Nokia N900 launched!, N Series with Maemo 5 on board

TSzero_kbom
post Sep 7 2009, 04:09 PM

~I'll make you Miku Miku~
965 posts

QUOTE(Tookia @ Sep 5 2009, 07:10 PM)
At RN2800 I can buy an Acer Aspire Notebook. Can do more things except shrink it to palm size. smile.gif
well yeah i will buy it too over this n900...it can do lots more...hve better keyboard and i could put it in my freakin pockets....or couldn't I? laugh.gif
/Sarcasm

Added on September 7, 2009, 4:10 pm
QUOTE(sHin0bi @ Sep 6 2009, 02:51 AM)
im getting ready to leave Apple!
welcome towards the openness of linux than the walled garden iphone os nod.gif

This post has been edited by zero_kbom: Sep 7 2009, 04:10 PM
TSzero_kbom
post Sep 12 2009, 05:09 PM

965 posts

QUOTE(Vervain @ Sep 7 2009, 09:16 PM)
I'm not habouring my hopes over this device. Previously n97 was a big hype until it came out. The utterly doggy interface really is a nuisance. & Some really regretted resulting in short ownership.

Processing spec wise, it's the same as 3gs but spots on a pagefile feature, which is useful if you're running a high mem software. n97 was used to be called the flagship of nokia, but then again it phailed. Thus they're quick to bounce back with a device similar to HTC hero. No bad in imitating but at the end of the day, it's about overall usage. We have seen HTC hero's application wise is good. both on input and features. What lacks in is the processing power (yes multi tasking needs a hefty juice).

Personally I think nokia did study their mistake and launch the phone around nations with haxor. Yes, hoping those geeks can crack the code or develop even more softwares thus unleashing it's potential. Don't get me wrong, Nokia has been developing robust & bullet proof phones all theses years. They are much lacking in terms of OS designing.

We've seen alot of phone tagged with a Iphone killer potential. However at the end of the day, not 1 has successfully pull down iphone. Why apple is capable of maintaining it's current status is it's solid backbone of software. This is one major criteria which most phone developers should emphasize on. WinMo might be a stone age OS, but out there there are tonnes of softwares to unleash the potential of the phone. Even my 5 year old antique PDA still capable of providing daily web & you tube usage.

Though it seems I'm all againts this new phone, I would still give credit on Nokia for moving forward. It's more like they've gear the design objective towards a pocket mobile computing. Which I think is excellent. No more Iphone killer motto. Just aim at what you're good at.

We will see Maemo to be a inferior to Andriod. However, Like I say, softwares are the key component in keeping the phone running. Thus I will still keep my fingers cross till the whole phone has been launched.
N97 is not as quite as bad as it seem...not to mention 2 mil units been sold since the last 3 months....if this rate goes on it will surpass the 17 mil record of N95 in no time...n the ui is not that bad too...i must agree that it is not for everyone....it either loves it or hating it to death tongue.gif
But yeah there is some points i had to agree there...the innards is quite outdated....n nokia oni do little to shoehorn touch interface onto s60v3...resulting in a quite annoying ui...n sullen the legendary reputation of s60 that already served millions of people worldwide sad.gif

N900 is still a very promising device and hve lots of potential...I hve been following this device for already a long time n I hve to say its a beast...a full fledged desktop linux os in your pocket is still very drool worthy drool.gif

I wouldn't say that maemo is inferior to android....each of its own hve their own speciality....but as i said earlier a full fledged desktop linux os in a pocketable form is very drool worthy...in terms of software yes android is still hving an advantage on this front....but in terms of raw power Maemo pawns android in no time...n if u wants u can also run android ON Maemo OS

Correct me if im wrong though...juz sharing my thoughts here icon_rolleyes.gif

TSzero_kbom
post Sep 18 2009, 04:59 AM

965 posts

QUOTE(lucky8 @ Sep 17 2009, 11:38 PM)
any news when will it launch here? cant wait for it...
hmm mybe around early next year....europe r getting it in october n judging from the usual nokia pattern of releasing their phones...around early next year is most likely it....correct me if im wrong though icon_rolleyes.gif
TSzero_kbom
post Sep 19 2009, 02:43 AM

965 posts

QUOTE(ffnbnj @ Sep 18 2009, 04:46 PM)
One thing is that its camera is only 5MP, while 5MP is pretty good, it should set itself higher than other Nokia phones, I wish it could have an 8MP like the N86
n y is dat? personally i wouldn't want dat as the price will oni skyrocket n 5 mpx is gud enuff for casual photographer....not to mention there is no point in hving more MP if the sensor is oni as big as a pinhead laugh.gif
TSzero_kbom
post Sep 27 2009, 08:33 PM

965 posts

QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Sep 24 2009, 10:08 AM)
It seems Nokia 7705 twist using Maemo OS despite the similarities between this and N900. Wonder if Nokia wanna replace Symbian with Maemo. If that the case, then it's a bad start. Hopefully they don't abandon Symbian
Ur mistaken...Nokia 7705 Twist is made for Verizon n using the Verizon proprietary OS....it is CDMA based and hence the reason y it will never can be used in Malaysia...im suppose no telco is providing CDMA here rite? icon_rolleyes.gif

And dun worry...Nokia already state this numerous times...Maemo n Symbian will co- exists laugh.gif

Added on September 27, 2009, 8:38 pm
QUOTE(Vervain @ Sep 24 2009, 03:33 PM)
CDMA, korea i pressume you can use the phone.

Anyway, new highlight, Intel Atom might hope into smartphone league sometime next year. Looks promising
Atom is not very suitable 4 handheld usage....the heat produced is quite high n the power usage is too high as well...dats y a lot of manufacturer using ARM based processor 4 handheld

N if ur talking bout Nokia Twist...apparently it oni been used by Verizon CDMA network in USA...so mybe the phone cant be used in Korea...except by roaming lol....correct me if im wrong though icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by zero_kbom: Sep 27 2009, 08:38 PM
TSzero_kbom
post Sep 28 2009, 09:41 AM

965 posts

QUOTE(Vervain @ Sep 28 2009, 12:01 AM)
erk. They used originally used ARM based processor is because it's small enough to fit in a mobile device. & its tailor made for lower power devices.

If you're still skeptic on the whole idea. You may google for Moorestown. The platform is currently in development, integrating all graphics, processing, video encoder/decoder, wifi, 3g, wimax, gps, mobile TV & bluetooth. Intel will shed some light on 2010. Also, they will be introducing Moblin OS, another contender to Maemo.

@Nokia 7705 Twist
Ditto. The phone only supports 800mhz & 1900mhz. That includes certain other countries like japan. It's more geared towards messaging group, certainly falls under the sidekick league.
AFAIK both Atom and ARM based procs are designed for low powered devices with low power consumption in mind...but Atom procs are way power hungry than ARM based ones...sourcing from here it is shown that Atom procs consume bout 2 watt of power while ARM ones usually consume around half a watt...besides ARM procs are very efficient...dats y it can be used without a fan or heatsink nod.gif

Im not skeptic on the idea of using Atoms procs on a handheld...and Moblin is looking quite good too...but lets wait n see what Intel hve under their hood regarding the power consumption of the Atom procs...they can clock it down to 800 mhz to decrease the power usage nod.gif

BTW am I the only one who thinks that Moblin 2.1 looks quite the same as Maemo 5 lol laugh.gif

TSzero_kbom
post Oct 2 2009, 11:52 PM

965 posts

SNES on N900+ Wiimote
Pure awsomeness lol laugh.gif
Now if oni someone getting PSX emu running on n900 brows.gif
TSzero_kbom
post Oct 3 2009, 12:14 AM

965 posts

QUOTE(Vervain @ Oct 1 2009, 10:47 PM)
Native resolution I suppose. Anyway, we've yet seen any 3rd party application showcase under this maemo machine. Anyone can share bits of their knowledge?
If im not mistaken there will be quite a num of apps available via the repo on the N900...not to mention some of great apps from the N800/ N810 days was already ported over to maemo 5 such as gPodder (podcast manager), RSS reader (also intergrated with the web browser), Mauku (Jaiku/ Twitter client) n Transmission (torrent client) to name a few. There also apps from Nokia as well such as Ovi Maps (although in mobile- review.com review its performance not matches its s60 counterpart) n Bounce (game). But as I said earlier there will be quite a number of apps provided on the repository n the num is increasing steadily icon_rolleyes.gif
TSzero_kbom
post Oct 5 2009, 11:42 AM

965 posts

QUOTE(Vervain @ Oct 4 2009, 11:20 PM)
Well that's your own perspective. Everyone has their own personal view & opinion.

To me SE is good & I do use a SE phone. Unfortunately Samsung excels in both hardware specs & design. Feel free to check out the specs. The only issue is, they need to wrinkle out is the software portion. If they managed to tick it right, it would work flawlessly. SE on the other hand undoubtedly has been around during Ericsson era. Unfortunately I cannot sense the greatness as I feel during the past. I may be wrong here as aino might embark a better journey. If you observe closely on Samsung's market, you will find more US carrier's are making their own propitiatory samsung devices. You might say quantity of model might overshadow the figures. But from the facts, this does indicate there is a demand for Samsung devices in US. In Asia, the market is widely acceptable.

Btw I'm standing on a neutral point of view. Addendum, I find Samsung's pricing is somewhat reasonable & affordable. SE needs to work hard on capturing the market back to it's yesteryear glory.
Yep totally agrees on ur view. In my opinion, SE smartphones is quite good but the pricing is very overpriced. I still remember the OMGWTF price when X1 was launched sweat.gif

While Samsung is really pushing on the pricing. U could see that they are providing phones at every price point. And the features is quite good too. If im not mistaken the oni company that managed to do this besides Samsung is Nokia, providing good phones on good prices.

In short, in my opinion, I think SE really need to rethink their pricing policy icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on October 5, 2009, 11:44 am
QUOTE(Vervain @ Oct 5 2009, 09:54 AM)
If you really want to compare Japan Vs Korea, you need to put japan's Keittai denwa into comparison. They fair much better than SE. Yes, I own one  P905I, & the screen is very good for a TFT. Check out the exotic J-phone section.
+1
Japan Kettai denwa really blow other phone out of the water rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by zero_kbom: Oct 5 2009, 11:44 AM
TSzero_kbom
post Oct 7 2009, 10:35 PM

965 posts

QUOTE(Vervain @ Oct 7 2009, 03:45 PM)
Mind sharing the source? If so, salute a sucidal act by SE. RM 3480, I would rather spend it on 3gs.

It's not to say there is no Garmin support. I would rather look at it as a potential. It's just a matter of time for the developers to come out the same software for Garmin maps.
Yup...also dun forget that if Garmin can easily port their navigation app for their Nuvifone G60 that also run linux if they decide to develop garmin for Maemo icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on October 7, 2009, 10:38 pm
QUOTE(soonlee33 @ Oct 7 2009, 01:51 PM)
for u guys info...
the satio is 3480..
n900 still big question mark
WOW sriously?. Mind sharing the sauce?
If true than I m wondering how they could survive when selling phones at ridiculously high price doh.gif

This post has been edited by zero_kbom: Oct 7 2009, 10:38 PM
TSzero_kbom
post Oct 14 2009, 02:08 PM

965 posts

QUOTE(hiiragizawa @ Oct 14 2009, 09:19 AM)
Spoiler ahead. Not for the faint hearted.

Nice...but we hve to be contented with n900 atm lol laugh.gif

Btw some of the tester that got the pre production units at Maemo Summit reported that the battery life is quite good...if the quoted 8 hours of REALLY heavy use by the tester is true then one of the main gripes of n900 is already solved by nokia rclxm9.gif

quoted from here

But as n900 uses the same batt as Nokia 5800, u can always buy 1700mAh extended batt that also happened to be hving the same size as the ori batt if u need more juice nod.gif
TSzero_kbom
post Oct 20 2009, 12:48 AM

965 posts

QUOTE(chenster @ Oct 19 2009, 05:44 PM)
my phone just broke..
now im in need of n900..
hurry up!
this part is exactly wat i feel..
And Nokia N900 is certainly not a phone. While you can feel that most Nokia smartphones are designed as phones, with “smart” functions added on top and around, N900 feels the opposite. Like a small screen computer with a phone functionality added on top.

thats what nokia trying to say since n900 was launched nod.gif

This post has been edited by zero_kbom: Oct 20 2009, 12:50 AM
TSzero_kbom
post Oct 25 2009, 10:11 PM

965 posts

QUOTE(Isx @ Oct 25 2009, 08:52 PM)
you guys should go to the maemo forum smile.gif i forgot the link will post it asap.
i believe it is talk.maemo.org nod.gif

TSzero_kbom
post Nov 1 2009, 04:23 PM

965 posts

^ Hell yeah now really wanting it more drool.gif
Some other tidbits for all. Its the FM radio ui on N900 rclxms.gif
As all of us know that Nokia was so smart in providing the fm receiver n transmitter on N900 but didn't provide the app to use it. Luckily the community take the matter into their own hand and develop an app for that

* taken from here
TSzero_kbom
post Nov 15 2009, 02:04 AM

965 posts

For those who fear of losing their beloved GPS apps (garmin etc) if they gonna switch to N900, Sygic already announced that they will provide it for Maemo 5.
Sygic announces the compatibility of its Mobile Maps turn-by-turn navigation application with the new Nokia Maemo mobile phones. The application will get ready for sale from Sygic web site e-shop by the end of 2009.

Turn-by-turn voice guided navigation software Sygic Mobile Maps converts mobile phones into full-featured navigation devices. Sygic now extends its current compatibility range to support the new Nokia Maemo 5 OS devices. Further operating systems supported already are iPhone, Symbian, Android and Windows Mobile, incl. Windows Mobile 6.5.

All currently available regional apps for other operating systems are in progress to be available on Nokia Maemo:
Australia & New Zealand, South East Asia (incl. Thailand, Singapore, Malaysia and Indonesia)
Brazil, Colombia, North America (incl. USA, Canada & Mexico), US
Complete Europe, UK & Ireland, Russia
Gulf Countries (Bahrain, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia and United Arab Emirates)

"We are happy to announce the compatibility of Sygic Mobile Maps with Nokia's new Maemo 5 OS. Currently we are in the phase of quality assurance performing final tests. We are working hard to launch it for sales by the end of 2009, but we won't hesitate to make this sooner anytime when ready." comments Anna Hurbanic, Sygic's PR Manager.

Via here
Official announcement by Sygic here

TSzero_kbom
post Nov 20 2009, 07:43 PM

965 posts

At last Nokia N900 Preview from GSMArena.com arrived
Nokia N900 preview
I love how they summed up the keyboard of the N900 rclxms.gif
"Well, let's just mention that half the software part of this preview was written on the handset itself. It's that good.!"

Me WANT N900!! rclxm9.gif
TSzero_kbom
post Dec 10 2009, 11:27 PM

965 posts

QUOTE(DeniseLau @ Dec 10 2009, 10:55 PM)
dude, what is NAM version?
North American version
USA used different freq on their GSM equipped phone so need NAM compatible freq phone to use 3G there
I wonder if 3G could be used in our boleyland if we import NAM version here hmm.gif

Added on December 10, 2009, 11:29 pm
QUOTE(bearbrick @ Dec 10 2009, 10:21 PM)
Well guys i'm already starting to accept pre-orders for Nokia N900 NAM version.

Would be RM3300 each,interested party can head over to my thread smile.gif

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1255654&hl=
Does 3G can be used in Malaysia? AFAIK NAM version use different freq than rest of the world hmm.gif

This post has been edited by zero_kbom: Dec 10 2009, 11:29 PM
TSzero_kbom
post Dec 26 2009, 02:14 AM

965 posts

QUOTE(lingkkk @ Dec 25 2009, 11:03 PM)
does it hav an alphanumeic keypad for messaging??? can mms o nt????
AFAIK sadly the answer is no for both of the question...Nokia didn't have enuff time to implement them out of the box. But if im not mistaken, mms support will be provided by Nokia at later time icon_rolleyes.gif
TSzero_kbom
post Dec 27 2009, 11:13 PM

965 posts

QUOTE(snakevenom @ Dec 27 2009, 02:22 AM)
replying this thread using the N900 tongue.gif only 1 word can describe it... AWESOME!!  thumbup.gif
U noe the drill my fren...pics or laugh.gif
How much did u buy it?
A lil review please notworthy.gif
TSzero_kbom
post Dec 27 2009, 11:14 PM

965 posts

QUOTE(hanissyazwan @ Dec 27 2009, 09:50 PM)
Guys its talk time is only 4 hours. Its hardly lasts one whole day with me. Features are good. But Battery life is really very poor.
Batt life are not so good eh?
If im not mistaken there is 1700mAh batt for 5800 XM...mybe it can be used in N900 as well as the batt used in both device is the same

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0485sec    0.26    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 08:13 AM