Yamaha AVR Thread v2.00, Discussions about Yamaha AVR

cfkian
post Jan 12 2013, 12:05 AM

35 posts

QUOTE(kingkong1 @ Jan 11 2013, 11:05 PM)
473 - RM1300
573 - RM1600
673 - RM1900
Hi King Kong1, may i know where you can get this offer?
cfkian
post Feb 19 2013, 08:23 PM

35 posts

Planning to buy a home theater system, my house is going to start renovation this week. Has aimed for 473 setup with yamaha speakers budget around 3.5K-3.8K. The sales person in HN advised me to get the speaker cables installed first and he has the source to for RM7.00 per meter, how do you think? What speaker cable are you guys using and where to buy it? Hope to get advise from sifu-sifu here. Cheers.
cfkian
post Feb 19 2013, 11:00 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Feb 19 2013, 10:32 PM)
You can go to jalan pasar. There is wide range of speaker cable and cheaper.
I did planned to go jalan pasar and i told the sales rep about this. He commented that all the cables in jalan pasar are from China and is lower quality. Therefore I hope to get the sharing of experience from you guys (pioneer of Yamaha Home Theater System) if it is ok to get from jalan pasar.

Thank you very much
cfkian
post Feb 20 2013, 09:42 PM

35 posts

Thank you for all your advise and i have more confident now. I will go to jalan pasar to get the cables.... I need around 80 feet only (about 24m). Cheers smile.gif
cfkian
post Feb 20 2013, 09:44 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(shadowblack @ Feb 19 2013, 11:13 PM)
I use bose original speaker from their HTiB.Around rm80 I bought for around 30 meter I think.If you want I can try ask my friend
Thank you very much for your helpful offer, i will go jalan pasar to get the normal cables smile.gif
cfkian
post Dec 9 2013, 07:56 PM

35 posts

Hello everybody, I have been following this thread for a very long time, finally bought yamaha 575 for my first surround HT and is quite happy with it after using for 2 week. Want to ask a question, is it normal that the subwoofer are not functioning if I play the sound in stereo mode?

cfkian
post Dec 11 2013, 10:37 AM

35 posts

Well, guess I will have to accept the fact that yamaha receiver doesn't play with subwoofer for stereo mode. But why is it sound when I change the front setting to small? I know this maybe has been discussed in earlier tread but it's too many thread to look back to... Any sifu here can teach me what is this "large" and "small" setup is? Cheers
cfkian
post Dec 11 2013, 05:45 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(chungf1 @ Dec 11 2013, 05:30 PM)
Set speaker Large will not activate subwoofer. (Speaker sound as full range) - Set this if HT without subwoofer.

Set speaker Small will activate subwoofer. (Speaker sound will crossover to subwoofer) - Set this if HT with subwoofer.
Oic, thank u very much or the explanation. Which mean my setting is wrong... I set my front to "large".. ... Will set it back and test.

cfkian
post Dec 11 2013, 09:08 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Dec 11 2013, 05:48 PM)
There is a lot of infor back there and detail. If you lazy to read, you loose a lot.
You are totally right, I must be more hardworking from now on. Set the speaker to 'small', now the woofer working perfectly smile.gif
cfkian
post Dec 11 2013, 09:12 PM

35 posts

What do u guys think is better for woofer crossover? 60hz or 80hz? I found that the woofer giving a very deep base if I use 80hz, 60hz will be lesser of the boomy sound. Am I correct on this? (My woofer is paradigm pdr80).
cfkian
post Dec 12 2013, 12:39 AM

35 posts

QUOTE(willkso @ Dec 11 2013, 11:39 PM)
Usual the crossover was set at 80Hz at AVR but that's up to individual preference
Alright then... I will follow majority... Let me maintain at 80hz and try for a while. Thanks

0.0468sec    0.68    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 03:12 AM