/rag
5) rub shoe wax all over
6) brush off with horsehair brush
7) dab some water onto cloth and bring wax to shine
lanatir
post May 17 2010, 09:10 AM

472 posts

QUOTE(BikerVoodoo @ May 17 2010, 01:40 AM)
These are my shoes, gentlemen.

Goodyear-welted brown patent leather shoes. I believe the style of leather cut is called a 'wholecut' unless I'm mistaken. The thing I like about it is that it's Goodyear-welted, but has rubber soles factory-fitted. Perhaps these guys knew that the shoes will get heavy use in a tropical environment.  hmm.gif

Sorry it's just a phone pic.
doesn't look like a wholecut to me. a wholecut would mean that the upper is made from a single piece of leather.
lanatir
post May 17 2010, 03:49 PM

472 posts

QUOTE(bloke1 @ May 17 2010, 03:38 PM)
That does not look like patent leather either. It should be as glossy as those NS shoes.

What is the make?
looks like M&S
lanatir
post May 21 2010, 11:09 AM

472 posts

QUOTE(BikerVoodoo @ May 21 2010, 11:02 AM)
Anytime! It's actually a factory but there's a little shop in there with all sorts of mostly military shoes.

OLG1010 is a good buy. Don't expect fine workmanship though. These are high-volume MILITARY contract shoes.

However, from about 1metre+ away, once polished up they look not to far off much more expensive examples.

I've since added a Vibram sole to the front. The thinner ones seem to work better. Cost me RM50 at KLCC.
show a pic of you in them

0.0826sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 01:40 PM