5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

::V6::Scorpion-Thread::V6::, Scorpion Conservation

yltanisaac
post Oct 20 2009, 10:40 PM

94 posts

QUOTE(akagidemon @ Oct 20 2009, 10:33 PM)
i have no choice since there are no crickets being sold in sibu.
hey. the next time i;m in sibu i'll look you up. biggrin.gif i go there often. 2 times a year.
yltanisaac
post Oct 21 2009, 01:11 PM

94 posts

i gutload mealworms with .. seem to be working for my Ts. Crickets are..... sticky.. biggrin.gif but i do have some.

All with oranges, tomatoes, spirullina oats and cereals. Sometimes raisins.

yltanisaac
post Oct 21 2009, 11:07 PM

94 posts

IT's best not to handle the scorpions.
THERE IS ALWAYS A risk
DO NOT cut off the telson. (of course it's your choice) but it's like if someone CUT OFF YOUR HAND.

it helps the scorpion to hunt

Added on October 21, 2009, 11:08 pmlives longer, happier lives with stingers on them biggrin.gif

(abang ryo.. be patient ah...)

This post has been edited by yltanisaac: Oct 21 2009, 11:08 PM
yltanisaac
post Oct 22 2009, 01:03 AM

94 posts

ya.. HAPPY BDAY> SCORPION Princess aka ryo.... biggrin.gif

My AFS are getting fatter by the day. biggrin.gif
yltanisaac
post Oct 22 2009, 01:38 AM

94 posts

haha
yltanisaac
post Oct 25 2009, 01:35 PM

94 posts

have fun at ikano today biggrin.gif

One of my M.Martensii seems to be real plump. I din feed it since i got it from Rafiqos.

@Rafiqos, you been feeding them good is it? or is it gravid? (highly unlikely)

Both refuses crickets. Tried Supermealworms.. ,maybe they are just full~~~
yltanisaac
post Oct 25 2009, 03:06 PM

94 posts

Read this

http://scorpionforum.darkbb.com/scorpions-...-claw-t1948.htm

My new Pandinus smithi just arrived. It appears alright, except that it periodically twitch its left claw and only the left claw. Sort of like Parkinson diseasea but only on the left claw. It crawls around fine.

Please help!!!

Below is the clip that I filmed it. There are two parts of the clip. One is when it was near the water dish. The last part was when it was hiding.

Some sort of similarity but his case was not that serious

Added on October 25, 2009, 3:07 pmFrom British Tarantula Society: "we've heard of scorpions getting this problem "

This post has been edited by yltanisaac: Oct 25 2009, 03:07 PM
yltanisaac
post Oct 25 2009, 07:59 PM

94 posts

AFS, emperor. Don't handle .biggrin.gif
yltanisaac
post Oct 25 2009, 09:27 PM

94 posts

"I Realise I Just Fell In Love With Hottentotta Polystictus & Hottentotta Trilineatus But I Still Love My Wife !" thumbup.gif
yltanisaac
post Oct 25 2009, 10:37 PM

94 posts

1st scorp AFS
2nd scorps M. Martensii
3rd/ more AFS~~~
yltanisaac
post Oct 26 2009, 03:46 PM

94 posts

QUOTE(rafiqos @ Oct 26 2009, 09:39 AM)
The likelihood is there. And if you know me well enough, I wouldn't mark up the prices by 700% even if I knew some of the Mesobuthus are gravid. Lol!

Nice pics of Balsa ryo. Your pics make them look big. Lol.
I know bro. I will be caught by surprised if one of them is. rclxms.gif
yltanisaac
post Oct 29 2009, 06:01 PM

94 posts

In my humble opinion,

Parthenogenesis is usually the form of reproduction of some organism when optimal conditions are met.

As with all types of asexual reproduction, there are both costs (low genetic diversity and therefore susceptibility to adverse mutations that might occur) and benefits (reproduction without the need for a male) associated with parthenogenesis.

Lacking the ability to switch to sexual reproduction, the only means of propagations fo obligate parthenogenic species, namely Hottentotta hottentotta and other species which have no known male species is by developing from unfertilized eggs of the parent scorpion

For the gene pool of these obligate species to diversify, one must always hope and assume random mutations occur for the better survival of the species. I am not implying that we should all take X-rays and start mutating the scorpions but to allow nature to take its course. Let new alleles and genes arise by themselves.

However, in nature obligate parthenogenic organism are bounded to a genetic disaster if the species is not easily mutable. It is apparent that the offspring will be less viable and prone to early deaths. I don't know whether does it apply to scorpions. but seeing the situation of H.Hs I can only assume.

Of course I am no expert in this and I am merely sharing my thoughts and knowledge on parthenogenic animals.

Excuse me for intruding. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by yltanisaac: Oct 29 2009, 06:14 PM
yltanisaac
post Oct 29 2009, 06:26 PM

94 posts

Good read. Don't know if you guys read it before. Maybe someone posted it before too but it's no harm bring it up
Link

yltanisaac
post Oct 29 2009, 07:39 PM

94 posts

QUOTE(*FallenAngel* @ Oct 29 2009, 07:07 PM)
hmm, nice article. From what I know and from the article, those parthenogenesis do have advantages and disadvantages. They able to dominant in a stable environment, i.e their breeding rate is higher than bisexual sp, however they hardly able to adapt in a different environment as their gene doesnt undergo random segregation and crossing over (which allow their gene to be diversify). Hence, genetic disorder that occur in the bloodline might be carry on to every offspring.Maybe this explain why hot2 are vulnerable as they cant really cope on our environment. About LA, they are local sp, so they able to survive and stay strong as long as there is no big change in the environment. On the other hand sexually reproduce sp  able to adapt, evolve into a different environment over generation, and enhance their survival in the nature.
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

I beginning to love this thread.

Here's some pics (better with pics than no pics at all, sorry for my 1.5M phone cam)

AFS Scorpionlings communal setup. I try to keep it as Natural as possible.
I added Mountain moss i got near Kelab Darul Ehsan jungle trek and river bed sand from Hulu Langat upriver on the bottom (false bottom).
Cocofibre and some peat with some pothos plant

Some aquarium bark that i had left from my old tank. (I saw the most off for my Avi avi Tarantula setup)

those little things don't sit still.. mad.gif

NEXT

My M.M

Thinking it's from an arid area, i didnt put any water dish nor any plants or moss.

Close up

The one that I THINK is gravid is hiding under the slab.

yltanisaac
post Oct 29 2009, 07:49 PM

94 posts

QUOTE(RyoKenzaki @ Oct 29 2009, 07:44 PM)
Well, that conclude all parthenogenic sp will have difficulty to adapt to new environment,
hence the death of some of my hot hot?
But then again, we seems to forgotten that those hot hot in rafiqos hand are doing well hmm.gif

I'm not good with genetic topic as i almost fail my science lesson so pardon me if i get the wrong meaning  sad.gif

PS: Nice setup issac smile.gif
In theory it seems so.

But Scorpion King's case is unique. Defies Science. notworthy.gif

PS: thanks ryo. I wish i had a better cam rclxub.gif . It will sure make me feel better. biggrin.gif But I try to make the afs enclosure as green as possible.
yltanisaac
post Oct 29 2009, 09:46 PM

94 posts

which discussion? my setup or the genetic argument?

I dip them in spring water 1st for a day then in distilled water. Shine them under UV light.
yltanisaac
post Oct 30 2009, 05:50 AM

94 posts

QUOTE(aimeh @ Oct 30 2009, 12:52 AM)
wow I really have to get some help from my dictionary for some words. lol

btw I like this .. But Scorpion King's case is unique. Defies Science .. haha

And it will always looks nice when there are green in the tank, I like the mountain moss effect, used to put it in my croc skink last time .. cantik  ~
QUOTE(*FallenAngel* @ Oct 30 2009, 12:56 AM)
ya, undeniable, looks more natural. But what make me headache is those pest inside. I hate those. will try isaac's method to see the result
Thanks man for the compliment. I too worry about mites, ants, nematodes and other pest in the mountain moss but till now. Sterilizing by the method i mentioned doesn't clean the moss 100% but i did the best i could.

But here's a guide to disinfect plants (for aquarium used) but i figured we can apply them too. (Bleach also kills the plant but hey, they been using it to DISINFECT AQUARIUM PLANTS)

to summarise read the following

Terms: dechlorinator is the one we use for aquarium water/

QUOTE(Kar @ Oct 30 2009, 03:30 AM)

the only downfall is that you probably won't have the high genetic diversity in comparison to non-parthenogenesis. The genetic diversity is able to improve in terms of adaptivity, survivability and of course, quality. They probably require longer time to adapt, lesser survivability and probably high fluctuations in terms of quality.
If one new strain of virus/parasite/bacteria forms and new diseases develops for parthenogenic species , it will be easier to wipe them out.

yltanisaac
post Nov 3 2009, 04:39 PM

94 posts

QUOTE(s98432512 @ Nov 3 2009, 04:23 PM)
trying my chinese soft ware .
did this for fun smile.gif

Added on November 3, 2009, 4:25 pm
sorry for your losses  .. what happened ???
hmmm ... is the scorpion sp a.a ?????
btw do take note to keep it on the dry  sweat.gif side smile.gif
Fat~~~~~~~~

Ryo: My condolences man
yltanisaac
post Nov 16 2009, 11:40 PM

94 posts

QUOTE(RyoKenzaki @ Nov 16 2009, 11:27 PM)
Its call Liocheles Australasiae
U can read more bout them here
http://www.venomlist.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=25639

I have one that just gave birth today biggrin.gif
rclxms.gif

congrats
yltanisaac
post Nov 25 2009, 05:41 PM

94 posts

man~.. i was in a pet shop in Petaling Street around noon to see some cute dogs, tarantulas and scorpions. I saw some adult black scorpions cramped in same critter tanks each with NO substrate, wet sponges and dead crickets.

I asked: "Auntie, do you have any emperor scorpions?"
Auntie:" Emperor?!!! they can kill people de!! don't sell here. We have nice malaysian black scorpions here."
Me: hmm.gif "Don't they look more like emperors with bigger claws and bulkier look? I see you have two different scorpions here. AFS and emperors"
Auntie:"Ah boy I been selling these things so long la. Emperor can kill people de"
Me:" Ok auntie, I get it. Do you have substrates for tarantulas and scorpions such as cocopeat or vermiculite ?"
Auntie:" ah? never heard of these stuff. Ah.. Got this very good substrate" (She shows me wooden chips) "and exoterra forest moss"
Me:"Only use moss? no soil or sand?"
Auntie:"No substrate also can"
Me: blink.gif

and then I saw this lone tarantula in a cracked exo-terra faunarium that has been dusty and held together with cellotape. I ask to have a look. The worker open the container and stand 2 feet away from me. (Wuss) I observed it was some sort of chilobrachys sp. but it was totally dark and brown. Again, no substrate was provided. but this survivor has webbed the entire faunarium and looked very thin and dehydrated. I felt sorry for the creature. I wanted to save her (she was 6-7 inch with no hooks so i just assumed she's a she) but her price tag was too steep of an asian tarantula. (RM280; discounted to Rm250). I can't imagine paying that price and would rather spend it on juvies/slings or some other adult T that has more colour.

I bid my farewell and thought in future I will be going back to the pet shop and bargain down the price for her and the scorpions. (they were in a good price compared to other prices for adult scorpions). But I can't help to feel i may fuel the misconduct of this pet shop in future.

sad.gif

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0661sec    1.21    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 09:14 PM