[Official News] Bandwidth Throttling by TMnet, on heavy users/downloaders?
andrew9292
Aug 27 2009, 07:08 PM
QUOTE(nwk @ Aug 27 2009, 07:01 PM) do you think tmnut just opened itself to lawsuits after selling it's customers "unlimited" packages and now applying a download cap? i was thinking of that too, but then recently i went to their website to read their FAQ and T&C... it appears that their unlimited means unlimited time... not unlimited usage =.-'' otherwise, a lot of lawyers in malaysia will enjoice because so many people are going to sue them... QUOTE(redscott @ Aug 27 2009, 07:04 PM) 10gb a month and tm shitmyx consider that's too much? are they live in 90's?  Dont you sometimes wish the British did not leave last time? They bring in the road system...They bring in telecommunications at that time...They bring in the railway system... if british wasnt here...we wont even have internet today == It has been proven by TM themself... they have a choice of providing the best if they want to.... This post has been edited by andrew9292: Aug 27 2009, 07:09 PM
andrew9292
Aug 27 2009, 09:05 PM
edit.
This post has been edited by andrew9292: Aug 27 2009, 09:16 PM
andrew9292
Aug 27 2009, 09:26 PM
I called 100 - English - Internet - Products & Service Inquires
I asked on the bandwidth threshold before the capping begins, he kept asking for my account username despite i did not want to give it to him, for i wanted to test him whether they are doing this capping tests on usage or they are doing it on a user selection basis. You see, basic physcology, if they are doing it based on usage quota he can definitely tell me the quota straight away and will not keep asking me for my username.
He kept insisting for my streamyx account username and when i asked why, he said it's for RECORD purposes, so i gave it to him. After a few seconds he told me that my account is not capped at the moment. This shows that he checked my account for the capping status and he lied to me when he said for RECORD purposes
I continue asking him, what is the quota then i will get capped, because if TM is going to implement capping, i will need to know how much is the quota before i get capped to plan my internet usage...
He replied wait for the official announcement sir, we DID NOT TOUCH YOUR ACCOUNT AND YOUR AREA sir, just wait for the announcement.
So, from that i can conclude that,
-The testing is done based on a selection and not based PURELY based on usage. They might select users that download alot, but doesnt mean all heavy downloaders will get cap.
-From what that representative said, it also depends on the AREA.
-There will be announcement on it soon
This post has been edited by andrew9292: Aug 27 2009, 09:34 PM
andrew9292
Aug 27 2009, 09:38 PM
call them and ask them to release you from the cap.
also read my post above for more info about it.
andrew9292
Aug 27 2009, 10:10 PM
Good for users that do not download.
1024 Kbps is 125 kB/s Or 1.02 Mbps ::: 0.13 MB/sec
lets just assume that that there are 100,000 users across Malaysia downloading torrent at 125kB/s or 1.02Mbps...
means 100000 x 125kB = 12500000kB
12500000 kB/s is 102400000 Kbps Or 102400 Mbps ::: 12500 MB/sec
12500MBps = 12.5GBps
streamyx has about 5 million users nationwide if i not mistaken... the calculation above is only for 100,000 users who download torrent together at the same time. What about fellow gamers? fellow youtube-ian? http based downloaders? Trust me, that figure is not hard to reach. How much bandwidth TM has? How much bandwidth and packet and data can TM's system support before it becomes slowpoke? That we dont know. But it seems very low since they need to implement all this capping.
This post has been edited by andrew9292: Aug 27 2009, 10:18 PM
andrew9292
Aug 28 2009, 11:43 AM
agree with
3. throttle half the speed of the package.
1mbps at least 45G usage. 2mb 90G, 4mb 180G
45G for 1Mb means 1.5G per day...
wow i rarely reach that...wonder what do you guys download ^^
andrew9292
Aug 28 2009, 08:47 PM
hmm... i guess it's time for me to find a software that will monitor my bandwidth usage...
GOD if TM implements this, please at least provide a page that shows the REAL TIME data transfered...
otherwise it will really be a hassle for us....
andrew9292
Aug 28 2009, 09:14 PM
DU Meter is 30day trial and buy... found one, gave a call to my friend that is in IT line... he recommended this: http://www.metal-machine.de/readerror/inde...tpmod;dl=item23after install, remember to right click at system tray icon - options - load on windows startup... if you wana see the bandwidth usage.. right click at the system tray icon... click totals... its all there for you. there is even a notification feature at options- notifications tab - it can notify you when when you set the usage amount... once you set the usage amount... there will an info at the "totals page" which can give you projections and the average left per day.. this the the best i could find... hope this helps This post has been edited by andrew9292: Aug 28 2009, 09:23 PM
andrew9292
Aug 28 2009, 10:00 PM
QUOTE(andrew9292 @ Aug 28 2009, 09:14 PM) DU Meter is 30day trial and buy... found one, gave a call to my friend that is in IT line... he recommended this: http://www.metal-machine.de/readerror/inde...tpmod;dl=item23screenshot of the program in action:  still testing the program, i will reset it when TM announce the throttle. eg if they announce it's effective every 1st day of the month, i have to reset it on 1st Sept This post has been edited by andrew9292: Aug 28 2009, 10:04 PM
andrew9292
Aug 30 2009, 08:54 PM
okay, if so, who is going to pay for our lawyer fees, consultation, court fees and so on...... o
easy to say all this, but it's hard to organize one that will actually work.
doing something this big will require much effort and resources, do we have that?
do we not have our lives with more important things to attend do? think of that before actually trying something...
organizing something that big will not work in lowyat forum... just take a look at kopitiam itself...
andrew9292
Sep 2 2009, 08:11 PM
QUOTE(woit @ Sep 2 2009, 06:54 PM)  :-) Equinix asia pacific? Leased line?