7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Bottom

Stock Market V40, Do you believe in October Myth?

David_Brent
post Sep 29 2009, 09:37 PM

Caveat Emptor
3,423 posts

QUOTE(simplesmile @ Sep 29 2009, 09:25 PM)
Hai-O has been good to me. This stock is becoming my baby.
I am in love with Hai-O...but the first love of my life is MKLAND....
.....You NEVER forget your first time! laugh.gif
David_Brent
post Sep 29 2009, 09:39 PM

Caveat Emptor
3,423 posts

QUOTE(diabolus @ Sep 29 2009, 08:42 PM)
KUALA LUMPUR: Berjaya Corp Bhd has proposed a corporate exercise involving the injection of two units - Singer(M) Sdn Bhd and 7-Eleven  Malaysia Sdn Bhd - under a new holding company Berjaya Retail Bhd (B-Retail) which will then be listed.

BCorp said on Sept 29 it would spin off Singer to B-retail which would then acquire 7-Eleven. This would involve the sale of Singer to B-Retail for RM360.0 million to be settled by new B-Retail  ordinary Shares, irredeemable convertible preference shares (ICPS) and some cash.

The ICPS have a tenure of 10 years and are convertible into ordinary Shares at par by merely surrendering the relevant number of ICPS for an equivalent number of Ordinary Shares.  The ICPS carry a preference dividend of 1.0% for the first 3 years and 2.0% for the remaining tenure of seven years.

B-Retail will also acquire 100% of 7-Eleven for RM600 million to be also settled by a combination of new B-Retail ordinary shares, ICPS and cash.

B-Corp is proposing to distribute the ordinary shares to its shareholders as a dividend-in-specie on the basis of one B-Retail ordinary  share of 50 sen each  for every 10 B-Corp shares held.

Tan Sri Vincent Tan Chee Yioun, BCorp chairman/CEO as well as the controlling shareholder is beneficially interested in 100% of 7-Eleven. Tan, through his family companies and B-Corp will hold more than 50% interest in B-Retail upon its listing and on the assumption that all the ICPS are converted, his interests will rise to between 73.8% to 83.8%.
[U]

Good news for BJCORP?
Sounds to me like Vince is running out of dosh. And, given his track record, I'm not surprised.
I'd rather rub broken glass into my eyes than "invest" in anything to do with VT.

He's trying to dump his crap hotels at the bottom of the property cycle as well. So - something's up. IMHO.

P.S. Anyone here ever stayed in Vince's London hotel, or on Redang or Langkawi??
Ghastly - truly awful...indescribably bad .....

This post has been edited by David_Brent: Sep 29 2009, 09:46 PM
David_Brent
post Sep 29 2009, 09:43 PM

Caveat Emptor
3,423 posts

QUOTE(coffeelover1975 @ Sep 29 2009, 09:37 PM)
Hmm....this stock does seem attractive with low PE, but this quarter no dividend has been declared.
They will. Watch this space! rclxm9.gif
David_Brent
post Sep 29 2009, 10:20 PM

Caveat Emptor
3,423 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Sep 29 2009, 10:09 PM)
your TA cheong laugh.gif
Pana tai-tai (datin) - you also holding TA? laugh.gif

Added on September 29, 2009, 10:21 pm
QUOTE(jasontoh @ Sep 29 2009, 10:19 PM)
Tomorrow see TA at 1.6, by Friday 2.00  tongue.gif
icon_idea.gif rclxm9.gif brows.gif

Added on September 29, 2009, 10:23 pm
QUOTE(teehk_tee @ Sep 29 2009, 10:08 PM)
hahaha!
i don't. but all this talk about Hai-O stirred up my interest!
I bought Hai-O on Friday brows.gif
Make up for my many mistakes - especially OILCRAP rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by David_Brent: Sep 29 2009, 10:23 PM
David_Brent
post Sep 29 2009, 10:27 PM

Caveat Emptor
3,423 posts

QUOTE(jasontoh @ Sep 29 2009, 10:25 PM)
This week David must be one very happy man
Nope...we got RED WEDNESDAY tomolo sweat.gif

Added on September 29, 2009, 10:28 pm
QUOTE(protonw @ Sep 29 2009, 10:26 PM)
David, you still hold TA.  I dumped all.  cry.gif
Still got 10K units....dunno when to sell though... hmm.gif
That's my problem - when to sell...... icon_question.gif icon_question.gif

This post has been edited by David_Brent: Sep 29 2009, 10:28 PM
David_Brent
post Sep 29 2009, 10:31 PM

Caveat Emptor
3,423 posts

QUOTE(jasontoh @ Sep 29 2009, 10:29 PM)
If that is the case, I can invest already. My funds from US has just arrived  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
Go for it man!
Jason Toh Market Maker!!

Added on September 29, 2009, 10:33 pm
QUOTE(simplesmile @ Sep 29 2009, 10:30 PM)
I'm having a dilemma now. Should I divert my part of my EPF to mutual fund, or wait until after October?

I'm scared that October will rally because of the Budget 2010. So, I should transfer from EPF now?

On the other hand, I've been reading more and more analyst reports that the market is overbought and that a correction is coming soon.
Don't worry SS...EVERYONE on here has the same dilemma... hmm.gif
A problem shared is a problem halved..... nod.gif

This post has been edited by David_Brent: Sep 29 2009, 10:33 PM
David_Brent
post Sep 29 2009, 10:48 PM

Caveat Emptor
3,423 posts

QUOTE(protonw @ Sep 29 2009, 10:40 PM)
Your hai-o and ta fly.  Good for you. I killed my golden goose dee.  icon_question.gif

When to sell?  When you think it has generates enough profits that you are looking for. Remember it goes up and it will come down and nobody knows when is peak. icon_rolleyes.gif For me I take profits when I see enough $$$ it has generates for me for certain % of my portfolio which I have bought with cash that not suppose to spend.  So collecting some cash back and will shoot when opportunities come.  drool.gif 0

The rest I will wait for CI 1400 maybe.  tongue.gif Holding tight.
Thanks PROTON - very wise words and hugely appreciated notworthy.gif
Taking profit is definitely part of the 'art' of investment.... hmm.gif
I managed it with KNM (at 1.03) and a few others counters but not easy to do...which is why I think all you guys and gals on here are truly amazing sharing advice, views and news etc.... nod.gif
David_Brent
post Sep 30 2009, 10:34 AM

Caveat Emptor
3,423 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Sep 30 2009, 10:32 AM)
regional market changed green.

will we follow suit? rolleyes.gif
End of quarter window dressing? hmm.gif
David_Brent
post Sep 30 2009, 11:06 AM

Caveat Emptor
3,423 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Sep 30 2009, 11:01 AM)
morning red, afternoon green

it is FKLI settlement day! monkey should be coming out pushing the index to make it close in green, mai guess.
I think you're right. They may be waiting for Mr. Najib to make his announcement on the Middle East investment from those blokes he met on the beach in France recently..... hmm.gif
David_Brent
post Sep 30 2009, 11:16 AM

Caveat Emptor
3,423 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Sep 30 2009, 11:10 AM)
and do you know how TA gets its name?

my dad shares with me

TA = Tony & Alicia, they are the MD & CEO of TA Enterprise. relationship: husband & wife. biggrin.gif
Oh bless! laugh.gif
David_Brent
post Sep 30 2009, 07:27 PM

Caveat Emptor
3,423 posts

QUOTE(mopster @ Sep 30 2009, 07:23 PM)
Rambutan in a glimpse:
1H net profit 372.941 million (increased 10.45%) 
2nd interim gross dividend of 17.5 sen less Tax 25%

Ex-Date 21/10/09, long time more tongue.gif

gonna go through the report after dinner..
Just had a quick look.
Some very nice numbers considering....
rclxms.gif
David_Brent
post Sep 30 2009, 10:07 PM

Caveat Emptor
3,423 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Sep 30 2009, 10:02 PM)
aww not good, fall 1.30% right now.

what happened... because of the natural disaster happened in Sumatra? sweat.gif
Too early in the day to tell. nod.gif
David_Brent
post Sep 30 2009, 10:16 PM

Caveat Emptor
3,423 posts

Well - it is only a reading on Chicago-area factory activity that registered 46.1 - not nationwide.

I hope the market will keep its perspective especially since the Commerce Department report showed that the economy contracted at a 0.7% rate in the second quarter, better than the earlier estimated 1% annual rate of decline.

No big deal IMHO.
David_Brent
post Sep 30 2009, 10:31 PM

Caveat Emptor
3,423 posts

QUOTE(protonw @ Sep 30 2009, 10:19 PM)
Buy more Dialog on dips.  rclxms.gif
I sold my DIALOG last week at 1.26 because I thought the PE was too high hmm.gif
I used the dosh to buy HAI-O rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by David_Brent: Sep 30 2009, 10:34 PM
David_Brent
post Sep 30 2009, 11:02 PM

Caveat Emptor
3,423 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Sep 30 2009, 10:57 PM)
DJIA, sign of retreating.

come down, come down, go back to green zone biggrin.gif
It should recover because of the quarter ending and no real reason to fall - until a few scaredy cat party poopers got worried about a minor report out of Chicago nod.gif

Added on September 30, 2009, 11:04 pm
QUOTE(claricecmw @ Sep 30 2009, 11:00 PM)
mopster mopster how many units u hv with Tanjong? Do u think it can fly high OVER 16  flex.gif  in these few days? I remember cherroy taikor said might not... sad.gif
It's tried three times now to breach 16.00 - one day it will make it..... hmm.gif

This post has been edited by David_Brent: Sep 30 2009, 11:04 PM
David_Brent
post Oct 1 2009, 01:11 AM

Caveat Emptor
3,423 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Oct 1 2009, 12:43 AM)
Matter of time only, due to economy growth and inflation.  icon_rolleyes.gif

During 1994, when crossing 1300 time, people talk about touching 1500, but it only happened after 14 years.  sweat.gif

So gain 200 points for holding 14 years, 200/1300 = 15% equivalent to 1% per year, much much worst than FD
Actually - looked at it historically - the world has been in a bear market for the past 20+ years hmm.gif
David_Brent
post Oct 1 2009, 10:11 AM

Caveat Emptor
3,423 posts

Seems like there's no stopping Haio... hmm.gif
David_Brent
post Oct 1 2009, 10:18 AM

Caveat Emptor
3,423 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Oct 1 2009, 10:15 AM)
you are one happy man! biggrin.gif

should be able to cover back your loss on oilcrap huh?
Getting there....what a mistake that was! doh.gif
By the way - would be interesting to compare different stop-loss strategies.
Does anyone have a particular approach to this? Percentage? Time? Others...?

This post has been edited by David_Brent: Oct 1 2009, 10:20 AM
David_Brent
post Oct 1 2009, 10:28 AM

Caveat Emptor
3,423 posts

QUOTE(tookinen @ Oct 1 2009, 10:25 AM)
haio and zhulian putting on a show brows.gif
HAIO got suspiciously low volume though... hmm.gif
David_Brent
post Oct 1 2009, 10:45 AM

Caveat Emptor
3,423 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Oct 1 2009, 10:42 AM)
OT

i love my new avatar laugh.gif
Doh! doh.gif
I just went out to buy a new video card! laugh.gif

7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.0440sec    0.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 08:42 PM