iPhone Club v10 - iPhone related news & Questions, Super-N00b FAQ/Q&A Thread

TSnokia2003
post Dec 16 2009, 08:58 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(wee395 @ Dec 16 2009, 06:05 PM)
when finish download iPod touch 3.1.2 fw from iTunes,where is the fw file save at PC ????
if you did purchase the upgrade, iTunes will automatically remember your purchase and you will be able to re-download it free of charge.
TSnokia2003
post Dec 21 2009, 08:25 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(erichkooi @ Dec 21 2009, 04:16 PM)
Anyone know how can I set mine iPhone to disable receiving SMS broadcast or SMS promotion?
that's more of a network issue, rather than the phone itself

the iPhone is just a phone; not a God sent device.

TSnokia2003
post Dec 23 2009, 12:19 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(tcken @ Dec 23 2009, 02:41 AM)
Guys, I've downloaded the apps from itunes and installed to iphone through sync but can't open.. Why arr. When I opened it, i can see the apps main page flash a sec then gone.. How to solve this ?  = =
you need to authorise your iTunes on your PC/MAC first.

once completed, sync the iPhone once

Added on December 23, 2009, 12:20 pm
QUOTE(mikarazoo @ Dec 23 2009, 03:08 AM)
Hi all, I got a question for my iPhone 2G

I spend like 5-7 hours to fully charge the battery and is that normal?

And I know changing batteries on the 2G is a nightmare, and me being the clumsy humpty dumpty, I can't change the batteries myself. Can I bring it to apple store one day to change the batteries? And how much would apple charge me?
apple will NOT entertain your 2G

you will need to outsource externally. you can either
check out crxr or via garage sales

Added on December 23, 2009, 12:25 pm
QUOTE(azfy @ Dec 23 2009, 11:15 AM)
iPhone Generation : iPhone 3G 16GB
Unlocked?: Unlocked
Current Firmware : 3.01
Current network: Maxis
iTunes Version : 9
PC/MAC : PC
Jailbreaking software : No Idea
Problem Encountered : Cannot charge or Sync
Steps Taken So Far : Do restore & DFU step
Screenshot of Problem(if applicable) : None
Other Information/Remarks :

Just bought this iphone (jailbreaked SG set) from my sister coz she bought new iphone 3gs (maxis), i do hard reset to clearup all her information after that the iphone restart and only show as picture below.. what is that mean?? is it my iphone brick?? I can do any thing.. cannot charge.. cannot sync.. Itunes not respone at all when i connect the usb cable.. I do borrow my friend cable to test it.. FYI i have done the restore & DFU step but nothing happen.. really sorry i'm very nobe with iphone coz only hold it not even 1 hour.. sad.gif

thanks in advanced for your help

man, it is a pain to answer questions via
the iPhone itself.

anyway, try to follow this sequence.

1. unplug the USB cable from the iPhone

2. re-open iTunes again.

3. now hold the home button and do not release

4. plug in the USB cable to the iPhone dock (whilst still holding the home button)

5. wait for the characteristic iTunes buzz of an iPhone being connected

6. once a prompt appears, release the home button.

7. restore

Added on December 23, 2009, 12:27 pm
QUOTE(tcken @ Dec 23 2009, 03:29 AM)
I've solved the problem through restart the iphone. LOL. Do anyone knows to change the ringtone without using originnal one as it's jailbreaked.
i believe that instructions are situated
in the pinmed threads

This post has been edited by nokia2003: Dec 23 2009, 12:27 PM
TSnokia2003
post Dec 23 2009, 11:12 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Dec 23 2009, 10:58 PM)
ya.. i know. thx for ur advise. physically i can check.. bt internally kinda hard.. sometimes when we c it on the spot is ok.. after a few times of use, probs arise.. haha.. things alwiz happen unpredictable.. yea.. it depends on luck..
that is why, you should always purchase an iPhone with local warranty support and service or a country which you are predominantly based in.

TSnokia2003
post Dec 24 2009, 09:41 AM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Dec 24 2009, 02:54 AM)
the probs is mine iphone is wif local warranty support under maxis. as u kno, maxis service is kinda bad

Added on December 24, 2009, 2:59 am
the probs is when i took the phone, everything is alright cz i check the phone. after few weeks of using it, i notice gt tis physical defect  cry.gif  wat to do.. bad luck lor
bad service is way better than no coverage.

there is nothing to compare with IMHO.

anyway, there are so many maxis centres throughout malaysia; surely there will be one, sufficiently accommodating to your needs.

malaysia isn't all that under par you know?
TSnokia2003
post Dec 24 2009, 08:05 PM

5,786 posts

selamat hari natal and seasons greeting!
TSnokia2003
post Dec 29 2009, 12:04 AM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(hsienhsien @ Dec 28 2009, 10:27 AM)
dude, how to set proxy for iphone 3gs? because of my university need to set up proxy given by our uni only can connect to their internet.
teikwing is right. you should approach your university's IT department instead.

this is an example on how iPhone users configure the WiFi in my university.
TSnokia2003
post Jan 6 2010, 07:47 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(keanzteoh @ Jan 6 2010, 12:42 PM)
Guys, when I send mms from my iPhone, the image my friend received is kinda blur and smaller size. How do I fix it? Don't seem to find that solution >.<
you do know the MMS protocol, shrinks and compresses an image to a relatively small size before sending right?

that is why MMS can be transmitted via the GPRS network (the bare minimum)
TSnokia2003
post Jan 13 2010, 12:20 AM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Jan 12 2010, 08:39 PM)
omg, i trying to sync my contacts from iphone to my pc but now end up my all contacts gone..it looks like it sync in the other way round doh.gif
more than 100 contacts gone..is thr anyway to get back?
i did backup b4 sync the contacts but after i sync, it will replace the backup i made...ZZZZ
restore it from backup.

plug your iPhone in and from the device list (on the left) under your device's name, right click and restore from backup (i think)
TSnokia2003
post Jan 26 2010, 12:03 AM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(calvin_ng @ Jan 25 2010, 02:47 PM)
some email do not support push
if I'm not mistaken gmail can only support fetch while yahoo mail support push
though i have a little to add; the push capability on the yahoo mail can be a little dodgy.

it might or might not push at times (i cannot explain that myself)

however, mobileme's mail is flawless! smile.gif smile.gif smile.gif
TSnokia2003
post Jan 30 2010, 11:55 AM

5,786 posts

i have no idea why that they are so certain?

hence to be taken with a pinch of salt
source

This post has been edited by nokia2003: Jan 30 2010, 11:57 AM
TSnokia2003
post Jan 31 2010, 02:29 PM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(birdkingz @ Jan 31 2010, 02:14 PM)
Hey guys, I'm having some problem (I guess it is a problem) for my iPhone..
My problem is, if I let my phone idle for some time, after that i take it and do web browsing or open whatever app which needed internet connection, then I found that my internet will be stucked and not working .. anyone know what happen ?

Example: After I idle my phone, I open the weather app, and I just see the connection icon keep on turning on the top bar but the weather app still writing UPDATING.

The only way I can solve it is to turn off my 3G and turn on again...

So i would like to ask, anyone of u facing this problem too? is it my phone problem? or setting problem? or Maxis connection problem?

Kindly looking for reply.

it does happen of course, once in a while. surely, you will need to reset your modem/router once in a while as well no? the concept is the same

it is weird because just because, the iPhone is an apple product, it doesn't imply that it is God sent and flawless.

it will not work 100% all the time! hence you will need to lower your expectation.

Added on January 31, 2010, 2:36 pm
QUOTE(barteria @ Jan 30 2010, 08:04 PM)
ahh, one noob question here. i see many accessories called car kit. but when i look closer at the packaging it says about charging the phone in car. i wonder if it can be used to play the music from the iphone to the car's speaker??
i'm currently using the direct AUX (3.5mm to 3.5mm) jack in my car.

it is a little painful though when it involves selecting tracks on the iPhone as i can only adjust the volume accordingly from the steering or on the dash.

however, there a couple of headunit manufacturers (alpine makes excellent iPod/iPhone unit) which allow you full control of the features

my friend's BMW, allows complete integration to his iPhone. so much so, the track name and artist name et cetera appears on the car's headunit! thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

Added on January 31, 2010, 2:37 pm
QUOTE(insane.gamer @ Jan 30 2010, 09:04 PM)
what if i want to sync certain songs on my itunes not all? can i do that?
yes, you can.

check out the pinned thread, which i have compiled earlier

spend some time reading them and good luck! nod.gif nod.gif nod.gif

Added on January 31, 2010, 2:38 pm
QUOTE(Christopher7 @ Jan 30 2010, 09:17 PM)
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...&#entry31591335

This fellow selling Iphone 3gs 16gb at RM1950

what do u guys think?
his units are british bound and most likely to be of 02 UK origin.

these units are locked (permanently) and if you ask me, the price is not that justified in my humble opinion.

Added on January 31, 2010, 2:51 pm
QUOTE(iphoneiphone @ Jan 30 2010, 11:58 PM)
hey guys, need some help here.

i experience alot of drop calls la lately. both from my recipient  and my side as well. can't call them and they can't get me.

so based on some of the posting previously, is it true that i need to change my sim card to 256K sim? how to get it from maxis?
need to ask for 256K sim change at maxis center?

please advice guys. any other solution?
have you guys experience this before?
no point or help.

that is the characteristics of maxis (or rather our network)

i have never stumbled across this problem whilst i was in oz (on virgin/optus and three networks), until i got back here.

someone has actually attempted to explain in one of the threads here before (something to do with the type of GSM network)

basically, if you are attempting (whether by yourself or iPhone automatically - via push) to send/receive data via the carrier or network, no calls can come in.

hence you will get a text message shortly informing you that you had a missed call earlier or a reminder that you have a voice mail

without trying to bore you off with the technical bit, here is an excerpt to explain the situation in a simplistic manner.

anyway to be honest, i'm not an engineering student and hence may not be as articulate, to explain this a more eloquent way

Added on January 31, 2010, 2:54 pmalright, did i missed out anyone?

all questions answered? great! tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif

p/s i will not answer any jailbreaking related questions; deliberately left them out

This post has been edited by nokia2003: Jan 31 2010, 02:55 PM

4 Pages « < 2 3 4Top

0.0462sec    1.13    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 02:42 PM