Lets Talk Salary! v3

debbieyss
post Jan 20 2010, 10:04 AM

Look at all my stars! I want to be a SUPERSTAR!
4,458 posts

QUOTE(Neon_ @ Jan 19 2010, 05:22 PM)
Job Title : Senior Exec
Job Desciption : Finance, Corporate Planning, Business Dev, Management Strategy, Accounts, Investor Relations...and everything else under the roof
Years spent in company : half year
Industry : IT
Tenure : permanent
Experience before joining : 5 yr
salary : Basics RM 4K, no other allowance/ BIK
Education Level: Degree

Underpaid???
I think it's a bit underpaid la.. cos someone with 3 years + experience also got RM3.5k
debbieyss
post Jan 21 2010, 10:03 AM

4,458 posts

QUOTE(saint113 @ Jan 21 2010, 02:34 AM)
Job Title : Assistant Vice President
Years spent in company : 1.5 year
Industry : Local Investment Bank
Experience before joining : 4 yrs
salary : Basics RM 8k (gross); no other allowances (phone etc only on expensed basic); expected bonus: 9 - 12mths
Education Level: Double Degrees  (Law + Finance) + CFA + CPA
Salute your education level. smile.gif
debbieyss
post Jan 21 2010, 12:08 PM

4,458 posts

QUOTE(Zennix @ Jan 21 2010, 11:52 AM)

Job Title : Chartered Secretary
Years spent in company : 2.5 years
Industry : Investment holding company and provision of management services - Consultation (Penang)
Experience before joining : none
salary : Basics RM 1.5k (gross); no other allowances
Education Level: BA(Hons) Corporate Management + Professional Degree of ICSA (Institute Chartered Secretaries and Administrators)
I need you all help on justifying how much salary should i get actually based on recently market rate?????

I feel that i really be treated unfairly for my salary offered!!!

Really highly appreciate you all advice and help!!

As i really no direction dunno need to continue work in this company/line or should i have to work in Singapore for more remuneration and exposure???

Should i change my current job and look for others???

HELP ME!!!!

Thanks a lot!!!
Hi gal, I am a PSC holder, it seems your salary is way too low.

With your qualification, you can go around RM2 to RM2.5k in banking industry, for junior level (less than 3 years working experience).
Refer to this link: http://myjobstreet-beta.jobstreet.com/care...lary-report.php

Although you are working in Penang, RM1.5k is similar for a fresh grad in entertainment line.

This post has been edited by debbieyss: Jan 21 2010, 12:13 PM
debbieyss
post May 5 2010, 10:44 AM

4,458 posts

QUOTE(newbie99 @ Apr 17 2010, 09:18 PM)
Job Title: Partner/CEO
Job Desciption: Everything, from planning company future to cleaning aircon filter.
Years spent in company: 10 years
Company: Local
Industry: Service Sector
Tenure: Permanent
Education: Degree
Employment Level : No way of getting further promotion
Salary : 45k
Working hrs: 8am - 10pm Monday to Saturday including Public holidays. On standby 10pm to 8am.
Benefit: No annual bonus, medical leave and annual leave. Only benefit is unpaid leave.
That's why I always say there is pros and cons for everything. It's not easy to earn RM45k per month, according to the working hours you have.
debbieyss
post May 28 2010, 02:19 PM

4,458 posts

QUOTE(beckhowen @ May 27 2010, 10:27 AM)
facebook brings u no where....smile.gif
atleast try to get diploma smile.gif
You really trust what he said?
debbieyss
post Jun 1 2010, 03:30 PM

4,458 posts

QUOTE(lexiqa @ Jun 1 2010, 12:39 AM)
msia's official stats that about 74% are earning less than 2k. it's so sad  sweat.gif
Those who earn less than RM2k are normally fresh grad or blue collars. Apparently mere degree holders or any diploma graduates are more than demand. sweat.gif
debbieyss
post Nov 17 2010, 11:08 AM

4,458 posts

QUOTE(monster85 @ Nov 16 2010, 11:15 PM)
If this is the final revised salary, I will leave after I get the bonus.

It is very unfair for me. my colleages can get RM2.2k after probation, mine is only RM2.1k.

In this 1 year period, i never take any sick leave; my colleagues fully utilised their sick leave. I go to office & leave on time; sometimes they will be late & didnt replace the time, or overclaim their OT. Sometimes, they may purposely apply emergency leave to skip their works, I am the person to take over these works. I still remember in the CNY of year 2010, my colleague go to enjoy their holiday 1 day earlier than me, I am the person to complete their urgent work. I have to complete these works b4 balik kampung (they are KL people, i am outstation).
Have you ever told your boss about this? Sometimes we tell our bosses about our contribution, not because we want to gain anything, just to let them know in REALITY we have done such and such.

Try to tell your boss about your feeling and epectation, if he doesn't do anything, then only your consider to change, or you find a way to enjoy your job.
debbieyss
post Nov 17 2010, 11:14 AM

4,458 posts

QUOTE(happyprince @ Nov 10 2010, 01:22 PM)
I am SPM leaver,n i got Rm3k salary

What are you working as?
debbieyss
post Nov 19 2010, 09:50 AM

4,458 posts

As said, company culture in Asia is always like that: pay little and drain you the best they can.
debbieyss
post Nov 25 2010, 09:06 AM

4,458 posts

QUOTE(manfisto @ Nov 24 2010, 10:22 PM)
I would agree with that. look at another perspective, najib is trying to trick us off.
2020 means 10 years from now.
if you are earning RM2000 now, in 10 years time you should be earning RM4000.
Frankly speaking though, i cant see any hope for the current "G"
What you mean by "G"?
debbieyss
post Mar 3 2011, 05:07 PM

4,458 posts

I think a big problem we all facing now is that cost living is rising faster than our increment. I don't know what to say as if we are facing higer of cost living, company is facing higher of manufacturing costs.

Perhaps we all have to do part time jobs, plus well invest our money for better or worse.

This post has been edited by debbieyss: Mar 3 2011, 05:08 PM
debbieyss
post Mar 3 2011, 11:04 PM

4,458 posts

QUOTE(Jurlique @ Mar 3 2011, 10:31 PM)
So, whose fault was it for our skyhigh cost of living?

I tell u, Malaysia's salary will never improve compare to Singapore.

Even properties are expensive in KL and I dunno how u guys gonna buy a good double-storey or condo, a good car (unless u prefer proton for the next 10 yrs) + and save enough money for marriage in the few years down the road.

Even marriage nowadays need at least RM50K.

Unless u prefer to cook at home, no yamca with frens, use the same old Nokia phone for the next 5 years etc.

Maybe u guys have different views on the above but tat's my point of view regarding the future in Malaysia.
Super agreed with what you say.

Somehow I really feel helpless, being so tired in working day and night, part time jobs etc... Almost no life already.. cry.gif
debbieyss
post Mar 7 2011, 09:11 AM

4,458 posts

QUOTE(Catherine85 @ Mar 7 2011, 01:14 AM)
Job Title : Finance Officer
Job Desciption : Staff Claims, Petty Cash, Regional Office Revenue Account etc
Years spent in company : 2 years 5months
Company : Local Private Uni
Industry : Education
Employment Level : Officer
Experience before joining : 0 (fresh grad)
salary : RM 2.2 (current=2011); RM2.1 (2010); RM2k (1st join in 2008-2009)

Arrgh,help.. No increment or promotion to Executive level after I got my master in econs last Oct-10. My boss, r u deaf? Or you need me to tell you , I wanna be in executive but not officer grade? Help!! I just wish to be paid in 2.5k (at least)
I feel you.

Having a master degree but still your boss doesn't mean to increase your salary, you don't feel appreciated, right? Stay on or get a new job.
debbieyss
post Mar 7 2011, 09:44 AM

4,458 posts

QUOTE(Catherine85 @ Mar 7 2011, 09:36 AM)
Yaya, you hear me  rclxms.gif

I love the working environment here, leave on-time, long lunch break, near to my house, less stress.

But, I just don't like my salary. cry.gif

Stay or leave. Stay coz the flexibility, leave coz the salary.
I am facing a similar problem as yours. I want to leave because of the salary, too, though my past working experience tells my capability, I don't feel appreciated at all. Even a simple email, I have to let my boss view through before send out.

But think from another angle, stay on because this company allows me to leave on dot (shorter working hours by 30 minutes), less stress, well known company. If I go for other company, I might get paid few hundreds more but I will never able to leave on dot.

I'm also taking other teaching jobs to increase my monthly salary, at least, besides my expenses wouldn't be so tight, I am able to save RM1000 every month.

I haven't got to finalized my decision, am still considering about stay or not. Just to share you my opinions only. smile.gif

0.0209sec    0.28    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 02:06 AM