[WTA] Pioneer 5.1 Home Theater System, Pioneer 5.1 Home Theater System

van_dyke
post Sep 9 2009, 12:47 AM

132 posts

Thanks for the reply guys, yeap, I actually took the AVR set, the
vsx-519v-k , full set 5 speaker s-ms800 and the srs3sw.

I've tried tuning everything, and for me, the sound is good enough. Except for the SW. I can't seem to generate a great deal of bass. even If i've tuned up the volumn on the SW, its still too low.

Even my previous hitb packs a bigger punch on bass. Is there any settings I missed? The manual really sucks big time. All I can tune is the db of speaker, distance and the size of the speaker. Are there any hidden configs that will make the bass better?

ronnt88
post Sep 9 2009, 01:15 AM

2,353 posts

QUOTE(van_dyke @ Sep 9 2009, 12:47 AM)

I've tried tuning everything, and for me, the sound is good enough. Except for the SW. I can't seem to generate a great deal of bass. even If i've tuned up the volumn on the SW, its still too low.

Even my previous hitb packs a bigger punch on bass. Is there any settings I missed? The manual really sucks big time. All I can tune is the db of speaker, distance and the size of the speaker. Are there any hidden configs that will make the bass better?
maybe u can try putting the sub at different locations in ur room n see which location is best...

if all else fails, get a 'real' sub tongue.gif
van_dyke
post Sep 9 2009, 09:42 AM

132 posts

I sincerely doubt is the positioning, as when I was testing it in the showroom, it really hits like at least 100 times harder than this, in a middle volumn set.

I suspect it might be some settings.
Whats a 'real' sub btw.. smile.gif
jaya_pc87
post Sep 9 2009, 10:09 AM

Workaholic Mode on
748 posts

erm not sure which model are you using
on my pioneer (4 yrs old ) there is this 2 options called midnight mode and power bass mode try turn both of them on?

This post has been edited by jaya_pc87: Sep 9 2009, 11:02 AM
Poadster
post Sep 9 2009, 10:19 AM

inspiRED: Fast and Furious
647 posts

1. Is yr subs powered with the green LED light on? This is an active sub that needs its own power.
2. Is yr Front Speakers set to LARGE? Set it to SMALL so that the AVR sends all bass frequencies to the subs and not to the fronts.
3. Is yr crossover on the sub set too high? Turn it towards the middle (lowest is 50, highest is 200, set it towards 100, if memory serves me right). Check the knobs at the back of the sub.
4. Is yr sub crossover frequency on the AVR set too high? Same as above, set it to 100. (lowest recommended is 80 if i read it right somewhere).
5. Is the phases output to yr subs mixed? Ensure that the phase is exactly the same on the AVR and the subs (usually at 0). Again, check on of the knobs at the back.
6. Is the output level on yr AVR too low?? I think u have this covered, but check again after then above.
7. Position yr subs 1 ft away from the walls, esp if its in a corner. This may help.

I have the exact same subs, and it shakes my whole living room whenever the LFE kicks in.... there is definately something wrong with yr setting.

Added on September 9, 2009, 10:20 am
QUOTE(ronnt88 @ Sep 9 2009, 01:15 AM)
maybe u can try putting the sub at different locations in ur room n see which location is best...

if all else fails, get a 'real' sub tongue.gif
The Pioneer sub is a 30cm active powered sub...... so what's a real sub arr??? blush.gif blush.gif blush.gif

This post has been edited by Poadster: Sep 9 2009, 10:27 AM
azbro
post Sep 9 2009, 11:59 AM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(Poadster @ Sep 9 2009, 10:19 AM)

The Pioneer sub is a 30cm active powered sub...... so what's a real sub arr???  blush.gif  blush.gif  blush.gif
He meant something like this!

Poadster
post Sep 9 2009, 12:05 PM

647 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Sep 9 2009, 11:59 AM)
He meant something like this!
Marty Mc Fly in Back To The Future!!
azbro
post Sep 9 2009, 12:30 PM

4,403 posts

QUOTE(Poadster @ Sep 9 2009, 12:05 PM)
Marty Mc Fly in Back To The Future!!
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif we all know what happened a few seconds later thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
Reix
post Sep 9 2009, 12:39 PM

468 posts

Is your SW power connector 2 pins plug?
Ngto
post Sep 9 2009, 01:02 PM

4,350 posts

I was going to suggest to you to use the MCACC (Auto-calibration) feature of the AVR to automatically tune the sound of your speakers and to enable your sub-woofer to match the phase.

But then I just realised that the 519 does not come with the MCACC doh.gif

Sorry I gave the wrong info earlier. Only the 819 set comes with MCACC, which somehow I thought was the set you mentioned.

You have to really play around with the AVR settings manually. It might take quite a bit of tweaking espc the sub. I somehow feel the sub which was taken from the earlier Todoroki packages does not match very well with the newer speakers set.
van_dyke
post Sep 9 2009, 01:05 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(Poadster @ Sep 9 2009, 10:19 AM)
1. Is yr subs powered with the green LED light on? This is an active sub that needs its own power.
2. Is yr Front Speakers set to LARGE? Set it to SMALL so that the AVR sends all bass frequencies to the subs and not to the fronts.
3. Is yr crossover on the sub set too high? Turn it towards the middle (lowest is 50, highest is 200, set it towards 100, if memory serves me right). Check the knobs at the back of the sub.
4. Is yr sub crossover frequency on the AVR set too high? Same as above, set it to 100. (lowest recommended is 80 if i read it right somewhere).
5. Is the phases output to yr subs mixed? Ensure that the phase is exactly the same on the AVR and the subs (usually at 0). Again, check on of the knobs at the back.
6. Is the output level on yr AVR too low?? I think u have this covered, but check again after then above.
7. Position yr subs 1 ft away from the walls, esp if its in a corner. This may help.

I have the exact same subs, and it shakes my whole living room whenever the LFE kicks in.... there is definately something wrong with yr setting.

Added on September 9, 2009, 10:20 am

The Pioneer sub is a 30cm active powered sub...... so what's a real sub arr???  blush.gif  blush.gif  blush.gif
1. Yes its on.
2. Its already set to small.
3. Yeap its at the 9'o'clock position.
5. 0 , and yes there is an option for 180, but mine's at 0.
6. output level as in the db settings? i've got it at 10db.
7. I'll give that a shot.

In the manual, it says that you can tune the subs speaker from yes, plus to no. Mine is just stuck at yes. Anyone knows how to switch it to Plus? apparently its better for bass.

Its a vsx-519 btw.

This is all really helpful. Wonderfull forum this! Cheers! smile.gif

Added on September 9, 2009, 1:07 pm
QUOTE(Ngto @ Sep 9 2009, 01:02 PM)
I was going to suggest to you to use the MCACC (Auto-calibration) feature of the AVR to automatically tune the sound of your speakers and to enable your sub-woofer to match the phase.

But then I just realised that the 519 does not come with the MCACC  doh.gif

Sorry I gave the wrong info earlier. Only the 819 set comes with MCACC, which somehow I thought was the set you mentioned.

You have to really play around with the AVR settings manually. It might take quite a bit of tweaking espc the sub. I somehow feel the sub which was taken from the earlier Todoroki packages does not match very well with the newer speakers set.
Yeah thats what I am afraid of actually. Been tuning like a mad dog. But at least this forum is helpful.
So thanks!

This post has been edited by van_dyke: Sep 9 2009, 01:07 PM
Ngto
post Sep 9 2009, 01:33 PM

4,350 posts

Try setting your front speakers to large. Maybe the sub is too large for your room and there are a lot of objects around that affect the bass of the sub.

Adjusting the phase of the sub is very important too but too bad you do not have the MCACC to help out.

I actually saw the Harvey Norman demo sets had their sub placed facing sideways because the MCACC (refering to the 819 set) couldn't configure them properly when facing front.

You have try every different way you can think of. Good luck smile.gif

This post has been edited by Ngto: Sep 9 2009, 01:34 PM
Poadster
post Sep 9 2009, 04:10 PM

647 posts

QUOTE(van_dyke @ Sep 9 2009, 01:05 PM)
1. Yes its on.
2. Its already set to small.
3. Yeap its at the 9'o'clock position.
5. 0 , and yes there is an option for 180, but mine's at 0.
6. output level as in the db settings? i've got it at 10db.
7. I'll give that a shot.

In the manual, it says that you can tune the subs speaker from yes, plus to no. Mine is just stuck at yes. Anyone knows how to switch it to Plus? apparently its better for bass.

Its a vsx-519 btw.

This is all really helpful. Wonderfull forum this! Cheers! smile.gif

Added on September 9, 2009, 1:07 pm

Yeah thats what I am afraid of actually. Been tuning like a mad dog. But at least this forum is helpful.
So thanks!
I have nvr used a 519 before, but assumes that it will be the similar. Yr settings are all ok, so final question (sorry that i left it out)...

1. What is the volume output u set on the knob at the back?? Turn it up to the level you want it to be.

Mine is set at 50% and the bass is truly earth shattering (my AVR is at +10db too). I seriously hope that you didnt get a faulty sub, as the Pioneer AVR + Speakers are well matched.

Added on September 9, 2009, 4:11 pm
QUOTE(Reix @ Sep 9 2009, 12:39 PM)
Is your SW power connector 2 pins plug?
Nope, it uses a RCA to RCA connector.

This post has been edited by Poadster: Sep 9 2009, 04:11 PM
Reix
post Sep 9 2009, 04:29 PM

468 posts

You use RCA to RCA cable to power up your SW?
First time I heard.
van_dyke
post Sep 9 2009, 04:55 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(Poadster @ Sep 9 2009, 04:10 PM)
I have nvr used a 519 before, but assumes that it will be the similar. Yr settings are all ok, so final question (sorry that i left it out)...

1. What is the volume output u set on the knob at the back?? Turn it up to the level you want it to be.

Mine is set at 50% and the bass is truly earth shattering (my AVR is at +10db too). I seriously hope that you didnt get a faulty sub, as the Pioneer AVR + Speakers are well matched.

Added on September 9, 2009, 4:11 pm

Nope, it uses a RCA to RCA connector.
I think its the phase? I tuned the phase, up and down, and play different sources, and now it seems its better?
Well dunno what the heck am I doing anyways, you use the same system? maybe I can pm you for some settings?
Thanks anyways!

Added on September 9, 2009, 4:56 pm
QUOTE(Reix @ Sep 9 2009, 04:29 PM)
First time I heard.
Not to power up, just to connect the sub to the avr. wink.gif

This post has been edited by van_dyke: Sep 9 2009, 04:56 PM
maxizanc
post Sep 9 2009, 06:53 PM

5,909 posts

QUOTE(azbro @ Sep 9 2009, 12:30 PM)
rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  we all know what happened a few seconds later  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
Same here:
Poadster
post Sep 9 2009, 10:33 PM

647 posts

QUOTE(Reix @ Sep 9 2009, 04:29 PM)
First time I heard.
Opps.... there goes my fingers moving faster than my eyes can read and my brains can decipher... blush.gif blush.gif blush.gif

Sorry, the power is the regular 2 pin type. I see where you are driving at but reversing that affect the phase??

Added on September 9, 2009, 10:35 pm
QUOTE(van_dyke @ Sep 9 2009, 04:55 PM)
I think its the phase? I tuned the phase, up and down, and play different sources, and now it seems its better?
Well dunno what the heck am I doing anyways, you use the same system? maybe I can pm you for some settings?
Thanks anyways!

Added on September 9, 2009, 4:56 pm

Not to power up, just to connect the sub to the avr. wink.gif
Once it sound good to you, keep it.

Oh yeah... u need to allow yr amp to "burn-in", it will sound much better later....

Added on September 9, 2009, 10:39 pm
QUOTE(maxizanc @ Sep 9 2009, 06:53 PM)
Same here:
Macaulay!! Great video...

MJ, RIP.

This post has been edited by Poadster: Sep 9 2009, 10:39 PM
Reix
post Sep 9 2009, 11:14 PM

468 posts

I don't know what is the theory behind, but reversing the power pin works for me.

van_dyke
post Sep 10 2009, 10:08 AM

132 posts

QUOTE(Reix @ Sep 9 2009, 11:14 PM)
I don't know what is the theory behind, but reversing the power pin works for me.
ohmy.gif let me try it out!
Poadster
post Sep 11 2009, 12:46 AM

647 posts

QUOTE(Reix @ Sep 9 2009, 11:14 PM)
I think that where the phase control comes into play, something to do with the way electric flows... positives and negatives.... forjot liao.....

Try it, it could work.

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0174sec    0.62    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 12:28 AM