iPhone Club v10 - iPhone related news & Questions, Super-N00b FAQ/Q&A Thread

PeeEl
post Dec 8 2009, 01:43 PM

3,612 posts

QUOTE(nycs82 @ Dec 8 2009, 01:18 PM)
Hi all, gua is a new ifon 3GS user ...

Read a few articles on benefits of jailbreaking ... no legality issues ...

Can you guys tell me your comments on whether to jailbreak or not?

I heard that there is some worm or virus outthere which affects jailbroken iphones ... how true is this?

As I understand, ability to write programs means the ability to create virus and worms as well ...

Thanks for your feedback in advance ..
There are pros and cons on both sides. You have to decide whether the trade-offs for jailbreaking are worth it.

Insofar as viruses are concerned the latest news is that even non-jailbroken units are susceptible to them. So, you decide.
PeeEl
post Dec 8 2009, 10:18 PM

3,612 posts

QUOTE(nycs82 @ Dec 8 2009, 05:50 PM)
on another note ... izit recommended to use 3rd party chargers and cable sold such as in the forum or to get the original?

I believe price may be cheaper but dun wanna fry my babe ... smile.gif

What's ur say on this?
For an expensive gadget like the iPhone, I would not risk it but some have actually used them for a period of time and did not encounter any problems.
PeeEl
post Dec 10 2009, 12:42 PM

3,612 posts

QUOTE(nycs82 @ Dec 10 2009, 12:33 PM)
Guys, please verify this: icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif

I noticed yesterday while I was exploring my iphone's Ipod. Imported some songs and played it on the built-in speakers.

I noticed there is 2 holes in the bottom and the middle part is for the USB cable input.

When the music is playing, as well as tested with the sound setting for ringtones, only the hole on the left has sound. The other hole on the right does not. Tested when u use the finger to close the left hole. You cant hear much. But when u close the hole with the right hole, the volume n everything is fine

Does this mean the speaker is spoilt?  shocking.gif  Do I have a faulty set? Everything else seems OK and there was no cracking sound etc.  icon_question.gif  cry.gif
This has been raised a million and one times. To know this and all about your iPhone, please download the User Manual and read it. And it would also do you good if you were to read the pinned threads which will enlighten you much about the expensive gadget that you own.

Btw, the left 'outlet' is the speaker and the right, the microphone!
PeeEl
post Dec 17 2009, 12:58 PM

3,612 posts

QUOTE(richter693 @ Dec 17 2009, 12:01 PM)
my iphone 3Gs wifi suddenly not function now..few days already .. i was JB my iphone .. but b4 tat the wifi still function.. dont know what happen.. reboot many times but still the same ... PLss help me....
Try restoring your phone. If that doesn't enable the WiFi function, you will probably have to send it in for a warranty claim.
PeeEl
post Dec 19 2009, 04:18 PM

3,612 posts

QUOTE(azrilyp @ Dec 19 2009, 12:48 PM)
i tried that too.. coz i dun use Stocks at all and some of the other default apps as well. Is there any other way?
Alternatively, download Categories, then create a folder and stuff those apps you do not want seen on your springboards in it.
PeeEl
post Dec 19 2009, 11:19 PM

3,612 posts

QUOTE(Kyno @ Dec 19 2009, 11:12 PM)
i want to ask . how want to change iphone keyboard . if i download the keyboard at cydia .then i click at winter board why cannot .
Somehow the keyboards under Cydia are not compatible with OS3.1.2.
PeeEl
post Dec 20 2009, 09:50 AM

3,612 posts

QUOTE(Vervain @ Dec 20 2009, 12:55 AM)
Is that any apps which we can monitor the temperature of the phone? fear long hours of playing it will result in overheat.
I don't believe there is any. But in order for the iPhone to overheat, it will take some real serious gaming. However, if it does happen, IINM, a message will pop up to prompt you that the phone is too hot.
PeeEl
post Dec 22 2009, 12:14 AM

3,612 posts

QUOTE(nokia2003 @ Dec 21 2009, 08:25 PM)
that's more of a network issue, rather than the phone itself

the iPhone is just a phone; not a God sent device.
Some actually do think that it is. Well, maybe not God sent but heaven derived thumbup.gif drool.gif
PeeEl
post Dec 22 2009, 12:54 AM

3,612 posts

@chinkor
From what I know, if they cannot detect any sign that the iPhone had been dropped or knocked against before, there is every likelihood that you will be able to get a replacement.

This post has been edited by PeeEl: Dec 22 2009, 01:14 AM
PeeEl
post Dec 22 2009, 11:29 AM

3,612 posts

QUOTE(=Hanxz= @ Dec 22 2009, 01:36 AM)
nah, maxis would just turn u away and say that their warranty doesnt cover physical damages.

look at this 3Gs taken from my other thread.

Mate, don't lah, worry people like that.

In any case, what you presented is a clear case of an accidental damage which naturally does not qualify for a warranty claim.
PeeEl
post Dec 22 2009, 01:37 PM

3,612 posts

QUOTE(chinkor @ Dec 22 2009, 01:43 AM)
My phone is currently 100% scratchless, even hairline scratches also dont have. it is like 100% brand new, perfect condition. well, except the crack inside the screen (glass).
My case strong? or they still will say i somehow droped it? ( dropped or whatever sure will leave sign right?)
Like I said earlier, send in for a warranty claim and present your case. Since you did not drop your phone or knock it against something, you have a good case.
PeeEl
post Dec 23 2009, 05:30 PM

3,612 posts

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Dec 23 2009, 04:55 PM)
yeah.. u got wat i mean. i afraid after some force, sooner or later the lcd will be affected. do u think maxis will warranty on such case? i'm afraid they will jz refurbish or try to pressure n fix down my lcd screen during service n gif it bek to me as a new one. sooner or later the edge will bounce up again or getting worst.. sigh.. hopefully i can get a one to one exchange.. but jz nw i went to 1U Mac fair.. i ask the iphone consultant there, he told me tat 1 to 1 exchange is only limited to 7 days in purchase.. i was huh?? i neva heard from others mention bout tis?? wonder hw true is tis.. bad service no matter maxis or mac (msia).
All said and done, just send it in to Maxis. That is no harm in making a try. And there is no such thing as a 7 days period for 1-for-1 exchange. Warranty is for 1 year.
PeeEl
post Dec 23 2009, 08:00 PM

3,612 posts

QUOTE(yvonnesoo @ Dec 23 2009, 06:03 PM)
yeah planning to go to maxis centre tomolo.. c hw it goes.. n i will insist on 1 to 1 exchange.. if possible who want a refurbish or repair phone rite?? cz i afraid the phone will get worst later on.. who knows.. sigh
If one qualifies for a warranty claim, the telco has the prerogative to either repair(if minor and repairable) or replace the unit. If it is the latter, then in most instances it will be with a refurbished unit. Notwithstanding, such units are usually as good as new. My advice however is when you collect the replacement, is to give it a once over and make sure, particularly physically it is 'good'.
PeeEl
post Dec 30 2009, 10:44 PM

3,612 posts

QUOTE(saksoba @ Dec 30 2009, 10:30 PM)
my previous set face this kinda problem.. so, claim for warranty.. then get a new set..

n later on, this new set of mine, face the same problem again.. i try air plane mode on and off. wifi on and off, sometime, it can detect the wifi..

less then a minute, its gone..
Do not know the actual situation with your new phone but I doubt very much it has the same problem as your previous one since you could still periodically detect WiFi. Perhaps you could do a full restoration and see how it is. Also, ensure you test it in a strong WiFi place to know for sure.
PeeEl
post Dec 31 2009, 02:40 PM

3,612 posts

QUOTE(ELM0 @ Dec 31 2009, 02:22 PM)
i would like to ask 1 question but then dont know does it suit this topic section

im planning to get 2 iphones from australia , but then i would ask my cousin to mail to me...but then will it safely arrive??? even using fedx or DHL?? or kastam will eat my iphones ???
I don't want to sound rude but then if I say it's safe, would you hold it against me if your items get lost in transit. Even if anyone assures you, it cannot be taken for granted as all sendings vary in circumstances. Therefore, such questions shouldn't even be posted, in the first place.
PeeEl
post Jan 4 2010, 11:10 PM

3,612 posts

QUOTE(thewayiam @ Jan 4 2010, 09:40 PM)
hey guys, recently purchased an iphone 3g and already jailbreaked 3.1.2
one thing i noticed in my usage, was that the data sent over 3g increases over time eventho i only use the iphone online when im at home on wifi.

can anybody help?
my bill might increase waaaay over if i dont stop this

thanks smile.gif
If you really want to save your money, please take the trouble to read the pinned threads. The solution for your predicament is there. You will also learn much more which will allow you to enjoy your iPhone as it should be.
PeeEl
post Jan 5 2010, 11:38 AM

3,612 posts

QUOTE(Survivor @ Jan 5 2010, 09:52 AM)
Anyone experienced drop calls on Iphone3GS using Maxis postpaid? I got my Iphone from Maxis a week ago and already experienced drop calls.
I don't think it is a generic problem. Only lately it is happening.
PeeEl
post Jan 7 2010, 11:36 PM

3,612 posts

QUOTE(victor131490 @ Jan 6 2010, 11:17 PM)
sorry. ask something here. how to change the dialer background? i am new here.
Go search in Cydia. But if your phone is not jailbroken, then there is no way to do it.
PeeEl
post Jan 9 2010, 11:28 PM

3,612 posts

QUOTE(monked @ Jan 9 2010, 10:22 PM)
may i ask some noobie question?

can we create our own ringtone using our own downloaded mp3 song??
i know that we can set the song as ringtone only if we purchase it from itunes..
but malaysia dont hav itunes @@...

need help from all sifu around T___T
Read the pinned threads and you will get the answer and guide as to how to go about it. You will also learn more about the iPhone. Please take some time to do it.
PeeEl
post Jan 11 2010, 12:39 PM

3,612 posts

QUOTE(Survivor @ Jan 10 2010, 05:22 PM)
Does anyone know how we can change the bubble view of iphone SMS? I like to read my sms in a full page text instead of the bubble view.
I don't believe there's any other format as the 'bubble view' is synonymous to iPhone and though you can change the background, you can't do away with the 'bubbles'.

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0273sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 04:56 PM