Lets Talk Salary! v3

jitshiong
post Sep 12 2010, 04:02 PM

Trust me, I'm an Engineer
1,868 posts

i've already posted my current salary when i got my increment earlier. if u click on 'show posts by this member only' on the top right of my post, u should be able to see it. cheers!
jitshiong
post Sep 14 2010, 11:45 PM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(blackangel @ Sep 14 2010, 11:00 PM)
guys, I have been told about my benefits and some salary related issues when I signed the offer letter today. Starting pay 2.6k + 250 fixed gas allowance....however...the bonus and increment sounds terrible...please advise:

Quarter bonus...15%-18% if its making profit, heard it was 30% before..
Year end bonus depends on performance..Avrg - 1 month, Good -2 months...so so =nth

1 time yearly increment 4-7%...assume 6% of 2600 once every year...ZZZZ

BTW Equipment Engineer at a MNC fresh grad
sound good enuff
this is better than the norm i would say
jitshiong
post Oct 2 2010, 12:02 AM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(sebrina @ Sep 30 2010, 09:04 PM)
What do you guys think of the offer i got?

Company: One of the largest co in Singapore
Basic Salary: 3300 sing dollar
Tenure: Permanent
Experience: 1 year in Malaysia

There is no CPF(EPF), entitled for performance bonus, medical, insurance, phone allowance.

What do you think? High? average? Below average?
what's the job scope?
if u r a janitor or guard, i would say it's great pay
but if it's a manager or CEO then it's underpaid...
gotta give us more info to judge ma...
jitshiong
post Oct 2 2010, 04:08 PM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(sebrina @ Oct 2 2010, 02:32 PM)
Im a Degree holder, graduated from a local Uni only. Nothing too glamour. But Im a first class with pointer 3.7. I believe many here could be the same qualification as me. tongue.gif
Im not a Spore PR as well, it's been ages since my last trip there.
So what do you think for S$3300 at Spore?
Actually I would like to ask about the tax and cpf at Spore...Any idea on the rates for Msian worker there?
3.3k is good then.
just about right for your qualification
my frens, started there as a fresh grad for 2.8k sgd
another for 2.6k sgd
for for a 1 year experience, 3.3k seems good enuff
go for it

Added on October 2, 2010, 4:08 pm
QUOTE(sebrina @ Oct 2 2010, 02:32 PM)
Im a Degree holder, graduated from a local Uni only. Nothing too glamour. But Im a first class with pointer 3.7. I believe many here could be the same qualification as me. tongue.gif
Im not a Spore PR as well, it's been ages since my last trip there.
So what do you think for S$3300 at Spore?
Actually I would like to ask about the tax and cpf at Spore...Any idea on the rates for Msian worker there?
3.3k is good then.
just about right for your qualification
my frens, started there as a fresh grad for 2.8k sgd
another for 2.6k sgd
for for a 1 year experience, 3.3k seems good enuff
go for it

This post has been edited by jitshiong: Oct 2 2010, 04:08 PM
jitshiong
post Oct 11 2010, 01:10 AM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(nashburn @ Oct 11 2010, 12:10 AM)
If you go drinking every weekend of course its not enough lah  doh.gif

When I started working my salary was below 2k
I rented the smallest room in a flat, cost me about RM140 per month
I eat nasi lemak RM1 twice everyday and get my drink at office pantry
I can save RM800-1000 a month  biggrin.gif
Its all about survival and management
Totally agreed! thumbup.gif
jitshiong
post Oct 17 2010, 11:52 AM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(ckh93 @ Oct 17 2010, 11:11 AM)
Imho, the salary its too low sir.
It's the norm in this industry....
dun become engineer
lol!
jitshiong
post Jan 28 2011, 08:54 PM

1,868 posts

Yay! Got my increment today!
jitshiong
post Jan 28 2011, 08:57 PM

1,868 posts

Update on my new salary after increment

Previously
Title : M & E Engineer
Job Desciption : Review design, site supervision, Liaise with consultants & authorities, ACAD Drawings, Tender, Costing + whatever my boss ask me to do
Years spent in company : 1 +
Industry : Construction
Tenure : permanent
Employment Level : Executive
Experience before joining : Internship with same co. (2 months a few years backs during industrial training)
salary : RM 2.61k
Working Hours: Mon-Sat, 8.30am-6.00pm (Alternate saturdays)

Now
Title : M & E Engineer
Job Desciption : Review design, site supervision, Liaise with consultants & authorities, ACAD Drawings, Tender, Costing + whatever my boss ask me to do
Years spent in company : 2 +
Industry : Construction
Employment Level : Executive
Experience before joining : Internship with same co. (2 months a few years backs during industrial training)
salary : RM 3.2k
Working Hours: Mon-Sat, 8.30am-6.00pm (Alternate saturdays)
rclxms.gif

jitshiong
post Jan 29 2011, 12:06 AM

1,868 posts

yupz! last year was bad...this year, i'm contented
lol!
jitshiong
post Jan 29 2011, 07:40 PM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(firecrac @ Jan 29 2011, 05:15 PM)

Wow... so syiok.. still got alternate sat off !!
Well, once at site it will be working saturday as well...
jitshiong
post Jan 30 2011, 09:53 PM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(danny1010 @ Jan 30 2011, 02:09 AM)
Job Title : Senior Executive
Job Desciption : Project and Production support
Years spent in company : 6months
Industry : Telco
Employment Level : Senior Exec
Experience before joining : 5 year in irrelevant job scope
Salary : RM 8k
Benefits : 1 month contractual bonus
Education Level: UK Degree, IT background

Hi Guys,

I have been offered a new job as below in Singapore. What do you guys think? Should I accept the offer? Fairly paid / Underpaid?

Job Title : Senior Engineer
Job Desciption : Project and Production support primary sql server db2 and oracle db support
Industry : Prudential
Employment Level : 5 , one level below manager
Salary : SGD 5800
Benefits : 20% of annual salary
they should offer you at least SGD 8k for you to accept....it's 1 to 1 there. you will be spending there, not in malaysia, so do not convert the salary that you earn there.
jitshiong
post Mar 1 2011, 05:21 PM

1,868 posts

August.decision,

i'd say ur salary is high...compared to my company that is
my QAQC dept, i think 2.5k only..
plus, u r in seremban

it's a pretty good pay i'd say
jitshiong
post Mar 1 2011, 05:36 PM

1,868 posts

my company kl...
i know some company offering 1.8k for an engineer in seremban...
so for 2.95k, i'd say it's pretty good...
jitshiong
post Mar 1 2011, 05:37 PM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(cranx @ Mar 1 2011, 05:34 PM)
if you stay in one company and no promotion of your position, the salary increase tend to be rather slow.
a lot of times, the seniors felt frustrated when the newly hired are getting equivalent or only slightly lower than what they are getting.

i am not sure about the situation in Seremban but the fresh graduates i hire are all getting a salary close to RM3k these days. (youngest 1989)
do you need mechanical engineers?
lol!
jitshiong
post Mar 4 2011, 09:47 AM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(hitokai @ Mar 4 2011, 01:19 AM)
hurm ... i guess finance and business studies are not quite the much sought after job in O&G since not much reply on those related post ... anyway ... im a business admin student ( finish my degree this year ) trying my luck into those O&G company ... does O&G companies post higher standard and pay? FYI im currently holding a job with >5k pay ( studying part time ) just wondering if i could get a higher quality if life with O&G ... or all the big buck are going to the techies ONLY? non technical personnel or sales personnel are not getting good pay? and how do you define good pay? im 22 atm with at least 7k pay ( 2 working experience ) shud i stick to my current job or there a better road ahead ... tq yo ... ^^ hope i dun post in the wrong section ...
I'd say u doing extremely well
and it depends on u if this is enough for u...
if this is the comfort zone and u wanna stay here...i think most of us here will still envy u...

u r only 22, earning 7k, i can only dream of it...
to be able to do that, i think u know what u want in life already...
hehe

jitshiong
post Mar 5 2011, 12:50 PM

1,868 posts

QUOTE(SunofaBeach @ Mar 5 2011, 09:07 AM)
Ops sorry my bad  notworthy.gif

Right, it's basically engineering (mechanical) student for example?
i'd say not much of an increment....
basically in engineering u'll need lotsa experience b4 they pay u huge sum...
else they r assuming that they r actually training u...
so pay u peanuts
lol!!!

like me....peanuts
jitshiong
post Mar 6 2011, 03:44 PM

1,868 posts

be your own boss, do ur own business, n pay urself 5k
jitshiong
post Mar 6 2011, 11:52 PM

1,868 posts