HELP! Does Sony DAV-DZ870KW HT Support HDMI?, Gonna connect samsung LA40B550K1R LCD

TSpico23
post Sep 11 2009, 01:57 AM, updated 17y ago

anyone know that if Sony DAV-DZ870KW HT Support HDMI??

i'm plan to buy samsung series 5 550 40" LCD tv (LA40B550K1R) which is fully HD and match with Sony DAV-DZ870KW Home theater which is on sale for good price.

but in this forum (http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1056027/+20) it says not support.

but the spec in sony website stated it does have HDMI output 1080p. but is that same as DVD upscale to 1080p? what does it mean??

TQ!
azbro
post Sep 11 2009, 10:21 AM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(pico23 @ Sep 11 2009, 01:57 AM)
anyone know that if Sony DAV-DZ870KW HT Support HDMI??

i'm plan to buy samsung series 5 550 40" LCD tv (LA40B550K1R) which is fully HD and match with Sony DAV-DZ870KW Home theater which is on sale for good price.

but in this forum (http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1056027/+20) it says not support.

but the spec in sony website stated it does have HDMI output 1080p. but is that same as DVD upscale to 1080p? what does it mean??

TQ!
Hold your horses bro...when you talk abt connections, it is mostly what goes in and what goes out.

That Sony has HDMI output to the LCD. The word is 'OUTPUT'
Best thing is, as will every other player with HDMI connections, the built in DVD images will be upscaled to 1080p to be sent to the HDMI output.
But take note, even with DVD video is upscaled to 1080p, the difference is minor only.
To get the best source of 1080p, the source itself has to be HD. Example Bluray Disc or MKV files.

Most HTiB systems only support HDMI output, but if you want to connect a PS3, WDTV, and other stuff with HDMI to the DAV-DZ870KW it is not supported. Simple to say, it doesn't have HDMI 'INPUTS'.

So please separate the word 'OUTPUT' and 'INPUT'

azxel
post Sep 11 2009, 10:50 AM

moological mooster
3,421 posts

if I'm correct, the Sony DAV-DZ870KW is just a normal HTIB (with DVD player)

The HDMI output on the DVD player cum receiver upscales your movies to display on your LCD TV. It won't look as fantastic as what you would find on a Blu Ray but it would look slightly.. yea, just slightly better than what you would get if you use a normal DVD player with a Composite output.

So, if you were to get this Sony HTIB. The restrictions when you get a Blu Ray player in the future would be that you won't be able to get lossless audio. This is due to the lack of HDMI input on this Sony system.

So, if you're not into HD yet then get it... if you are, there's that new Sony model that you should consider looking at...

BDV-E800W
BDV-E300
BDV-IT1000
TSpico23
post Sep 11 2009, 10:55 AM

QUOTE(azbro @ Sep 11 2009, 10:21 AM)
Hold your horses bro...when you talk abt connections, it is mostly what goes in and what goes out.

That Sony has HDMI output to the LCD. The word is 'OUTPUT'
Best thing is, as will every other player with HDMI connections, the built in DVD images will be upscaled to 1080p to be sent to the HDMI output.
But take note, even with DVD video is upscaled to 1080p, the difference is minor only.
To get the best source of 1080p, the source itself has to be HD. Example Bluray Disc or MKV files.

Most HTiB systems only support HDMI output, but if you want to connect a PS3, WDTV, and other stuff with HDMI to the DAV-DZ870KW it is not supported. Simple to say, it doesn't have HDMI 'INPUTS'.

So please separate the word 'OUTPUT' and 'INPUT'
Azbro .....thanks for the info...lucky i haven't bought yet....

so u mean the sony ht really don't fully support HDMI....right??

so which ht system should i go for?? how about sony DAV-F500 and DAV-dz590? r they ok?? fully support HDMI?? it stated 1080p upscale...which is better??

or any other suggestion??

thanks for your reply....it really help!!

Added on September 11, 2009, 11:07 am
QUOTE(azxel @ Sep 11 2009, 10:50 AM)
if I'm correct, the Sony DAV-DZ870KW is just a normal HTIB (with DVD player)

The HDMI output on the DVD player cum receiver upscales your movies to display on your LCD TV. It won't look as fantastic as what you would find on a Blu Ray but it would look slightly.. yea, just slightly better than what you would get if you use a normal DVD player with a Composite output.

So, if you were to get this Sony HTIB. The restrictions when you get a Blu Ray player in the future would be that you won't be able to get lossless audio. This is due to the lack of HDMI input on this Sony system.

So, if you're not into HD yet then get it... if you are, there's that new Sony model that you should consider looking at...

BDV-E800W
BDV-E300
BDV-IT1000
where can i find informations on these model u suggest? can't find in sony malaysia website.... r they on the market yet?

This post has been edited by pico23: Sep 11 2009, 11:08 AM
wackojacko
post Sep 11 2009, 11:09 AM

207 posts

what he means is that you can use HDMI to connect to your tv....

TSpico23
post Sep 11 2009, 11:13 AM

QUOTE(wackojacko @ Sep 11 2009, 11:09 AM)
what he means is that you can use HDMI to connect to your tv....
sorry...i don't get it....i'm novice....know nothing about it....can u please explain it?? tq....
azbro
post Sep 11 2009, 11:51 AM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(pico23 @ Sep 11 2009, 11:13 AM)
sorry...i don't get it....i'm novice....know nothing about it....can u please explain it?? tq....
I think you still dun get it bro..

Better I give examples rather than explanation...this is regarding Video signals...not audio.

Lets say you bought a DVD player, the DVD player is so advance that it 'upscales' the DVD lousy images to something clearer.
How do you connect the DVD player to the LCD TV?....yes...using HDMI cables.
So you connect the DVD 'HDMI out' to the 'LCD HDMI in'. Get it?

Next, example you get yourself a PS3. How do you connect the PS3 to the LCD TV?...Yes...also using the HDMI cable.
Again same as above. PS3 out to LCD in.

Question:
Do you connect the PS3 to the DVD player?....NO...because the DVD player doesn't accept the HDMI signals from the PS3.
Why on earth would you wanna connect the PS3 to the DVD player?
You should connect the DVD player to the LCD, and PS3 to the LCD as well.
THats why the LCD TV has 2~3 HDMI inputs.

Are you still following me?

If yes, now change the word "DVD player" above statement to "Sony DAV-DZ870KW".

If no, you still don't understand...which part you dun understand or doesn't fit your requirement.

If you fully understand the statement above, and want info regarding how to connect multiple DVD players, PS3 and WDTV to a single Amp, then please reply so.

TSpico23
post Sep 11 2009, 01:53 PM

QUOTE(azbro @ Sep 11 2009, 11:51 AM)
I think you still dun get it bro..

Better I give examples rather than explanation...this is regarding Video signals...not audio.

Lets say you bought a DVD player, the DVD player is so advance that it 'upscales' the DVD lousy images to something clearer.
How do you connect the DVD player to the LCD TV?....yes...using HDMI cables.
So you connect the DVD 'HDMI out' to the 'LCD HDMI in'. Get it?

Next,  example you get yourself a PS3. How do you connect the PS3 to the LCD TV?...Yes...also using the HDMI cable.
Again same as above. PS3 out to LCD in.

Question:
Do you connect the PS3 to the DVD player?....NO...because the DVD player doesn't accept the HDMI signals from the PS3.
Why on earth would you wanna connect the PS3 to the DVD player?
You should connect the DVD player to the LCD, and PS3 to the LCD as well.
THats why the LCD TV has 2~3 HDMI inputs.

Are you still following me?

If yes, now change the word "DVD player" above statement to "Sony DAV-DZ870KW".

If no, you still don't understand...which part you dun understand or doesn't fit your requirement.

If you fully understand the statement above, and want info regarding how to connect multiple DVD players, PS3 and WDTV to a single Amp, then please reply so.
u r very nice n patient....i get what u mean now....but i want to know the outcome of sony DAV-DZ870KW. do i really get HDMI quality with this model coz other says this model don't support HDMI right? if so, which model should i buy to get the HDMI output quality or closest quality to it instead of blu-ray?? (within RM2500 range)

if possible, i will buy one which can last me longer instead changing one a year later for better quality....haha....tq!

This post has been edited by pico23: Sep 11 2009, 01:54 PM
azxel
post Sep 11 2009, 02:05 PM

moological mooster
3,421 posts

There's not really such thing as HDMI quality. There' HD (High Definition) and SD (Standard). HDMI is just an 'interface', which is something you use to achieve High Definition quality. To get HD quality, your source has to be HD format to begin with, then only HDMI will be put to good use in bringing you the best audio and video experience you will get at this time.

Anyway, for the BD HTS...
http://www.sony-asia.com/productcategory/h...-theatre-system

let's simplify it further

Blu Ray Movie + PS3 or Blu Ray Player <-- HDMI cable--> LCD TV
You get the Image quality found at the top photo (see attachment)

Normal DVD movie + Sony DAV-DZ870KW <-- HDMI cable --> LCD TV
Normal DVD movie + PS3 or Blu Ray Player <-- HDMI cable --> LCD TV
You get the Image quality found at the bottom photo (see attachment)

TSpico23
post Sep 11 2009, 02:22 PM

QUOTE(azxel @ Sep 11 2009, 02:05 PM)
There's not really such thing as HDMI quality. There' HD (High Definition) and SD (Standard). HDMI is just an 'interface', which is something you use to achieve High Definition quality. To get HD quality, your source has to be HD format to begin with, then only HDMI will be put to good use in bringing you the best audio and video experience you will get at this time.

Anyway, for the BD HTS...
http://www.sony-asia.com/productcategory/h...-theatre-system

let's simplify it further

Blu Ray Movie + PS3 or Blu Ray Player <-- HDMI cable--> LCD TV
You get the Image quality found at the top photo (see attachment)

Normal DVD movie + Sony DAV-DZ870KW <-- HDMI cable --> LCD TV
Normal DVD movie + PS3 or Blu Ray Player <-- HDMI cable --> LCD TV
You get the Image quality found at the bottom photo (see attachment)
oh...ic...so if i get HD movie n use HDMI cable, will the sony DAV-DZ870KW capable to output the HD quality? the spec in sony malaysia doesn't mention that it have HDMI input. if not, how about Dav-F500, Dav-dz790k and Dav-dz590?

tq!

This post has been edited by pico23: Sep 11 2009, 02:25 PM
azbro
post Sep 11 2009, 02:46 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(pico23 @ Sep 11 2009, 01:53 PM)
u r very nice n patient....i get what u mean now....but i want to know the outcome of sony DAV-DZ870KW. do i really get HDMI quality with this model coz other says this model don't support HDMI right? if so, which model should i buy to get the HDMI output quality or closest quality to it instead of blu-ray?? (within RM2500 range)

if possible, i will buy one which can last me longer instead changing one a year later for better quality....haha....tq!
For your info HDMI is a blardy cable...and what so great abt it is it is KING right now.
In order to play HD stuff or 1080p stuff with best quality you need a HDMI cable.
HDMI is a just a cable bro....

Remember the good old days when its was VHS and VCD?, the yellow RCA rules, then come the DVD, S-Video and Component cable rules, now its Bluray and HD files...HDMI reign supreme.

Who know in a few years time technology is so advance, players will be able to pump 1540p. Then maybe they will change the HDMI cables to something else with fancy name.

For you, use a HDMI cable to connect the DAV-DZ870KW to the LCD TV.

What those guys in the forum meant abt DAV-DZ870KW not supporting HDMI is only meant for advance users.
If you wanna know, the member wanna connect a Media player (similar like a Bluray player) that is capable of output 1080p and also HD audio to the DAV-DZ870KW. Only thing is the DAV-DZ870KW doesn't accept "HDMI INPUTS".

What you need is Outputs, not inputs, so the DAV-DZ870KW should do well.

FYI, Bluray is the ultimate now, then comes HD media files (aka BDRip), then only comes the DVD.
Upscaling is a overhype thing...Upscaled DVD will never reach the levels of BDRip.

If I were you, if you want the technology to last longer than a year, I get a real AVR component system with a media player like Popcorn Hour C-200 or Dune player.

TSpico23
post Sep 11 2009, 03:10 PM

QUOTE(azbro @ Sep 11 2009, 02:46 PM)
For your info HDMI is a blardy cable...and what so great abt it is it is KING right now.
In order to play HD stuff or 1080p stuff with best quality you need a HDMI cable.

Remember the good old days when its was VHS and VCD?, the yellow RCA rules, then come the DVD, S-Video and Component cable rules, now its Bluray and HD files...HDMI reign supreme.

Who know in a few years time technology is so advance, players will be able to pump 1540p. Then maybe they will change the HDMI cables to something else with fancy name.

What those guys in the forum meant abt DAV-DZ870KW not supporting HDMI is only meant for advance users.
If you wanna know, the member wanna connect a Media player (similar like a Bluray player) that is capable of output 1080p and also HD audio to the DAV-DZ870KW. Only thing is the DAV-DZ870KW doesn't accept "HDMI INPUTS".

FYI, Bluray is the ultimate now, then comes HD media files (aka BDRip), then only comes the DVD.
Upscaling is a overhype thing...Upscaled DVD will never reach the levels of BDRip.

If I were you, if you want the technology to last longer than a year, I get a real AVR component system with a media player like  Popcorn Hour C-200 or Dune player.
thanks mate! everything is clear for me now....i misunderstood the input and output....haha!

Poadster
post Sep 11 2009, 03:19 PM

inspiRED: Fast and Furious
647 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Sep 11 2009, 02:46 PM)

If I were you, if you want the technology to last longer than a year, I get a real AVR component system with a media player like  Popcorn Hour C-200 or Dune player.
You are so patient...... bagus..... rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

At least finally he gets it.... i think he concern abt IQ (image quality)....

If you get ahem ahem real DVD dual layer (9GB) discs, downscaled from BD sources, the images are better than regular DVD.... but then, this may get TS into another round of question..... rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

Added on September 11, 2009, 3:26 pm
QUOTE(pico23 @ Sep 11 2009, 01:53 PM)

If image quality is really a concern for u, then get the Philips BDP3000 bluray disc player at RM799. The pic is true 1080p, with HDMI output. Then get a Pioneer Z777 (or the new Z787) DVD HTiB, and u can output the audio from the BDP3000 to the HTiB with a optical out (Toslink).

This was, u get bluray with true 1080p, dvd with 1080p upscale (still blurry video), 5.1 sound and 5.1 speakers.... all shld be close to RM2500.

Added on September 11, 2009, 3:26 pmNow lets see how confused TS will be after my post... tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Poadster: Sep 11 2009, 03:26 PM
TSpico23
post Sep 11 2009, 03:54 PM

QUOTE(Poadster @ Sep 11 2009, 03:19 PM)
You are so patient...... bagus.....  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif

At least finally he gets it.... i think he concern abt IQ (image quality)....

If you get ahem ahem real DVD dual layer (9GB) discs, downscaled from BD sources, the images are better than regular DVD.... but then, this may get TS into another round of question.....  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif

Added on September 11, 2009, 3:26 pm

If image quality is really a concern for u, then get the Philips BDP3000 bluray disc player at RM799. The pic is true 1080p, with HDMI output. Then get a Pioneer Z777 (or the new Z787) DVD HTiB, and u can output the audio from the BDP3000 to the HTiB with a optical out (Toslink).

This was, u get bluray with true 1080p, dvd with 1080p upscale (still blurry video), 5.1 sound and 5.1 speakers.... all shld be close to RM2500.

Added on September 11, 2009, 3:26 pmNow lets see how confused TS will be after my post...  tongue.gif  tongue.gif  tongue.gif
wow!! that's a good idea. is the philip BDP3000 with good quality and function? and the Pioneer z777 or z787?? better then sony?? haha....another optio for me....tq!

Added on September 11, 2009, 3:56 pmanyone can tell me is sony HT-SF2300 bluray?? it's full package with speakers...is the player included is bluray should be good....but what's the price for that? no price in sony website....http://www.sony.com.my/product/ht-sf2300

This post has been edited by pico23: Sep 11 2009, 03:56 PM
azbro
post Sep 11 2009, 04:04 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(Poadster @ Sep 11 2009, 03:19 PM)

if you get ahem ahem real DVD dual layer (9GB) discs, downscaled from BD sources, the images are better than regular DVD.... but then, this may get TS into another round of question.....  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif

Been there done that, yes, the images are superior...I agree...but what I didn't like was DVDs dun last...even if I use slow burning using Nero, the most the DVD last is 6 months without skipping or freezing. I keep the DVD in DVD box and stand it vertical, DVDR is Sony and Imation. Also dun last...end of the day, i bought myself a media player and happy till now......but media player also has its problem....Hardisk also dun last!!..so there is no escaping spending more money on stuff laugh.gif
Poadster
post Sep 11 2009, 05:02 PM

647 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Sep 11 2009, 04:04 PM)
Been there done that, yes, the images are superior...I agree...but what I didn't like was DVDs dun last...even if I use slow burning using Nero, the most the DVD last is 6 months without skipping or freezing. I keep the DVD in DVD box and stand it vertical, DVDR is Sony and Imation. Also dun last...end of the day, i bought myself a media player and happy till now......but media player also has its problem....Hardisk also dun last!!..so there is no escaping spending more money on stuff  laugh.gif
Go blu for the movies that you are really into..... and then keep those discs in a dry box (next to my cam + lens + equipments) to prevent fungus..... biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

Added on September 11, 2009, 5:08 pm
QUOTE(pico23 @ Sep 11 2009, 03:54 PM)
wow!! that's a good idea. is the philip BDP3000 with good quality and function? and the Pioneer z777 or z787?? better then sony?? haha....another optio for me....tq!

Added on September 11, 2009, 3:56 pmanyone can tell me is sony HT-SF2300 bluray?? it's full package with speakers...is the player included is bluray should be good....but what's the price for that? no price in sony website....http://www.sony.com.my/product/ht-sf2300
As far as i know, HT-SF2300 is a AVR + 5.1 speaker combo only.... no blu ray player...

One other option for u: Philips BDP3000 (RM799) + Pioneer RS70 (RM1999), total RM2800.

U get a basic BD player (plays dvd too), Pioneer VSX-819 AVR receiver that accepts 3HDMI in (for future expansion like media players, ps3, xbox360) and can decode HD audio (from BD discs), and 5.1 speaker set (2 front floor standing speakers + 1 centre + 2 surround + 1 active 12in subwoofer). More than enuff to bring the whole roof down.... icon_idea.gif icon_idea.gif icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by Poadster: Sep 11 2009, 05:09 PM
azbro
post Sep 11 2009, 05:20 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(Poadster @ Sep 11 2009, 05:02 PM)

One other option for u: Philips BDP3000 (RM799) + Pioneer RS70 (RM1999), total RM2800.

U get a basic BD player (plays dvd too), Pioneer VSX-819 AVR receiver that accepts 3HDMI in (for future expansion like media players, ps3, xbox360) and can decode HD audio (from BD discs), and 5.1 speaker set (2 front floor standing speakers + 1 centre + 2 surround + 1 active 12in subwoofer). More than enuff to bring the whole roof down....  icon_idea.gif  icon_idea.gif  icon_idea.gif
PS3Slim + RS70 FTW!!
TSpico23
post Sep 11 2009, 05:52 PM

As far as i know, HT-SF2300 is a AVR + 5.1 speaker combo only.... no blu ray player...

U get a basic BD player (plays dvd too), Pioneer VSX-819 AVR receiver that accepts 3HDMI in (for future expansion like media players, ps3, xbox360) and can decode HD audio (from BD discs), and 5.1 speaker set (2 front floor standing speakers + 1 centre + 2 surround + 1 active 12in subwoofer). More than enuff to bring the whole roof down.... icon_idea.gif icon_idea.gif icon_idea.gif

[/quote]

oh...that's right....didn't realised there's no bluray player for HT-SF2300.... blush.gif

thanks for the recommendation on the BD player and the AVR....will go look this weekend hopefully can find it....tq!! thumbup.gif
azxel
post Sep 11 2009, 06:13 PM

moological mooster
3,421 posts

I have the Pioneer HTZ777. Got it for RM16xx at harvey norman last month and its OK lah.. good sound for that price and it comes with 2 downfiring subs.

Pros
Optical input for my PS3
HDMI output for upscalling of DVD movies

Cons
No Lossless Audio
Poadster
post Sep 12 2009, 02:05 AM

647 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Sep 11 2009, 05:20 PM)
PS3Slim + RS70 FTW!!
Yes, this works too esp if TS wants to play games too.... but budget will be more than 3K oredi lo... tongue.gif tongue.gif

0.2136sec    0.62    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 12:08 AM