Yamaha AVR Thread v2.00, Discussions about Yamaha AVR

samowong
post Jan 9 2013, 01:24 PM

269 posts

hi to all sifus here,

1. I tried to play flac files (in thumb drive) via the usb port but it is not recognized by the v473. Same goes for mp3 files >128kbps. Those files are within the specs stated in the manual. Any ideas?

2. Does the v473 support MHL? I tried connecting my Galaxy SII via MHL but nothing happens...

3. I bitstream BD audio to the receiver coz the BD player is a cheapo one. If I set the v473 to "STRAIGHT" mode, the signal info states correctly DTrueHD/DTS-HD/LPCM but if i enable the CinemaDSP, the signal info changes to PCM. Any ideas?

BTW, just bought some PSB speakers from A&L Bangsar Village II, attended by Mr. Lim. Thumbs up for great service and customer support. Price is reasonable too smile.gif

This post has been edited by samowong: Jan 9 2013, 01:31 PM
samowong
post Jan 9 2013, 01:26 PM

269 posts

-removed-

This post has been edited by samowong: Jan 9 2013, 01:27 PM
samowong
post Jan 11 2013, 08:58 AM

269 posts

QUOTE(tbcheese @ Jan 10 2013, 09:25 PM)
Maybe you can check the sampling rates of your media?
QUOTE(Mickey C @ Jan 10 2013, 09:58 PM)
Buy 1 media player, solve every problem... smile.gif
The firmware was 1.13 when i bought it. After updating to v1.14, the mp3 playback is normal now. Thanks

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Another question for sifus here.

Since the v473 has subwoofer crossover setting internally, does it make any difference if i keep the subwoofer crossover dial at 80 or do i dial it up all the way to the max?

This post has been edited by samowong: Jan 11 2013, 09:19 AM
samowong
post Jan 17 2013, 01:25 PM

269 posts

hi,

I am using Yamaha v473. When playing BDs with LPCM track (bitstream), it is displayed as PCM on the amp's screen. Signal info also states PCM 48kHz. DTrueHD & DTSHD-MA tracks are displayed appropriately on the amp.
Am I actually getting the LPCM signals to the amp?

samowong
post Jan 23 2013, 09:36 AM

269 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jan 22 2013, 11:38 PM)
Found the problem. It is the idiot YPAO. YPAO set the front speaker to large and lower the SW to low hz. Because large speaker can produce lower hz. So YPAO put all the low hz to the front speaker and lower the SW trigger. That's why SW keep zzzz..

After set the speaker to small for the front, YPAO high up the low hz for SW. Now the SW easlly wakeup from zzz...

Thanks guys.
The same thing happened to me during my initial setup of the V473. Used YPAO - it set the front speakers to large, SW to none. Kept me up all night, squatting near the SW trying to listen to low bass, nothing at all, till i changed the setting to small front speakers.

Check out this link http://sinan.ussakli.net/basstest/

I use the Ultimate Tests to check the 'viability' of my SW smile.gif Others tests are quite fun too.
samowong
post Jan 23 2013, 10:30 AM

269 posts

I also thought about asking for a specialist to come and check my setup, seeing that this is the 1st time i bought a HT system. It sounded much better than my previous micro HIFI, but how will i know if i am not setting it up correctly. Any idea of the cost for a specialist consult?
samowong
post Jan 23 2013, 01:08 PM

269 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jan 23 2013, 11:06 AM)
I m not worrying their consult fee.

I m more worrying end up with a rm50k AV after kena poison by them. sweat.gif
I don't think i have audiophile ears. But i do detect a big difference in sound quality when i initially checked out a samsung HT-in-a-box, and compared it to my current setup. Thank goodness i did some research and auditioning, and paid more for the current setup. It is worth every penny.

QUOTE(weikee @ Jan 23 2013, 11:08 AM)
Could it be the doesn't ohms are difference? So it auto at to large? I am paring with yamaha speaking, maybe paring is easier.
Mine's PSB Alpha T1 at 8 ohms. How do we grade a speaker large/small?
samowong
post Jan 23 2013, 04:07 PM

269 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Jan 23 2013, 02:07 PM)
perhaps u can contact anfieldude for AV consultation.

for yamaha AVR, large speaker means low frequency (mainly bass) will be played at each own channel, without being pass to subwoofer.
subwoofer will only work for its own 0.1 channel.

if u set to small, low frequency from satelite speaker will be pass to subwoofer, make sound together with original subwoofer channel.
crossover setting is to control which frequency point to be pass on sub.

when u set crossover to very high, satelite may sound clearer because less bass give less strain on amp and speaker.
but sub will give muddy or boomy sound, so u might need to play with sub volume and adjust the crossover accordingly.
I'm in Sibu, don't think i can get anfieldude's service.

As for the SW, there's no bass at all if set the front speakers to large. As of my current setup, the crossover dial is all the up, sub volume is at around 2 o'clock, AVR crossover at 80Hz as recommended by many AV forums that i've dug through.
samowong
post Jan 23 2013, 05:34 PM

269 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Jan 23 2013, 04:46 PM)
do try out with every possibility.
i find overlap abit give clearer sound because bass already pass to sub icon_rolleyes.gif
leave more overhead power on amp and speaker to play loud.
now using 120hz to little 4" front speaker
perhaps u can adjust the YPAO mic position more backward to prevent being detected as large sweat.gif

as you know 5.1 and 7.1 movie got independent SW channel called 0.1
when play normal content without 0.1, SW will not work as no sound is feeded, if all are detected as large (crossover disable)
it is almost work like pure direct mode

hehe, 80hz is a reference crossover for THX cinema.
good if u like this setting.
come to think of it, my bass does sound a bit boomy. i'll play around some more with the crossover level. thanks
samowong
post Jan 25 2013, 12:38 PM

269 posts

QUOTE(willkso @ Jan 24 2013, 01:09 AM)
You're from which part of Sarawak? If I have the contact number, maybe you can get a quote..

Edit: Just saw that you're from Sibu. Maybe you can give Mr. Chong from HiFi Co near express bus terminal a call to see how much he charge for the calibration service. He's a very friendly guy. HiFi Co shop was facing the main road bypassing old Oya Road to Jalan Pedada..
Seems that u know Sibu well smile.gif U're from around here too? I did go to his shop once to check out the prices. He doesn't sell Yamaha/PSB and he offers mid - upper range products, so the price is steep sweat.gif I may consider getting his calibration service though.
HT is pricey here. In fact, i flew with my HT set back here from KL 3weeks ago, with some commotion in LCCT due to overweight baggage, etc and a sore back. Estimated savings at least rm1K smile.gif

QUOTE(ozak @ Jan 24 2013, 10:14 AM)
Your PSB speaker is floor standing type? AVR can drive this speaker?
Yep, Alpha T1 x1 pair, C1 x1 and 100watt SW. So far, no problems, no clipping whatsoever.
samowong
post Jan 25 2013, 02:45 PM

269 posts

QUOTE(willkso @ Jan 25 2013, 01:42 PM)
I'm from Bintulu but I bought my speakers and subwoofer from him. Even asked him to come over to Bintulu for the calibration with my previous Pioneer VSX-919 but I had since changed my AVR. Well, price for the stuffs sometime might be a bit steep but sometime the service itself counts especially when you need help for some info and warranty claims etc.

Bintulu here even worst as no dedicated HT or HiFi equipments shop. I used to get my Pioneer VSX-919 from KL too when I happened to be there as I can save at least RM600 by hand carry.
Very true. I did think about warranty n stuff but the price difference is just too much for me to bear. Inclusive of the Yamaha receiver, i estimate about 2K in savings. If something happens to my current setup (touch wood), guess i'll just have to post it back to KL for service, which is what our local shops do anyway. Come to think of it, it was quite daring of me, checking in almost 60kg of Hifi equipment at LCCT, some more signed the liability-release slip sweat.gif

There are currently 3 Hifi shops in Sibu. I find Mr Chong to be most passionate, he really knows his stuff. Still remember the 1st time he demoed his HT setup in his shop, the scene from "Tears of the Sun" during the jungle ambush. Bullets whizzing right past my ears. Poison to the max smile.gif

QUOTE(ozak @ Jan 25 2013, 01:56 PM)
I m in the middle of setting up psb image c4 and front image b5.
Congrats. Welcome to the "real sound for real people" club smile.gif

This post has been edited by samowong: Jan 25 2013, 02:52 PM

0.0432sec    1.00    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 02:05 PM