Sharp FullHD AQUOS 100hz LCD TV [LC-42A77M], thinking to buy this...
dynamike
Sep 8 2009, 09:23 AM

QUOTE(tailesley @ Sep 8 2009, 09:14 AM) Hi Folks... Any review for this LCD tv - Sharp FullHD AQUOS 100hz LCD TV [LC-42A77M] ? Im thinking to buy this but not sure is the 100hz really worth a lot to buy or not? Cant see much review for this LCD tv.. Thank you. for gaming,100hz its help. i regret didnt get 100hz last time. how much can u get for 42a77? im using sharp,but very old model,px5m
neoardi
Sep 8 2009, 09:43 AM
100hz good for games and fast pace sports (football) viewing only... but for watching BD movies, do avoid, coz it makes the movie looks like captured using handycam... btw, if the TV can switch on/off the 100hz so, its good...
scsoo
Sep 8 2009, 11:11 AM
If you comparing against the LC-42A66M the LC-42A77M is a 10 bit panel vs 8 bit panel and have deep colour while the other do not have.... This will indeed enhance your BD experience but 100hz is helpful for motion... 50hz motion on a big screen at near distance watching can be really "not nice" to the eyes....
ar188
Sep 8 2009, 11:20 AM
QUOTE(neoardi @ Sep 8 2009, 09:43 AM) but for watching BD movies, do avoid, coz it makes the movie looks like captured using handycam... yeah it's terrible.. film movies end up look like real live video cam documentaries instead...
TStailesley
Sep 8 2009, 11:27 AM

hmm... thanks for the information.. I saw jintex is selling RM41XX now.. By looking to the above comment.. It seems like 100hz need to be turn off while watching blueray movie.. Only good for game.. Actually im thinking to go for Panny S10k, but i just kinda worried of the image retent on the screen when playing a game.. and LCD is less relfection when comparing to Plasma.
dynamike
Sep 8 2009, 11:29 AM

QUOTE(neoardi @ Sep 8 2009, 09:43 AM) 100hz good for games and fast pace sports (football) viewing only... but for watching BD movies, do avoid, coz it makes the movie looks like captured using handycam... btw, if the TV can switch on/off the 100hz so, its good...  now only i knew,that 100hz is not good with BD. just curious,46 inch Z450A Series Full HD BRAVIA LCD TV with 200hz motionflow look nice on BD,i saw it at mid valley,of course,price double. BD best view with plasma? This post has been edited by dynamike: Sep 8 2009, 11:34 AM
low98944
Sep 8 2009, 11:32 AM
QUOTE(tailesley @ Sep 8 2009, 11:27 AM) hmm... thanks for the information.. I saw jintex is selling RM41XX now.. By looking to the above comment.. It seems like 100hz need to be turn off while watching blueray movie.. Only good for game.. Actually im thinking to go for Panny S10k, but i just kinda worried of the image retent on the screen when playing a game.. and LCD is less relfection when comparing to Plasma. I wonder how many ppl who purchased the Plasma TV before got image retention problem?  I also use Plasma. So far so good.
TStailesley
Sep 8 2009, 11:57 AM

QUOTE(low98944 @ Sep 8 2009, 11:32 AM) I wonder how many ppl who purchased the Plasma TV before got image retention problem?  I also use Plasma. So far so good. For retention maybe rare.. but i can see the refelction of the plasma compare to LCD very obvious when it put side by side. Anyway, no deny that BD in plasma is awesome...
arremie
Sep 8 2009, 12:16 PM
QUOTE(neoardi @ Sep 8 2009, 09:43 AM) 100hz good for games and fast pace sports (football) viewing only... but for watching BD movies, do avoid, coz it makes the movie looks like captured using handycam... btw, if the TV can switch on/off the 100hz so, its good...  What did u actually mean by that. My Sony is 100hz but I never turn it off while watching BD. I don't see anything weird
neoardi
Sep 8 2009, 12:24 PM
QUOTE(arremie @ Sep 8 2009, 12:16 PM) What did u actually mean by that. My Sony is 100hz but I never turn it off while watching BD. I don't see anything weird  i mean, the movie's framerate becoming so smooth, instead of 24fps (movies framerate) it becomes 60fps (handycam framerate)... im not good explaining this technical stuff, maybe bro ar188 can explain it better...
arremie
Sep 8 2009, 12:39 PM
Well my Sony still showing 1080/24p so I don't think it becomes 60hz while playing BD. It does however shows 1080/60p while playing R1 DVD.
ar188
Sep 8 2009, 12:48 PM
QUOTE(neoardi @ Sep 8 2009, 12:24 PM) i mean, the movie's framerate becoming so smooth, instead of 24fps (movies framerate) it becomes 60fps (handycam framerate)... im not good explaining this technical stuff, maybe bro ar188 can explain it better...  dunno how to explain also..  just know it look like real world video cam corder effect..
arremie
Sep 8 2009, 12:53 PM
then I just believe to whatever my tv tells me la
ar188
Sep 8 2009, 01:02 PM
QUOTE(arremie @ Sep 8 2009, 12:53 PM) then I just believe to whatever my tv tells me la  shouldn't you believe what your eyes are telling you instead..
arremie
Sep 8 2009, 01:56 PM
my eyes said all good but appreciate bigger screen
scsoo
Sep 8 2009, 02:09 PM
Image Retention is slowly becoming a thing of the past for plasma.. but better take percaution... better dun take risk after spending a few k... As for reflection... need to be careful.. Malaysia is a country with bright sunny days.... Make sure the place you place the TV is away from direct light source.... Having both LCD and plasma and now placing the plasma where the LCD used to be... can see difference.. now see minor reflection where with LCD last time cannot be seen... But on a side-note... can view from any angle now without wash-out colours... LCD must pick "fengshui" place to watch tv.....
temppei
Sep 8 2009, 02:17 PM

my friend purchased his 42" a77 for 4.8k just 2 weeks ago! 41xx is definately a steal.
This post has been edited by temppei: Sep 8 2009, 02:18 PM
rx330
Sep 8 2009, 03:52 PM
neoardi n ar188, i tot tat effect is from 200hz? 100hz no such issues
victorlaw
Sep 8 2009, 07:45 PM

wow temppei .... 4.1k is really a good deal !