Discussion Big Clubs Raiding Starlet?, City join Chelsea and ManU in report

TSsolstice818
post Sep 8 2009, 03:13 PM, updated 17y ago

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

Closely after Kakuta, Pogba, Today latest:

Crewe director of football Dario Gradi slams Liverpool's pursuit of Max Clayton

Liverpool were dragged into the poaching row engulfing the Barclays Premier League, following claims from Crewe director of football Dario Gradi that a Premier League club had made an illegal approach for one of his academy players, believed to be Max Clayton, 15.

Gradi said: ‘He is an outstanding player by any standards and he has come in and told us that he wants to leave right now to join a big club.

‘The big clubs are stealing other people’s players and you worry financially for the clubs where the players are stolen from. It’s so hard to protect your players. All this goes against the morality of the game — it’s the rich robbing the poor.’

Crewe have not lodged a complaint with the FA and are reluctant to name Liverpool for fear of damaging the relationship between the clubs.

Liverpool declined to comment and it is still far from certain the player will move clubs.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/...l#ixzz0QUBHpvVv

FIFA told about City's Helan 'steal'

Manchester City have been reported to FIFA by Rennes over the signing of French youngster Jeremy Helan earlier this year.

City snapped up the teenage defender after he reportedly opted against seeing out his first professional contract with the Brittany club.

The Clairefontaine academy player had been wanted by Manchester United in 2008, but the Ligue 1 outfit dug in their heels over his departure.

With the Red Devils out of the picture, City moved in, much to the anger of Rennes who claim his pre-contract agreement tied both him and the club to a contract if he represented France at youth level.

If found guilty of inducing a youngster to break a contract, City could find themselves in hot water after Chelsea were banned from signing new players until January 2011 over their pursuit of Gael Kakuta.

Although Rennes technical director Pierre Dreossi does not expect a decision to be made soon, he is hoping City are punished.

The Blues are understood to be adamant in their belief they have not induced a breach of contract in a case which is further complicated by the fact that Helan and Rennes are at odds, legally, over what he initially signed up to.

"Manchester City must now realise the consequences of their attitude in the Helan case, as it is even more illegal than Kakuta," Dreossi told The Independent.

"We have referred this to FIFA. For us, it was strange to have no discussion from City and now, in the week after the FIFA declaration on Chelsea, I would hope that it will be the same thing for Manchester City.

"Kakuta signed up for just a possibility of a full contract. For Helan, there was definitely one there, under the terms of the pre-contract agreement, because he had played for his country.

"Manchester United said it was not possible to negotiate with us but for City now this is dangerous, though we are not expecting a decision from FIFA for perhaps several years."
http://www.teamtalk.com/football/story/0,1...5543635,00.html

As for Liverpool case, nothing solid as the player YET to join Liverpool.

For now, all I see is English clubs being reported one after another.Does that mean another big clubs in La Liga and Serie A do not raid small clubs for their young unpolished gem?

This post has been edited by solstice818: Sep 8 2009, 03:14 PM
Ichighost
post Sep 8 2009, 03:47 PM

358 posts

I just hope that a consistent punishment....what about all major club ban for 2 transfer window..? Hehhe...got what I mean...no club is free from poaching...It just high profile case or low profile case...

About Kakuta..they report to FIFA after Chelsea dont want to pay the unnecessary amount of money to silent them..and now they talked about rich and money...Hippocratic

skystrike
post Sep 8 2009, 04:26 PM

back to normal
1,279 posts

to be honest...english club really like to pouch underage youngster from abroad....italy i dunno...but at spain big club at there seldom pouch underage youngster from abroad...look at barca n real madrid...
matyrze
post Sep 8 2009, 04:33 PM

Historical tears
678 posts

I would be really happy if FIFA are continuously trying to look at these matters. Poaching activities should not be allowed, as it always benefits big clubs with huge financial backing.

QUOTE(solstice818 @ Sep 8 2009, 03:13 PM)
For now, all I see is English clubs being reported one after another.Does that mean another big clubs in La Liga and Serie A do not raid small clubs for their young unpolished gem?
As you can see, only EPL clubs are being accused of poaching. IMO, it is because only EPL teams have the advantage of doing so. La Liga and Serie A clubs can only tie above-17 youngsters with a professional contract, so how can they 'poach' a 16 years old youngster?
sickx
post Sep 8 2009, 04:37 PM

:)
1,232 posts

if more and more clubs reported to poach youngsters,i think it's time for FIFA to be more strict with the rules.my suggestion:
1)lower the age limit for a professional contract
2)set rules for all nation that no under 18 players allowed to move out of the club.unlike certain countries such as Brazil and Argentina where players cannot be transfer abroad,the rule should be more strict and not allow players to move away from the club's academy.
ericpires
post Sep 8 2009, 04:56 PM

Arsenal FC
2,657 posts

What next? Below then 5, 6 years old `signed` up by MU, Chelseas, Barcelonas, etc?
verx
post Sep 8 2009, 05:02 PM

Soshified Madridista
3,737 posts

QUOTE(matyrze @ Sep 8 2009, 04:33 PM)
I would be really happy if FIFA are continuously trying to look at these matters. Poaching activities should not be allowed, as it always benefits big clubs with huge financial backing.
As you can see, only EPL clubs are being accused of poaching. IMO, it is because only EPL teams have the advantage of doing so. La Liga and Serie A clubs can only tie above-17 youngsters with a professional contract, so how can they 'poach' a 16 years old youngster?
Spanish clubs do poach players. Even if they don't sign professional terms, a youth contract is still a contract. And taking 14-15 year olds from South America or Africa to put them into the academy is also poaching talent no matter how you look at it. Messi anyone? Probably the difference is that the Spanish and Italian clubs pay some form of compensation when they take these talents over. English clubs however have tried to totally screw smaller European clubs by taking their talent for free. I may be wrong though and I'm sure it doesn't represent the behaviour of all or most English clubs; just a minor few.
matyrze
post Sep 8 2009, 05:24 PM

Historical tears
678 posts

QUOTE(verx @ Sep 8 2009, 05:02 PM)
Spanish clubs do poach players. Even if they don't sign professional terms, a youth contract is still a contract. And taking 14-15 year olds from South America or Africa to put them into the academy is also poaching talent no matter how you look at it. Messi anyone? Probably the difference is that the Spanish and Italian clubs pay some form of compensation when they take these talents over. English clubs however have tried to totally screw smaller European clubs by taking their talent for free. I may be wrong though and I'm sure it doesn't represent the behaviour of all or most English clubs; just a minor few.
I knew it, that somebody will bring up his name.

Messi's situation looks like Kakuta's, except that Messi was dumped by Newell's Old Boys, while River Plate refused to sign him because of his medical bill. Simply put, the difference is, Messi was clubless when Barca came 'poaching' him, while Kakuta already had a pre-agreement with Lens. We can safely say Chelsea poach Kakuta from Lens illegally, but whom did Barca poach Messi from?

Yeah, I realize about the youth contract. Italian clubs also use such contracts for their youngsters. So doesn't it mean Spanish and Italian clubs could also seek for compensations? For instance, the Cesc case, can't Barca claim anything?

I use to think that Arsenal 'poach' legally because they pay the compensation for Cesc to Barca, and Barca was angry because they felt that the amount was too small. Not sure though, it is just my assumption.
vreis
post Sep 8 2009, 05:34 PM

Golden Past Red Future
1,658 posts

QUOTE(skystrike @ Sep 8 2009, 04:26 PM)
to be honest...english club really like to pouch underage youngster from abroad....italy i dunno...but at spain big club at there seldom pouch underage youngster from abroad...look at barca n real madrid...
You think Messi just happens to migrate to Barcelona in young age whistling.gif

QUOTE(matyrze @ Sep 8 2009, 04:33 PM)
Dunno much about contract, but didn't youngster sign YTS form before they are 17 or 18 in England? The only screw up is in other country, youngster are just a trainee without any contract? So it bound to happens English clubs take advantage of this.
Its like whole loads of free agent out there, why not pay peanuts for outstanding talents though it doesn't means these youngsters will all make it. I don't see any difference in way that eg: Barca got Messi from his Argentina club when he's young to the way English clubs operate.
But it only means there's dearth of talents in England when they go around world looking for young talents. Just see Fabian Delph whisch cost a bomb even though he never played in top flight.

QUOTE(verx @ Sep 8 2009, 05:02 PM)
Don't think they got for free. Most of the time its a fee set by tribunal because as always, reluctant seller will wanna sell high & buyer wanna buy low, in this case is possible due to lack of contract binding youngster with clubs
TSsolstice818
post Sep 8 2009, 05:37 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

I'm not so sure about calling those paying compensation as "legal poachers" as from what I know, those being reported are deemed to be put on inducements to the players to void their contracts or whatsoever.The focus is more onto the inducements, no?

This post has been edited by solstice818: Sep 8 2009, 05:38 PM
whoopa
post Sep 8 2009, 05:38 PM

b~o~b~o
7,126 posts

cesc to arsenal poached meh? i tot they paid compensation to barce already? no? it was legal what just a transfer.

english club are being reported cos english clubs usually try to muscle the small club into submission meaning big club throw money at the youngster and parents and they abandon the small club leaving them with nothing.

i think italy and spain does it but as usually english league get more airtime so more ppl are aware of the complains and more and more are reporting the big clubs
verx
post Sep 8 2009, 05:43 PM

Soshified Madridista
3,737 posts

QUOTE(matyrze @ Sep 8 2009, 05:24 PM)
I knew it, that somebody will bring up his name.
I was just giving an example. There are plenty of other South Americans who have been brought to Europe at a very young age but Messi so happens to be the most high profile one.

Messi's situation looks like Kakuta's, except that Messi was dumped by Newell's Old Boys, while River Plate refused to sign him because of his medical bill. Simply put, the difference is, Messi was clubless when Barca came 'poaching' him, while Kakuta already had a pre-agreement with Lens. We can safely say Chelsea poach Kakuta from Lens illegally, but whom did Barca poach Messi from?
Yes River Plate couldn't afford his treatment but he was still training with Newell's. And seeing that nothing was paid for them for training him it is still a form of poaching as well. But legally of course Barca didn't do anything wrong. I'm hardly pointing fingers at Barca here. Lens actually asked for a fee from Chelsea which they refused to pay; offering a substantially and mockingly lower offer.

Yeah, I realize about the youth contract. Italian clubs also use such contracts for their youngsters. So doesn't it mean Spanish and Italian clubs could also seek for compensations? For instance, the Cesc case, can't Barca claim anything?

I use to think that Arsenal 'poach' legally because they pay the compensation for Cesc to Barca, and Barca was angry because they felt that the amount was too small. Not sure though, it is just my assumption.
If i recall correctly Arsenal did not pay anything initially. It was only after the case was brought before a tribunal that Arsenal were "ordered" to pay the compensation. Or I may have confused him with Merida which was a similar case.

Added on September 8, 2009, 5:44 pm
QUOTE(solstice818 @ Sep 8 2009, 05:37 PM)
I'm not so sure about calling those paying compensation as "legal poachers" as from what I know, those being reported are deemed to be put on inducements to the players to void their contracts or whatsoever.The focus is more onto the inducements, no?
I think we can say that inducements to players or their parents to void their contracts should be illegal. When I say compensation I mean a certain fee paid to the clubs who trained them

This post has been edited by verx: Sep 8 2009, 05:44 PM
matyrze
post Sep 8 2009, 06:07 PM

Historical tears
678 posts

QUOTE(solstice818 @ Sep 8 2009, 05:37 PM)
Yes, indeed.

IMO, the reason why Man Utd managed to poach Macheda (as in Cesc's case) with ease was because they were only required to pay very minimal amount of compensation, since he was signed near the end of his youth contract. It sounds legal, no?

On the other hand, the inducement that Chelsea offered to Kakuta was because they couldn't find a way to buy out the pre-agreement. How to evaluate a pre-agreement? So they had to convince Kakuta to dishonor the agreement and leave Lens, with the thought that the pre-agreement is not regarded as a kind of a contract by FIFA. Maybe that is where Chelsea got it wrong.
whoopa
post Sep 8 2009, 06:13 PM

b~o~b~o
7,126 posts

QUOTE(matyrze @ Sep 8 2009, 06:07 PM)
Yes, indeed.

IMO, the reason why Man Utd managed to poach Macheda (as in Cesc's case) with ease was because they were only required to pay very minimal amount of compensation, since he was signed near the end of his youth contract. It sounds legal, no?

On the other hand, the inducement that Chelsea offered to Kakuta was because they couldn't find a way to buy out the pre-agreement. How to evaluate a pre-agreement? So they had to convince Kakuta to dishonor the agreement and leave Lens, with the thought that the pre-agreement is not regarded as a kind of a contract by FIFA. Maybe that is where Chelsea got it wrong.
But it seems that they are saying the referred to UEFA before going ahead. But we dont know the real story.

As it seems so Macheda and Cesc are actually legal transfers rather than calling it poaching.
madmoz
post Sep 8 2009, 06:18 PM

4,250 posts

http://www.youth2youth.com.au/article54.asp

See point 3.

This confirms what i was thought in unis - minors cannot enter into a legally binding contract? And any such contract is a waste of paper until ratified by the minor when he/she reaches legal maturity?

So what of youth contract?

Hmm... but it seems that apprenticeships are legally binding under common law hmm.gif

This post has been edited by madmoz: Sep 8 2009, 06:19 PM
monosyllabic
post Sep 8 2009, 11:52 PM

203 posts

I knew this would happen - as soon as Chelsea gets the punishment, all the smaller clubs will be out to get the "big guns"!

In many cases, the so-called "big clubs" do a bit of "poaching talent" or whatever you want to call it. It may be legal, but is it ethical? IMO, unless it's proven illegal, it's pretty unethical - but until the rules are changed (which will be hard to do, considering EU laws on movement of workers), all clubs are going to use any loophole they can get to purchase the players they want.

That's not to say only the English teams do it, some are reporting the movement of youth from Africa and South America to France and Spain to be a form of poaching as well. I can't say much about the legalities of youth contracts in France, Spain, etc. but in England, I think the 90-minute rule has been on of the causes these players are uprooted.

The rule was set by the FA, saying that clubs cannot sign players under a certain age into their academies if they lie within a "90-minute" radius from the club HQ. For instance, Liverpool FC cannot sign a young player from London because they are outside this radius.

What happens with this is that some of the best players in the country are stuck where they are (i.e no "big" clubs can take them until they're of a certain age). And worse, most clubs are stuck with the choices available - think about it. In the North-West of England, you have clubs like Manchester United, Manchester City, Liverpool, Everton, Blackburn and Bolton all pulling from the same pool of players.

This causes them to look elsewhere, and rules in France, Spain, etc. that limit youth players contract lengths or don't allow clubs to sign contracts with youth become the victims of the English clubs' plunder. All is apparently legal under UEFA.... but let's see if it continues to stay legal and if FIFA or UEFA will put in a new rule to prevent this from occuring again.
ivanau88
post Sep 9 2009, 01:32 AM

3,777 posts

I dont think is wrong to pouch youngsters. Clubs especially english clubs uses the crack of the current football law to improve their team. Since the youngster does not have any legally binding with the their team, what is wrong if they decided to join a bigger team to train them up? Clubs like Chelsea paid Kakuta's parent a sum of money may sounds wrong, but at the end of the day Kakuta decided to join Chelsea. So I do not see anything wrong.I think new rule to prevent these incident to happen will be implement
yhtan
post Sep 9 2009, 01:40 AM

8,653 posts

QUOTE(ivanau88 @ Sep 9 2009, 01:32 AM)
I dont think is wrong to pouch youngsters. Clubs especially english clubs uses the crack of the current football law to improve their team. Since the youngster does not have any legally binding with the their team, what is wrong if they decided to join a bigger team to train them up? Clubs like Chelsea paid Kakuta's parent a sum of money may sounds wrong, but at the end of the day Kakuta decided to join Chelsea. So I do not see anything wrong.I think new rule to prevent these incident to happen will be implement
the problem lie over here is not over Player issue, is the club
imagine u running a club and spending million on youth academy, some club just raid your bright young player without paying any compensation, what will u feel?
MamulaMoon
post Sep 9 2009, 01:47 AM

137 posts

I thought Man Utd produce own young players rather than stealing from others...

Beckham, Neville, Giggs...are all from the great academy of Man Utd...

Maybe you guys should add Rio Ferdinand, Rooney, Paul Ince and Ronaldo to the list...

TSsolstice818
post Sep 9 2009, 01:59 AM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

QUOTE(MamulaMoon @ Sep 9 2009, 01:47 AM)

Maybe you guys should add Rio Ferdinand, Rooney, Paul Ince and Ronaldo to the list...

Blue part:That doesn't mean they wont raid other clubs for youngsters...

Red part:

And what? LOL This coming from a manutd fans? Ferdinand from manu academy?Rooney?Ronaldo?Ince? laugh.gif You made my day.

You are as good entertainer as Golden... rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by solstice818: Sep 9 2009, 02:01 AM
skystrike
post Sep 9 2009, 02:15 AM

back to normal
1,279 posts

QUOTE(solstice818 @ Sep 9 2009, 01:59 AM)

Red part:

And what? LOL This coming from a manutd fans? Ferdinand from manu academy?Rooney?Ronaldo?Ince? laugh.gif You made my day.

maybe he golden dupe biggrin.gif
sickx
post Sep 9 2009, 05:43 AM

1,232 posts

QUOTE(MamulaMoon @ Sep 9 2009, 01:47 AM)

Red part:

don't flame.he didn't say what list.MamulaMoon,is it poached players list or academy list?lol
MADReaLJL
post Sep 9 2009, 06:03 AM

4,050 posts

QUOTE(sickx @ Sep 9 2009, 05:43 AM)
don't flame.he didn't say what list.MamulaMoon,is it poached players list or academy list?lol
u r rite.. some people are always too quick to bash the others

but his post has high possibility to be added here laugh.gif
TSsolstice818
post Sep 9 2009, 01:31 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

From my understanding,

From the 1st word until the last word, I cant and I didn't see him talking about "poached players" list.It's all about academy and funnily the 1st sentence is,

I thought Man Utd produce own young players rather than stealing from others.

Where is it the talk about poached player?

Is either you guys have some problem understanding his post or you guys defending him for the sake's of defending. laugh.gif
Ichighost
post Sep 9 2009, 01:46 PM

358 posts

Beckham not a Man U homegrown talent..

He start at Brimsdown Rovers
1987–1991-Tottenham Hotspur then ManU

Even Giggs not originally from Man Utd..
1985–1987-Manchester City..then MU

Only Neville..is a original MU..

So if you dont know your player..how come you talked about them...

KTBFFH!

nshady
post Sep 9 2009, 03:35 PM

354 posts

You should see where the player starts to shine and improve instead of where he started to play football. For example, fabregas shone/improved when he joined arsenal tho he's from barcelona.

This is kinda out of topic tho.

Ichighost, whether beckham and giggs are originally from manutd or not it doesnt matter, because they became the best and improved the most when they're in manutd. Btw, i would not use the term homegrown talent, maybe manutd academy talent =P

This post has been edited by nshady: Sep 9 2009, 03:46 PM
TSsolstice818
post Sep 9 2009, 03:46 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

QUOTE(nshady @ Sep 9 2009, 03:35 PM)
You should see where the player starts to shine and improve instead of where he started to play football. For example, fabregas shone when he joined arsenal tho he's from barcelona.

This is kinda out of topic tho.

Ichighost, whether beckham and giggs are originally from manutd or not it doesnt matter, because they became the best and improved the most when they're in manutd.
I beg to differ.Just because he shines and improves there, that doesn't mean he is from their academy.Simple.How sure are you that he wont shine and improve in his former academy?No one can be sure of that.Regardless of whether he improve, shines or fades, it's undeniable fact that it's one of the classic example of big clubs raiding starlets...
nshady
post Sep 9 2009, 03:48 PM

354 posts

QUOTE(solstice818 @ Sep 9 2009, 03:46 PM)
I beg to differ.Just because he shines and improves there, that doesn't mean he is from their academy.Simple.How sure are you that he wont shine and improve in his former academy?No one can be sure of that.Regardless of whether he improve, shines or fades, it's undeniable fact that it's one of the classic example of big clubs raiding starlets...
Btw, actually im out of topic ady...lol...im just referring to some of the replies here...hahah...

First, I didnt say that he wont shine and improve at his former academy(i was just saying he shines and improves somewhere). I am referring to the players mentioned above, and no one would know if they will shine at their former academy unless you have a time machine where the players can train at two clubs =P

This post has been edited by nshady: Sep 9 2009, 03:55 PM
bearbear
post Sep 9 2009, 05:30 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone!~!~
10,061 posts

this is getting hotter

Man United could face Fiorentina complaint
TSsolstice818
post Sep 9 2009, 06:26 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ Sep 9 2009, 05:30 PM)
Lazio probably follow Fiorentina after this... laugh.gif

Anyway, no worries for manu..All they got to do is recruit as many as possible before they land the ban...They took 2 years before landing ban on Chelsea, no? unsure.gif
MADReaLJL
post Sep 9 2009, 06:34 PM

4,050 posts

QUOTE(solstice818 @ Sep 9 2009, 01:31 PM)
From my understanding,
From the 1st word until the last word, I cant and I didn't  see him talking about "poached players" list.It's all about academy and funnily the 1st sentence is,
Where is it the talk about poached player?

Is either you guys have some problem understanding his post or you guys defending him for the sake's of defending. laugh.gif
not everybody here is a professor in english.. sometimes people just dont know how to express themselves correctly cause of lack of knowledge in foreign language

because its still 50/50, lets dun judge him now

This post has been edited by MADReaLJL: Sep 9 2009, 06:35 PM
TSsolstice818
post Sep 9 2009, 06:37 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

QUOTE(MADReaLJL @ Sep 9 2009, 06:34 PM)
not everybody here is a professor in english.. sometimes people just dont know how to express themselves correctly cause of lack of knowledge in foreign language
Is not about language.It's pretty obvious he is saying those players are academy players.Cant you see it?Closely after Beckham,Neville, Giggs, he said can add "ronaldo and co" into the same list.

Seriously, I dont know why you are defending him for the sake of defending when it's pretty obvious language isn't really the matter here.

Oh well...Each to his own...
MADReaLJL
post Sep 9 2009, 06:43 PM

4,050 posts

QUOTE(solstice818 @ Sep 9 2009, 06:37 PM)
Is not about language.It's pretty obvious he is saying those players are academy players.Cant you see it?Closely after Beckham,Neville, Giggs, he said can add "ronaldo and co" into the same list.

Seriously, I dont know why you are defending him for the sake of defending when it's pretty obvious language isn't really the matter here.

Oh well...Each to his own...
he didnt, u put that urself
its kinda offtopic now.. dun wanna turn this thread into man utd bashing or english class laugh.gif
plus, everybody has their own opinions.. u have urs and i have mine.. case closed

now more clubs started to enter the spotlight.. trying to get some money there? wink.gif

This post has been edited by MADReaLJL: Sep 9 2009, 06:45 PM
TSsolstice818
post Sep 9 2009, 06:45 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

QUOTE(MADReaLJL @ Sep 9 2009, 06:43 PM)
he didnt, u put that urself
its kinda offtopic now.. dun wanna turn this thread into man utd bashing or english class laugh.gif
plus, everybody has their own opinions.. u have ur's and i have mine.. case closed
now more clubs started to enter the spotlight.. trying to get some money there? wink.gif
Oh well, it's well known fact, the world is against ManU... rolleyes.gif
Ichighost
post Sep 9 2009, 08:06 PM

358 posts

Agreed..
nshady
post Sep 9 2009, 08:08 PM

354 posts

Ronaldo isn't from manutd's academy to whoever claims he is. Being a better club sure makes your rivals and their fans hate you more especially when you win more and more(from them).. No offense that there are many manutd haters out there..but manutd lovers aren't little either.

This post has been edited by nshady: Sep 9 2009, 08:11 PM
Ichighost
post Sep 9 2009, 08:11 PM

358 posts

Not because he in a better club..but because he dive and smile after that...that really irritated..no offense...

nshady
post Sep 9 2009, 08:13 PM

354 posts

QUOTE(Ichighost @ Sep 9 2009, 08:11 PM)
Not because he in a better club..but because he dive and smile after that...that really irritated..no offense...
What are you trying to say? Who is in a better club? I wasn't even referring to a player. We're talking about clubs. Relax man..you seem to be trying to express hatred towards manutd now...lol.

cool down =P

This post has been edited by nshady: Sep 9 2009, 08:14 PM
Ichighost
post Sep 9 2009, 08:17 PM

358 posts

Hahhaha..okey....look like their lovers also know the habit of their player..

back to the topic..look like several english club reported to FIFA now...left Pool and Arsenal now from the top 4...
shgx700
post Sep 9 2009, 08:59 PM

Devil I'm
1,135 posts

Red part:

is there anything to point that he's a UTD fan? i guess he's not even a football fan
nLz | Lanpakali
post Sep 9 2009, 09:27 PM

30 posts

come on , enough of man utd,

lets move on to a much bigger picture here...

The chelsea case.. Is gael kakuta really worth that 2 years ban? =/
Ichighost
post Sep 9 2009, 09:42 PM

358 posts

Positive Side : Yap, cuz he will force Chelsea to use the reserves team..bunch of them on loan right now..will be recall for january and some of them next season...to be able to lift the level of youngster under a pressure..yesh he might be the key to create a group of great footballer...without even spend any money for 2 transfer window...

Negative Side : He may flop and Chelsea left with insecure future..
TSsolstice818
post Sep 9 2009, 09:42 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

QUOTE(shgx700 @ Sep 9 2009, 08:59 PM)
is there anything to point that he's a UTD fan? i guess he's not even a football fan
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...&#entry27362085

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...&#entry26254246

Notable:

QUOTE(MamulaMoon @ May 30 2009, 10:23 AM)
Why tottenham copied our glory glory song?

They changed it to "Glory glory tottenham hotspurs"??? LOL?
Oh well...I can quote a hell more post about that but these 2 should be enough to answer your question.

By the way, he is that funny little guy in the "Glory Hunter" thread that told us he had been forced to become manu fans because of the bandwagon...Funny guy. laugh.gif

QUOTE(nLz | Lanpakali @ Sep 9 2009, 09:27 PM)
come on , enough of man utd,

lets move on to a much bigger picture here...

The chelsea case.. Is gael kakuta really worth that 2 years ban? =/
This whole little incident about banning wont make any difference to Chelsea because the 6+5 gonna be implemented soon..It's more like a blessing in disguise if you ask me since they have no choice but to play their youngsters now. smile.gif

This post has been edited by solstice818: Sep 9 2009, 09:43 PM
sickx
post Sep 9 2009, 10:19 PM

1,232 posts

QUOTE(Ichighost @ Sep 9 2009, 08:17 PM)
Hahhaha..okey....look like their lovers also know the habit of their player..

back to the topic..look like several english club reported to FIFA now...left Pool and Arsenal now from the top 4...
we got away with merida's case before.but i don't know bout other youngsters.bout liverpool..did they sign youngsters from abroad? hmm.gif
madmoz
post Sep 10 2009, 01:43 PM

4,250 posts

All this hoohah, especially by French clubs reminds me of something kinda ironic...

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/7235765.stm

I like the 90 minute rule... make it compulsory EVERYWHERE and this ugly side of the supposedly beautiful game will die out.

Want to sign super talented Africans or South Americans... not until they are 18. Before that, you can only coach them via 'local partner' or 'local feeder' clubs.

But will FIFA ever have the political will, balls and clout to do this?
Kerplunk
post Sep 10 2009, 02:35 PM

802 posts

okay let's get something straight. there are people here who actually believe french/italian/spanish/german clubs have NEVER poached a youngster from other smaller teams before? u actually think they're all angels?and platini/blatter is the saviour of football? wow..u guys deserve an award. and its not the good kind. laugh.gif
nshady
post Sep 11 2009, 01:10 AM

354 posts

QUOTE(Kerplunk @ Sep 10 2009, 02:35 PM)
okay let's get something straight. there are people here who actually believe french/italian/spanish/german clubs have NEVER poached a youngster from other smaller teams before? u actually think they're all angels?and platini/blatter is the saviour of football? wow..u guys deserve an award. and its not the good kind.  laugh.gif
Agreed here smile.gif
Ichighost
post Sep 11 2009, 01:21 AM

358 posts

QUOTE(Kerplunk @ Sep 10 2009, 03:35 PM)
okay let's get something straight. there are people here who actually believe french/italian/spanish/german clubs have NEVER poached a youngster from other smaller teams before? u actually think they're all angels?and platini/blatter is the saviour of football? wow..u guys deserve an award. and its not the good kind.  laugh.gif
me too...
matyrze
post Sep 11 2009, 01:42 AM

Historical tears
678 posts

QUOTE(Kerplunk @ Sep 10 2009, 02:35 PM)
Why don't you just accept that the youth transfer policy in other countries is different from that in England? The English football have been very different in nearly every aspect compared to others, be it the style of play, the marketing strategies, the ownership of the club, the fans, the stadium. Most probablt, so too the youth policy.

Up until now, there are several clubs that have already accused EPL teams of poaching their young stars. And mind you that those clubs are not only from France, there are also some from England. Recently Leeds United have also been vocal about this poaching activities.

Until there are some minor clubs report any french/italian/spanish/german club to FIFA of trying to poach their youngster, you have to accept that only the English have been really greedy.

If you are going to accuse FIFA of being anti-English, well, maybe you didn't read yet about Roma's similar 2 years ban.

In fact, I believe, FIFA have been really biased toward Chelsea recently, when they asked Mutu to pay 17 million euros to Chelsea. Huh, they are indeed 'anti-English'.
Ichighost
post Sep 11 2009, 02:21 AM

358 posts

Dude asking Mutu to pay 17mil to Chelsea...was not even a help..they complicated a lot of things...dont look everything direct..try to think the other side of it..

toshio14
post Sep 11 2009, 07:20 AM

704 posts

QUOTE(Ichighost @ Sep 11 2009, 02:21 AM)
Dude asking Mutu to pay 17mil to Chelsea...was not even a help..they complicated a lot of things...dont look everything direct..try to think the other side of it..
i don't know about others but i'm really interested in knowing what is this "other side" of Mutu's case

Ichighost
post Sep 11 2009, 07:41 AM

358 posts

I mean the player himself..begging former club to reduce the 17mil...asking from club to split the bill...now look like Mutu career in trouble...

It is just the same of Kakuta case...Fifa should not limit his earning...he play and train harder so that he can earn a good money...did his former club can give him the salary Chelsea give it to him? No..so we pay for what we done....simple..Why Ronaldo cost nearly 80mil...cuz he play hard to impress the world....to make sure he earn a gud salary..

Sometimes is not just about Club...sometimes it is about players...
TSsolstice818
post Sep 11 2009, 08:23 AM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

QUOTE(Ichighost @ Sep 11 2009, 07:41 AM)
I mean the player himself..begging former club to reduce the 17mil...asking from club to split the bill...now look like Mutu career in trouble...

It is just the same of Kakuta case...Fifa should not limit his earning...he play and train harder so that he can earn a good money...did his former club can give him the salary Chelsea give it to him? No..so we pay for what we done....simple..Why Ronaldo cost nearly 80mil...cuz he play hard to impress the world....to make sure he earn a gud salary..

Sometimes is not just about Club...sometimes it is about players...
I think you should get your fact right.

1st, I dont think FIFA limit Kakuta's salary whatsoever.It's the inducement given to him that he was reported to FIFA.

2nd, I don't know what's relevant to Mutu begging Chelsea to reduce the 17mil.matyrze was saying that Chelsea was not aimed by FIFA by including in the Mutu's case.How is this begging 17mil stuff relevant to "the other side"

Anyway, I have to agree with Kerplunk.It will be plain stupid if someone think only BPL clubs raid youth from other nation.They aint really that saint either...
skystrike
post Sep 11 2009, 08:24 AM

back to normal
1,279 posts

Wenger against ban on signing Under-18s

Arsenal manager Arsene Wenger has become a rare voice against blocking the trade of Under-18 footballers, defending his club's policy of signing the best young players from around the world and claiming the rules should actually be relaxed.

The French coach criticised the current rules which make it difficult for English clubs to sign youths from Asia, South America and Africa.

Wenger claims that stopping a practice that Leeds chairman Ken Bates has described as "baby farming" would actually put the players at more risk and they would likely fall prey to unscruplious agents.

FIFA are determined to clean up the game after last week banning Chelsea from signing any players until 2011. Since the Gael Kakuta ruling a whole host of offended clubs have come out to demand action.

Most of Europe's top clubs have stated they would support a ban on any transfers for under-age players, but Wenger strongly disagrees claiming there are many advantages to joining big clubs with a professional infrastructure.

Arsenal have one of the most cosmopolitan academies in Europe with players from all over the globe.

"People think that we take 30 players every year and you get them into your academy," he said. "No, it's not like that. When we take one or two, we give them a top level education, we give them a top level scholarship, and we look after them socially.

"Look at the alternative. If you ban players from moving before the age of 18, you know what will happen? The player will be sold anyway,'' he said. "To whom? To agents. At what age? At 13, 14. Where will they go? Not to top-level clubs with top-level education.

"They will go to clubs who have been bought by business people, of a very low level, and will stay there until the age of 18 waiting to be sold. The money will go out of the game. You have always to look if you make one decision, what kind of alternative?

"If your players cannot move to the best clubs, I believe they will not improve. At the end of the day, to be a top-level player is to be with the best. You can speak bout the compensation level, is it right or not. I am open to that.

"I am against the process of stopping the players moving to the top level. If you have a child who is a good musician, what is your first reaction? It is to put it into a good music school, not in an average one, so why should that not happen in football?

"If a player goes to Chelsea, Arsenal, Manchester United, it is all clean and he gets a good education. That is why I am very sharp on cases like that. We have to respect the rules that are in place.

"England is, at the moment, in a weak position for taking young players because they inflict a big handicap on themselves by the fact that they have no access to Asian players, no access to South American players, no access to African players.

"On top of that, if it was impossible to take European players then you will have a big handicap in the future for English football. What is happening now is a case that I have fought for a long, long time against - people with regressive ideas.

"To expose your local players to top-world class players does not harm your players, it improves your players because it respects one basic rule - the best to become better have to play better. If you have a good national team today, it just proves it conforms to what I have preached for a long, long time - don't hide the best players in England from being exposed with the best ones, because that will make them weaker.

"Get them to be confronted with the best and make them stronger."
sos soccernet

what do u guyz think??? cool2.gif

This post has been edited by skystrike: Sep 11 2009, 08:25 AM
Ichighost
post Sep 11 2009, 08:30 AM

358 posts

@solstice818

I got what u mean..nice explanation...

I think UEFA should standardize the rule for under 18 transfer..maybe a fix amount if compensation...amount of age...

madmoz
post Sep 11 2009, 09:15 AM

4,250 posts

QUOTE(skystrike @ Sep 11 2009, 08:24 AM)
sos soccernet

what do u guyz think???  cool2.gif
Honestly, I think Mr Wenger is being selfish and ignorant. Read the article, young kids are being sold like cattle even now. Is it really that hard to establish feeder clubs or have links with clubs all around the world and help them train those kids locally so they do not have to be uprooted and sent somewhere far from home.

Good for the club, good for the community and also good for the kids.
Kerplunk
post Sep 11 2009, 09:18 AM

802 posts

QUOTE(matyrze @ Sep 11 2009, 01:42 AM)

Until there are some minor clubs report any french/italian/spanish/german club to FIFA of trying to poach their youngster, you have to accept that only the English have been really greedy.

If you are going to accuse FIFA of being anti-English, well, maybe you didn't read yet about Roma's similar 2 years ban.

In fact, I believe, FIFA have been really biased toward Chelsea recently, when they asked Mutu to pay 17 million euros to Chelsea. Huh, they are indeed 'anti-English'.
dude just because they go unreported, doesn't mean something illegal hasn't taken place. and if somehow they're better when it comes to covering up their tracks, doesn't make them free of guilt either.

regarding mexes, he was already tied to a professional contract with his former club, before roma 'signed' him up anyway. a huge difference there as roma clearly knew they were dealing with a player who's already legally tied down. mutu's case? he was on cocaine, which clearly breached his own contract so it got terminated.
its more like fifa taking a tough stand against drugs which is expected, and u can't compare the two.

if anything juve should take some responsibility as they snapped him up for free after that.
but u don't see fifa ordering juve to help mutu out do u? again this highlights fifa's 'ridiculousness' to put it lightly.
and imo mutu should be more upset with juventus for hanging him out to dry when they were the biggest winners
in the initial deal.

at the end of the day, bigger clubs will always try and swoop for stars from smaller clubs. and the players will always want to further their ambition, more often than not. rich dominating the poor, strong dominating the weak and all that jazz. that's just how the world works if u hadn't noticed. so don't tell me top spanish clubs have never made use of their wealth and pulling power to turn the head of a young player who developed at a 'smaller' team.

verx
post Sep 11 2009, 11:36 AM

Soshified Madridista
3,737 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ Sep 11 2009, 09:15 AM)
Honestly, I think Mr Wenger is being selfish and ignorant. Read the article, young kids are being sold like cattle even now. Is it really that hard to establish feeder clubs or have links with clubs all around the world and help them train those kids locally so they do not have to be uprooted and sent somewhere far from home.

Good for the club, good for the community and also good for the kids.
I agree with Wenger actually. How is banning the transfers of U-18s going to solve the "cattle" problem in Africa? If the kids are talented they deserve the chance to improve their lives by capitalising on their talent. Not every kid will get that chance anyway. Why should they stay in their local academies when the facilities or the coaches are nowhere near as good as the ones in Europe? How are they going to maximise their potential then? Wait until they are 18; by that time it will already be too late. It's also unrealistic to expect a big European club to invest in top class facilities in Nigeria, Ghana, Togo, or different regions in Argentina or Brazil. It makes way more sense to sponsor the kid a ticket to your academy and train him there.

@matyrze: I think you're clutching at straws there, the European clubs aren't saints. There is alot of poaching going on whether you choose to believe it or not. But I guess it comes down to how you define poaching. And there's also the need to distinguish between what is legal and illegal and, ethical and unethical.

@Kerplunk: Innocent until proven guilty. European clubs in general tend to bring in youngsters at a far younger age (ard 8-13). And for players that are older normally a fee is involved. What the English clubs are criticised for now are for bringing in players just before they can sign professional contracts by offering them a lucrative pro contract (because it's allowed in England) and without compensating a fee. It may be legal but to me it's unethical. That is what I want to see being cracked down. Chelsea may have been unlucky because Kakuta had signed a pre-agreement with Lens but that doesn't mean that all the other European clubs practice the same way mainly because there is no loophole for them to exploit. The whole thing would have been a non-issue if the clubs that trained these players since they were 8 yrs old were being compensated in the first place.

This post has been edited by verx: Sep 11 2009, 11:50 AM
vreis
post Sep 11 2009, 11:46 AM

Golden Past Red Future
1,658 posts

QUOTE(verx @ Sep 11 2009, 11:36 AM)
@Kerplunk: Innocent until proven guilty. European clubs in general tend to bring in youngsters at a far younger age (ard 8-13). And for players that are older normally a fee is involved. What the English clubs are criticised for now are for bringing in players just before they can sign professional contracts by offering them a lucrative pro contract (because it's allowed in England) and without compensating a fee. It may be legal but to me it's unethical. That is what I want to see being cracked down. Chelsea may have been unlucky because Kakuta had signed a pre-agreement with Lens but that doesn't mean that all the other European clubs practice the same way mainly because there is no loophole for them to exploit. The whole thing would have been a non-issue if the clubs that trained these players since they were 8 yrs old were being compensated in the first place.
How much do you compensate them when there's no contract involve. What is the amount that seems fair to both sides? Reluctant seller will quote sky high price while buyer will find ways to nick those youngster for free since there's practically no contract binding them. What if seller determine to hang into their prized asset & buyer determine to get their hands on the said asset while the asset himself determine to move on to better things? Do we need to consider the opinion of the youngster since there's no contract? If not, then buyer & seller is equally guilty for treating the youngster like a piece of meat.
Trouble is determining the amount of compensation. For pro, their transfer fee mostly based on their income/year. If this approach are used to compensate those small clubs, it's practically nil.
On the other hand, do the buyer just pay whatever the figure quoted by seller? It's a no brainer since, why would they pay the seller asking price when they know they can get it for far less if its decided by tribunal.

BTW bet all those big clubs across Europe would like to have a youth policy like the English. Its just that government policy prevented them from signing contracts with youngster like the English whistling.gif

This post has been edited by vreis: Sep 11 2009, 11:49 AM
verx
post Sep 11 2009, 12:00 PM

Soshified Madridista
3,737 posts

QUOTE(vreis @ Sep 11 2009, 11:46 AM)
How much do you compensate them when there's no contract involve. What is the amount that seems fair to both sides? Reluctant seller will quote sky high price while buyer will find ways to nick those youngster for free since there's practically no contract binding them. What if seller determine to hang into their prized asset & buyer determine to get their hands on the said asset while the asset himself determine to move on to better things? Do we need to consider the opinion of the youngster since there's no contract? If not, then buyer & seller is equally guilty for treating the youngster like a piece of meat.

Trouble is determining the amount of compensation. For pro, their transfer fee mostly based on their income/year. If this approach are used to compensate those small clubs, it's practically nil.
On the other hand, do the buyer just pay whatever the figure quoted by seller? It's a no brainer since, why would they pay the seller asking price when they know they can get it for far less if its decided by tribunal.
In such cases once the youngster wants a move, the seller can't really hang onto them. But you're right, it's difficult to quantify what would be an adequate fee. Which is why there needs to be legal guidelines drawn up whether by FIFA or by some other body. Most of these cases are decided by a tribunal currently and in most cases the fee was accepted by the seller. Chelsea's case is unique because the player had signed a pre-agreement. Chelsea will argue that such an agreement shouldn't be legally binding. It's interesting FIFA has chosen to uphold it. Might open a new can of worms.

BTW bet all those big clubs across Europe would like to have a youth policy like the English. Its just that government policy prevented them from signing contracts with youngster like the English whistling.gif
Well if they were able to sign players on pro contracts as early as the English there wouldn't be any problems would there whistling.gif
But if the cases were reversed I definitely can see the same outcry happening. Clubs at the end of the day will only look after their interests.
vreis
post Sep 11 2009, 12:07 PM

Golden Past Red Future
1,658 posts

QUOTE(verx @ Sep 11 2009, 12:00 PM)
In such cases once the youngster wants a move, the seller can't really hang onto them. But you're right, it's difficult to quantify what would be an adequate fee. Which is why there needs to be legal guidelines drawn up whether by FIFA or by some other body. Most of these cases are decided by a tribunal currently and in most cases the fee was accepted by the seller. Chelsea's case is unique because the player had signed a pre-agreement. Chelsea will argue that such an agreement shouldn't be legally binding. It's interesting FIFA has chosen to uphold it. Might open a new can of worms.
Well if they were able to sign players on pro contracts as early as the English there wouldn't be any problems would there whistling.gif
But if the cases were reversed I definitely can see the same outcry happening. Clubs at the end of the day will only look after their interests.
Thought any agreement with minor is void? hmm.gif

Even if there's reversed case, I don't think there's loads of English boy willing to go abroad in such a young age. How many Englishmen in recent seasons that willing to play abroad? Somehow, just like the Italian, they don't like to go abroad. Maybe it stems from their mind that their leagues is among the best in Europe so there's no need to go abroad. Funny, have a feeling that they're pampered in their country instead tongue.gif
madmoz
post Sep 11 2009, 12:22 PM

4,250 posts

I disagree. It is like the doping of thoroughbred racehorses in america (google eight belles). The 'solution' is obvious - for racehorses stop the use of dopes), for football stop the transfer of under 18s.
In both cases, it will change the face of the sport, and most are not willing to do this.

If NO kids are allowed to leave their countries to learn their trade elsewhere until they are 18, then clubs will have no choice to either develop their local lads or spend money developing an academy on foreign soil in partnership of local club. And yes, it is true that not one club can have 100 academies in 100 nations, so it is again a matter of making priorities. Heck, this even levels the playing field imho.

It will change football, for the better imho.

vreis
post Sep 11 2009, 12:49 PM

Golden Past Red Future
1,658 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ Sep 11 2009, 12:22 PM)
I disagree. It is like the doping of thoroughbred racehorses in america (google eight belles). The 'solution' is obvious - for racehorses stop the use of dopes), for football stop the transfer of under 18s.
In both cases, it will change the face of the sport, and most are not willing to do this.

If NO kids are allowed to leave their countries to learn their trade elsewhere until they are 18, then clubs will have no choice to either develop their local lads or spend money developing an academy on foreign soil in partnership of local club. And yes, it is true that not one club can have 100 academies in 100 nations, so it is again a matter of making priorities. Heck, this even levels the playing field imho.

It will change football, for the better imho.
Big clubs can simply uproot the families, no? Instead of transfer of minor, it became emigration of family. So when a family start a new life in other country, cant the kids enrol in big clubs academy?
madmoz
post Sep 11 2009, 01:22 PM

4,250 posts

Well, if the whole family moves, then that in itself solves part of the problem - the trafficking of young kids who are left to fend for themselves when they are either found to be not good enough or when some other kid breaks their legs for good in training.
Kerplunk
post Sep 11 2009, 04:30 PM

802 posts

okay verx fair enough maybe other european clubs practice the signing of youngsters when they're younger, but like u said it will still come down to one's definition of poaching. i mean..younger doesn't necessarily make it right. and i support the idea that a suitable compensation fee should be agreed.

however like vreis said this could cause even more headaches as clubs will struggle to agree on a certain amount. some players show a lot of promise when the're young, but flop later on instead, and some peak much later. so most clubs would be reluctant to splash out millions due to the huge risk involved. regarding kakuta, its still a complicated problem as a pre-contract shouldn't be legally binding especially when u signed it at 15 or below.
and one thing i still can't quite understand is why they're bringing it up now instead of 2 years ago when we signed him.

its as if they've decided he's suddenly starting to look like a star and they want more money for it.
so who's the one being greedy now? if they really think that's the case, then obviously kakuta started to rapidly develop under CHELSEA'S TUTELAGE not theirs. imagine if clubs who couldn't care less about releasing their young hopefuls, suddenly realise they just let the next messi/lampard/ronaldo slip through their grasp and they demand an extra (insert obscene amount here) euros/pounds because the boy happened to train with them in the past.

isn't that unethical too?
verx
post Sep 11 2009, 04:49 PM

Soshified Madridista
3,737 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ Sep 11 2009, 01:22 PM)
Well, if the whole family moves, then that in itself solves part of the problem - the trafficking of young kids who are left to fend for themselves when they are either found to be not good enough or when some other kid breaks their legs for good in training.
Or clubs deem it not commercially viable to shift whole families across continents and the kids are left to fend for themselves for the rest of their lives because their parents are too poor to care for them. See what I did there laugh.gif. Not every single one of these kids will turn out to be a Essien or Drogba or for the heck of it a Messi but if they had a chance they should be given that chance. If the clubs can give a full education in addition to training the kid then why not? Even if he doesn't make it as a pro footballer he would be better off starving in poverty in Africa.

Let me give you an example. Let's say in some alternate reality you were born a genius and you discovered you had great talent in maths laugh.gif. By 15 you were offered a full scholarship by some prestigious university to go and study Maths. You're saying that you shouldn't be allowed to go there and chase your dreams just because in an off-case you fail your course, there will be no one there to baby you?

Added on September 11, 2009, 5:12 pm
QUOTE(Kerplunk @ Sep 11 2009, 04:30 PM)
okay verx fair enough maybe other european clubs practice the signing of youngsters when they're younger, but like u said it will still come down to one's definition of poaching. i mean..younger doesn't necessarily make it right. and i support the idea that a suitable compensation fee should be agreed.
If they're younger they probably haven't trained at another club academy yet. You're basically giving them their first real education about football. They all have to start somewhere regardless of their nationality. Of course it's not the case in South Americans being brought over to Europe. Brazil and Argentina, it's not like they have never complained about the exodus of young talent from their leagues and I think they have a U-18 rule over there if I'm not mistaken. I think it's about time FIFA drew up some guidelines.

however like vreis said this could cause even more headaches as clubs will struggle to agree on a certain amount. some players show a lot of promise when the're young, but flop later on instead, and some peak much later. so most clubs would be reluctant to splash out millions due to the huge risk involved. regarding kakuta, its still a complicated problem as a pre-contract shouldn't be legally binding especially when u signed it at 15 or below.
and one thing i still can't quite understand is why they're bringing it up now instead of 2 years ago when we signed him.

its as if they've decided he's suddenly starting to look like a star and they want more money for it.
so who's the one being greedy now? if they really think that's the case, then obviously kakuta started to rapidly develop under CHELSEA'S TUTELAGE not theirs. imagine if clubs who couldn't care less about releasing their young hopefuls, suddenly realise they just let the next messi/lampard/ronaldo slip through their grasp and they demand an extra (insert obscene amount here) euros/pounds because the boy happened to train with them in the past.

isn't that unethical too?
I could be wrong but I think Lens filed their case to FIFA even back then. I just think that it has taken that long for FIFA to act upon it. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by verx: Sep 11 2009, 05:12 PM
uNeVErwaLkaloNe
post Sep 11 2009, 05:27 PM

God Sniffing!!!
1,889 posts

QUOTE(verx @ Sep 11 2009, 04:49 PM)
I could be wrong but I think Lens filed their case to FIFA even back then. I just think that it has taken that long for FIFA to act upon it. laugh.gif
i remember read the same thing, the case was 2 yrs back..i think the case only surface recently because there were evidence provided by his family members.
Kerplunk
post Sep 11 2009, 10:56 PM

802 posts

wow. if they really did take 2 years to complete the investigation, then someone please resurrect sherlock holmes. laugh.gif
for me that still raises a few eyebrows...why the obscenely long timeline and i for one cannot recall lens getting all flustered in the media over losing him. let's see how far this particular can of worms is going to go, and whether fifa are really beckoning in a new era. btw i think wenger's argument is a very good one as well. players should have the right to receive the best education and not forced to remain where they are, just so their parent club can receive a bigger paycheque when they're older. they actually risk damaging or curtailing the kid's progress due to substandard facilities, training methods, etc.
madmoz
post Sep 12 2009, 11:06 AM

4,250 posts

@Verx, no system is perfect and nothing is fair, but for every one 'genius' that is given a shot for a better life, they are another nine (if not more) who fail and are abandoned.

People will always find loopholes, and no decision will cater for everyone, but clearly in this case the majority is suffering for the benefit of the chosen few.
verx
post Sep 12 2009, 11:33 AM

Soshified Madridista
3,737 posts

QUOTE(madmoz @ Sep 12 2009, 11:06 AM)
@Verx, no system is perfect and nothing is fair, but for every one 'genius' that is given a shot for a better life, they are another nine (if not more) who fail and are abandoned.

People will always find loopholes, and no decision will cater for everyone, but clearly in this case the majority is suffering for the benefit of the chosen few.
madmoz I think that you need to differentiate between a club actually sending scouts to scout a player and bringing them back to their own academy like what Wenger has done, compared to unlicenced agents trafficking youngsters from poverty-stricken countries. I personally do not condone the latter. But if it's done right then I don't see why these youngsters can't be allowed the opportunity to train with the best facilities and coaches. Banning transfers of U-18's aren't going to solve the trafficking problem. That is a whole other matter altogether. And if these youngsters can't make it at a big club they can always carve out a decent pro career at a smaller club in the lower leagues.

The important thing is that it must be done right. The clubs should be the ones who directly brings the player over not some greedy unscrupulous agent.
O-haiyo
post Sep 13 2009, 04:22 PM

857 posts

Why don't implement professional contract at younger age then? Labour's rule? Clubs will have to pay like a normal transfer fee for say they want to buy a 17 years old kid.

0.0379sec    0.74    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 04:10 AM