4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Samsung I8000 Omnia II v2, All-in-one. Redefined

SUSMatrix
post Nov 2 2009, 03:47 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(HM_Apfelbomb @ Nov 2 2009, 03:34 PM)
Thanks for the link..Samsung customer service gal just called me up about 15 minutes ago up to check for more details– warranty card and proof of purchase resit which I have submitted to Mobile City when making the complaint. My mistake, I forgot to duplicate those documents. What I have now is only service acknowledgement form from the outlet (complete with their company stamp). Anyway she promised to call me back once she get more details from the outlet or service center.

rgds
Good to hear, hope you can get it resolved ASAP. At least the SC people is taking initiative to call u up, which is a good sign. rclxms.gif

Seriously, i think the dealer outlet is trying to play you out...'no spare battery' in the whole Penang island?? doh.gif Hopefully the SC will give u a 1 to 1 exchange ASAP.

SUSMatrix
post Nov 3 2009, 09:19 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(HM_Apfelbomb @ Nov 3 2009, 09:06 PM)
guys,

I got my new replacement phone sharp at 6:30pm today, on the 2nd day after I wrote the official email to Samsung yesterday. Confirmed SN, checked for any abnomalities and now i'm back exploring the phone's features.

Key take aways:
1. Samsung CS responding to my official email and attending to my complaints is A++ (for a Malaysian std). U hear that Samsung..let;s give credits where credits due.. rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
2. However their processing time of replacement or cash back policy need improvement. One month? C'mon..
3. I think this Mobile City outlet was trying their best to help me getting the replacement (albeit all the esclations though). I have no problem buying a new phone from them again in future. However, my advice is when buying new phone, make sure to choose an authorized outlet. Better still go to big authorized outlet which has few units on hand. U will have better chance to get replacemetn on the spot if anything goes wrong. The outlet where i bought the phone basically only has only one set any one time. T
4. Tough luck for all the SG sets
5. if u are shopping for new O2 , avoid a set with SN: 3523 4403 0504 795 at all cost..dont tell me i didn't warn u...
Any further input??
Glad to hear you sort it out. Based on your feedback, i've to say Samsung did a very good job...but still the lower level grunts are not taking enough action and it's only when the bigger bosses are notified then only action can be seen.

btw, I don't believe those 8 hours charge first time myth...we are using lithium ion batteries nowadays, not nickel cadmium anymore....it's not needed.
SUSMatrix
post Nov 10 2009, 12:36 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(cired @ Nov 9 2009, 10:00 PM)
hi everyone...

i did a survey with i8000 , and comparing with diamond 2...
i love i8000 very much due to AMOLED screen...

but , when slide the samsung UI.. few a bit lag leh...is it common with others owner too..?

i check on it last weekend at mid valley and the unit still in WM6.1 ..
is it available in retail with WM6.5 ?

currently I'm HTC user , too me is quite ok...but this i8000 really attractive... any comment guys.??
Frankly, the SAMSUNG HomeScreen UI sucks sh***. And yes, it's pretty laggy. But once you entered into the other sub menu, it is quite fast. Only the homescreen with those widgets damn slow. Personally, i would prefer SPB shell, so zippy. Hopefully, with the WM 6.5 coming, it should be much faster and better and u can turn off the Samsung UI permanently.
SUSMatrix
post Nov 17 2009, 04:56 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(my_nickleo @ Nov 17 2009, 04:47 PM)
Successfully updated.  Confirmed is Win Mo 6.5.  Need to download 406MB update file, took bout 1 hour to upgrade.
Wow. Thanks for the good news. smile.gif

So is the process easy? Otherwise, i'll just send it to Samsung SC for update. Yours is ori FMG/brightstar set right?
SUSMatrix
post Nov 18 2009, 02:55 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(shutterdll @ Nov 18 2009, 01:35 PM)
wonder if service centre will layan us  sad.gif
As long as urs is FMG or Brightstar set, of course.
SUSMatrix
post Nov 19 2009, 05:46 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

I've just received a call from Samsung SC. They informed the WM 6.5 is now available for Omnia II. (I've called them up a few weeks ago and asked them to inform me when the firmware is available).

thumbup.gif

Indeed, very good customer service. smile.gif I'll go update maybe on Saturday....hehe. Let them do it better than me download and flash...all my PCs are Windows 7 anyway....
SUSMatrix
post Nov 23 2009, 01:20 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

Tried to update the via NPS, but after downloading the file, the phone shuts off and the software just hangs and nothing happen.

Using VISTA SP2....i guess i just have to make a trip to Samsung SC...sigh..
SUSMatrix
post Dec 4 2009, 09:31 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(JasonMania @ Dec 3 2009, 06:36 PM)
It is quite sluggish and laggy , always get into some problem with device and I have to restart the whole thing which takes a long time , like last time I try to get into my sms through the widget than it wouldn't go , so I tried restarting the device than it is fixed, so i run into little things like that all the time.

I love the screen and the camera it is the best i have tried so far , but the phone operation is not smooth at all , it is getting quite annoying for me... thinking of selling it getting a simpler phone....I guess i just hate windows mobile 6.5, and I expected the device to be much faster before I buy i did research on the internet everyone was saying oh it is very fast phone got 800 mhz processor , honestly i don't feel it being very powerful ,

I think the hardware is great but the software is ruining the experience for me, if only there was a way to put another OS like android or something else like we do with laptops it would have been great , but it is not possible at the moment.. , we got such a beautiful screen but the windows mobile os cannot doesn't have wide color range which means the AMOLED screen is not efficient with this OS? Samsung shouldn't have used windows mobile for this device,.

what do you all think ?
The laggy is mostly due to Samsung widgets. IMO, it is best use SPB Shell 3.5 instead of Samsung's UI, to truly maximise the speed of this phone. All your lag will be gone and it's a hell lot more customisable. My wife prefer to stick to the Samsung's UI though... blink.gif

I don't find the 65K color an issue, since i don't watch videos on mobiles anyway. It still looks better than my Nokia 5800 with 16 million colors.
SUSMatrix
post Dec 5 2009, 04:50 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(animegod @ Dec 5 2009, 11:07 AM)
hmm.. I hope it's true.. The current firmware really lags behind winmo 6.1
Just updated my wife's phone to WinMo 6.5 this morning at Samsung's SC after repeated failed attempt to do it via NPS.

I found it to be much faster than Win 6.1, especially the widgets. In Winmo 6.1, the widgets are the main reason the phone lags. Now the widgets startup time is much faster! Dunno what u guys are complaining about.....can't wait to install back SPB and other stuff into it. Flipping the homescreen left/right is also faster and more responsive!

WinMo 6.5 FTW!
thumbup.gif

Added on December 5, 2009, 5:00 pm
QUOTE(nghj @ Dec 4 2009, 10:42 AM)
so, samsung's lag issue is bcos of the TouchWiz UI?
if i disable it and use default winmo 6.5 UI or SPB, it will be OK?

any apps that lag?
In 6.1 the lag is mainly in the homescreen, whenever u flip next page, widgets reload again. Frankly, the only lag part is the main homescreen. If u use SPB, no such issue. Very fast, even the 3D spinning carousel(whatever u call that).

In 6.5, the homescreen has improved very much, but still not as speedy as SPB 3.5 in WinMo 6.1. Haven't try SPB 3.5 in WInMo 6.5, but i expect it to be just as speedy.

Right now, i'm very jealous of wife's phone....makes my Nokia 5800 looks so uncool.... laugh.gif But my 5800 auto-rotate is still better than Omnia II though. I still wonder why the Omnia II doesn't auto rotate everywhere...doh.gif

This post has been edited by Matrix: Dec 5 2009, 05:00 PM
SUSMatrix
post Dec 5 2009, 08:39 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(animegod @ Dec 5 2009, 08:33 PM)
ahh... the lag part doesn't always happen. After clean install it's always without problem. Same like pc win os. But when you start installing software which consumes RAM then it'll lag, from time to time, not all the time. Sometimes it lags for no reason at all. Soft reset will always fix the lag, however, how many of us do a soft reset at least once in a week?

about the auto rotate, omnia i900 can auto rotate everywhere. It might be due to the winmo 6.5, but I'm not sure. There is a registry fix to enable rotate everywhere for omnia 2 but I forgot which part needs to be changed. It has been discussed in other forums.

Anyway, Omnia 2 is still a very good phone. Which smartphones out there that doesn't have hiccups sometimes?

Oh, just found it. Here's the guide for tweaking your omnia 2. Omnia 2 Tweak
Can't agree with you. I've installed quite a lot of apps when i was using 6.1...using SPB 3.5, there was no lag. And the 6.1 homescreen was about the same lagging speed when there wasn't anything installed either.

This post has been edited by Matrix: Dec 5 2009, 08:40 PM
SUSMatrix
post Dec 6 2009, 11:29 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(cutypuppy @ Dec 5 2009, 05:35 PM)
New problem discover, dunno is it the ROM problem, i update using Samsung NPS, whenever i plug in as USB Storage for file transfer with my laptop, after done, remove the phone, the phone it become slow, pls. help to check which version your using, My is IJ9. how about your, especially those update by samsung SC & claim the phone is faster & stable.
Done more testing tonight. Installed back some apps, restotred previous backup b4 firmware update, configured the home WIFI, and transfer files to/from using the Sync/File Manager using the USB connection multiple times. No problem at all. thumbup.gif
SUSMatrix
post Dec 8 2009, 11:03 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

Help! I've setup to e-mail account on the Omnia ii, 1 is an Outlook (not working due to incomplete settings) and 1 is a Hotmail account. However, it always tries to connect to 3G/GPRS when try to send/receive e-mail even when WIFI is available!

I tried to delete these accounts but the 'DELETE' function is dim and i can't delete it!

Anybody has an answer??? Can soft reset solve this? How to do the soft-reset again? I can't find back the steps... cry.gif

HEEEELLLPP!!
SUSMatrix
post Dec 9 2009, 09:20 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(Dothan @ Dec 9 2009, 08:47 AM)
Use Wifi drains more than 3G...
I'm not worried about battery drain...i'm worry about data charges!!!! sweat.gif Basically, i want the e-mail to access only WIFI, no 3G, no GPRS, no EDGE. Possible??

Added on December 9, 2009, 9:21 am
QUOTE(dougnut225 @ Dec 9 2009, 03:52 AM)
OR you can set the mail to be retrieved manually. or you can go to setting-memory setting-clear memory. this step will revert your phone to default setting and delete all your data.

To set the schedule. Click start-email-'select the email account'. Then click menu-options-'click the hotmail account on the account tab and you should see the {send/receive schedule} option. Click it and set to manual. hope this will help smile.gif
well, battery's life depends on several factors ( including the chosen cpu performance, backlight, 3g usage, wifi usage,.....). Mainly, I use mine to sync with exchange server, several hours of wifi, listening about two hours of music everyday. with the cpu performance set to auto and backlight turned off i need to charge my battery in between 1.5 or 2 days. If you use 3g broadband it will drain your battery much more faster
What does delete all data means? Contacts? Installed apps? Photos and videos took with the camera? Will these be deleted also?

This post has been edited by Matrix: Dec 9 2009, 09:21 AM
SUSMatrix
post Dec 23 2009, 01:01 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

Guys, got one problem. I can't seem to find my GPS XTRA setting screen. Where is it? The phone has been updated to official WinMo 6.5 I remember can find it easily in 6.1, has this screen been removed???

I don't have problem locking though, but i dunno if it is using GPS or A-GPS becoz i can't find that screen!

SUSMatrix
post Dec 23 2009, 01:15 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(JasonMania @ Dec 23 2009, 01:03 PM)
it is under General settings , than click GPS. it is there
Damn...i dunno why i didn't saw that earlier..must be standing under the hot blinding sun makes my eyes blurred or something. Thanks. found it now.
SUSMatrix
post Dec 28 2009, 11:48 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

I have some problem with bluetooth...tried connecting to my PC, but it shows me a screen to enable active sync...i press the active screen and it can't enable and it go back to that screen with the circles and the device is not not shown it's connecting ( no dotted lines).

What is the best way to just send some files over via bluetooth? On my Nokia 5800, all i do is enable bluetooth, mark the files i want and click send...how to do it on Omnia II???

Added on December 28, 2009, 11:54 am
QUOTE(kkm @ Dec 26 2009, 04:21 PM)
That is more or less the price that a couple of forummers here sell, plus you don't incur the cost of going there...
I agree. Just went to Spore for Christmas. It's not worth it to go there just to buy a phone. The price is almost the same here...

I suppose you can get Omnia II around SGD650=RM 1625 (@RM2.5=1SGD)....u can find seller in LYN selling at RM1650 to RM1.8K. Sure beats the hell going there.

But i'm not sure what set is these...are these AP sets? Is there such a thing as AP sets in Spore? I went to Funan Digital Mall and they all sell at retail price (about RM2,399 or more after conversion). Sim Lim Square can get for SGD690 ( I only asked one shop, but i bet u can get SGD 650 from other shops or after hagg;le). But why is the price difference so great? It still cost SGD 8xx in Funan with official retail price.

Anyone knows??

I asked one shop...HTC HD2 can be have for SGD 890 = RM2225 only...drool.gif...but dunno what's the package lar...official set in Funan is SGD 1180=RM2,950. About same official price here.

This post has been edited by Matrix: Dec 28 2009, 11:54 AM
SUSMatrix
post Dec 28 2009, 12:04 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(mike86 @ Dec 28 2009, 11:58 AM)
if not mistaken,those set they bring in mostly is Singtel, M1 or Starhub set which is who renew their contract, bought it with a contract price.....so it is cheaper.
Then how are they going to honour contract? Or is it they sell the line separately to local Singaporeans?? hmm.gif
SUSMatrix
post Dec 30 2009, 11:18 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

[quote=thena123,Dec 29 2009, 03:28 AM]
[quote=Matrix,Dec 28 2009, 11:48 AM]

Added on December 28, 2009, 11:54 am
I agree. Just went to Spore for Christmas. It's not worth it to go there just to buy a phone. The price is almost the same here...

I suppose you can get Omnia II around SGD650=RM 1625 (@RM2.5=1SGD)....u can find seller in LYN selling at RM1650 to RM1.8K. Sure beats the hell going there.
Who in garage is the most trustworthy to get this phone from?

[/quote]
You can trust ME. But i am not selling phones...LOL.

Just look around to see some feedbacks. I think there's about 2 or 3 sellers commonly selling Omnia II. The guy selling at 1.6xxK having problem with supplier currently, so rule him out. But at RM1.8k...really, i'll just buy at LowYat for RM2k...full Samsung warranty Zitron/Brightstar sets.

Added on December 30, 2009, 11:26 pm[quote=KiNd3rbU3no,Dec 28 2009, 07:50 PM]
can buy at Far East Plaza~
dun go other place..LOL

they provide agent set and sign lin set and export set~

Q6 - What is 'Agent Set','Sign-Line Set'and 'Export-Set' as listed in your website ?
A6 - 'Agent Set' are stocks supplied directly from the respective authorised distributors.
'Sign-Line Set' are stocks sourced directly from subscriber who signed a contract with their service provider but do not need the new phones.
'Export-Set' are phones imported from overseas, therefore there is no local agent warranty and shop warranty.
They are BRAND NEW PHONES and come with a 1-year manufacturer's warranty, except for Export Sets

for Omnia 2~
Agent Set S$668.00
Sign-line Set S$638.00

i will go singapore buy Omnia 2 these few days~
with tis price~LOL..since singapore is just behind my house...LOL

[/quote]
Thanks for this most useful info...i know where to go next time...

SGD 638=RM1.6k...so i guess the cheapest is around there..but is it full set with bluetooth headphone and 4GB memory card?

This post has been edited by Matrix: Dec 30 2009, 11:26 PM
SUSMatrix
post Jan 4 2010, 09:19 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

QUOTE(JasonMania @ Jan 2 2010, 12:02 PM)
You are probably using windows 7 or windows vista to do it , that causes problem ,

there is a solution for it installing Win Xp drivers on vista or windows 7 , however if you are not tech-savvy i would recommend just taking to the Samsung Customer service , they will do it for you in less than an hour , and it is free .
Yeah, just take it to Samsung SC...the one at Federal Highway rocks...you can drink free Nescafe/Teh Tarik, while enjoying big screen LED TVs running bluray discs in the waiting area.

I've tried Win 7, VISTA. XP and i still can't update my phone. Dun bother. Just go SC and enjoy!!!

This post has been edited by Matrix: Jan 4 2010, 09:20 AM
SUSMatrix
post Jan 5 2010, 09:56 PM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

Guys, i need a Voice Command app for the Omnia II. I've tried this Voice Command 1.6 software, but it is behaving very weird.

1) After successful installation, it doesn't shows the icon anywhere. I only manage to run it from using the windows explorer and running the EXE.
2) The EXE will run for a few second and shows an icon on top of the screen. It doesn't work well. I said 'Call XXXX at mobile' then only it shows me the contact, but it doesn't seems to dial the screen.
3) After a while, the icon on top dissapear and i have to re-run the EXE again. I can't assign it to a button either because it is not in the APP list!!!

What can i do? Is there a better voice command software? The built in voice command on my Nokia 5800 is so much easier to use...and works beautifully...doh.gif

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0621sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 03:21 AM