QUOTE(PhoenixByte @ Sep 14 2009, 10:11 AM)
wow! this thread is still going on... better take down, before MCMC send us all to court! Shocking!, Gamers Hideout does not know Metroid!?!?
Shocking!, Gamers Hideout does not know Metroid!?!?
Sep 14 2009, 12:14 PM
142 posts Joined: Jan 2007 |
Sep 15 2009, 04:17 PM
1,274 posts Joined: Feb 2006 From: Shah Alam |
err..bought the pokemon in 2008.
Sep 16 2009, 12:54 PM
966 posts Joined: Sep 2008 From: Not sure |
QUOTE(Johnathan Sia @ Sep 4 2009, 07:27 PM) I just called up both Gamers Hideout centres and neither of the staff members who answered my phone knew what Metroid Prime was and what system it was on. Doesn't sound like a real gamers hideout to me if they don't even know what Metroid Prime is ;p FYI buddy, GH recently hired 2 new staff to take care of their Cineleisure and Tropicana Mall outlets. They have just only been working for a few months (2 months tops) unlike the other guys, whom have been around longer.Also, GH did sell Metroid Prime Corruption for quite a while before they ran out of stock. I have been buying wii games from them since early 2007. And I have never personally experience trouble buying from them. Also, I know Bobby, Jason (Djinn) and Eddie personally and they are a bunch of really nice people. You must have probably asked the wrong people when you called them up. Next time, when you call, ask for Jason or Eddie. Btw, GH caters NOT ONLY to the xbox crowd but also to the Wii and PS3 guys as well. And they definately ARE NOT arrogant and stucked up. They are actually very down to earth and nice. Their customer service is the best around in the Klang Valley and they did on numerous occasions helped me with the warranty claims and repairs on my GH:WT drums pedal and non-responsive cymbals. I hope this clears things up a bit. |
Sep 16 2009, 01:19 PM
798 posts Joined: Apr 2005 From: Equine Park, Seri Kembangan |
QUOTE(friedricetheman @ Sep 16 2009, 12:54 PM) Also, I know Bobby, Jason (Djinn) and Eddie personally and they are a bunch of really nice people. You must have probably asked the wrong people when you called them up. Next time, when you call, ask for Jason or Eddie. ermm maybe because u know them personally?no offense, but this is usually the case FOR MOST shops anyway..u know them personally, they treat u better coz sometimes some of my friends go to the shops i recommended but they didn't get the same treatment n end up that they scold me for lying to them about the service |
Sep 16 2009, 01:42 PM
QUOTE(PhoenixByte @ Sep 16 2009, 01:19 PM) ermm maybe because u know them personally? No. Not really. I recommended some of my friends to GH and they have never had any bad experience or problems. Instead, they said GH guys are very nice and knowledgable. They can even recommend games that more or less suites your gaming habits. Even the time when my wife bought a game from them (as a suprise birthday present), they treated her very nice too. They even give her a member's discount even though she wasn't a member.no offense, but this is usually the case FOR MOST shops anyway..u know them personally, they treat u better coz sometimes some of my friends go to the shops i recommended but they didn't get the same treatment n end up that they scold me for lying to them about the service |
Sep 16 2009, 01:54 PM
well if they treated all ppl equally good this thread wouldn't even existed now would it?
Sep 16 2009, 01:58 PM
Store Representative
7,931 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: PJ, Malaysia |
QUOTE(penman @ Sep 4 2009, 07:57 PM) this is shocking! but anyway, Johnathan Sia, I will like to apologize that one or two... or even worst one of my partner who does not know metroid prime game which does not give you details about it . and behalf of everything that I done. which does not treat you guys equally. sorry for any inconviinent that I cause. |
Sep 16 2009, 02:01 PM
1,844 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kingdom of Sarawak |
QUOTE(PhoenixByte @ Sep 16 2009, 01:54 PM) WIN on the side note, so far GS is the only shop that I know giving out exceptional customer services to their customer, either to the new customers or known customers So far I haven't heard any complaints about their customer service, GH wise... a lot |
Sep 16 2009, 02:14 PM
431 posts Joined: Oct 2006 From: Hierarchical City of Kagutsuchi |
im gonna make my 1st post here.
dealt with djinn with no probs at all. in fact, i hv to say he's a real good seller to talk wif but when i 1st visited gh, i find no1 is there to serve me. or rather they r too bz with their own stuff. |
Sep 16 2009, 02:44 PM
75 posts Joined: Mar 2005 From: PJ, Malaysia |
QUOTE(friedricetheman @ Sep 16 2009, 12:54 PM) FYI buddy, GH recently hired 2 new staff to take care of their Cineleisure and Tropicana Mall outlets. They have just only been working for a few months (2 months tops) unlike the other guys, whom have been around longer. I've dealt with Eddie and Djinn several times and they're cool. My issue was the poor level of product knowledge from their staff. While I would not expect their staff to know about 'lower' profile Wii titles like Deadly Creatures, Ghost Squad, and the like, I do expect the staff of a reputable games company to know about major non-Mario franchises for the Wii such as Metroid, Zelda, Smash Bros. Also, GH did sell Metroid Prime Corruption for quite a while before they ran out of stock. I have been buying wii games from them since early 2007. And I have never personally experience trouble buying from them. Also, I know Bobby, Jason (Djinn) and Eddie personally and they are a bunch of really nice people. You must have probably asked the wrong people when you called them up. Next time, when you call, ask for Jason or Eddie. Btw, GH caters NOT ONLY to the xbox crowd but also to the Wii and PS3 guys as well. And they definately ARE NOT arrogant and stucked up. They are actually very down to earth and nice. Their customer service is the best around in the Klang Valley and they did on numerous occasions helped me with the warranty claims and repairs on my GH:WT drums pedal and non-responsive cymbals. I hope this clears things up a bit. After saying all that, I think I'm running down the wrong line of logic. I think the best way to put it would be to reverse the situation. Hypothetical phone conversation with GH staff (based on my phone conversation with their staff when enquiring about Metroid Prime Trilogy): Me: Hi, do you have Gears of War: Ultimate collection? Or do you know when it is arriving? (Yeah, I know the title doesn't exist yet.... ) GH staff: Erm.. what system is it for? Me: ??? [shocked pause - but in my head I'm thinking, "If you don't know which system it's for, then the title definitely isn't in stock"] Erm.... Xbox 360... GH staff: [pauses for a moment] sorry, we don't have it. Me: K, thanks. I guess I'm ranting/harping on this a bit because I have higher standards for GH as opposed to the typical shop seller that mainly only deal with pirated games. I don't care anymore if they [the pirates] don't know about Wii games other than Mario or Wii Fit. But with GH, I expect better. And I don't think it's too much to ask. It's basic customer service. I would never dream of operating a game shop where my people do not know most of the major titles for all the systems I'm selling in-store. Added on September 16, 2009, 2:53 pm QUOTE(DjiNn @ Sep 16 2009, 01:58 PM) this is shocking! Cheers Djinn, at the end of the day, it's nothing really major. I just expected better from you guys that's all and was shocked at the low level of product knowledge for a major title for the Wii. I hope that this will lead to your staff having a more well-rounded knowledge of the products you have on offer (or will have on offer). I'd say that it's very important for your business since you'll never be able to compete with pirates on pricing. Actually, it'll likely mean better business for you too since your staff would be able to recommend a greater range of titles to suit a particular gamer's need depending on the system(s) he/she owns. but anyway, Johnathan Sia, I will like to apologize that one or two... or even worst one of my partner who does not know metroid prime game which does not give you details about it . and behalf of everything that I done. which does not treat you guys equally. sorry for any inconviinent that I cause. I'd consider this matter closed. This post has been edited by Johnathan Sia: Sep 16 2009, 02:53 PM |
Sep 16 2009, 03:04 PM
QUOTE(Johnathan Sia @ Sep 16 2009, 02:44 PM) I guess I'm ranting/harping on this a bit because I have higher standards for GH as opposed to the typical shop seller that mainly only deal with pirated games. I don't care anymore if they [the pirates] don't know about Wii games other than Mario or Wii Fit. But with GH, I expect better. And I don't think it's too much to ask. It's basic customer service. I would never dream of operating a game shop where my people do not know most of the major titles for all the systems I'm selling in-store. We shouldn't take our gaming habits for granted. We have amassed decades of product knowledge being long time gamers. Instead, pity the new staff at GH for having to cram 25 years worth of games into a few months before finally getting their gaming badge of merit. Put yourself in their shoes. |
Sep 16 2009, 03:21 PM
75 posts Joined: Mar 2005 From: PJ, Malaysia |
QUOTE(friedricetheman @ Sep 16 2009, 03:04 PM) Dude, chill. GH, IMHO, has the best product knowledge around. Their staff is not ignorant. It's just that they're still new. Give them a few more weeks and they'll give you in depth reviews on each and every game ever made. Remember the first time you wanted to buy your first video game console, you were also blur. Which console to buy, SNES or Genesis or even TurboGrafx? Then, after you decided to buy a SNES, you become undecided on which 2 games to buy (as we all know, the SNES games library was really HUGE). Do you get Street Fighter II, Super Mario, or maybe even Super Contra? Point noted. Duly chilling and hoping to see passer bys try out Metroid Prime Trilogy when stock eventually arrives at GH.We shouldn't take our gaming habits for granted. We have amassed decades of product knowledge being long time gamers. Instead, pity the new staff at GH for having to cram 25 years worth of games into a few months before finally getting their gaming badge of merit. Put yourself in their shoes. |
Sep 16 2009, 06:09 PM
QUOTE(DjiNn @ Sep 16 2009, 01:58 PM) this is shocking! nothing personal DjiNn.but anyway, Johnathan Sia, I will like to apologize that one or two... or even worst one of my partner who does not know metroid prime game which does not give you details about it . and behalf of everything that I done. which does not treat you guys equally. sorry for any inconviinent that I cause. you probably don't remember that I've ever bought anything from you. but I've been to your shops at least 5 times... and consistantly, I get the same treatment. Eddie is infamous for being rude+arrogant! I hope he has changed by now. I didn't make this up... you can ask around, but perhaps not your regular customers, but anonymous like me. All the best to you! |
Sep 16 2009, 11:18 PM
214 posts Joined: Dec 2004 |
QUOTE(penman @ Sep 16 2009, 06:09 PM) nothing personal DjiNn. you probably don't remember that I've ever bought anything from you. but I've been to your shops at least 5 times... and consistantly, I get the same treatment. Eddie is infamous for being rude+arrogant! I hope he has changed by now. I didn't make this up... you can ask around, but perhaps not your regular customers, but anonymous like me. All the best to you! This post has been edited by bose00: Sep 16 2009, 11:23 PM |
Sep 17 2009, 07:28 AM
265 posts Joined: Apr 2005 |
QUOTE Remember the first time you wanted to buy your first video game console, you were also blur. Which console to buy, SNES or Genesis or even TurboGrafx? The thing is, the first time i wanted to buy my first video game console, i didn't apply to work at a shop that sells video game consoles. |
Sep 17 2009, 08:31 AM
QUOTE(friedricetheman @ Sep 16 2009, 03:04 PM) Instead, pity the new staff at GH for having to cram 25 years worth of games into a few months before finally getting their gaming badge of merit. but...but...but..metroid prime is a wii title now..u don't need 25 yrs of gaming knowledge to know it. it's not like anybody here was asking them about western bar or heli battle game & watch from Casio. Most ppl will go into these shops for the latest games...u don't need a history lesson in gaming for that.Put yourself in their shoes. |
Sep 17 2009, 11:17 AM
QUOTE(PhoenixByte @ Sep 17 2009, 08:31 AM) but...but...but..metroid prime is a wii title now..u don't need 25 yrs of gaming knowledge to know it. it's not like anybody here was asking them about western bar or heli battle game & watch from Casio. Most ppl will go into these shops for the latest games...u don't need a history lesson in gaming for that. no point of arguing... seriously. >_< |
Sep 17 2009, 11:20 AM
ok..stopping now
Sep 17 2009, 04:06 PM
1,154 posts Joined: Sep 2004 |
I think we have reached a consensus here, with amicable settlements on this matter.
| Change to: | 0.0211sec
5 queries
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 06:59 PM |