4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

How much is your net worth?, gauging your financial performance.

Ramjade
post Aug 12 2023, 04:59 PM

24,339 posts

QUOTE(gamenoob @ Aug 12 2023, 04:05 PM)
In my reply earlier on, this is given; at least from my planning.

If we are talking about retiring financially independent, that’s include medical and healthcare cost.

Hence medical insurance is given/pre requisite.

I’m looking at annual limit of 1m and no lifetime limit and my target is stop paying medical insurance at 65 or earlier so the accumulated cash balance will self pay the cost of insurance until kicking the bucket.
Not true. There's no such thing is stop paying and let the cash balance self pay. Yes you can stop paying for say 1-2 years (holiday premium) but after that need to start paying again. Why? Cause the cash balance will run out faster than your insurance. That's what agent told me. Need to prepare RM50k+ to top-up so it can sustain you until the age you want. ILP seller will promise you that the investment will pay for it. That's in theory. A good agent will tell you don't expect any cash balance from your health insurance.

That's the reason I tell people avoid ILP, buy standalone and dump money into EPF or SP500.

I am not agent btw.
Ramjade
post Aug 12 2023, 07:17 PM

24,339 posts

QUOTE(gamenoob @ Aug 12 2023, 06:53 PM)
Not sure what and who is right. My approach for my insurance coverage is to pay extra/ahead into the premium which is part of the ILP as its invested by the insurance Co.

It wasn't meant to be a large investment return. It's meant for me to pay and forget so when I stop paying at 65, it will have enough cash reserve to funds its own insurance coverage for at least another 10+ years. At least that what the statement balance showing now. Beside when it goes into holiday mode, it only withdraw insurance cost and not entire premium which consist of investment portion and other processing fees.

Can't depends on others to manage my premium payment/financial if things happened hence all these buffer/pay ahead.

God forbid if it's ran out, public medical service it is.
Usually you can check sustainability amount left via online.
Ramjade
post Aug 12 2023, 09:31 PM

24,339 posts

QUOTE(gamenoob @ Aug 12 2023, 07:39 PM)
But this sustainability is also hinging on the ever increasing cost of insurance as one aged. The next jump is 60. That one can double … hence the sustainability years will shrink..
Sigh 😔 which means one need to increase the premium…
No plan for it. That's what I am doing. My passive income today can pay for my premium at age of 80.
Ramjade
post Aug 13 2023, 12:37 PM

24,339 posts

QUOTE(gamenoob @ Aug 13 2023, 12:00 PM)
Bro, if you don't mind, can share more details. What is this premium cost you using for 80 yrs old projection?

Ie what the annual coverage, lifetime limit, etc.

Many thanks.
Sure. If I am not wrong from top of my head, the premium should be around RM17k/year. This is assuming the insurance company follow the projected premium table to the dot. I am not on ILPso higher chances if them following the projected premium to the dot (based off what my agent said - usually for standalone, the projected premium is quite accurate and rarely they increase the premium more than than projected premium, it can happen. But rare).

My medical insurance limit is RM1.37m/year (refresh yearly). No lifetime limit. RM200 room and board, if I were to take up AIA vitality and be healthy, I can get free upgrade to RM400 room and board courtesy of AIA. RM300/admission deductible, 120 days post hospitalisation follow up. Coverage for dialysis and all cancer treatment. No extra increase in premium if diagnosed with extra illness (eg got diabetes, high blood pressure, the premium still stay the same). No not guaranteed renewal clause (means again if I got diabetes, high blood pressure, as long as I pay on time, full and didn't fraud the insurance, they will still cover me provided I continue paying the premium).

Bonus thing from AIA, they upgrade their old customer to new plans once the old plan is obsolete without new medical underwriting and cover all existing illness (what his means is if someone got diabetes or high blood pressure and seek treatment at KK and didn't admit for it - hence didn't claim, AIA will offer them this letter to upgrade to new plan) Selection criteria of old customer to get free upgrade is not known. My speculation is those without illness like diabetes or high blood pressure or heart problem or kidney problem or maybe maybe those that never claim before. I have seen 2-3 such cases myself. No other insurance company offer this hidden feature (it is not written in their website). One was a financial blogger working in Singapore. He is a Malaysian. I think he got diabetes and high blood pressure but he never use his Malaysia insurance. AIA Malaysia offer him full upgrade to new plan which cover any illness. The other 2 were family members who never admitted to hospitals before.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Aug 13 2023, 12:45 PM
Ramjade
post Aug 13 2023, 05:09 PM

24,339 posts

QUOTE(gamenoob @ Aug 13 2023, 04:49 PM)
Quite similar with coverage I'm at. 200 RB, 1.5m annual, no lifetime with allianz. My plan was upgraded by them without any med checks, just 2-3 years ago. After some medical situation, decided to increase the advanced/pay ahead. Based on estimate, the premium should be quite imilar like yours at 80yrs. I'm asking them to get me a real costing for some one at 70/80  yrs old on allianz plan. If things go as planned, such premium is covered by my fin plan at 80. Next question is can one live happily and healthily to that  age. Hope I still can get up and go without much challenges
That's good to hear another such company offerin such thing. I didn't go with allianz cause it's ILP. Had they have a standalone, maybe I would have considered.
Ramjade
post Aug 13 2023, 05:41 PM

24,339 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Aug 13 2023, 05:30 PM)
You are right, the agent mentioned to me the free upgrade to a newer plan without underwriting is only if the customer has not claimed in x years, not exactly sure how many years is needed. This should not be an issue at all if one is utilizing another main medical card eg: company brows.gif
When I asked Great Eastern, the agent told me no such thing from GE. Shows you how stingy is GE and how good are they. Lol
Ramjade
post Aug 18 2023, 10:06 AM

24,339 posts

QUOTE(kochin @ Aug 18 2023, 09:13 AM)
17k/year seems awfully expensive.
one thing i'd learnt from insurances, always do a review once every 3-5 years.
it's way cheaper to continuously buy new plan with all the latest features.
and why are you so against ilp?
my medical yearly limit is rm1.5m. unlimited lifetime limit. 200 room and board.
and from what i'd been told when i purchased my plan, this is a guaranteed scheme until i reach 80 years old rather than the conventional 70 years old.
but my premium is less than a third of yours.
Bro, I am quoting the 80 years old premium at today's price. My insurance is only around RM1300/year currently. Also have you taken into consideration of all the ILP increases, top-up required?

Like I said in another thread if you have illness already, you cannot buy insurance already. But yes review is important if you got no illness. If got illness already, forget about it. By you keep buying the agent will untung more than you. Cause the agent gets like 40%/year commission for 2 years and they are paid for 7 years. So by you buying a new insurance every 2-3 years, they get 40% of your premium every 2-3 years. Sign me up as your agent tongue.gif (I am not agent btw) Just joking.

Why am I against ILP
1. Paying extra for unnecessary stuff life insurance, tpd, lousy fund.
2. Lousy fund return which cannot even beat EPF over long term. These a theory out there that the funds are lousy as it's intentional to force customer to keep increasing premium. Cause if a fund is good and able to sustain the insurance, customer no need to keep increasing premium. Increase in ILP happens because
I) lousy fund performance
II) no money left in the pool
Just speculation.

3. Critical illness which covers the basic one. If you got like stage 1,2,3 cancer, and if you have for waiver of premium, it won't waive your premium. Reason is the waiver only activate it you are half dead or stage 4. I can get standalone critical illness insurance that payout lump sum that can cover stage 1,2,3,4 cancer with relapses (yes if you got relapse, they pay you) in between and the payout is more than enough to cover the medical premium until age of 99.
4. More prone to increase in price compare to ILP. Standalone generally follow the projected table increase in price with exceptions but not ILP.
5. It cannot sustain you until the age you want unless you fork out like RM4k/year
7. ILP will ask you top-up somewhere down the road to sustain your policy. Failing to top-up means your sustainability decrease. It's not a if but guaranteed. Question is when will they ask you to top-up. No such issue with standalone.

QUOTE(bigquoc @ Aug 18 2023, 09:19 AM)
Don't buy GE, they keep on increasing my premiums every two years.
I didn't. I exercise my cooling period and got full refund from GE.
All ILP like that. Cannot run away. Part of buying ILP. To avoid that kind of increase, pick standalone. Standalone generally follow the projected table price unless something drastic happen.
Another alternative is gathercare. It's fixed for life at RM400/year with no increasment.

I have asked AIA, GE all agent said the same thing, standalone generally follow the table. Only exception to this rule is medisavers. They increased their premium by 10% few years back.

QUOTE(flyingteeku @ Aug 18 2023, 09:29 AM)
Yes, i just received the premium increase last month about 30%. The last time increase was 2 years ago as well. I am thinking to change to other insurance. Any recommendations? Sorry off topic.
All ILP like that. Cannlt run away. Part of buying an ILP. To avoid that kind of increase, pick standalone. Standalone generally follow the projected table price increase unless something drastic happen.
Another alternative is gathercare. It's fixed for life at RM400/year with no increasment.

I have asked AIA, GE all agent said the same thing, standalone generally follow the table. Only exception to this rule is medisavers. They increased their premium by 10% few years back.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Aug 18 2023, 10:15 AM
Ramjade
post Aug 18 2023, 10:17 AM

24,339 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Aug 18 2023, 10:15 AM)
Ramjade - well pointed out. And am in full agreement with your sentiments.

Some people feel it’s a bit sayang to pay for standalone health insurance because they “get nothing back” so they tie that with an ILP and “hopefully get something back at the end of it”.

In my opinion, stand-alone health insurance when bought properly and planned carefully - already gives you something invaluable already - peace of mind.
A good agent will tell you expect zero returns from ILP. I got a shocked when I heard zero but then it make perfect sense. 2-3 agents also told me the same thing even those not commission based.
Ramjade
post Aug 18 2023, 10:51 AM

24,339 posts

QUOTE(Rinth @ Aug 18 2023, 10:27 AM)
is it because the funds inside keep rolling to pay the premium when we stop paying the ILP at certain age example 70 years old?

sorry i'm insurance nerd too...actually i also prefer standalone plan which premium much lower then ILP with same coverage but my surrounding agent all only push for ILP plan..... for me insurance is pure insurance, i dun hope to get money back from it....
Even if you pay your premium until the end of your insurance, you will get zero back.
Reason is medical insurance cost > returns generated. When medical insurance cost more than premium paid, they will minus from your investment part to keep the premium "constant". There will come a time when say your medical insurance cost say RM15k, you are only paying RM3k in premium and your investment only generate say RM1k. so they will minus RM11k from your investment. Keep doing that and eventually your investment pot becomes zero. That's when if you don't agreed to the increase in premium, the insurance will lapse as you are only paying RM3k and say cost is RM18k.

Of course they push for ILP. A sustainable ILP until age of 70-80+ require premium of RM3600-4000/year for someone 30 years old. Standalone only cost say RM1300. Eg both earns the agent 40% in premium, which plan will generate more money into agent bank account? Obviously the ILP with premium of RM3600-4000 Vs the standalone one right?

Premium will be low for standalone but eventually it will increase with age. Cannot run away. Plan for it. Allocate enough money for it. That's what I am doing. That is why I said I am able to pay my 80 years old premium with my passive income today.

If one does not know how to invest, just dump into EPF. EPF will beat majority of the ILP funds. Alternatively if want higher returns just get a S&P500 etf from UK.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Aug 18 2023, 10:55 AM
Ramjade
post Aug 18 2023, 11:17 AM

24,339 posts

QUOTE(Rinth @ Aug 18 2023, 11:11 AM)
yea this is exactly what in my mind..i'm currently paying around 4k/year for my life insurance 250k + critical illness 250k (bought around 5 years edi), my medical card RM 3k/year for current standard market(bought more than 10 years and upgraded few years ago), RM 1mil per year unlimited whole life etc etc....

Agent was telling that we just need to pay to 60/70 yo, after that it'll roll itself, which i always doubt the funds is sufficient.

Good thing is so far they did up my premium, most likely because i'm still young (33yo this year).

Maybe its time i look for standalone and compare the price now...
There is no such thing as stop paying. Yes you can stop paying for few years (take a premium holiday) but it will affect the sustainability of the insurance.

Take out the your original sales pdf or ask your agent to generate one for you from their ipad. You can see the sustainability period if you continue paying your premium until the age you want. it cannot even reach the desire age you want assuming you take 2%p.a return set by BNM. I always use the 2%p.a return to be conservative cause if you look at ILP returns, they are generally negative or 1-3%p.a over long term.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Aug 18 2023, 04:20 PM
Ramjade
post Aug 18 2023, 08:01 PM

24,339 posts

QUOTE(NoComment222 @ Aug 18 2023, 07:50 PM)
Personally I beg to differ. There is fine print in standalone medical insurance that states insurance companies can adjust the cost subject to increase in medical fees etc. So standalone is still subject to increased premiums. Whereas for ILP, the "extra" premium paid when young is sufficient to cover the increase in cost as you age. Can't draw the graph but yeah.

I am not an agent btw
Yes. All insurance have that clause but based off what 4 agents told me (both AIA and GE), all tell me the same thing. ILP is the one which always experience the increase and as far as they worked standalone increases always follow the table.

4 different people from 2 different company is good enough for me.

If you do your own research here and Reddit, you will see what they say is true. Those affected are those with ILP. I read through 5 years back of posting.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Aug 18 2023, 08:03 PM
Ramjade
post Aug 18 2023, 08:37 PM

24,339 posts

QUOTE(michaelchang @ Aug 18 2023, 08:33 PM)
Read the fine print, dont just listen to the agent. Their cannon can shoot down the moon
Yes all fine print is there. I read everything. All said premium not guaranteed. You asked them have xyz plan ever been reprice in the past 5 years? Don't ask only 1 agent. Ask multiple agent. Then like I said check online to see if what agent said matches people complain online.

So far from my checks online (lowyat forum and Reddit), again only ILP affected regardless of insurance companies.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Aug 18 2023, 08:39 PM
Ramjade
post Aug 18 2023, 10:47 PM

24,339 posts

QUOTE(michaelchang @ Aug 18 2023, 09:20 PM)
Fine print have guaranteed insurance till 100 years old??
If you pay on time and full, no fraud, no surrender yes.
Ramjade
post Aug 18 2023, 11:33 PM

24,339 posts

QUOTE(hedfi @ Aug 18 2023, 11:18 PM)
Why don't make insurance work. Why use personal 500k iso. pooling resources. Your insurance maybe cost you only 50k
Insurance cost until old is never RM50k. If 50k, I also want. RM50k is for those with RM100k limit.

Estimated cost until old is RM200-300k
Ramjade
post Aug 19 2023, 06:56 PM

24,339 posts

QUOTE(contestchris @ Aug 19 2023, 06:48 PM)
Isn't it because standalone insurance is yearly renewable? While the ILP is guaranteed renewal? Meaning, if you get sick and claim rm300k this year, the insurance company would just say sorry your loading is now rmxxxx with xxxx exclusions.
All insurance all nowadays guaranteed renewaable. That was one of my main priority when choosing my insurance. Read the terms and conditions.

It's mentioned policy will be inforce unless
1. Person does not pay in full and on time
2. Person committed fraud
3. person surrender the policy

More or less the terms and condition off he top of my head in plain English.

The old one yes. Not guaranteed renewal. There's some changes mandate by BNM that all new insurance policy need to have guaranteed renewal. Of course company don't write guaranteed renewal but they mention the above terms and condition. There's no term and conditions if patient diagnosed with xyz disease, insurance shall be null and void.

I don't just depend on insurance alone. I practiced multiple approach
1. One meal a day, my next goal is 3 days fast a week.
2. Healthy food, no process food, no junk food, no carbs.
3. Exercise, minimal 5x/week
4. Sleep.
5. Proper supplements

If you can prevent diabetes you prevent a lot of other illness already (high blood pressure, heart attack, stroke, kidney disease, high cholesterol, some cancers).

Even if you got diabetes, high cholesterol, you can reverse it partially by fasting. Yes need to be consistent and for life. Fasting makes our body sensitive to insulin, which means less insulin to do the same job as someone with diabetes. With better insulin sensitivity, fat reduced, blood sugar also reduced, cholesterol also reduced, medications dosage reduced and maybe can stop (Malaysians doctor never dare to stop medications but I know some US specialist they take their patient off the meds and continue monitoring if everything cantik).

No money can buy back your health and time.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Aug 19 2023, 07:26 PM
Ramjade
post Dec 23 2023, 01:12 PM

24,339 posts

QUOTE(gashout @ Dec 18 2023, 03:48 AM)
Did one of the posts about a 25/26 yo guy having some 6.5 mil btc/crypto and some million dollar house. And call brand owner get deleted?

I'm beginning to think some posts here are fictional. And I enjoy reading only non fictional posts. Appreciate the 99% who post real stories.
That's some in Singapore all in bitcoin before it boom and cash it out. That's why they can afford property in Singapore. Thanks to crypto. Crypto really change their life. My friend also all in crypto. Every month definitely buy crypto. Go big or go home mentality

Ramjade
post Apr 22 2024, 08:45 AM

24,339 posts

QUOTE(Haloperidol @ Apr 22 2024, 08:32 AM)
=================================
New chapter of my life.
Typed @ 22.4.2024.

Career wise :
#ExitKKM

Regardless of the so called "iron rice bowl" given by the government, i decided to resign due to shitty pay, idiotic bureaucracy, toxic environment.
Letter written to Head Of Department after CNY - resignation letter done and enforced on March 22 2024
Joined a private team on the same month itself.

Previously, KKM salary is quoted approximate MYR 16 to MYR 18 per hour (Base salary + Oncall claims ) ---
You can say now i work less hours, and earn much better bucks - now i'm eligible for certain Visa Infinite credit card now.
(previously slavery at KKM can't even entitled for Visa Signature LOL)

Single

Assets :
ASM FP : 204k FP - done, will let itself roll .
Stock : 41k --- still at minimal loss, small cap is shit, surprisingly banks and TENAGA make good runs.
KWSP : 77k
High-liquidity MMF : approximate 70k
PRS : 6k - just to avoid paying MAHALDANI tax LOL

Target 1 (ASM) - completed , exceed target by 100% - done and dusted.

Target 2 (first property for investment) - scouted, reason for the high liquidity MMF is to prepare the 10% deposit for the housing, estimated completion time 2028, pending S&P signature.

Target 3 (stock) : fuck Bursa, scouting SGX for S-reit and SGD priced securities.
=====
Dooddads
same old Myvi, same old phone, same old Laptop

but i think i gonna do some upgrade on my phone and lappie coz ... it's time. My phone recieved notification that Rize will stop support my phone soon (they gonna support Android 11+ only LMAO)
Can try out GXbank. Higher interest rate than rize and less issue supposedly.

Also you might want to think about investing overseas stocks to protect against your future purchasing power (my teacher words, not mine). I don't hold ringgit at all except for PRS and EPF.

That's why I refuse to buy property in Malaysia. You are sinking in 700-800k into ringgit.

Depends on you. An investment is not growing it's payout is not a good investment. If you follow s-reits you know many of them their dividend was reduced due to high interest. That's why I don't hold any s-reits anymore.

Btw are you male or female?

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Apr 22 2024, 08:50 AM
Ramjade
post Apr 22 2024, 11:05 AM

24,339 posts

QUOTE(Haloperidol @ Apr 22 2024, 09:29 AM)
sweat.gif i'm a guy lel, why even ask.
GX bank only offers 45k capital interest, lazy to shift around.
Gxbank interest is 3%. Promo is just 5%. I prefer less problematic banks.

Cause if woman stuff like facial is burning your money.

QUOTE(TOS @ Apr 22 2024, 09:48 AM)
He is looking for girlfriend everywhere... even in this thread...  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
Lol. Buaya mode.

QUOTE(ronnie @ Apr 22 2024, 10:23 AM)
Buying property for investment.... how much you expect the yield to be ?
Compare it against other investment vehicles.
Rental income comes with tenant headaches which you may not be aware of.
Ronnie is right. How much you want the yield? After add on loans, taxes what is final net return? If a property is not generating money for you it's a liability. Unless you going for auction properties.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Apr 22 2024, 11:07 AM
Ramjade
post Apr 22 2024, 12:18 PM

24,339 posts

QUOTE(Rinth @ Apr 22 2024, 11:23 AM)
Curious, previously you opt for pencen or KWSP? if is pencen then what are the benefit you gonna received upon your resignation? if is KWSP then you got your KWSP $$ but pencen how? got lumsum payout?
If he is contract, likely EPF. Unless he is permanent.
Ramjade
post Apr 22 2024, 02:34 PM

24,339 posts

QUOTE(skty @ Apr 22 2024, 01:09 PM)
I notice many are claiming they are investing in properties but actually not, they are just adding more liabilities.

the correct way of investing in property is to utilize the bank leverage and get tenant to pay everything and get cashflow positive or at least breakeven after deduct everything.

the other way around is not correct investing way regardless ringgit is good currency or not.

if one is doing it correctly, with the same salary from job, he/she can keep buying new property every 6 months.

The idea is after 30+ years the property will fully be his/hers with only merely downpayment of the initial buying price. In fact, most correct cases the downpayment already gotten back from the positive cashflow generated over the years.

Don't get me wrong, I am not saying this way of investing is easy because one need huge network and knowledge as property transactions are not publicly free available.
If tenant cannot pay 100%, you still need to cough up money.
30 years down the road, ringgit would have drop more. Not worth it.

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.1015sec    0.32    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 08:03 AM