AMD® Socket AM2&AM3 Overclocking V20, The times moves on..Can AMD Survive?...

KIntos
post Nov 19 2009, 08:33 AM

1,132 posts

hello every tailo here..im new to OC..ytd nite i tried OC my amd Athlon x2 5200 F3 to 3.0 ghz (232 x 13) HTT multiplier 4x (928 mhz) Ram Team Xtreem 4-4-4-10 2x1gb (430.9 mhz) using MSI K9N SLI Platinum mobo.

hmm..i run stress test during my sleep time. this morning i found out that my screen hang after stress test near 2 hours using Orthos. Maybe might be due to my AV auto scanning under background cause it hang?

and again this morning i run stress again for 1 hours pass till 896k test before i rush to work. Anythings wrong with my OC setting ka? I set CPU Vcore at 1.3v and ram voltage is 1.9v.
KIntos
post Nov 19 2009, 12:27 PM

1,132 posts

how about ram timing?

1st testing i run it at auto timing about 5-6-6-18 1.9V. So this morning wake up found the stress test half way hang, i change the ram timing accordingly back to 4-4-4-10 1.9V. Ram spec can go at 4-4-4-10 2.0v~2.1v

Yup it could be a lil too tight ram timings causing the pc to hang...
BTW whut's the default vcore for the 5200+ F3 eh? Been a long time haven't touch one i forget already

Processor AMD Athlon™ X2
Model 5200+
OPN Tray ADO5200IAA6CZ
OPN PIB ADO5200CZBOX
Operating Mode 32 Bit Yes
Operating Mode 64 Bit Yes
Revision F3
Core Speed (MHz) 2600
Voltages 1.20V/1.25V
Max Temps © 55-72
Wattage 65 W
Virtualization Yes
L1 Cache Size (KB) 128
L1 Cache Count 2
L2 Cache Size (KB) 1024
L2 Cache Count 2
L3 Cache Size (KB) 0
CMOS 90nm SOI
Socket AM2
AMD Business Class No
Black Edition No

above is my cpu spec

896k could be ram/imc issue. since we can't control vimc in k8, i suspect either vdimm or ram timing can do d trick. i dun have gud experiences w/ team since d gud old day of ddr1...  sad.gif

well..this morning de stress i stop the test after passed 896k as i got no time to stress again as i need to rush to work. i believed after 896k test will be 796k test something like that.

so most properly its related to my ram issue? or i should change back my cpu Vcore back to default 1.2v~1.25v?

This post has been edited by KIntos: Nov 19 2009, 12:35 PM
KIntos
post Nov 20 2009, 09:27 AM

1,132 posts

Hi guys,

im new on OC. After 9 hours stress no error mean my oc is stable?

KIntos
post Nov 20 2009, 10:23 AM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(8tvt @ Nov 20 2009, 10:15 AM)
f3 should ok on 3ghz.. can push more?
good voltage btw..
i think should be no problem if increase voltage. Let me stress it with some application 1 or 2 days.

KIntos
post Nov 20 2009, 04:37 PM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(Dura-Ace @ Nov 20 2009, 11:11 AM)
wah kintos...
i cant wait to join u...
but still serching the right RAM and very hard to find in JB!!!
icic..im using team extreem ram and i bought it 2nd from LYN forumer. Postage actually..not bad the ram..doesnt not really feel the heat on the heatsink. but i will find a ram cooler fan for it just for precaution and add another kit or 2x2gb later on
KIntos
post Nov 20 2009, 05:56 PM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(Dura-Ace @ Nov 20 2009, 05:51 PM)
cry.gif  cry.gif
after reconfirm with seller, he mistaken with my request..
i want this
but he has this
must i proceed or search again? rclxub.gif

Added on November 20, 2009, 5:54 pm

can u give full spec for ur RAM?
u got cc anot? buy online la

0.0270sec    0.79    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 07:09 PM