Yamaha AVR Thread v2.00, Discussions about Yamaha AVR
ediaikau
May 4 2010, 11:29 PM

guys i've just got a yammy rx-v465 this week. i have 3 hdmi input - ps3,dvd & xbox. the problem i have is when i watch dvd the decoder keeps turning off every 1 minute and then turns back on again. So what u get is a break in sound every 1 minute. But the ps3 and xbox is fine. I call the installer (desa ht) and they claim that it could be that the hdmi cable for my dvd could be faulty. Any feedback from our sifu's here.? Your help is very much appreciated.
ediaikau
May 16 2010, 11:34 AM

hi all sifus here, quick question. i've just gotten a rx-v465 model last month for rm1.5k from desa. overall pretty satisfied with the receiver.but i notive it doesn't display the audio format on the screen whether its dts or dolby tru-hd.how do i get it to display the audio format?
ediaikau
May 27 2010, 09:46 AM

how do i get my 465 to display dts-tru hd/dolby hd whenever it decodes? every time i play blu-ray with dolby/dts hd it only shows pro-logic2. any sifu here can help?
ediaikau
May 27 2010, 10:47 PM

i'm using my ps3. can ps3 decodes dts/dolby hd? if it cant shouldn't the 465 detects it? sorry bro, i'm a nb...  Added on May 27, 2010, 10:51 pmQUOTE(maskedchan @ May 27 2010, 01:16 PM) did u play pirated bluray or dvd?  original bluray bro...pirated disc is not encouraged here.  Added on May 27, 2010, 10:53 pmQUOTE(LoonFay @ May 27 2010, 04:06 PM) What model of your Blu-Ray player are you using, u need to set it to bitstream rather than PCM, in order for your 465 to decode the signal to HD format. i'm using my ps3 bro. currently its set at pcm. This post has been edited by ediaikau: May 27 2010, 10:53 PM
ediaikau
May 27 2010, 11:14 PM

QUOTE(htkaki @ May 27 2010, 11:02 PM) Set it to bitstream. If you are using PS3 slim, then it is able to bitstream HD audio and those codecs will be displayed at avr. Ori ver PS3 can only do MPCM. shoot i'm using the old ps3 fat version. whats mpcm? does that mean i cant enjoy HD audio? even if it goes through the 465?
ediaikau
May 28 2010, 04:16 PM

thanks to all sifu for your feedback. anyhow i manage to google this:- http://hd.engadget.com/2009/04/21/hd-101-h...-with-your-ps3/hope it can be useful to whoever might need it.
ediaikau
May 29 2010, 06:14 PM

QUOTE(skidd @ May 29 2010, 11:52 AM) hi guys anyone know where i can get a Yamaha RX-V465 around pj area? and how much the estimated price? The last place i surveyed in pj was Legend in SS2, but they were quoting rm1.6k for it. In the end i bought at Desa HT kepong branch for rm1.5k.