::V6::Scorpion-Thread::V6::, Scorpion Conservation

Kar
post Oct 15 2009, 05:06 PM

377 posts

Hey guys,

I have decided to take out the remaining 2 1st instar babies and raise them up myself. Been reading a guide in venomlist and I do freaking hope that it would turn out fine. These two lil buggers seem to be awesome!! smile.gif

This post has been edited by Kar: Oct 15 2009, 06:06 PM
TSRyoKenzaki
post Oct 15 2009, 05:54 PM

★★ ~*\Arachnoid/*~ ★★
2,313 posts

U do know they have high chance of dying if u raising them in that way rite kar?
If they are on the mom back why risk it?
Kar
post Oct 15 2009, 06:05 PM

377 posts

Dude, I know for sure that IF they were on their mom's back of course they have a higher chance to survive. But ze problem nao is not that. They aren't on their mom's back and the mom haven't been even TRYING to pick them up.

They basically wandered too far off away from their mom. I did a few research and yes it is possible to raise 1st instars. I rather try raising them than let nature's will to kill them. Furthermore, if I'm able to do this, I believe it will be a huge addition to the knowledge of all keepers here.

Since they are bound to die in nature's hands, why not let my own pair of hands give them a second chance to live? Not playing god but seriously, why not?
HyourinMaru
post Oct 15 2009, 06:17 PM

THORChad
502 posts

Good luck smile.gif
Kar
post Oct 15 2009, 06:19 PM

377 posts

QUOTE(HyourinMaru @ Oct 15 2009, 06:17 PM)
Good luck smile.gif
Thanks!! smile.gif
TSRyoKenzaki
post Oct 15 2009, 06:23 PM

★★ ~*\Arachnoid/*~ ★★
2,313 posts

Oh so both felt off the mom, u din stated there so i juz assume they are on the mom back
Good luck thou
Kar
post Oct 15 2009, 06:41 PM

377 posts

QUOTE(RyoKenzaki @ Oct 15 2009, 06:23 PM)
Oh so both felt off the mom, u din stated there so i juz assume they are on the mom back
Good luck thou
Yup, I will need lots of luck and guidance too, from you especially! brows.gif

Btw, the 4chan smile chick gave me a freaking huge laugh for a damn long time lol laugh.gif
TSRyoKenzaki
post Oct 15 2009, 07:14 PM

★★ ~*\Arachnoid/*~ ★★
2,313 posts

I dont have experience raising 1st instar myself, thou i really wanted2 experiment a way to increase the chance of raising them
I have a experiment in mind but lack of 1st instar scorpling now? tongue.gif

rideon
post Oct 15 2009, 07:24 PM

239 posts

sam has experience in caring for 1st instar afs last time if anyone remember. out of all those only one survived.. so u really need the luck bro.. n i do hope u do...
akagidemon
post Oct 15 2009, 09:07 PM

453 posts

a word of advice.

dont put your hopes to high.

the experience of taking care a 1i scorpling is really sumthing that i dont want to repeat. really heart wrenching when u see 1 by 1 the babies die of.

i guess i was lucky that 1 survived.

anyway, all the best to you Kar. i hope u succeed on this awesome experiment and experience that u are about to go through.

s98432512
post Oct 15 2009, 09:14 PM

49 posts

my 6i hot hot first meal smile.gif
Kar
post Oct 15 2009, 09:15 PM

377 posts

Oh well, let's just then hope for the best!! Enough of the sad stories of how the baby died, here's the mommy in her new home in which I took a few days of scavenging to find!! smile.gif

It's a huge pill bottle hahahaha

s98432512
post Oct 15 2009, 09:22 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(Kar @ Oct 15 2009, 10:15 PM)
Oh well, let's just then hope for the best!! Enough of the sad stories of how the baby died, here's the mommy in her new home in which I took a few days of scavenging to find!! smile.gif

lol.. have u been on drugs ???? lol /// sweat.gif
akagidemon
post Oct 15 2009, 09:25 PM

453 posts

big bottle is a big bottle.

*FallenAngel*
post Oct 15 2009, 09:30 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(Kar @ Oct 15 2009, 09:15 PM)

ryo is gonna go crazy abt this bottle..... biggrin.gif
s98432512
post Oct 15 2009, 09:34 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(akagidemon @ Oct 15 2009, 10:25 PM)
big bottle is a big bottle.
lol..
drool.gif

btw this got me thinking .. big bottle = ample space for scorpion = harder to catch it prey .. tongue.gif

i am too intereste din the big size bottle... kar.. where did u get it ??? lol ...

This post has been edited by s98432512: Oct 15 2009, 09:36 PM
Kar
post Oct 15 2009, 09:37 PM

377 posts

lester : Like you said lah, drugs!! D:
akagidemon
post Oct 15 2009, 09:48 PM

453 posts

acid pills!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

nice bottle.

HyourinMaru
post Oct 15 2009, 09:57 PM

THORChad
502 posts

I just got stung by 1 of my scorpions,a 3rd instar longimanus...lol
Try to make it into its container cos it climb onto my hand.Mayb is angle prob when i grab its tail,i felt a slight pain on my finger.
The pain last about 5 minutes and now is getting better.
Kar
post Oct 15 2009, 10:01 PM

377 posts

No lah, it's actually a bottle which holds Gui Ling Gao. For those who do not understand, it's something like a freaking chinese herbal jelly and that's the bottle that comes together with it. A bottle is about RM16.50 and I was lucky because when I went to muh buddies' place, I found the bottle lying on the table.

One of his housemates threw the bottle there and I was like, I see a bark scorpion mansion there! Initial idea was to use RM5 pushpots which I still think it looks epic I mean judging from the price and as well as the size and all. Best enclosure for small scorpions imho!! nod.gif

This post has been edited by Kar: Oct 15 2009, 10:02 PM

125 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Top

0.0290sec    0.22    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 05:34 AM