stringfellow
post Sep 8 2009, 10:03 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

/rant start

/rant over

Just needed a place to vent. I'm still going to One Utama tomorrow, despite the relative ignorance of the staff at Movie Magic that I called earlier. Moron!

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Sep 8 2009, 10:04 PM
stringfellow
post Sep 8 2009, 10:57 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Sigh, Kyo...all I'm asking is a little professionalism with the people. As for the case of Movie Magic, the phone was passed between 2 Chinaman who knows jack shit other than repeating the same thing over and over again. I'm sure if I ask them when the latest album of Wang Leehom or Jay Chou is out, they'd jump at this with no phone-passing between them. Idiots!

As for the game, no thanks. I'd rather hear them perfectly in tune, rather than desecrate their Holy Grail of songs with my crappy finger plucks, drummings or God-forbid.....my croaking voice. The bigger debate here is whether The Beatles are better listened to in Mono or Stereo. It is disconcerting to hear "Eleanor Rigby" from the Revolver in Stereo where you hear McCartney singing in the left channel and the instruments playing on the right, only to merge weirdly during chorus. Channel separation is good for modern records, but when The Beatles chooses Mono to record their earlier albums, and you get this kind of crap done to their albums, The Beatles fans go up in raging uproar.
stringfellow
post Sep 8 2009, 11:06 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

I'm already getting it on both the Stereo and Mono Remastered Box. The Mono Box is in LA right now, while Stereo is SUPPOSED to be from tomorrow's launch, now in limbo thanks to that Movie Magic fcukup. Thank God I didn't take the risk with the Mono Box.

Stereo Remastered Box:-

The more coveted, more limited Mono Remastered Box:-

Images from TheBeatles.com.
stringfellow
post Sep 8 2009, 11:13 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(Sheep319 @ Sep 8 2009, 11:04 PM)
Well, doesn't matter if you destroy the song, what matters is you get to sing them and perfect yourself while singing it too.
Takde la out of pitch or whatnots.
What if I say, you can play or sing off-pitch on other bands or singers, but when it comes to your most preferred, or revered band/singer, nothing will ever measure up to their rendition? It is no surprise and is a fact that The Beatles songs have been covered and sung in so many different ways and mixes, but in the end, NONE compared to the original sung by them. "Hey Jude" had been covered so many times, in numerous soundtracks and events, but if you live and breathe The Beatles, you'd go back the original version no matter how good the cover version done by others.

The same here. I mean I can sing them while taking a shower, but I hold them too much of a respect to desecrate them out-of-tune in the videogame. It's different when I'm singing them in the shower since the music is in my head, not in public scrutiny on a video game. Just my own 2 cents. You may be forgiving on your take on this, but I hold The Beatles too much reverence to do them THAT injustice.
stringfellow
post Sep 9 2009, 08:56 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Reporting live from Movie Magic, One Utama LG. Sizable crowd has formed. They better have the Remastered Box instead of just individual albums. 13 minutes til 09:09:09 09/09/09.
stringfellow
post Sep 9 2009, 09:39 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

As expected, Malaysian company totally unreliable. Remastered Box nowhere to be found, bloody customs has it and they expect up to 2 weeks of wait time. They expect people to buy individual albums and go from there. No words can describe how dejected, disappointed and frustrated I am right now.

At the risk of sounding like a brag, I should have seen this coming, but as most of the time, it is the case of me having the funds and no one can supply me with the goods. Malaysian fcuking boleh indeed! rolleyes.gif

Well, plan B it is then. Wait for the news, hopefully of the good kind, from Rock Corner. Not holding much hope, since the Warner Music rep is here and he was the one who came with the bad news. Sigh..... at least my Mono Remastered is with my beloved in LA.

Adoi, ada wang pun susah mau dapat barang. I have the money already lah dei, these slackers could not even fulfil their end of the deal. *shakes head*

Added on September 9, 2009, 9:44 am
QUOTE(PhoenixByte @ Sep 9 2009, 09:02 AM)
ada apa there?
Nothing much boss, just another episode of dejection and "tak boleh pakai" you can expect from a local company. I've waited more than my life on this Earth to get this, and it's only "appropriate" that I'm made to wait even longer to get what I want. Sigh.........

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Sep 9 2009, 09:44 AM
stringfellow
post Sep 9 2009, 09:59 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

RM799.

In retrospect, it's probably better that I don't get this here. The sticker from the Ministry denoting original product is a b**** to remove. And since the Remastered Box comes with the Documentary DVD, it's probably Region 3. Local-bound packages like this tend to be of lower quality yet taxed exorbitantly by local customs. I'll just get it from Melbourne or Amsterdam this month if I can.

Your loss, Movie Magic and Rock Corner. I got the dough but you phail on product provision. I'll take my business elsewhere.
stringfellow
post Sep 9 2009, 12:23 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(Kyoyagami @ Sep 9 2009, 10:41 AM)
rupanya gerimis... rupanya gerimis...

mengundang... hah hah hah hah...

Takpalah string, I believe its better for you to buy the box set elsewhere anyways. To me, 800 doesn't justify the whole box set to be frank. Craving for Yesterday.
Thanks Kyo. At least you empathize, the rest trivialize and make fun of my predicament. sad.gif I waited my whole life, and this is what I get.

I think it is more than a fair bargain. RM800, for 206 songs, and a documentary DVD. Sums up to RM3.80 per song, which is at the best quality compared to USD0.99/USD1.29/USD1.99 per song if offered through iTunes. It is just the matter of how you look at it. I see nothing but a waste buying the USD249.99 The Beatles: Rock Band, but other may not think otherwise, the same they feel about RM799 for this Remastered Box.
stringfellow
post Sep 9 2009, 12:38 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

I probably know that Evo, but I'm emotionally unstable right now, I had better log off and sleep it off. Sigh.....
stringfellow
post Sep 11 2009, 10:03 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Yeah, yeah, yeah!

Rant ...is...over! Got the Mono Remasters in my iTunes Library, in Apple Lossless no less!Now can go to work happy. rclxm9.gif

Added on September 11, 2009, 10:04 pm
QUOTE(Pr1me_Minister @ Sep 11 2009, 09:47 PM)
Just back from work and a scare.

Pics of GTFO. whistling.gif

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Sep 11 2009, 10:04 PM
stringfellow
post Sep 12 2009, 01:24 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(SWATwolf @ Sep 12 2009, 12:45 AM)
lol
should i say the theif is stupid or you are clever? laugh.gif
I would say neither to both.

Moral of the story:

Pardon the long deduction, my CSI Junior Detective Kit just arrived in the mail today. And from these long paragraphs, you know how "high" I hold Malaysians in regards to their civic and moral consciousness and attitude towards others. icon_rolleyes.gif

stringfellow
post Sep 12 2009, 09:41 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(PhoenixByte @ Sep 12 2009, 06:13 AM)
i'm sorry but tell that to those who died or hospitalized helping mugged ppl. Have some respect for them.
Compare that to the people who lost their lives and hospitalized BECAUSE they are left on their own accord by ignorant selfish Malaysian. No self-respecting "Malaysian" columnist/journalist writes about the depressing stuff in the newspapers, isnt it? It is all only uplifting news or nothing at all. Creates that self-illusion that this country is fine and dandy.

Just because the media sensationalize them in the papers, does not mean that that is the general gist of how Malaysians are. Remember "The Ugly Malaysian" article run? Not too popular and not much had been said or commented, because deep down , Malaysians know that they are that "beautiful" inside, and decide that it is best to "save face" by not commenting on it, rather than "lose more face" later on.

"Malaysian Boleh" or "1Malaysia" you say? Until Malaysians starts thinking and behaving like the supposedly first-class facilities they have here, I say a loud and resounding "Meh!"

Good morning, and oh, just pretty much chillin' here. cool2.gif

stringfellow
post Sep 12 2009, 05:18 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(PhoenixByte @ Sep 12 2009, 10:27 AM)
i'm not saying it's not true..I'm just saying give credit to those unsung heroes too..that's all..It's not like those ALL ppl overseas came out helping mugged ppl on the fly anyway.

face it, we live in a materialistic world. We're afraid to die for others and we cry n depressed most of the time for materialistic reasons. We dissed others so we can feel better.

i could care shit for politician's slogan. Either BN or PR. Both are the same.
So you agree that this is true, but you are more address the fact that I did not give credit to those unsung heroes? I agree, not "ALL ppl overseas" come out helping, there are those who are as selfish as Malaysians here, but more often than not, you see more "ppl overseas" are inclined to speak up against these injustice than a typical Malaysian.

QUOTE(Kyoyagami @ Sep 12 2009, 10:35 AM)
Sadly speaking, its the same all over the world. Politicians everywhere are corrupted, and we always end up pointing fingers at each other. Its a sad case, but that's just reality. the weird thing is how people choose to be backwards instead of forwards. Besides, a simple saying among everyone is why should we give a damn if we don't get anything back, or its just a waste time righto?

And also, WHERE THE HELL IS MURAMASA???
Exactomundo! Typical Malaysian train of thought, "if it does not benefit me, why should I care?" Which feeds into the "tidak apa" attitude.

QUOTE(evoHahn @ Sep 12 2009, 10:43 AM)
+1  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif

10% of the population didnt necessaraly (spelling he he he) represent the whole population, imho. if like that - the people that participate in this very thread is the same as the muggers that tried to rob PM - which i strongly believe is not true.

oh well, i guess everybody is entitled to the own opinion  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif   thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif

Good morning malaysians  laugh.gif
It's "necessarily" by the way, and if you notice my posts, I am narrowing it down to those living in the city. You dont see much of rubbernecking at Felda estates because there arent much of a traffic there to begin with , and there isnt a problem of traffic if you rubberneck there because the road is empty. What I was observing with what happened to PM is that, nobody cared. Do people give chase? Or at least shout out to the people ahead of the fleeing perp to stop the him from escaping? Nope! Which comes back to the point, WHY nobody cared. Because there are no benefit to them TO CARE. "What's it to me if I stop the guy from escaping and retrieving your stolen item back? Do I get a reward?" That is the FIRST thing that comes to mind, I dare bet my balls to that! I've seen right before my eyes, a mugging thief gets manhandles and double-teamed as trying to escape with a purse of a middle-age old lady from a tram in Melbourne, and I've seen patrons of a movie cinema in Sydney lining up for tickets speaking up against those attempting to line-cut up ahead to get to the back of the bloody line, which shames the potential perp from doing so, and justice is served and prevailed. Now I'm not saying these examples means that Australians are an exemplary lot, but with more and more of these examples you see happening, it restores your faith in humanity and prevailing justice.

My point here is, Malaysians have not grown hand in hand together with the amenities and modernization of their habitat and grown in parallel with for when it comes to etiquette and behaviours that most of the time, are plain common sense. It is like building a sprawlingly ultra-modern city and displacing the barbaric tribes that lives during the Genghis Khan days into this city.

And even shorter version of all this: Modern city, same old pricks/mentality.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Sep 12 2009, 05:19 PM
stringfellow
post Sep 12 2009, 06:32 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(PhoenixByte @ Sep 12 2009, 05:46 PM)
wow...is that u inside the car evohahn?

Added on September 12, 2009, 6:02 pm
so what did YOU do? Just look?

rolleyes.gif

i'm sorry i still believe it's a typical human behavior no matter where they are coz what u didn't see Msian do on busses or lrt, i see it from time to time during my ride...maybe u aren't lucky enough to see it. Some ppl do stand up, some will just sit down tongue.gif 

I dun like to write that much so pardon me if i don't get my point across.
In the case of the thief aboard the tram, we blocked the exit, so he dashed through the center exit. This was at Flinders St station in Melbourne. As for the case of the line-cutter at the cinema, he got a piece of my mind, and I wasn't alone in this, the rest of the people in the line with us, gave him a piece of their mind of what they felt through their more "flowery" words.

Oh, by the way, the "Just look" comment you say, save it for those rubberneckers at Federal Highway that is causing the massive traffic jam behind them just because they want to "just look" at the accident for their own cheap thrills.

So before you conveniently roll your eyes, I'm not like the others you'd expect around here. Sometimes, it takes a broader horizon, a well-travelled experience to open one's eyes to the many different perspectives in life and how one should adopt the good, and relinquish the bad. I personally cannot in good faith let things like these go by, my conscience wont allow it. Once I let it "slide", and it gnawed at my inside for so long, that I vowed not to let it happen again. This was when I "let" a family of ignorant Arabs line-cut on a taxi stand line infront of Sg.Wang. I told myself that I can live with that, but the end result? The taxi wait was more than one and a half hours! All because nobody in line dare to open their mouths to ask those Arabs to get back in line. Sure, it may not be my turn to get a cab, but the poor lady at the front with her two children and shopping bags had to wait almost that long as well to get back home, and I kick myself for not doing what is right since then.

I know it is all in good fun and in jest around here, hence the tongue.gif and all, but this is serious. As long as we continue to joke and wink,wink,nudge,nudge ourselves and tiptoe around this issue, it will never get addressed. It takes two to tango. IF the guy who sits on the seat for the elderly pretend ignorance and stay seated while the old grandma infront of him continues standing, then the other party, the observing party, should take action. Because nobody reprimanded him of his selfishness, and not offering the seat to the old grandma, he KNOWS he can get away with it. And will continue getting away with it, until one day, a good Samaritan will come about and say a piece of his/her mind about his selfishness, and THEN he cannot get away with it anymore.

You are equally guilty if you observe an injustice and pretend you didn't see it happen, or when you continue being ignorant about the injustice when you know you can do something about it.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Sep 12 2009, 06:39 PM
stringfellow
post Sep 12 2009, 07:19 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Sorry for the wall of text, but I need to put my point across. I know I talk/type a lot, but I was just following what the banner at the top of forum, and do what it was suggesting:-

whistling.gif

stringfellow
post Sep 12 2009, 08:12 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(PhoenixByte @ Sep 12 2009, 07:20 PM)
So what gives u the right to equate others GENERALLY to the negativity to that u've seen? I treat u as i would treat others here..a unique individual. No more no less.

What i don't like is generalizing people of what some ppl did whether it's good or bad...n that's why I rolled my eyes. Yada yada yada...

ok selamat berbuka smile.gif
Perhaps I should rephrase all the "Malaysians" in my previous topic to "majority of the Malaysians", so that you don't get the impression that I'm making a blanket statement about all these hideous behaviours I've mentioned.

But I find it amusing that you'd be riled up about this, because if you don't do those hideous behaviours I mentioned, you don't have to be angry that I have been addressing this to you all this while. The old adage "Siapa makan cili, dia rasa pedas" is apt here. I'd figure that if I KNOW that I don't do these things, I would be in direct agreement of these statements, and if I do DO these things, I would feel the pangs of guilt and resentment, leading to anger of being pointed out of my wrongdoings.

My point here is, I see "a majority of Malaysians" acting as I've mentioned, more than the minority that would do the good stuff. So, when it comes to these majority, I address them as such. If you are in the minority and are as passionate and outspoken to these injustice, why the anger then? rolleyes.gif

Yada yada yada as well...

QUOTE(yellowpika @ Sep 12 2009, 07:20 PM)
hmm, my mom like to speak up to injustice... tongue.gif my dad even told her not to be like that, later kena beaten by samseng... sad.gif so it is good to speak up to injustice, but have to becareful a bit in case if the person is a bad guy..

btw, why not migrate? brows.gif

Added on September 12, 2009, 7:22 pm
wow, string is a malay kah? blink.gif
Then I am glad, even if one soul can be saved from the incoming molding of future Malaysian into the kind you see now. I believe you are still young, and I applaud your mother's stance on this, hopefully she can instill the same values to you while you are still young and impressionable. It's hard to bend the bamboo when the outer skin is already tough. wink.gif

Which comes to the subject of migrating you mentioned. There's several reason why a person migrates.

One, to find a better future, better for him/herself or for his/her family. This reason particularly is why lots of Malaysian Chinese migrate, and I applaud them for their bravery and guts to follow through a plan and not to waver.

The other probable reason is perhaps because:-

I question my belief as well, and to a certain extent, I ask why I'm doing it. To a point where I feel that I'm doing it because everybody else does it. That goes back to that thing of mine, where my internal conscience will not allow it. Time to move on. And by moving on, yes, my dear Yellowpika, I am migrating.

As for your question about me being Malay when Phoenixbyte mention puasa, laugh.gif that is a msunderstanding lah! Puasa is for the Muslim, and Malay is a race. But I'm trying my absolute best to stray away from being a typical Malay, because their very characteristics annoys the hell out of me. Why? The very same reasons I've posted in that spoiler-tagged post above.
stringfellow
post Sep 12 2009, 09:12 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

I knew my two sides, Kyo. And am making my decision based on what the available two sides are.

I understand that others may not have the luxury of the options I have, but to be fair, I've sacrificed much to have these options open for me. People marry earlier, I abstained. People conform to the typical/expectation, I refrained and chose my own path, at the risk of being called a weirdo or a freak. But I'd rather be truthful to myself than live a lie based on what others expect me to be. *shrug*

P/s:But Kyo, if you only look at the two sides of the coin, but never pick a side, you'll end up merely an observer, not an achiever tongue.gif. I know what you meant there, Kyo. You'd rather not take sides and that is commendable. But I'd prefer my friends telling me the point blank truth about me, rather than what I wanna hear. tongue.gif
stringfellow
post Sep 15 2009, 08:46 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Yahoo! Dan Brown's The Lost Symbol in my hands! Kudos to MPH KLIA for the early copy.
stringfellow
post Sep 15 2009, 10:23 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(evoHahn @ Sep 15 2009, 08:52 AM)
how is it?

mornin everyone.

waiting the new muse album to reach our shores
First chapter already suck me in. Ni belum tido yet after working all night long from Amsterdam. Damn DB! cry.gif

QUOTE(aiyish @ Sep 15 2009, 09:34 AM)
good mornin'

RIP Patrick Swayze

Added on September 15, 2009, 9:36 am

i really wanted that book too. how much was the retail price??
Retail is RM99.90. Airport discount become RM89.90. Preorder from Kino is 30% from 99.90. Amazon Kindle Edition USD9.99. *Pressing F5 feverishly, when is the bloody Kindle Edition be available lah!*

QUOTE(BlueBerry~ @ Sep 15 2009, 09:51 AM)
Going to get it here in Perth. Muahahahha.
Get. It. NAO! Sinister betrayal from the very first chapter.

Get the US Edition, the UK Edition is bland. This:-

See that cap mohor? Protrudes out. See those Mason symbols and glyphs? Sticks out too. Slurrp!

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Sep 15 2009, 10:26 AM
stringfellow
post Sep 15 2009, 04:53 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Like a well-oiled, polished piece of clockwork! Thank you Amazon, my physical copy can now keep on the display shelf pristinely.
*does the Amazon rain dance* rclxm9.gif

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0484sec    1.13    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 10:24 AM