Lets Talk Salary! v3

kidmad
post Jul 7 2010, 11:33 PM

4,482 posts

QUOTE(amelia~ @ Jul 7 2010, 08:31 PM)
hi all, may i know the current salary range for a Business Degree Fresh graduate?
position such as buyer, admin, customer sales representative, HR n so on.

My sis has just start her 1st job last month. she is a fresh graduate, getting rm2k, no allowance no commision n no OT pay.
is it ok? consider as underpaid or overpaid?

kindly pls advice. u r welcome smile.gif
Normal for Malaysian Standard!

QUOTE(jd4eva @ Jul 7 2010, 10:41 PM)
Just got promoted recently, here are the details

Job Title : Process Engineer
Job Desciption : Process related
Years spent in company : almost 2.5 years
Industry : Semiconductor
Employment Level : Senior
Experience before joining : 3 months in medical service engineering
Degree : 2nd class lower
salary : RM 4.5k
On track for Malaysian Standard tongue.gif

QUOTE(Kelvin5717 @ Jul 7 2010, 10:52 PM)
Lowest Pay Manager here  cry.gif  (I think..)
Job Title : Sales Manager
Job Desciption : Hotel Function Hall, Meeting, Seminar, Banqueting..
Years spent in company : 1 month
Company : Local Hotel no chain but under a MNC Group
Industry : Hotelier
Edu : Diploma in Hotel & Tourism Management.
Tenure : permanent (still on probation)
Employment Level : Middle Rank
Experience before joining : 3 years hotelier
salary : RM 3k + standard allowance for mileage / toll / parking
* pls note 90% hotel sales manager title does not entitle to commission* (I'm the 90%)
I dun mean that my current job is underpaid as i have wide ranger of contact in the same field (hotelier from various department including sales) and they are also earning this peanuts, but when we compare our pay or our ranking versus other industry..  sweat.gif really feel like knocking the head on the wall  doh.gif

My fren sales exec in our famous FMGC company earn 2.5k basic + comm around 2k + above average claims, and if i check on jobstreet report i found the lowest pay for this kind of title also Rm3.5k, just wondering do we able to live with passion ?

Got passion for the job but no money = ???? haiz... rclxub.gif  unsure.gif
hoi! what are you expecting. Same age with me Managerial position already. Ok wert! got good future ahead man. Never got blinded with those who are earning commission. I like to ask this questions to those who always think SALESMAN is the best income group. HOW FAR CAN YOU GO?? HOW STABLE CAN YOU PROVIDE TO THE FAMILY??
*I've seen many salesman which until they reaches mid 30 and 40, then only they realize there is no turning back. It's hard for them to move forward and thus they ended up being a sales person. When you reach a certain age it is just too tough for you to go on hunting and knocking on door begging for someone to sign a contract with you.
kidmad
post Jul 7 2010, 11:42 PM

4,482 posts

QUOTE(emptycube @ Jul 7 2010, 11:40 PM)
Job Desciption : IT (Network)
Years spent in company : 1 month
Industry : IT Industry
Employment Level : Engineer
Experience before joining : 2 years in another IT company
Degree : Comp Science (2nd class upper)
salary : RM 4.6K

consider high for my age but normal for my sets of qualification and training/workshop/cert
What certs do you have? lets not mention about workshop & training coz i'm having tons of them as well.
kidmad
post Jul 8 2010, 10:21 AM

4,482 posts

QUOTE(elh1220 @ Jul 8 2010, 09:07 AM)
Am I underpaid?

Job Title : Graduate Process Engineer
Job Descriptions : HYSYS steady state and dynamic simulation. Assist flow assurance studies.
Years spent in company : 1 Year
Company : Engineering Company (small scale >4 engineer including me)
Industry : Upstream Oil and Gas Consultancy
Experience before joining : Fresh Graduate
Qualification : Degree in Chemical Engineering (1st class, Local University-APEX)
Basic on joining : RM2,000
Current basic : RM2,500 + 200 travel allowance
Working hrs: 9am-6pm (flexible)
Location: Klang Valley, everyday drive 70+ km to-and-fro from work (toll: RM5.20 per day)
Benefits: Insurance Premium, annual leave, medical and dental
Financial burden: family and car loan
you are on track~
kidmad
post Jul 9 2010, 12:21 AM

4,482 posts

QUOTE(emptycube @ Jul 8 2010, 11:09 AM)
Certification Obtained
CCNA (through Netacad), CCDA(self study), [CompTIA Network+ together with  MCSA] (company sponsored)

Ongoing
CCNP (BSCI completed, need to complete another 2 modules) ~ slowly study, plan to complete in 2012

Completed Class
CEH (yet to sit for examination)
GREAT!!! Moving towards the networking field? CCIE kinda tough thou. Good luck to you. I personally trying to obtain PRINCE2 at the moment tongue.gif

QUOTE(kenhm @ Jul 8 2010, 12:03 PM)
Job Title : Quality Engineer
Years spent in company : fresh grad
Company : MNC
Industry : Electronic, computer device
Experience before joining : /
Qualification : Degree in Mechanical Engineering, Local University-APEX
Basic on joining : RM2,650
Working hrs: 8am-5.20pm
Benefits: Insurance Premium, annual leave, medical and dental, car loan interest

working hour is quite long, almost everyday go back after 10pm, huge responsibility in job, so it is quite tension. No other allowance already, and no OT, no increment in salary after probation period... american company also so so only ><
You are quite on track, as a start endure it! In my ex company whenever i need to travel... in a month most probably few times. I need to wake up at 3am get ready go KLIA then in the evening usually 9pm touchdown klia about 10pm only able to reach home. I believe daily travelling is much more tiring and stressful. No increment after probation period that is normal. Usually exec level would not entitle for OT.
kidmad
post Jul 12 2010, 11:28 AM

4,482 posts

QUOTE(jun_ng_1208 @ Jul 10 2010, 12:49 PM)
Job Title : Helpdesk Agent
Years spent in company : 2 1/2 years
Company : Salmat CCS
Industry : BPO Call Center
Experience before joining : Padini Holdings (Sales Assistant in Boutique)
Qualification : SPM Only sweat.gif
Basic on joining : RM 1800 + RM 400 (Allowance) <Current is RM 2100 + RM 400 (Allowance)>
Working hrs: Shift Based (9hrs starting from 4am/9am/1pm)
Benefits: Medical Claims, Annual Leaves, OT Pay

Anyone over here working in call center as well? Because I think I'm kinda underpaid for a call center job as I heard from some other friend saying call center jobs are normally RM 2.6K an above cry.gif
Come on with SPM how can you compare with others who have a degree. Consider yourself as being lucky. Coz i know even for DIP students they can hardly reach that amount of money in 2 years time.
kidmad
post Jul 13 2010, 01:25 PM

4,482 posts

QUOTE(anangryorc @ Jul 12 2010, 02:06 PM)
As for now, from what I've seens, HR people are the redundancies of an organization in Malaysia, gossip+doing nothing.
The next time you do not receive your pay check SERVE U RIGHT! hahahahaha
kidmad
post Jul 14 2010, 10:00 PM

4,482 posts

QUOTE(hanmenv @ Jul 14 2010, 07:18 PM)
Hi there;

Mine:

Job title: Warehouse Operation Manager
Company/Industry: Retails
Tenure: Permanent
Experience before joining: 8 yrs
Salary: RM 6k (basic + allowance)

Underpaid or Overpaid??
Very low for an operations manager. Considering Operations Manager responsibility is very high unlike a puny exec like me. haha. Unless your monthly transaction involves <200k. If you are dealing with a higher figure i recon you to ask for me.
kidmad
post Jul 17 2010, 08:45 AM

4,482 posts

QUOTE(0hmyg0d @ Jul 16 2010, 01:50 AM)
Job Title : Hr management trainee
Job Desciption : trainee
Years spent in company : 0
Company : IT MNC
Industry : IT
Tenure : permanent
Employment Level : no idea
Experience before joining : fresh grad
salary : RM 3.8k
The few companies in Cyberjaya must be... 1st class honour's student?
kidmad
post Jul 18 2010, 11:12 PM

4,482 posts

QUOTE(0hmyg0d @ Jul 17 2010, 11:24 PM)
sorry guys.. Jus dun feel like telling the company...
And thank you
HAHA, It's either DHL or Shell. tongue.gif Anyway grats for being selected. normal trainee would not get 4k. tongue.gif

Added on July 18, 2010, 11:13 pm
QUOTE(sunnysagy @ Jul 18 2010, 03:20 PM)
Job Title : Management Trainee
Job Description: 1 yr program, to be Head of Department upon completion of training
Years spent in company : /
Tenure : Full-time
Experience : fresh grad
Salary: RM 2.3k
Education level : Degree (2nd class)

my pay is average i think, but considering the future position they're offering upon confirmation, i thought it's a good opportunity..especially for fresh grad like me..plus i m working on something that's 100% not related to my studies..lol

the company is a SME, many of my frens actually ask me to wait for chances to work wif mnc..well, but i thought this is a good chance to learn..wad do u guys think??
You are doing good, for 1st job i really recommend to go for SME's there is lot more to learn.

Added on July 18, 2010, 11:16 pm
QUOTE(tata88 @ Jul 18 2010, 09:55 AM)
Fresh grad with RM3k+ is still possible, nowadays some companies do provide the salary although it is rare. It is like 20+ years ago, some of the fresh grad able to get RM2k salary. So now RM3k+ is possible. Excel in academics seems to be not really helpful in getting higher salary except if he/she graduated from overseas. Nowadays exists the bias in salary due to the "overseas universities". Of course that there are some universities graduate from overseas such as LSE, MIT, ... are exceptional but it seems like nowadays when you write your university as overseas university, then the chance for interview has already increased.

25-27 years old people earning RM7-10k is quite normal is the industry is Oil and Gas. A fresh graduate in geology can get RM4-5k salary in Oil and Gas industry. But for others, it seems a bit high but we are not sure about the truth of it.
Kelly Services did list down all the position and the pay appropriately. if you fall into the category and you did not receive the amount its good time for you to move on. Malaysia should somehow improve their Salary range. Considering the living expenses is so freaking high. If your salary is lowered compared to the stated, do not think that the statistic is unreliable or only applied for MNC and yada yada. you choose your own category and you yourself choose the salary range you fit in not the company...

Added on July 18, 2010, 11:19 pm
QUOTE(anangryorc @ Jul 18 2010, 01:17 PM)
The root cause is that, those who are really working hard do not get paid well, and those who are doing nothing but talking got the big bucks.
lol DHL mate? hahaha

This post has been edited by kidmad: Jul 18 2010, 11:19 PM
kidmad
post Jul 19 2010, 06:53 AM

4,482 posts

QUOTE(epsilon_chinwk86 @ Jul 19 2010, 06:44 AM)
I've seen a resume applying fo a position in my current company by a UK engineerng graduate, 10 years working experience with expected salary of RM1800.
And I'm pretty sure tht wasn't a typo.
lol that is others people problem. haha anyway you sure its rm1.8 and not rm18000?
kidmad
post Jul 19 2010, 07:04 AM

4,482 posts

QUOTE(epsilon_chinwk86 @ Jul 19 2010, 07:02 AM)
yes. very sure. if he is asking for 18k the resume had gotta be more than2 pages amirite?

Added on July 19, 2010, 7:02 am
haha dont be like me, resume should be more or less 2 pages. portfolio is the one which is long written story. Mayb you should double confirm on this case? else i somehow think the fellow would be a good buy.
kidmad
post Jul 19 2010, 07:13 AM

4,482 posts

mine is 3 page with 2 1/2 experience but hey all it's important is the 1st level content to get yourself an interview.
kidmad
post Jul 22 2010, 09:29 AM

4,482 posts

QUOTE(tks068 @ Jul 21 2010, 11:42 PM)
thanks for the reply , but i know salary in penang is a bit less if compared with kl, anyway i can only hope they will adjust my salary after my probation period or else ill have no choice but to perform "hopping dance" after gaining experience to strengthen salary .
but i do appreciate it if  someone from penang or familiar with penang job salary range would give me some further advise , thanks in advance .
You are doing fine, for 2k in penang you can live easily unlike KL. When i was doing implementation i was shock with one plate of wan tan noodle + kopi ping... 3 bucks settle my bill. In KL most probably it is double the price. Oh ya room rental is rather low too compared to KL. Thus you are doing fine.

QUOTE(Shinichi @ Jul 22 2010, 12:24 AM)
Hi all, is 20% increment reasonable for internal job transfer?
Very high lor for internal job transfer. Sometimes internal job transfer 5% increment pun tak lak. Btw are you being promoted or internal transfer?

QUOTE(viper88 @ Jul 22 2010, 12:32 AM)
I'm from KL, current salary max abt 4.8k. w/o include the performance bonus, medical & dental
Have RM700 max subsidy for hp, internet usage. Been working for 6 yrs+.
Senior Exec tech suport position. Starting pay abt 3k, with yearly increment abt 5%

Recently i was offered to work in Penang as System Support Engineer Lead.
The salary was RM5500, 1 mth contractual bonus, medical & dental, 50% car loan interest subsidize. + perfomance bonus 1-2 mths depending on company profits year end.
So roughly mthly salary w/o include the performance bonus is abt RM5958.
I ask for salary RM8K neg.. but the HR said max already.. cant offer more than 6k include the contractual bonus.. hmm.gif

It seems Penang offer better pay than KL.. but its in Industrial area and need transportation to reach the office unlike KL where i can take LRT easily.
Thats why the Penang company encourage staff to buy car by subsidize 50% of car loan interest.

So if round out the figure..

KL - 5K
Penang - 6K

Not so sure whether should go Penang.. damn.. the work seems interesting coz Lead position.  rolleyes.gif
Only the salary minus the car expenses seems back to same only....

So which is better? Work in Penang or KL?
Viper getting 6k in penang it is like getting 8k in KL. Deduct the Car installment which you have to pay. If you factor in the house rental, food allowance you budgeted, toll (if you stay in prai 500 bucks you can get one big double storey house). Also working in penang is less stressful too! been to few companies in Penang eg: Altera, OSRAM, Infineon and a few other smaller SME, their work life is balance unlike in KL. In Penang i always work after my working hours but in Penang, i was chase home by my customers after 5.30pm !! @@!

Oh ya 1 more thing! When you say industrial area, are you gonna work in Kulim / Penang Island itself?

This post has been edited by kidmad: Jul 22 2010, 09:30 AM
kidmad
post Jul 22 2010, 10:37 AM

4,482 posts

QUOTE(tks068 @ Jul 22 2010, 10:11 AM)
thanks for the reply , anyway im local , so no need to rent room etc , besides my home is just around the industrial area, petrol fee al cheapo biggrin.gif... 2 weeks 50 maybe .... rclxm9.gif
hope to gain experience and advance my skill and $$  icon_idea.gif
Yup in this case you are really saving alot. In KL some freshies are still getting 1.8k - 2.2k lucky ones around 3 - 4k. The thing is renting a room here is RM300, excessive Toll RMxx, petrol to stuck in da jam RMxx... fuh~ you do the math.
kidmad
post Jul 22 2010, 12:48 PM

4,482 posts

QUOTE(viper88 @ Jul 22 2010, 11:16 AM)
You are quite familiar with Penang area.

The company location:
Taman Perindustrian Kampung Jawa
11900 Bayan Lepas, Pulau Pinang.

Wow.. rm500 can rent one big 2x storey House.. If single room abt rm150?

I estimate monthly expenses abt 1k...
My KL expenses also abt 1k. I save alot on transportation coz take lrt to work.

Housing - rm500
LRT - rm 60  thumbup.gif
Food - 450 -
HP & Internet - Free.  thumbup.gif

If KL can get higher salary range den gud. But System support salary kinda low compares to other field of job.
OWh System Support Engineer eh. Haiyah just buy a 2nd hand myvi when you are there. or you can find any rooms near bayan lepas, but bare in mind bayan lepas the room rate is slightly higher coz it is in Penang Island. If you rent in Prai everyday pass toll then it would be dirt cheap, Prai also lotta food which is cheap. kekeke. Anyway working in KL you dont own a car?

This post has been edited by kidmad: Jul 22 2010, 12:58 PM
kidmad
post Jul 23 2010, 06:36 AM

4,482 posts

QUOTE(viper88 @ Jul 22 2010, 11:49 PM)
Last time when work in PJ, i have wira ab.. but later when go job in KL.. i sold tat junk away.
Take lrt nia..

Save alot money.. no need pay for petrol, parking, car insurance & roadtax...
Hm... 6 yrs no car.. wtf.. Thinking of buying neighbour Civic 2.0 - rm93k but dun think its a wise choice coz i still work in KL now.

Yea.. how much the room/house rates in Penang Island?
U from penang rite?
No not from Penang but previously always travel to Penang Branch to support my colleagues in Penang so quite familiar with the place. room rental is about the same in KL le. In your case being single and no one else to feed i think you better stay in KL since travelling to work now is so easy for you. tongue.gif

Added on July 23, 2010, 6:37 am
QUOTE(Shinichi @ Jul 22 2010, 11:55 PM)
Internal transfer to next job level, I think can be considered as promoted. Is this still considered high?
if your basic is about 2k - 3k then not really le but if your basic is about 5k. then YESH! haha.

This post has been edited by kidmad: Jul 23 2010, 06:37 AM
kidmad
post Aug 3 2010, 06:05 AM

4,482 posts

QUOTE(grasspuff @ Aug 2 2010, 09:05 PM)
okay, im sorry for being way out of topic, but this seems to be the place where all the "sifus" hang out. so here goes. will it be wise to study for 8 years to become an architect, or 4 years to become an accountant? which do you guys think is the better option? (im sorry cant seem to find an accounting thread)
You do not even have a firm decision on what you would want to be. Decide what you really want to do, no one here is qualified to suggest.
kidmad
post Aug 13 2010, 08:24 AM

4,482 posts

QUOTE(FatalitY @ Aug 13 2010, 03:58 AM)
Guys...i really need advice....here are my stats:

24 yrs
Degree holder in Hospitality Management 2008
Worked in restaurant for 1 year+(since diploma)
Advertising 6 months.
Now in this hotel 7 months and ongoing

Paying 1.4K nett in hotel. Any pointers...? Bloody lost here...=____=
too low move on~ if you are in klang valley.
kidmad
post Aug 16 2010, 08:56 AM

4,482 posts

QUOTE(leegent @ Aug 16 2010, 01:24 AM)
Field: Web Designer(but all kinds of design also need to do)
Year of Experience: more or less 2 years.

1st company- More to commision basis
2nd company- 1st join RM1900, after probation RM2200
Current company- RM2600

Living in KL without 3k income is really hard...
Any1 know what is the highest paid web designer in malaysia, including art director/ multimedia director that high post person.
Try to move out from web designing industry, it is too common in the market to be honest. The market for web designing is too damn competitive. tongue.gif As far as i know only those web designer who knows how to integrate the web with back end systems like SAP or other ERP systems are being paid well.
kidmad
post Aug 16 2010, 10:39 AM

4,482 posts

QUOTE(leegent @ Aug 16 2010, 10:09 AM)
i just cant denied... but not easy to study again. Im already 24...
Haha no one ever asked you to study again. More over it is never too late even if you were required to study tongue.gif do it on your own effort or try out other line. Are you working in a small firm with around 20 - 30 ppl whom develop web interfaces? Try to engage with stuff which relates to web designing especially databases. Do you get to play around with Access/Oracle/SAP or any ERP which is related?

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0421sec    0.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 04:12 AM