but why u sign when u plan not to start work there???
No Show on first day of work after get the offer, Do we need to pay back?? Help :(
Sep 8 2009, 12:53 PM
618 posts Joined: Apr 2009 |
but why u sign when u plan not to start work there???
Sep 8 2009, 05:18 PM
1,308 posts Joined: Jun 2005 From: Penang |
Sigh. TS, share topic of discussion here ya.
Here's my situation: Currently working at company A. Went for interview with company B. Got job offer from company B. Offer letter received on 7th Sept. First reporting day stated on offer letter is 12th Oct. Haven't signed the letter as wanted to go through thoroughly before pen down anything. Suddenly Company C (my dream company) called for interview (phone interview 2wks ago) on 10th Sept. My concerns : Prepared to leave company A no matter what. Company B is good but PREFER company C due to job scope and work environment. The problem is if i sud reject company B asap or wait for company C to offer. Also need to consider that there is a chance company C might not hire. so if that happens, i'll end up with nth!. Besides, i can't delay the offer by company B too long as its unfair to them. And, company C might take some time to decide whether to hire me or not (also the med checkup before confirmation). What should i do now? My options : Go for interview with company C on 10th Sept. tell them about my concerns and dateline (Inclusive of resignation with Co. A and offer from Co. B). Ask for faster processing, if possible, immediate answer. OR Reject Co. B offer, stay at Co. A. Wait for Co. C. If no offer, then no choice but to stay at Co. A till find another job. Questions : Can i sign Co. B offer (2wks notice during probation), then submit resignation to Co. B if Co. C offers me BEFORE reporting date on 12th Oct? I know its foolish but.. dont know what else i can do here... Kindly advice. Dun flame .. This post has been edited by dantwt: Sep 8 2009, 05:19 PM |
Sep 8 2009, 05:50 PM
3,651 posts Joined: Jan 2009 From: Fort Canning Garden Status: Dog Fighting |
Alright. Let's take it from a very systematic and mathematical approach.
First things first. Company A as you have mentioned should be drawn out from the equation. Secondly, the 2 days lapse shall deemed sufficient for you to play your cards right. Dilly dally with it and it's "kiss it goodbye case". Hold on to the Contract of Service (CoS) of Company B. (Do the same 'ol, same 'ol routine a.k.a Read & Understand the content of the CoS) 12th September is your date of employment commencement date, if you choose to work with them. Since you have the interview of Company C on the 10th September, go for it anyways. There's no harm or whatsoever, right? Do your interview there and then. Evaluate the whole prospect of Company C with Company B. Do some weighing between the two, PROVIDED they are offering you the job in Company C. However, if things didn't turn out well from Company C, you'll have Company B to fall back upon, right? Regards, Joey p.s: Simple clear cut and the good thing is you have TWO (2) days to play around. You make the call and run the table. All the best for you. Oh ya! Almost forgotten to address your questions. My options : Go for interview with company C on 10th Sept. tell them about my concerns and dateline (Inclusive of resignation with Co. A and offer from Co. B). Ask for faster processing, if possible, immediate answer. HONESTY IS EQUIVALENT SUICIDAL HERE. Need an elaborate explanation on this? OR Reject Co. B offer, stay at Co. A. Wait for Co. C. If no offer, then no choice but to stay at Co. A till find another job. NOT FEASIBLE. Do you know calculated risk and ~!@#$%^&* blunt risk? Would you want to fall back to square one a.k.a Company A? Your turn to be the banker. Questions : Can i sign Co. B offer (2wks notice during probation), then submit resignation to Co. B if Co. C offers me BEFORE reporting date on 12th Oct? I know its foolish but.. dont know what else i can do here... SIMPLE. IT'S AKIN SMART INNOCENT MOVE. If you are brave hearted and feels maverick about that move, go ahead. It's gutsy but the outcome will overshadows the shortcoming from the short probationary resignation. This post has been edited by Joey Christensen: Sep 8 2009, 06:09 PM |
Sep 8 2009, 06:04 PM
452 posts Joined: Sep 2007 |
QUOTE(Joey Christensen @ Sep 8 2009, 05:50 PM) Alright. Let's take it from a very systematic and mathematical approach. Joey, First things first. Company A as you have mentioned should be drawn out from the equation. Secondly, the 2 days lapse shall deemed sufficient for you to play your cards right. Dilly dally with it and it's "kiss it goodbye case". Hold on to the Contract of Service of Company B. (Do the same 'ol, same 'ol routine a.k.a Read & Understand the content) 12th September is your date of employment commencement date, if you choose to work with them. Since you have the interview of Company C on the 10th September, go for it anyways. There's no harm or whatsoever, right? Do your interview there and there. Evaluate the whole prospect of Company C with Company B. Do some weighing between the two, PROVIDED they are offering you the job in Company C. However, if things didn't turn out well from Company C, you'll have Company B to fall back upon, right? Regards, Joey p.s: SImple clear cut and the good thing is you have TWO (2) days to play around. You make the call and run the table. All the best for you. TS reporting date with B is 12th Oct, interview date with C is 10th Sept. So, he has ample time to think over and decide whether to stick to B or go to C, should he gets it. I dont see any problem in this, go for the interview but dont do anything silly with company B (yet). 12th Oct is still your 1st day with B. In fact, if I were you, I would use the company B offer as my trump card during company C interview for better perks, etc. At the same time, you can ask (not demand) company C to provide soonest possible feedback of your interview. Company C's willingness(?) in doing that would somehow reflect whether you made the grade or not... |
Sep 8 2009, 06:06 PM
Aiks! It's OCTOBER AND SEPTEMBER? or SEPTEMBER AND SEPTEMBER?
It's 6pm and it's off work for me. Anyways, the above mentioned advices shall continue tomorrow. Regards, Joey p.s: 6pm = pang kang liao. In addition, you can evaluate what I've written and make adjustments here and there as per your liking. Time to go home. This post has been edited by Joey Christensen: Sep 8 2009, 06:09 PM |
Sep 8 2009, 07:57 PM
@Joey , depster666
The problem is I have to return the CoS as soon as possible to Co. B. Probably the latest is by next monday. If the interview outcome with Co. C only can be known 2weeks after the interview date then it would be difficult to arrange. Also, do note that the CoS mentioned the reporting date to be 12 Oct. So i must tender my resignation with Co. A by 11 Oct. "HONESTY IS EQUIVALENT SUICIDAL HERE. Need an elaborate explanation on this?" Joey, if u dont mind, pls elaborate a little here. I'm not sure what to mention and what not in a situation like this. And frankly, i'm pretty sure that Co. C will definitely offer me a better remuneration and benefits, as i have gone through the offer made by Co.B. Regarding my Question, can we all agree that its a legal move or sud i consider more alternatives? |
Sep 8 2009, 08:28 PM
QUOTE(dantwt @ Sep 8 2009, 07:57 PM) @Joey , depster666 OK... this is what I wud do if I were u...The problem is I have to return the CoS as soon as possible to Co. B. Probably the latest is by next monday. If the interview outcome with Co. C only can be known 2weeks after the interview date then it would be difficult to arrange. Also, do note that the CoS mentioned the reporting date to be 12 Oct. So i must tender my resignation with Co. A by 11 Oct. "HONESTY IS EQUIVALENT SUICIDAL HERE. Need an elaborate explanation on this?" Joey, if u dont mind, pls elaborate a little here. I'm not sure what to mention and what not in a situation like this. And frankly, i'm pretty sure that Co. C will definitely offer me a better remuneration and benefits, as i have gone through the offer made by Co.B. Regarding my Question, can we all agree that its a legal move or sud i consider more alternatives? Return the signed CoS to Co.B. And like I said, during my interview with Co.C, i wud inform them about Co.B's offer.. in return for better perks from Co.C and to force their hands into giving u the interview feedback early... u can tell them that it would make ur life easier in deciding. If no news from Co.C by 10th Oct, resign from Co.A on 11th (check about 24 hrs notice penalty) and report to Co.B on 12th. If and when Co.C offer comes afterward, well... that's not that difficult to make a decision right?... |
Sep 9 2009, 08:41 AM
QUOTE(depster666 @ Sep 8 2009, 08:28 PM) OK... this is what I wud do if I were u... I have to give 1mth notice to Co. A for resignation, in which, if i dont, i have to pay 1mth salary. Return the signed CoS to Co.B. And like I said, during my interview with Co.C, i wud inform them about Co.B's offer.. in return for better perks from Co.C and to force their hands into giving u the interview feedback early... u can tell them that it would make ur life easier in deciding. If no news from Co.C by 10th Oct, resign from Co.A on 11th (check about 24 hrs notice penalty) and report to Co.B on 12th. If and when Co.C offer comes afterward, well... that's not that difficult to make a decision right?... Hence, the last day for me to hand in the resignation is by 11th SEPT, Unless i request from Co. B to change the reporting day to a later date ( not sure if this can be done though). Thus, excluding non-working days, I have only 1 day to make decision or for Co. C to make an offer (which i strongly doubt they'll make an offer so soon). For now, what I planned to do is: -Attend interview on 10th Sept (tomoro) -During interview, mention about offer (Co.B) and resignation (Co.A) issues. -Request for quick response from Co.C regarding interview outcome. -Depending on answers given by Co.C at the end of interview, Request for reporting day extension(1wk) from Co. B (still haven't thought of what excuse to give). -Submit resignation for on 16th/19th Sept (w/ 1 mth notice) -PRAY everynite for Co. C to reply by 18th Sept. Else, jus sign Co B CoS for good. Have to let go Co. C even if they decide to offer after 18th Sept (though i wud literally kill myself for not waiting longer.. *sob*) Feasible? Comments are welcome. |
Sep 9 2009, 08:54 AM
2,841 posts Joined: Jun 2008 From: The East of the Motherland |
First off, do not let Company C know about any other companies you are about to join aside from your currently working one. It's suicide because it means this candidate is undecided about his choices and a risk because he/she may decide to delay this and that just because he/she got a 'personal' problem. Unless you are someone important that company C willing to look pass the 'inconveniences', suggest you just go ahead and sign in with Company B if you really want to get out from A. Work there for a while until u hear from C. If C say u got offered, suggest you tell company C give u some time (if possible depending on what C is requesting) to settle the payback to B. Based on experiences, certain company especially the big one, will reply quite late (sometime even up to a 6 months to a year) before you can get the offer. So suggest just working in B and DO NOT EVER pressure C to hasten the reply as they are the 'boss' NOT 'you', and you may lose respect from C. They are not in the position to play favoristism and might have other better candidates than you. Think of it as an investment should you need to leave B sooner prior to the notification months.
This post has been edited by LeechFever: Sep 9 2009, 09:00 AM |
Sep 9 2009, 10:08 AM
60 posts Joined: Aug 2006 |
i bet company C will tell you in the end:- if you can't wait then please go for the other offer and let go off this.
i believe company C also have a lot of candidate to choose as u r not the only one. y should they pick u in a rush while they might be candidates which are better than you. unless you r really good that they must have you. |
Sep 9 2009, 10:10 AM
QUOTE(dantwt @ Sep 8 2009, 07:57 PM) @Joey , depster666 Frankly speaking, Remunerations and benefits are just added lure. My concern: ARE YOU POSITIVELY SURE they (Company C) will be TAKING YOU IN?The problem is I have to return the CoS as soon as possible to Co. B. Probably the latest is by next monday. If the interview outcome with Co. C only can be known 2weeks after the interview date then it would be difficult to arrange. Also, do note that the CoS mentioned the reporting date to be 12 Oct. So i must tender my resignation with Co. A by 11 Oct. "HONESTY IS EQUIVALENT SUICIDAL HERE. Need an elaborate explanation on this?" Joey, if u dont mind, pls elaborate a little here. I'm not sure what to mention and what not in a situation like this. And frankly, i'm pretty sure that Co. C will definitely offer me a better remuneration and benefits, as i have gone through the offer made by Co.B. Regarding my Question, can we all agree that its a legal move or sud i consider more alternatives? Let's play a game of poke, shall we? Let's say I see you have a pair of 10s at the moment. The call is yours to be made. Would you call in and raise me? Alright, you can say you needed more time to shift to a new place to stay...I know it's a bit lame. However, you may want to say, "I'm currently serving my notice period and there's hand overs to be made". (Sounded like you had some responsibilities needed to be taken care of and it makes you like you are a very errmmm...responsible staff? even when you are on the verge of leaving". Is there any legal obligations that held upon you? Apart from the probationary period resignation, there's nothing much there. Serve it in a good way and you are off to Company C, ONLY IF they confirm on hiring you and should you accept the offer. Regards, Joey p.s: Sometimes you need to think like a football manager. It's critical and you are leveled at 1-1. Time left is quarter to full time. Should you substitute your support striker? Should you substitute your ace striker? Are you going for offensive or defensive tactic implementation? Getting 3 points with the game is viable. Going home with 1 point sounds fair too. Heck it! You might be going home 0 point, right? Times like this requires individual brilliance. And this individual is you. Added on September 9, 2009, 10:25 amI have an advice for you, Thread Starter. Here's a Chinese saying for you to ponder, "If you must play, decide on three things at the start: the rules of the game, the stakes, and the quitting time". Regards, Joey This post has been edited by Joey Christensen: Sep 9 2009, 10:25 AM |
Sep 9 2009, 11:10 AM
QUOTE(LeechFever @ Sep 9 2009, 08:54 AM) First off, do not let Company C know about any other companies you are about to join aside from your currently working one. It's suicide because it means this candidate is undecided about his choices and a risk because he/she may decide to delay this and that just because he/she got a 'personal' problem. Unless you are someone important that company C willing to look pass the 'inconveniences', suggest you just go ahead and sign in with Company B if you really want to get out from A. Work there for a while until u hear from C. If C say u got offered, suggest you tell company C give u some time (if possible depending on what C is requesting) to settle the payback to B. Based on experiences, certain company especially the big one, will reply quite late (sometime even up to a 6 months to a year) before you can get the offer. So suggest just working in B and DO NOT EVER pressure C to hasten the reply as they are the 'boss' NOT 'you', and you may lose respect from C. They are not in the position to play favoristism and might have other better candidates than you. Think of it as an investment should you need to leave B sooner prior to the notification months. Well, it depends... and I agree that it is a double-edged sword. From my personal experience during my interview with my current paymaster, the 1st question asked was "Are you sitting on any other offers at the moment? " which I was.. bla, bla, bla, then conversation extended to how much were the offers etc. Anyway, to cut short, i got offered from them a couple of hours after the interview, and significant increase from other offers... At the end of the day, in TS case, it depends on how professional Co.C would be wrt to Co.B's offer and how well TS would play his card during the interview. |
Sep 9 2009, 11:18 AM
I would go for reservation at the initial stage. See how the interview plays. Sometimes being reserved can be very good, strategically for you to play accordingly to your style and pacing.
Regards, Joey This post has been edited by Joey Christensen: Sep 9 2009, 11:19 AM |
Sep 9 2009, 11:23 AM
QUOTE(depster666 @ Sep 9 2009, 11:10 AM) Well, it depends... and I agree that it is a double-edged sword. From my personal experience during my interview with my current paymaster, the 1st question asked was "Are you sitting on any other offers at the moment? " which I was.. bla, bla, bla, then conversation extended to how much were the offers etc. Anyway, to cut short, i got offered from them a couple of hours after the interview, and significant increase from other offers... Basically it depends on how desperate Company C need TS then. When they ask "Are you sitting on any other offers at the moment?", it shows that the company is either valuing you highly or they are really short on labour and desperate need to fill the shoe in by trying to outbid other job snatchers. There are often news that a new company been set up, offered contract from clients and in need of more manpower to charge the manhour to. That has a higher chances of getting hired in within a few days to weeks instead of months. For TS, if there's no indication of that, suggest you follow the safer route that is just to take up B offer then later decide to move to C.At the end of the day, in TS case, it depends on how professional Co.C would be wrt to Co.B's offer and how well TS would play his card during the interview. There are no definite systematic routing on how they want to hire people. U can go through back door or front. U get lucky and got interview by the top management himself or unlucky that ur resume got piled below and forgotten. All in all, it depends on luck and ur initiative. But under uncertain circumstances, better to follow the usual system of employment than to push ur luck too far. This post has been edited by LeechFever: Sep 9 2009, 11:24 AM |
Sep 9 2009, 11:43 AM
I agree. Move in for Company B. Make your stand there. Period. Once greenlight is given from Company C, move forward from where you are standing.
From playing a game of poker to football. Now, we are going military style. Great discussion! Anyways, be careful of being labeled as job hogging. It ain't nice from an employer's perspective. It might kill you straight off. Regards, Joey This post has been edited by Joey Christensen: Sep 9 2009, 11:44 AM |
Sep 9 2009, 12:37 PM
Well done for the opinions and comments guys. Really appreciate your inputs as i can get a clearer picture now.
It does make sense for joining Co. B first. After all, its still a reputable MNC in the semiconductor industry. Not worried about "job hopping" label since i have told myself not to indicate any work experience for jobs less than 6mths. Nevertheless, I will be going all out for the interview with Co. C tomoro (wish me luck!) @LeechFever, depster666, Joey Christensen, cwilliamc Thanks again and will update the outcome of the interview tomoro. Another question: Once LO or CoS is being issued to employee, and the employee pen his/her signature down, Does this means that the Employee and Employer does NOT have the right to retract the offer made back? (Legally, of course) |
Sep 9 2009, 12:55 PM
QUOTE(dantwt @ Sep 9 2009, 12:37 PM) Well done for the opinions and comments guys. Really appreciate your inputs as i can What is stated in the offer is what both parties MUST do, or else settle in court. But of course employer has the right to fire anyone as he sees fit (unless we have a labour union) but normally in the contract if the employer fires you without first giving prior notification, they will have to pay you according to the salary equal to the notification months stated in the contract, and vice versa, that is of course if both parties agree to it.Another question: Once LO or CoS is being issued to employee, and the employee pen his/her signature down, Does this means that the Employee and Employer does NOT have the right to retract the offer made back? (Legally, of course) This post has been edited by LeechFever: Sep 9 2009, 12:56 PM |
Sep 9 2009, 12:58 PM
274 posts Joined: Sep 2006 From: Camelot |
never sign an agreement if u think u cannot agree with the term
Sep 9 2009, 01:55 PM
There's the Industrial Court if things get ugly. However, I would suggest that NO SIGNATURE should be penned unnecessarily. You may ended up in harm's way.
There are cases that can be settled out of court. But this lies in the discretion of you and the involved company. It's good to maintain healthy relationship without burning up the bridge. As they say it, "Come in good faith and leave in good faith". Regards, Joey p.s: Good Luck tomorrow. All the best. |
Sep 9 2009, 03:20 PM
4,457 posts Joined: Jul 2005 |
| Change to: | 0.0189sec
5 queries
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 04:36 PM |