Shocking!, Gamers Hideout does not know Metroid!?!?

TSJohnathan Sia
post Sep 4 2009, 07:27 PM, updated 17y ago

75 posts

I just called up both Gamers Hideout centres and neither of the staff members who answered my phone knew what Metroid Prime was and what system it was on. Doesn't sound like a real gamers hideout to me if they don't even know what Metroid Prime is ;p
penman
post Sep 4 2009, 07:57 PM

142 posts

GH is a bunch of arrogant+ignorant rich spoiled brats. nuf said.
TSJohnathan Sia
post Sep 4 2009, 08:11 PM

75 posts

I can understand if they didn't recognise some of the titles for the Wii but to not know one of the biggest game franchises in the world? All they probably associate the Wii with is probably pokemon, mario and Wii sports.

I have a feeling that if you ask for Super Smash Brothers Brawl, you'll also get a blank look.

I guess I'm shocked because these people are supposed to be in tune with the games industry and not just have their head stuck with particular systems (unless their job specifies that they need to do that...even then... if you love games... you'll know...)
Kyoyagami
post Sep 4 2009, 09:15 PM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

LOL!!!!!!

But u have to understand, there are people who don't know all the games available. besides, they specialize on the 360 anyways. Its not easy to keep up with all available games ya know. tongue.gif
penman
post Sep 4 2009, 10:01 PM

142 posts

QUOTE(Kyoyagami @ Sep 4 2009, 09:15 PM)
LOL!!!!!!

But u have to understand, there are people who don't know all the games available. besides, they specialize on the 360 anyways. Its not easy to keep up with all available games ya know. tongue.gif
ya their focus is pure on 360. And when u visit the shop, while they are in the middle of gaming, u better come back later. 'cos you basically either won't be entertained, or they gave u very annoyed treatment.

very basic and straight forward biznez path in GH...

it's either you buy or scrammed... no questions ask.
chicaman
post Sep 4 2009, 10:43 PM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,706 posts

GH? I pass by that shop and I never want to go in at all~

This post has been edited by chicaman: Sep 4 2009, 10:43 PM
john1010_ma
post Sep 4 2009, 10:44 PM

35 posts

me too
Kyoyagami
post Sep 4 2009, 10:46 PM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

Support me lah instead. tongue.gif
SUSbalthauser
post Sep 4 2009, 10:48 PM

725 posts

Not all people work their dream job.

Nuff said.
gundamalpha
post Sep 4 2009, 10:49 PM

☆彡TITS☆彡
1,450 posts

Metroid? huh.gif
hafez13
post Sep 5 2009, 12:01 AM

excited nintendo switch fanboi
1,274 posts

i thought metroid prime hunters whistling.gif
SWATwolf
post Sep 5 2009, 12:08 AM

431 posts

even they are into 360, there's no way they do not know metroid.
I specialize in nintendo means i will not know gears of wars or halo whistling.gif
penman
post Sep 5 2009, 12:16 AM

142 posts

QUOTE(SWATwolf @ Sep 5 2009, 12:08 AM)
even they are into 360, there's no way they do not know metroid.
I specialize in nintendo means i will not know gears of wars or halo whistling.gif
ppl dunno dunno~lah... they had chosen not to know... dun force ppl~lah... tongue.gif
hafez13
post Sep 5 2009, 01:04 AM

1,274 posts

maybe the people who take up the calls is just a new guy?
mokuto
post Sep 5 2009, 08:33 AM

QUOTE(penman @ Sep 4 2009, 07:57 PM)
to be frank, locally that's one of the prime place to get everything originals

previously GH offers lot of title for NDS, unfortunately now .... sad.gif
even most nintendiates collectors have more then the amount of title display in the GH shelf.
gundamalpha
post Sep 5 2009, 11:44 AM

☆彡TITS☆彡
1,450 posts

Not everyone knows what is what I think.. name me a popular PC game and there's a 80% chance I've no idea what it is.
Roy33
post Sep 5 2009, 11:57 AM

35 posts

the sims
TSJohnathan Sia
post Sep 5 2009, 06:52 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(Roy33 @ Sep 5 2009, 11:57 AM)
the sims
Lolz....

I think GH is turning into Gamestop in US... filled with staff that know little about their products... or know alot about very specific products only..
chicaman
post Sep 6 2009, 02:41 AM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,706 posts

QUOTE(gundamalpha @ Sep 5 2009, 11:44 AM)
Not everyone knows what is what I think.. name me a popular PC game and there's a 80% chance I've no idea what it is.
because u dont play sell games tongue.gif

well they work there and should get in touch with the upcoming games for all platform~
SUSmegablue
post Sep 6 2009, 05:40 AM

199 posts

normal in Malaysia.... we pay high price and expect professional services and quality products, they have less competitors so don't even bother to entertain you (you want buy just buy ... don't want buy get out... stop asking so much questions).

Most of the time those who sell pirated copies are more knowledgeable, treat you like his/her own friend and 1 to 1 exchange of any problems appeared...
pikacu
post Sep 6 2009, 07:14 AM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

phew.

luckily i didn't go into GH last night to ask about MP: Trilogy.

PhoenixByte
post Sep 6 2009, 07:36 AM

No school like the oldschool
798 posts

lucky i'm not their fanboy tongue.gif
penman
post Sep 6 2009, 01:08 PM

142 posts

QUOTE(megablue @ Sep 6 2009, 05:40 AM)
Most of the time those who sell pirated copies are more knowledgeable, treat you like his/her own friend and 1 to 1 exchange of any problems appeared...
unfortunately... sad to say... I have to agree with you. nod.gif

@PhoenixByte: fanboy of which side? GH? or MP? tongue.gif
lsn
post Sep 6 2009, 05:17 PM

22 posts

Nintendo Wii/DS image on penang game shop is
the console tat provide children's game only.....

mario = children game
pokemon = children game
zelda/metroid = what are you talking about?

PhoenixByte
post Sep 6 2009, 05:34 PM

798 posts

QUOTE(penman @ Sep 6 2009, 01:08 PM)
unfortunately... sad to say... I have to agree with you.  nod.gif
@PhoenixByte: fanboy of which side? GH? or MP?  tongue.gif
GH la..u dunno they hv fanboy aa? post this at xbox n u'll get eaten alive tongue.gif
TSJohnathan Sia
post Sep 6 2009, 07:22 PM

75 posts

Lol.. but why I post Nintendo stuff at the Xbox area? I'm pretty sure that the GH peeps know most of the Xbox games (though If any one of them asks me what system Halo: Combat Evolved is for I'd just faint... ;p ). Just frus at game shops that only know a few games and are heavily biased towards one system...
SUSmegablue
post Sep 7 2009, 11:55 AM

199 posts

QUOTE(lsn @ Sep 6 2009, 05:17 PM)
Nintendo Wii/DS image on penang game shop is
the console tat provide children's game only.....

mario = children game
pokemon = children game
zelda/metroid = what are you talking about?
Madworld is children game ?
No more heroes is children game?

wt_wang81
post Sep 7 2009, 02:55 PM

QUOTE(megablue @ Sep 7 2009, 11:55 AM)
Madworld is children game ? 
No more heroes is children game?
means tat pg gameshop still stuck in 90s, u know super nintendo, megadrive, play station 1 or 2...

most of them is just a businessman, uncle auntie type...they r not follow the gaming industry...

rclxms.gif

if u ask bout mario game in wii, they will sure think bout 8 bit mario, and reply u tat still play mario?

and also reply to u tat wii is just swing here swing there, very fun meh? ( blush.gif )

notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by wt_wang81: Sep 7 2009, 03:00 PM
snipersnake
post Sep 7 2009, 03:08 PM

typical abah
2,652 posts

QUOTE(PhoenixByte @ Sep 6 2009, 05:34 PM)
GH la..u dunno they hv fanboy aa? post this at xbox n u'll get eaten alive tongue.gif
I really dont know why GH has so many groupies. other shops sell their stuff basically more cheaper(pls, dont even start with the damansara's rent is high crap, that shows you didnt do your homeworkbefore you open your business) and yah try posting this over there, you will be gang banged.
gundamalpha
post Sep 7 2009, 03:10 PM

☆彡TITS☆彡
1,450 posts

QUOTE(snipersnake @ Sep 7 2009, 03:08 PM)
I really dont know why GH has so many groupies. other shops sell their stuff basically more cheaper(pls, dont even start with the damansara's rent is high crap, that shows you didnt do your homeworkbefore you open your business) and yah try posting this over there, you will be gang banged.
Really? drool.gif
PhoenixByte
post Sep 7 2009, 03:17 PM

798 posts

gundam so long didn't get any timun is it? dry.gif
Lord_Ashe
post Sep 7 2009, 03:18 PM

Old Treasure Hunter Sidekick
1,495 posts

gundam misses the timuning.
gundamalpha
post Sep 7 2009, 03:19 PM

☆彡TITS☆彡
1,450 posts

It proves snipersnake's prediction is wrong, gang bang can be achieved here too cry.gif
greyshadow
post Sep 7 2009, 03:35 PM

I bleed it out, Diggin' deeper just to throw it away!
1,844 posts

QUOTE(penman @ Sep 4 2009, 10:01 PM)
ya their focus is pure on 360. And when u visit the shop, while they are in the middle of gaming, u better come back later. 'cos you basically either won't be entertained, or they gave u very annoyed treatment.

very basic and straight forward biznez path in GH...

it's either you buy or scrammed... no questions ask.
totally 110% agree with the statement above

When Djinn was still working in 1U shop, I give 2 thumbs up for his service and price

but now with GH.... I'm giving his shop 2 thumbs down in term of service and price shakehead.gif

and may I add something here, the shop rental in Cineleisure is not as high as you think
Sg Wang and BTS rental is way a lot more higher wink.gif
gundamalpha
post Sep 7 2009, 03:42 PM

☆彡TITS☆彡
1,450 posts

djinn isn't taking care of GH anymore? unsure.gif
PhoenixByte
post Sep 7 2009, 03:46 PM

798 posts

i think he meant b4 djinn open up the new GH
snipersnake
post Sep 7 2009, 04:24 PM

typical abah
2,652 posts

told you so.
penman
post Sep 7 2009, 06:45 PM

142 posts

aiyah... who cares abt GH. like sniper mentioned... there are lotsa way better+cheaper suppliers out there... I rather drive to meet up ppl like kyo, blackmango, bernard, etc... then walk in to GH, even I happened to be in the same mall.

but again... it's ppl's choice. maybe it's only our own prejudice. wink.gif

they have their own way of doing biznez, and obviously it isn't suit us. icon_rolleyes.gif

all the best to them. thumbup.gif
jamezco
post Sep 8 2009, 07:49 PM

WoooooooooooooT!
1,078 posts

LoL ... Paper Mario GC and Paper Mario Wii For The Win !!!

I tried playing metroid .... after that i got dizzy .... not used to the wii mote moving here and there ...

Mario Strikers !!! WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOT !!!!

GH not that bad la ... I got my PS2 from them like 5 years back ... I got my Wii in Melbourne and I got my Xbox 360 from SCE ...

what PhoenixByte say is true ... Post this in Xbox thread and its GG .... GH super loads of fanboys ....

try asking ... Where should I get my Xbox 360 from ...

everyone sure GH GH GH GH GH GH GH GH GH ....

but GH mostly everyone go there for a Xbox LAN party one ma .... they sell other stuff there other than xbox meh?

penman
post Sep 8 2009, 08:56 PM

142 posts

QUOTE(jamezco @ Sep 8 2009, 07:49 PM)
GH not that bad la ... I got my PS2 from them like 5 years back ... I got my Wii in Melbourne and I got my Xbox 360 from SCE ...
sweat.gif ppl will change over 5 yrs.

however they are already like that when I 1st step into GH 5yrs ago. doh.gif

This post has been edited by penman: Sep 8 2009, 08:56 PM
greyshadow
post Sep 9 2009, 01:28 PM

1,844 posts

GH open so long already meh?

Cineleisure Damansara not even open yet in 2004 doh.gif

it's only open in 2006 ler, coming to 3 years old only tongue.gif
penman
post Sep 9 2009, 04:47 PM

142 posts

QUOTE(greyshadow @ Sep 9 2009, 01:28 PM)
GH open so long already meh?

Cineleisure Damansara not even open yet in 2004 doh.gif

it's only open in 2006 ler, coming to 3 years old only tongue.gif
u r rite... blush.gif remembered wrongly... tongue.gif

I got my DS at 2006. But it seemed so long... tongue.gif
jamezco
post Sep 9 2009, 04:51 PM

WoooooooooooooT!
1,078 posts

2006 ??? hmmmm .... that means i sold my 3 year old PS2 under price d ... OMG OMG .... RUGI !!

I feel so old now ... lol !
gundamalpha
post Sep 9 2009, 04:52 PM

☆彡TITS☆彡
1,450 posts

QUOTE(jamezco @ Sep 9 2009, 04:51 PM)
2006 ??? hmmmm .... that means i sold my 3 year old PS2 under price d ... OMG OMG .... RUGI !!

I feel so old now ... lol !
You? Old? Don't ever dare say that in front of grey and penman shakehead.gif
TSJohnathan Sia
post Sep 9 2009, 11:04 PM

75 posts

Or me ;p
andy_lhc
post Sep 10 2009, 08:01 AM

542 posts

sleep.gif i still remember when Djinn was selling his stuff at 6th flr sg wang leh.........
TSJohnathan Sia
post Sep 10 2009, 08:42 AM

75 posts

Andy wins the Who Feels Old contest!
greyshadow
post Sep 10 2009, 09:16 AM

1,844 posts

3 pages already and those fanboys still no where to be seen tongue.gif

this proofs they only hang out in one place tongue.gif
TSJohnathan Sia
post Sep 10 2009, 09:47 AM

75 posts

Lol... and I never expected this post to be a 'hot' topic... figured I'd just rant somewhere.... I still get irritated by other shops that don't know what the hell I'm talking about when I ask about Wii games other than Wii Sports or Whatever Mario Whatever, but I really expected better from GH. Then again, I still remember Eddie telling me that the DS was going to die because of the PSP.... lol... now some figures show that the PSP has 600 games and the DS 3,600 (the Apple store has a freakin 20,000 ish games, most of them barely qualify as games though...).

Stand up for better quality service from our game stores! Anyone wanna do poll? I don't know enough game stores to do it ;p

This post has been edited by Johnathan Sia: Sep 10 2009, 09:48 AM
ramz
post Sep 10 2009, 09:56 AM

21,318 posts

actually, game stores in malaysia sux in general. the selection oso sux. they assume people walk in already have a title in mind, and they assume we only want to buy popular titles. so they only keep limitted stocks.

In the philippines, although a more 3rd world country then malaysia, if u walk in a game store, u have games displayed from wall to wall, ceiling to floor, and games u never heard at all is available. and u can go to any shopping center and be confident u can find consistent quality of a game shop.

games in ph are a bit expensive compared to malaysia, but the choices and selections are excellent. why like that go figure.....malaysia mentality on IP has not changed since the 70s
Lord_Ashe
post Sep 10 2009, 10:04 AM

Old Treasure Hunter Sidekick
1,495 posts

@ramz: really? that's so cool.

Malaysia still has a long way to go...
TSJohnathan Sia
post Sep 10 2009, 11:10 AM

75 posts

QUOTE(ramz @ Sep 10 2009, 09:56 AM)
actually, game stores in malaysia sux in general. the selection oso sux. they assume people walk in already have a title in mind, and they assume we only want to buy popular titles. so they only keep limitted stocks.
Yeah they suck... though I think I'd disagree with you regarding the popular titles bit... many of the game shops that I see and walk into, when I look at the games they're selling for the Wii or DS, I say "No wonder they can't sell Wii/DS games....".
PhoenixByte
post Sep 10 2009, 11:14 AM

798 posts

who can blame them, at one corner the cd file stack hv more hot titles tongue.gif
coduosp
post Sep 10 2009, 11:26 AM

443 posts

actually GH have the biggest stock for ori Wii game in Malaysia in retail, well at least what i've seen so far. but unfortunately they do not update with latest game so frequently, so if u come today, next week, n next month, and mayb next two month, still the same game.

wii really not their priority......

anyway, last time i bought madworld from them, RM155 oni for member.. i think quite cheap compare to other seller at LYN...
TSJohnathan Sia
post Sep 10 2009, 11:47 AM

75 posts

Cheap no use if quality of service is poor (for a particular range of customer it seems - the Nintendo customer) and range is updated infrequently. It doesn't even make sense business wise...
ramz
post Sep 10 2009, 12:11 PM

21,318 posts

i remember i bought rb2 game from them. that's the only game i bought from them so far. they were fairly nice, maybe because i got so excited when i saw the game in stock (coz traditionally, they always don't have any games i want in stock) so they sense a sure winner when they saw me blush with excitement. i ask them whehter it is compatible with ghwt instruments, they answer yes, but iheir reference was the xbox. when i ask them again on the wii, they not sure already. so i asked paige instead, and she gave me a direct confident answer. so i bought. not with their help though.

This post has been edited by ramz: Sep 10 2009, 12:12 PM
hafez13
post Sep 10 2009, 02:58 PM

1,274 posts

QUOTE(Johnathan Sia @ Sep 10 2009, 09:47 AM)
Lol... and I never expected this post to be a 'hot' topic... figured I'd just rant somewhere.... I still get irritated by other shops that don't know what the hell I'm talking about when I ask about Wii games other than Wii Sports or Whatever Mario Whatever, but I really expected better from GH. Then again, I still remember Eddie telling me that the DS was going to die because of the PSP.... lol... now some figures show that the PSP has 600 games and the DS 3,600 (the Apple store has a freakin 20,000 ish games, most of them barely qualify as games though...).

Stand up for better quality service from our game stores! Anyone wanna do poll? I don't know enough game stores to do it ;p

Added on September 10, 2009, 2:59 pmi only bought pokemon platinum from them
service kinda meh
tongue.gif

This post has been edited by hafez13: Sep 10 2009, 02:59 PM
PhoenixByte
post Sep 10 2009, 03:10 PM

798 posts

not with dsi?
TSJohnathan Sia
post Sep 14 2009, 10:10 AM

75 posts

QUOTE(PhoenixByte @ Sep 10 2009, 03:10 PM)
not with dsi?
I've been looking back at this Q several times and I still doesn't understand the question or the context of the question.... ;p
PhoenixByte
post Sep 14 2009, 10:11 AM

798 posts

QUOTE(Johnathan Sia @ Sep 14 2009, 10:10 AM)
I've been looking back at this Q several times and I still doesn't understand the question or the context of the question.... ;p
i ask him whether the game was bundled with his dsi purchase tongue.gif
penman
post Sep 14 2009, 12:14 PM

142 posts

QUOTE(PhoenixByte @ Sep 14 2009, 10:11 AM)
i ask him whether the game was bundled with his dsi purchase tongue.gif
wow! this thread is still going on... better take down, before MCMC send us all to court! tongue.gif
hafez13
post Sep 15 2009, 04:17 PM

1,274 posts

err..bought the pokemon in 2008. laugh.gif
friedricetheman
post Sep 16 2009, 12:54 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(Johnathan Sia @ Sep 4 2009, 07:27 PM)
I just called up both Gamers Hideout centres and neither of the staff members who answered my phone knew what Metroid Prime was and what system it was on. Doesn't sound like a real gamers hideout to me if they don't even know what Metroid Prime is ;p
FYI buddy, GH recently hired 2 new staff to take care of their Cineleisure and Tropicana Mall outlets. They have just only been working for a few months (2 months tops) unlike the other guys, whom have been around longer.

Also, GH did sell Metroid Prime Corruption for quite a while before they ran out of stock. I have been buying wii games from them since early 2007. And I have never personally experience trouble buying from them. Also, I know Bobby, Jason (Djinn) and Eddie personally and they are a bunch of really nice people. You must have probably asked the wrong people when you called them up. Next time, when you call, ask for Jason or Eddie.

Btw, GH caters NOT ONLY to the xbox crowd but also to the Wii and PS3 guys as well. And they definately ARE NOT arrogant and stucked up. They are actually very down to earth and nice. Their customer service is the best around in the Klang Valley and they did on numerous occasions helped me with the warranty claims and repairs on my GH:WT drums pedal and non-responsive cymbals.

I hope this clears things up a bit.
PhoenixByte
post Sep 16 2009, 01:19 PM

798 posts

QUOTE(friedricetheman @ Sep 16 2009, 12:54 PM)
Also, I know Bobby, Jason (Djinn) and Eddie personally and they are a bunch of really nice people. You must have probably asked the wrong people when you called them up. Next time, when you call, ask for Jason or Eddie.
ermm maybe because u know them personally?

no offense, but this is usually the case FOR MOST shops anyway..u know them personally, they treat u better nod.gif
coz sometimes some of my friends go to the shops i recommended but they didn't get the same treatment n end up that they scold me for lying to them about the service sweat.gif
friedricetheman
post Sep 16 2009, 01:42 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(PhoenixByte @ Sep 16 2009, 01:19 PM)
ermm maybe because u know them personally?

no offense, but this is usually the case FOR MOST shops anyway..u know them personally, they treat u better  nod.gif
coz sometimes some of my friends go to the shops i recommended but they didn't get the same treatment n end up that they scold me for lying to them about the service  sweat.gif
No. Not really. I recommended some of my friends to GH and they have never had any bad experience or problems. Instead, they said GH guys are very nice and knowledgable. They can even recommend games that more or less suites your gaming habits. Even the time when my wife bought a game from them (as a suprise birthday present), they treated her very nice too. They even give her a member's discount even though she wasn't a member.
PhoenixByte
post Sep 16 2009, 01:54 PM

798 posts

well if they treated all ppl equally good this thread wouldn't even existed now would it? smile.gif
DjiNn
post Sep 16 2009, 01:58 PM

~||Noob Game Console Advisor||~
Store Representative
7,931 posts

QUOTE(penman @ Sep 4 2009, 07:57 PM)
this is shocking! shocking.gif

but anyway, Johnathan Sia, I will like to apologize that one or two... or even worst one of my partner who does not know metroid prime game which does not give you details about it .

and behalf of everything that I done. which does not treat you guys equally.

sorry for any inconviinent that I cause.
greyshadow
post Sep 16 2009, 02:01 PM

1,844 posts

QUOTE(PhoenixByte @ Sep 16 2009, 01:54 PM)
well if they treated all ppl equally good this thread wouldn't even existed now would it? smile.gif
WIN tongue.gif

on the side note, so far GS is the only shop that I know giving out exceptional customer services to their customer, either to the new customers or known customers rclxms.gif
So far I haven't heard any complaints about their customer service, GH wise... a lot tongue.gif
SWATwolf
post Sep 16 2009, 02:14 PM

431 posts

im gonna make my 1st post here.
dealt with djinn with no probs at all.
in fact, i hv to say he's a real good seller to talk wif
but when i 1st visited gh, i find no1 is there to serve me.
or rather they r too bz with their own stuff.

TSJohnathan Sia
post Sep 16 2009, 02:44 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(friedricetheman @ Sep 16 2009, 12:54 PM)
FYI buddy, GH recently hired 2 new staff to take care of their Cineleisure and Tropicana Mall outlets. They have just only been working for a few months (2 months tops) unlike the other guys, whom have been around longer.

Also, GH did sell Metroid Prime Corruption for quite a while before they ran out of stock. I have been buying wii games from them since early 2007. And I have never personally experience trouble buying from them. Also, I know Bobby, Jason (Djinn) and Eddie personally and they are a bunch of really nice people. You must have probably asked the wrong people when you called them up. Next time, when you call, ask for Jason or Eddie.

Btw, GH caters NOT ONLY to the xbox crowd but also to the Wii and PS3 guys as well. And they definately ARE NOT arrogant and stucked up. They are actually very down to earth and nice. Their customer service is the best around in the Klang Valley and they did on numerous occasions helped me with the warranty claims and repairs on my GH:WT drums pedal and non-responsive cymbals.

I hope this clears things up a bit.
I've dealt with Eddie and Djinn several times and they're cool. My issue was the poor level of product knowledge from their staff. While I would not expect their staff to know about 'lower' profile Wii titles like Deadly Creatures, Ghost Squad, and the like, I do expect the staff of a reputable games company to know about major non-Mario franchises for the Wii such as Metroid, Zelda, Smash Bros.

After saying all that, I think I'm running down the wrong line of logic. I think the best way to put it would be to reverse the situation.

Hypothetical phone conversation with GH staff (based on my phone conversation with their staff when enquiring about Metroid Prime Trilogy):
Me: Hi, do you have Gears of War: Ultimate collection? Or do you know when it is arriving? (Yeah, I know the title doesn't exist yet.... )
GH staff: Erm.. what system is it for?
Me: ??? [shocked pause - but in my head I'm thinking, "If you don't know which system it's for, then the title definitely isn't in stock"] Erm.... Xbox 360...
GH staff: [pauses for a moment] sorry, we don't have it.
Me: K, thanks.

I guess I'm ranting/harping on this a bit because I have higher standards for GH as opposed to the typical shop seller that mainly only deal with pirated games. I don't care anymore if they [the pirates] don't know about Wii games other than Mario or Wii Fit. But with GH, I expect better. And I don't think it's too much to ask. It's basic customer service. I would never dream of operating a game shop where my people do not know most of the major titles for all the systems I'm selling in-store.

Added on September 16, 2009, 2:53 pm
QUOTE(DjiNn @ Sep 16 2009, 01:58 PM)

but anyway, Johnathan Sia, I will like to apologize that one or two... or even worst one of my partner who does not know metroid prime game which does not give you details about it .

Cheers Djinn, at the end of the day, it's nothing really major. I just expected better from you guys that's all and was shocked at the low level of product knowledge for a major title for the Wii. I hope that this will lead to your staff having a more well-rounded knowledge of the products you have on offer (or will have on offer). I'd say that it's very important for your business since you'll never be able to compete with pirates on pricing. Actually, it'll likely mean better business for you too since your staff would be able to recommend a greater range of titles to suit a particular gamer's need depending on the system(s) he/she owns.

I'd consider this matter closed.

This post has been edited by Johnathan Sia: Sep 16 2009, 02:53 PM
friedricetheman
post Sep 16 2009, 03:04 PM

Watch Idiot Savant
966 posts

QUOTE(Johnathan Sia @ Sep 16 2009, 02:44 PM)

I guess I'm ranting/harping on this a bit because I have higher standards for GH as opposed to the typical shop seller that mainly only deal with pirated games. I don't care anymore if they [the pirates] don't know about Wii games other than Mario or Wii Fit. But with GH, I expect better. And I don't think it's too much to ask. It's basic customer service. I would never dream of operating a game shop where my people do not know most of the major titles for all the systems I'm selling in-store.
Dude, chill. GH, IMHO, has the best product knowledge around. Their staff is not ignorant. It's just that they're still new. Give them a few more weeks and they'll give you in depth reviews on each and every game ever made. Remember the first time you wanted to buy your first video game console, you were also blur. Which console to buy, SNES or Genesis or even TurboGrafx? Then, after you decided to buy a SNES, you become undecided on which 2 games to buy (as we all know, the SNES games library was really HUGE). Do you get Street Fighter II, Super Mario, or maybe even Super Contra?

We shouldn't take our gaming habits for granted. We have amassed decades of product knowledge being long time gamers. Instead, pity the new staff at GH for having to cram 25 years worth of games into a few months before finally getting their gaming badge of merit.

Put yourself in their shoes.
TSJohnathan Sia
post Sep 16 2009, 03:21 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(friedricetheman @ Sep 16 2009, 03:04 PM)
Dude, chill. GH, IMHO, has the best product knowledge around. Their staff is not ignorant. It's just that they're still new. Give them a few more weeks and they'll give you in depth reviews on each and every game ever made. Remember the first time you wanted to buy your first video game console, you were also blur. Which console to buy, SNES or Genesis or even TurboGrafx? Then, after you decided to buy a SNES, you become undecided on which 2 games to buy (as we all know, the SNES games library was really HUGE). Do you get Street Fighter II, Super Mario, or maybe even Super Contra?

We shouldn't take our gaming habits for granted. We have amassed decades of product knowledge being long time gamers. Instead, pity the new staff at GH for having to cram 25 years worth of games into a few months before finally getting their gaming badge of merit.

Point noted. Duly chilling and hoping to see passer bys try out Metroid Prime Trilogy when stock eventually arrives at GH.
penman
post Sep 16 2009, 06:09 PM

142 posts

QUOTE(DjiNn @ Sep 16 2009, 01:58 PM)

nothing personal DjiNn.

you probably don't remember that I've ever bought anything from you.

but I've been to your shops at least 5 times... and consistantly, I get the same treatment.

Eddie is infamous for being rude+arrogant! I hope he has changed by now. I didn't make this up... you can ask around, but perhaps not your regular customers, but anonymous like me. smile.gif

All the best to you! icon_rolleyes.gif
bose00
post Sep 16 2009, 11:18 PM

214 posts

QUOTE(penman @ Sep 16 2009, 06:09 PM)
nothing personal DjiNn.

you probably don't remember that I've ever bought anything from you.

but I've been to your shops at least 5 times... and consistantly, I get the same treatment.

Eddie is infamous for being rude+arrogant! I hope he has changed by now. I didn't make this up... you can ask around, but perhaps not your regular customers, but anonymous like me.  smile.gif

All the best to you!  icon_rolleyes.gif
nod.gif

This post has been edited by bose00: Sep 16 2009, 11:23 PM
nub
post Sep 17 2009, 07:28 AM

265 posts

Remember the first time you wanted to buy your first video game console, you were also blur. Which console to buy, SNES or Genesis or even TurboGrafx?

The thing is, the first time i wanted to buy my first video game console, i didn't apply to work at a shop that sells video game consoles.
PhoenixByte
post Sep 17 2009, 08:31 AM

798 posts

QUOTE(friedricetheman @ Sep 16 2009, 03:04 PM)
Instead, pity the new staff at GH for having to cram 25 years worth of games into a few months before finally getting their gaming badge of merit.

but...but...but..metroid prime is a wii title now..u don't need 25 yrs of gaming knowledge to know it. it's not like anybody here was asking them about western bar or heli battle game & watch from Casio. Most ppl will go into these shops for the latest games...u don't need a history lesson in gaming for that.
penman
post Sep 17 2009, 11:17 AM

142 posts

QUOTE(PhoenixByte @ Sep 17 2009, 08:31 AM)
but...but...but..metroid prime is a wii title now..u don't need 25 yrs of gaming knowledge to know it. it's not like anybody here was asking them about western bar or heli battle game & watch from Casio. Most ppl will go into these shops for the latest games...u don't need a history lesson in gaming for that.
no point of arguing... seriously. >_<
PhoenixByte
post Sep 17 2009, 11:20 AM

798 posts

ok..stopping now notworthy.gif
Mudmaniac
post Sep 17 2009, 04:06 PM

Creepy Uncle Liar
1,154 posts

I think we have reached a consensus here, with amicable settlements on this matter.

0.0368sec    0.67    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 09:12 PM