Canon Photomarathon 2009, Are you joining?

joyyy
post Oct 10 2009, 09:49 PM

1,394 posts

So how were the winners' pictures?
joyyy
post Oct 10 2009, 10:03 PM

1,394 posts

QUOTE(milontong @ Oct 10 2009, 09:54 PM)
i went home early
cannot tahan
yawn.gif
stupid la
i want to exit to pyramid they said cannot
must from elephant walk...
mad.gif
vmad.gif
Lulz...luckily I took the Elephant Walk exit when I left. I almost wanted to go out from Pyramid sweat.gif
joyyy
post Oct 10 2009, 11:42 PM

1,394 posts

QUOTE(General_Nic @ Oct 10 2009, 11:37 PM)
even if got 100 computers, if all P4 system is basically useless right?  laugh.gif  tongue.gif
joking only, lol
i expect them to be using core 2 duo computers?
upload using camera or card readers?
Indeed there were a lot of computers ready, but the lack of communication between the supervision team and the support team (the people breathing down your necks when you're uploading your photos) made things shitty for the participants.

I was running around asking whether I could upload my pictures, one side said yes sure, the other said no, and ANOTHER said need to refresh servers. doh.gif

Oh and their card readers were shitty too, I was one of the first to upload, and yet I still stumbled upon faulty card readers sweat.gif

P.S : Uploading was pretty fast though, but that could be due to me being one of the few people that were uploading pictures at the time brows.gif

This post has been edited by joyyy: Oct 10 2009, 11:43 PM
joyyy
post Oct 11 2009, 10:39 AM

1,394 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Oct 11 2009, 04:51 AM)
fuiyoh nearly 5am CMM announce result - this part really respect, they work through the night for it. smile.gif
More like they had no choice.
If they were to delay the results any longer the backlash would've been rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
Not that it isn't already so sweat.gif
joyyy
post Oct 11 2009, 12:04 PM

1,394 posts

QUOTE(yewbond @ Oct 11 2009, 11:27 AM)
Canon should have officially apologized to each and every participants of the event for the f**k up computer system from 3.30pm to 6.30pm...cannot upload the photo to the server and fire the IT company that manages the computer system...... don't seem to have a disaster recovery system in place.....system down, heard that they need to change the server hardisk. Last resort was to upload the photos to the individual PC's c drive.....don't know whether these photos are uploaded to their main server for evaluation or not? 

No food never mind (because free registration) but at least some free flow of bottled water.....cannot do brand promotion without some sacrifice!!!!

CANON PHOTOMARATHON FAILS......DON'T DO EVENTS THAT U CANNOT COPE....AT THE END, YOUR IMAGE IS SPOILED....GOOD CAMERA ALSO NO USE!!!!!! sad.gif

WHO AGREES WITH ME..............
I'm not trying to be bias here, but I think Canon did a pretty good job organizing the event.
Sure the computers were a major hiccup, but that wasn't Canon's fault, it's the IT company's fault and Canon should make sure never to use them again.
I myself felt that the registration and redemption process went through very smoothly, unlike some events where one has to stand in line for a very very long time.
And yeah, I agree with the Emcees being shitty, constantly talking about Canon and all.

And I already knew that the only reason why Sunway allowed the event to be held there was that they were still gonna profit from it. The free entrance ticket was practically useless as it was entitled to nothing, no rides no nothing. So I went back early and had a satisfying lunch outside brows.gif

joyyy
post Oct 11 2009, 07:15 PM

1,394 posts

QUOTE(ahtsong @ Oct 11 2009, 07:01 PM)
2000 ppl event and the price is 500D...shame on them...this remind me the Sony convention 2008 with the 20 x GPS device (for DSLR) and a grand prize A900 body.

all u need is just actively involve in the 3 days event, siting comfortable in le meridien ballroom/function room,  asking valuable question and collect the awarded sticker from the speaker. Some more with free flow of mineral water, lunch buffet, hi-tea buffet.
Be reminded that those 2000 people didn't pay nuts for the event, not a fair comparison.
joyyy
post Oct 14 2009, 11:09 PM

1,394 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Oct 12 2009, 10:18 AM)
Bugger, our group tried to go use the rides at dry park they wont let. How come u can? U went n bought tickets kar?
BUGGER...I tried to sit in the CUPS, the friggin CUPS, but the fellow said,"Sorry, I got info. I got info not to let you all in"
Me: "What stupid info? From who?"
Bugger: "Info not to let you all(points to my wristband) in, from my Head of Dept"
Me: "I'm going to complain..."

The stupid Head of Dept kept giving me lousy excuses, ended up I scolded him and walked off mad.gif

0.0183sec    0.60    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 09:29 PM