Cleaning Chasis aka "CPU", without removing the component inside

kimimaro_kun
post Oct 3 2009, 11:57 AM

I Am Whatever You Say I Am
669 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Oct 3 2009, 10:00 AM)
Yup been using like this for years now also no problem. Just make sure you ground the rig properly. After the combination of compressed can air and vacuum cleaner, just use the anti-static brush.
where to get this?
pic will help a lot
thx
DarkNite
post Oct 3 2009, 12:06 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

You go to 1Utama hobby shop also got and when you're there visit ACE for the air can.
kimimaro_kun
post Oct 3 2009, 12:30 PM

669 posts

owh... johorian here.
will ask my hardware shop.. hope they got it here
DarkNite
post Oct 3 2009, 01:42 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(kimimaro_kun @ Oct 3 2009, 12:30 PM)
owh... johorian here.
will ask my hardware shop.. hope they got it here

Hi ya I thought you're from An field in KL blush.gif

kimimaro_kun
post Oct 3 2009, 02:06 PM

669 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Oct 3 2009, 01:42 PM)
Hi ya I thought you're from An field in KL blush.gif
er... sorry for that sir sweat.gif
will check tomorrow.. got a lot open house to attend icon_idea.gif
bowerchung
post Oct 12 2009, 05:19 PM

562 posts

QUOTE(arthur88 @ Aug 30 2009, 01:11 PM)
i got my pc almost 3 yrs ago and now its full of dust. normally ppl will take all the component inside one by one clean it thoroughly. however, i dun wish to take out all the component as some ppl said "before you take out all the component for cleaning, the pc works perfectly fine, but after u take out all component and clean it and put back inside chasis, the pc got problem like slow on turning on, cannot start, performance slow...etc...or any similar problem". So, in order to prevent this and din want to take the risk, can anyone suggest alternative solution to remove the dust inside chasis without taking out the component?

Solution that i can think of:
1-> use blower(not sure the name is correct or not)
2-> send to shops or any services that provide cleaning (preferably not to choose this option)
3-> get suggestions from this thread from ppl that have experienced/tried to clean the chasis without taking out the component.

thx in advance.
i use hair dryer to blow all the dust out and also using paint brush thumbup.gif
TSarthur88
post Oct 13 2009, 09:24 AM

1,070 posts

QUOTE(bowerchung @ Oct 12 2009, 05:19 PM)
i use hair dryer to blow all the dust out and also using paint brush  thumbup.gif
hair dryer?
the air blow is strong enuf to blow the dust off?
hair dryer only produce hot air and slow air flow.
quite curious how u clean ur pc component inside chasis.
mind to tell us?
HexPhoenix
post Oct 13 2009, 03:37 PM

537 posts

hair dryer can, but suitable if the dust is TOO THICK. it can't remove all the dust, but then can use brush to remove. useful for area like fan, HDD, DVD slot, but not good for HSF. the metal will become too hot to touch.

or u can go to camera @ usual supermarket like Giant and Carrefour, search for DSLR cleaning kit. there's a blower, not as good as compressed air, but useful enough. not more than RM30 i think.

search for set of watercolour brush flat head, cheap one enough, around RM 3-5.

one advice...

google more how to deassemble and reassemble PC hardware coz when u don't remove the component, u will not learn, and the dust will not remove completely. there's a hefty price for learning this, me myself already blow 1 PSU, damage 1 GC, 2 mobo, 1 proc. mostly my own hardware plus my friend's. sounds scary but once you know the knowledge, you will see yourself how useful it can do for u.
shawnlut
post Oct 13 2009, 11:33 PM

±±±±±±
837 posts

Some of the hardware need to be removed for cleaning & some don't...
Just use paint brush & air blower will do...

TSarthur88
post Oct 14 2009, 09:14 AM

1,070 posts

QUOTE(HexPhoenix @ Oct 13 2009, 03:37 PM)
hair dryer can, but suitable if the dust is TOO THICK. it can't remove all the dust, but then can use brush to remove. useful for area like fan, HDD, DVD slot, but not good for HSF. the metal will become too hot to touch.

or u can go to camera @ usual supermarket like Giant and Carrefour, search for DSLR cleaning kit. there's a blower, not as good as compressed air, but useful enough. not more than RM30 i think.

search for set of watercolour brush flat head, cheap one enough, around RM 3-5.

one advice...

google more how to deassemble and reassemble PC hardware coz when u don't remove the component, u will not learn, and the dust will not remove completely. there's a hefty price for learning this, me myself already blow 1 PSU, damage 1 GC, 2 mobo, 1 proc. mostly my own hardware plus my friend's. sounds scary but once you know the knowledge, you will see yourself how useful it can do for u.
fyi, i got the knowledge of assemble and reassemble pc hardware. i even help me frens assemble their pc.
just that i cant afford trouble now from my pc. trouble like pc broke down, replacing component if any component broke down...
that's all.

This post has been edited by arthur88: Oct 14 2009, 09:18 PM
bowerchung
post Oct 14 2009, 10:20 AM

562 posts

QUOTE(arthur88 @ Oct 13 2009, 09:24 AM)
hair dryer?
the air blow is strong enuf to blow the dust off?
hair dryer only produce hot air and slow air flow.
quite curious how u clean ur pc component inside chasis.
mind to tell us?
hmmmm....... hmm.gif
my hair dryer is abit more expensive 1.... icon_idea.gif
i can choose neither normal air or hot air... brows.gif
and also fast air flow or slow air flow... brows.gif
so...i juz used the normal air aka cool air and fast air flow.... smile.gif
juz turn it on...booooooooooooooooooooooo shocking.gif
all dust out of my chassis.... rclxm9.gif

and my hsf is clean enuf not many dust... tongue.gif
im using C2D E7400 the fan spins very slow...
my GC too.... whistling.gif

This post has been edited by bowerchung: Oct 14 2009, 10:22 AM

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0189sec    0.97    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 05:19 AM