Yamaha AVR Thread v2.00, Discussions about Yamaha AVR

jihmie
post Dec 9 2013, 04:31 PM

62 posts

hi guys,

been searching around for good avr. at first wanted to get a denon or pioneer but somebody told me to get a yamaha. after a good surfing thru the net, i found yamaha rx-v375, which is within my budget. i even downloaded a pdf manual for this avr just to see the features.
anybody here using this model. maybe i can get some review from u guys. thanks in advance...
jihmie
post Dec 23 2013, 09:54 AM

62 posts

hi guys,

newbie reporting in.

i just bought a 375 + NS-P40 for my first ht. so far im loving it. but i have a few questions & i hope u sifus can help (even thou these questions may sound stupid, bt pls bear it with me, i really dont knw blush.gif ) icon_question.gif

1) is it normal when i turn on the 375, it produce "tik tik tik" sound?
2) the package i bought comes with an 80 feet white cable for the speakers. any advice on this?should i replace this cable? im asking this bcoz the cable looks cheap.
3) based on the manual & youtube vid, ypao automatically setup the speakers. does it also auto setup the crossovers & the dB? coz i keep changing the crossover value blush.gif
4) i set hdmi1 to my media player & hdmi2 to my ps3. so far so good. but when change the source from my tv, there's is no sound. fyi, my lcd tv (LG LF series) doesn't hv an optical output but it has variable output (red & white) jacks. i already connect it to the avr but still no sound. is there something i missed?

replies are much appreciated.

thank you.

jihmie
post Dec 24 2013, 09:26 AM

62 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Dec 23 2013, 09:44 PM)
4. you connect TV to which RCA port? usually got label
thanks for the reply ktek, notworthy.gif
i connect it to Audio1 (on the avr) from the TV variable out

jihmie
post Dec 26 2013, 09:30 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Dec 24 2013, 12:04 PM)
connect to av5 behind AVR, then reprogram the "tv scene" shortcut button to av5 if want easy access
Ktek bro, thanks for your help...now got sound already thumbup.gif
jihmie
post Jan 2 2014, 04:05 PM

62 posts

talking about subwoofers, do you guys put the sub volume to max or half?
jihmie
post Jan 3 2014, 09:24 AM

62 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Jan 2 2014, 07:41 PM)
start with half, calibrate with YPAO, see result +10db (not enough) or -10db (too much).
u might need to relocate sub for best effect
thanks ktek. i will try it tonite....

QUOTE(trainee06 @ Jan 3 2014, 06:54 AM)
Jimmie, how much you bought that set?
i bought it for RM1999 bro, at lazada. it took almost a week to arrive to kk.

jihmie
post May 15 2014, 04:23 PM

62 posts

guys,

currently im using ns-p40 speakers with 6 ohms. im just curious, say i want to upgrade it, can i use 8 ohms speakers on my 375?
jihmie
post Sep 19 2014, 10:20 AM

62 posts

QUOTE(Mov_freak @ Sep 15 2014, 09:59 PM)
Yamaha RX-A2030

I must apologise, I kinda mention I would do this earlier, and have to add, was to busy to hook the Amp up during the weekend and only managed to do so today.

For the technical incline people here are some of the features of the said amp:

Setup up was pretty easy.

Hooked my Monitor Audio Silver Center, Monitor Audio Silver 7 Floorstanders and Mission Surround and back Speakers to it was straight forward.

The the bluray and Media player, through HDMI.

As I said easy peasy.

So after hooking everything up, I brought out the YAO microphone and let the Amp calibrate itself. Again, NOT rocket science.

Having done the above, I then broke out my trusty sample materials, namely

1. Dolby Speaker Test (Dolby TrueHD 7.1)
2. Owl City - Firefly (Dolby TrueHD 5.1)
3. Iridescent  - Linkin Park (Dolby TrueHD 5.1)

Immediately, I notice that details are actually quite crisped and the thing that "grabs" me most, is how much "tighter" the bottom spectrum (bass) is!!!

I continued with my trial and I played this

4. Crash Into Me - Dave Matthews and Tim Reynolds: Live at Radio City (Dolby TrueHD)

Details galore!!!

This amp has heft!!! So much more, compared to my old Yamaha RX-V1900.

Then on to the movies.

Jack Reacher (2012) was my choice, more specifically, the first scene (the Sniper Scene) and then the car chase scene (Old American Muscle Car [Mustang] and efficient German technology [Audi]) fight things out. I really cannot emphasize how much more details there is in the sniper scene and the bass rocks you. Same with the car chase. Details! All sorts of detail and then the solid bass produced by the purring Mustang Engine, wonderful!!!

Next stop The Dark Knight Rises (2012) again a car chase scene the the robbing of the stock market. When Batman first flew The Bat, my SVS subwoofer was given a workout and RISE to the occasion it did!!!

I let the amp burn in a little and did some chores, and after a 2 hours of burning in, I put the amp through another barrage of test, this time, music.

Here the quality of the amp becomes a double edge sword, namely, the quality of recording is very apparent!!!

Stuff I have from the 90s sounds... well jaded and audiophile recording SHINE!!! Which proves the 2 x ESS Technology ES9006 SABRE™ Premier Audio DAC chips are in perfect working order.

Now letting the amp burn even more, by playing Star Trek Into Darkness. I am giddy as a kid in a candy shop...

So... what I my thoughts about the amp?

The suggested retail price of this amp in the States is USD $1,699.95.

I got it at RM 3,500 (new) and it is WORTH every single sen!!!

If you are looking for a surround amp, and the price is within your budget, GET THIS AMP.

My Two Sen.
bro,

show us your setup. nice review btw icon_rolleyes.gif

jihmie
post Dec 16 2014, 03:59 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(Ryeeson @ Dec 15 2014, 12:40 AM)
Interested but how to buy?? I am staying at Kota Kinabalu 😰
have u check lazada? they can send it to your place
jihmie
post Dec 18 2014, 03:42 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(Ryeeson @ Dec 17 2014, 03:03 PM)
is it safe to buy from lazada?
i bought mine from lazada. arrived almost a week.
jihmie
post Dec 22 2014, 11:04 AM

62 posts

yaya. u should email or call them. spam their fb page.
jihmie
post Dec 30 2014, 09:15 AM

62 posts

guys,

can i add 2 more speakers to my 375? any comments/advice on this?

thanks in advance
jihmie
post Dec 30 2014, 11:50 AM

62 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Dec 30 2014, 10:13 AM)
Why not? Only you need to re-calibrate again.
i forgot to mention that adding 2 more speakers to 5.1 speakers. it will not cause any issues or spoils to my 375?
jihmie
post Dec 30 2014, 12:16 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Dec 30 2014, 11:54 AM)
Sorry, just check the website, yours are 5.1 only right? If yes, then you can't simply add another pair of speakers.
ic. thanks bro thumbup.gif
jihmie
post Dec 30 2014, 03:07 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Dec 30 2014, 02:44 PM)
Most AV amps are more or less the same(on the speaker wiring).
You can add another pair of speakers, but if it is from different spec, it will affect the speaker output you plug in.
Not to mention the impedance.So it is not advisable.
ic. i guess i just stick to what i have right now. thanks for the info bro
jihmie
post Dec 30 2014, 03:52 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Dec 30 2014, 03:14 PM)
Get your 5.1 right will be the best way thumbup.gif

noted bro. thanks icon_rolleyes.gif

0.0468sec    0.65    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 11:26 PM