CALLING ALL MEDICAL STUDENTS! V2, medical student chat+info center

TSchika138
post Aug 31 2009, 12:24 PM, updated 14y ago

Happy-No-Lucky
853 posts

V1 Link

Since legstrong, the initial TS is MIA, and there's no one else opening up a V2 for this, hope that my little efforts will do good in the continuity of the only official medical students thread in LYN

"Know who"-compiled by culexbite ...THANKS!

Please feel free to PM me if there's anything in the list to be edited or added smile.gif

Recognition Lists

Malaysia - MMC Second Schedule, PSD/JPA

Singapore - SMC - The Schedule

This post has been edited by chika138: Apr 6 2012, 07:46 PM
TSchika138
post Aug 31 2009, 12:53 PM

Happy-No-Lucky
853 posts

QUOTE(cygoh9 @ Aug 31 2009, 12:41 PM)
v2!!!! k it's a spam lol
welcome to "the-first-to-post"
eh i just found out ur name not in the list
want me to add in?

Added on August 31, 2009, 3:45 pmA question
Those medical schools who are not in the following MMC recognition list
http://mmc.gov.my/v1/docs/Jadual%20Kedua.pdf

Even if the schools are in UK, are the students from those respective med schools required to take the medical qualifying exam, just like the others, in order to get registered with MMC here?
Eg Imperial College London, which needs no further introduction here. It's not in the Second Schedule, yet it was formerly a constituent college of the University of London, so is it recognized?
not to disregard medical schools from other countries though...

This post has been edited by chika138: Aug 31 2009, 04:00 PM
TSchika138
post Sep 1 2009, 12:33 AM

Happy-No-Lucky
853 posts

welcome seiken
name added in the list smile.gif
TSchika138
post Sep 1 2009, 11:46 PM

Happy-No-Lucky
853 posts

to those who think their discussions are discontinued, u can always carry on those previous topics from V1 in here

haha btw way way too many IMU students in the list compared to others tongue.gif

This post has been edited by chika138: Sep 2 2009, 12:35 AM
TSchika138
post Sep 6 2009, 10:23 PM

Happy-No-Lucky
853 posts

good news my friends

Internships edge foreign doctors out
TSchika138
post Sep 7 2009, 08:58 PM

Happy-No-Lucky
853 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Sep 7 2009, 08:15 PM)
nobody pays rm700+k in fees so they can come back to work for rm3k/mth...........unless they have no choice........
true
at least come back only after completing specialization
that's what in my plan
TSchika138
post Sep 7 2009, 09:57 PM

Happy-No-Lucky
853 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Sep 7 2009, 09:12 PM)
as a jpa scholar, you will, and should return to serve your bond on graduation........otherwise don't take the scholarship you can't commit to the bond.......
i will come back and serve my bond fully for sure, even if i can afford to pay them back by that time
it's just that i'm wondering whether i could have the opportunity to complete my specialization
if no, then fine, i'm fine and more than willing to serve my bond straight away on graduation smile.gif
i have heard of few cases that JPA do allow some medical graduates to stay on now and then, of course with certain conditions
not too sure with the details though
TSchika138
post Sep 8 2009, 10:20 AM

Happy-No-Lucky
853 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Sep 7 2009, 11:36 PM)
many jpa and mara scholars default on their bonds.......both bodies, being typical of msian efficiency, are very lax in tracing these defaulters and imposing the penalty.......so most got away with it........the country spent rm1 million of my tax money, and got nothing in return.........

my point is not from the legal aspect.......but the moral and ethics aspect......

and no, the scholarship does NOT come with the provision of staying on to do postgraduate.......
don't worry i've never ever thought of defaulting
to me what jpa and the ppl want are not the full amount of the money back but something in return after investing
so i for sure will come back to serve

btw afaik mara scholarship is more like a loan than scholarship? they have actually no bond to serve but need to return their money, and the amount depending on how good their results are? correct me if i'm wrong

This post has been edited by chika138: Sep 8 2009, 10:47 AM
TSchika138
post Sep 8 2009, 03:08 PM

Happy-No-Lucky
853 posts

QUOTE(MicLord @ Sep 8 2009, 02:06 PM)
sad.gif That's true.Some of them don't even need to pay back the government.
ya that's what i heard from some mara scholars
for some other courses u need to get very distinctive results (like first class degree) only can get 100% scholarship (no need to pay back a single cent)
for medic u just need to pass and graduate, then no need to pay back, no bond
if it's true i dun see any point and benefit giving the scholarship to them
again i might be wrong for my info, need someone to clarify if i'm wrong
TSchika138
post Sep 13 2009, 11:41 PM

Happy-No-Lucky
853 posts

happy.gif+Sep 13 2009, 11:30 PM-->
QUOTE(fun fun happy.gif @ Sep 13 2009, 11:30 PM)
Hi all, I'm reporting for the first time here! =)

I'm from IMU, finished 5th sem and did my BMedSci, waiting to transfer to UQ...
name added in the list
welcome to this thread
welcome to LYN as well smile.gif

This post has been edited by chika138: Sep 13 2009, 11:42 PM
TSchika138
post Apr 28 2010, 12:40 PM

Happy-No-Lucky
853 posts

sorry if it's a repost
just pretty much a summary of what we've discussed so far

A doctor too many