iPhone Club v9 - iPhone related news & Questions , For questions, kindly use the template

Lord_Ashe
post Jul 6 2009, 10:39 AM

Old Treasure Hunter Sidekick
1,495 posts

Hi guys, sorry if this has been asked before...

My wife's iPhone is 3G, UK software unlocked. Been trying to download winterboard thru cydia, but it somehow always returns an error POSIX socket isn't connected.

Any ideas why this is so? Thanks!

iPhone Generation : 3G
Unlocked? (or Part Number): MB489B (Locked UK Set)
Current Firmware : 3.0, modem firmware 04.26.08
iTunes Version : 8.2
PC/MAC tongue.gifC
Jailbreaking software : i suspect ultrasn0w
Problem Encountered : Cannot update Cydia - it prompts me with this message

"Couldn't configure pre-depend dpkg
for ncurses, probobly a dependency
cycle"

Steps Taken So Far : retrying the update many many times
Screenshot of Problem(if applicable) :
Other Information/Remarks :

Would appreciate any help guys. I just want to install winterboard for my wife sad.gif

This post has been edited by Lord_Ashe: Jul 6 2009, 10:54 AM
Lord_Ashe
post Jul 6 2009, 11:31 AM

1,495 posts

QUOTE(teikwing @ Jul 6 2009, 11:12 AM)
re-jailbreak again without installing Icy. that should solve the problem.  smile.gif

for the bolded statement, ultrasn0w is the one used to unlock the phone. jailbreaking requires either Pwnagetool or redsn0w or purplera1n (for iPhone 3GS). and in case you got everything messed up, unlock =/= jailbreak.
Thanks for your feedback. I suspected I need to jailbreak again..this time myself.

Haven't done it before. Good thing is the iphone is only 2 days old.

Would this be correct?

http://www.theiphoneblog.com/2009/06/25/ja...edsn0w-edition/
Lord_Ashe
post Jul 6 2009, 02:17 PM

1,495 posts

Looks like i'm also a victim of the "dependent on cycle" error. Downloading redsn0w now. hopefully can finish JB during lunchtime.

Thanks to everyone in this forum - managed to jailbreak AND unlock my wife's phone successfully. Cydia finally works smile.gif

Finished Jailbreaking. Now to commence unlocking...

DONE! Thanks to everyone who pitched in, my iPhone is now at 3.0, jailbroken and alive!

Mucho thanks, cydia FINALLY works.

This post has been edited by Lord_Ashe: Jul 6 2009, 02:49 PM
Lord_Ashe
post Jul 6 2009, 03:42 PM

1,495 posts

QUOTE(beavis68 @ Jul 6 2009, 02:59 PM)
unlock n jailbreak is 2 different things...... u can refer to d chart in here ----> http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/984406
Yes you are right sir.

I jailbreaked it and then proceeded to unlock with ultrasn0w.
Lord_Ashe
post Jul 6 2009, 06:00 PM

1,495 posts

QUOTE(th3_glove20 @ Jul 6 2009, 05:57 PM)
may i know any contact from LYP who is famous/provide in doing unlock & jailbreak services?
Hi take some time to read up on the guides in this thread - believe me it's very helpful. I only had the iPhone for two days, and only learnt how to jailbreak and unlock today itself.

I think you can save some serious cash by reading and asking around here...
Lord_Ashe
post Jul 13 2009, 09:51 AM

1,495 posts

QUOTE(jmeteor0525 @ Jul 12 2009, 01:16 PM)
Isn't this weird? I have to keep the 3G setting on if I want to make calls.... as soon as i turn it off the signal drops to "no service"...

Anyone else having this problem ???
What carrier are you using?

I'm on U Mobile. They are based on 3G (no 2G services) so if I turn off 3G, there will literally be NO SERVICE).
Lord_Ashe
post Jul 14 2009, 01:47 PM

1,495 posts

Push notification eh?

Doesn't really impact me for now, but I'm sure it'll be sorted out. HOW do you tell if it's not working btw?
Lord_Ashe
post Jul 14 2009, 02:20 PM

1,495 posts

QUOTE(davidgary73 @ Jul 14 2009, 02:13 PM)

Download eBuddy as eBuddy has push notification. Launch the app and it will ask you to enable Push. Then you'll get the Push Notification in iPhone Settings. Enable it.

Sign in your MSN etc. Set log off time to 30 mins or less. Quit and see if you receive any notification.

eBuddy is free via AppStore.

--

Read this link: http://support.apple.com/kb/HT3576
I see. Thanks DG. I'll look into it now.
Lord_Ashe
post Jul 15 2009, 10:26 AM

1,495 posts

QUOTE(th3_glove20 @ Jul 15 2009, 09:35 AM)
hey guys, im facing battery issue for 3G..
battery life goes off in a day...how long can ur 3G last?!
is quite troublesome...
please advice...
Hi, i'm facing the same issues for my jailbroken and hacktivated iphone.

Someone suggested to do a restore and activate as a NEW phone, not from a backup.

I'm doing it right now, so we'll see if there's a difference.
Lord_Ashe
post Jul 15 2009, 10:35 AM

1,495 posts

QUOTE(th3_glove20 @ Jul 15 2009, 10:33 AM)
I dont get it...restore n activate as a new phone?!
u mean no jailbreak n hacktivate??
I'm jailbreaking, activating, but when i connect to itunes after my unlocking, I won't be asking it to sync from my previous backup i.e. "lordashe's iphone".
Lord_Ashe
post Jul 15 2009, 11:15 AM

1,495 posts

Yup, just finished jailbreaking and unlocking. I restored the iphone as a new phone, and will be charging it to see the battery discharge rate.

Lord_Ashe
post Jul 15 2009, 02:43 PM

1,495 posts

since maybe noone besides me uses U Mobile, I'll post this anyway.

U Mobile MMS settings:

APN > my3g

MMSC > http://10.30.3.11/servlets/mms

MMS Proxy > 10.30.5.11:8080

That’s all ! No username or password required.

Also, I've managed to activate tethering on my jailbroken/unlocked iphone 3G! This is for U Mobile users, but you can actually generate config files for your own provider:

iPhone Internet Tethering basically means using iPhone 3G as a modem for your PC/Mac.

In order to do that, you'll need to have an iPhone 3G running on OS 3.0 and iTunes 8.2 installed.

Here are the steps for configuring the phone:

<Installation of configuration profile>
1. use your Safari on your iPhone 3G to surf to help.benm.at
2. scroll down to "Mobileconfigs create > "
3. key in "my3g" for APN under Mobile Internet
4. turn on "Enable Tethering"
5. click "install"

The profile will then be installed on to your iPhone 3G.

<To turn on internet tethering>
1. With your iPhone 3G, go to "Setting" \ "General" \ "Network"
2. Turn "Internet Tethering" ON
3. Select bluetooth or USB (recommend to use USB only so not to drain power from the phone)

<To connect to your PC/Mac>
1. Plug the iPhone 3G to your PC/Mac
2. Your PC/Mac will detect the new device

(a) For PC, the driver will be installed together with iTunes 8.2.

(b) For Mac user: (you only do this once) Just click "Apply" to accept the new device, ** DON'T click the "Connect" button at the Network Preference on your Mac.

3. Start surfing!

Lord_Ashe
post Jul 15 2009, 03:03 PM

1,495 posts

QUOTE(davidgary73 @ Jul 15 2009, 03:00 PM)
@Lord_Ashe

Good guide mate. Was waiting for a UMobile user to post the MMS settings and Tethering. Well done.

I have also posted your guide on http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1061070

Cheers
Glad to be of help. Hope others will find it useful smile.gif
Lord_Ashe
post Jul 15 2009, 05:29 PM

1,495 posts

QUOTE(th3_glove20 @ Jul 15 2009, 05:23 PM)
so after doing tat is ur batt still draining?!
means the play will be plug into itunes and select backup phone!?
Now charging as per DG's suggestions. If you follow the instructions on jailbreaking the phone will be backed up using itunes.
Lord_Ashe
post Jul 17 2009, 09:48 AM

1,495 posts

QUOTE(saksoba @ Jul 17 2009, 09:01 AM)
Iphone 3g.. 3.0..jb..

i download wifi finder from apple store.. what happen is, i open the app, then after 3 seconds the app closed.. is it normal? i also counter with dat problem after install app from cydia/icy..
If you have ICY, I suggest you re-jailbreak, and DO NOT install ICY. It gives a lot of users problems (including me).

QUOTE(Coner32 @ Jul 17 2009, 09:26 AM)
Hello... just finished reading all the pinned thread about iphone...
I'm using iPhone 2G with FW 1.1.4, I wish to upgrade to FW 3.0 by today...
A few questions:
-How come my iPhone model show : MB384LL (according to forumer, 2G iphone suppose to be MAxxx right? MBxxx should be 3G iphone)
-I have no wifi at home, so i can't access to wifi to download apps that i want after i upgrade my firmware, any other solutions?
-Can i get SMBPrefs, BossPrefs from Cydia?
-Do i have other method to backup my iphone beside using aptbackup?

Thanks for replying  blush.gif
no wifi at home, you'll need to go somewhere with free wifi, problem solved.
Yup, you can get those apps from Cydia.
Look at the pinned threads for backup solutions using software.
Lord_Ashe
post Jul 17 2009, 10:22 AM

1,495 posts

QUOTE(Coner32 @ Jul 17 2009, 10:08 AM)
Can you get me to the page??? icon_question.gif
is it advisable to use Windows Vista??
Bro, just do some checking on this subforum's front page. The first page of the pinned threads are very helpful.

Please avoid using VISTA.
Lord_Ashe
post Jul 20 2009, 09:25 AM

1,495 posts

QUOTE(saksoba @ Jul 20 2009, 09:21 AM)
just wanna ask.. after i jb for the 2nd time, what i notice is, there is no mms for my iphone 3g...

before this, 1st jb, i receive it..

in message also, i didnt found any way to put pic in my message, it just "gone?" wht i need to do?
Please refer to the pinned threads for MMS settings for different providers.

My Iphone 3G also had problems MMSing but after reentering the settings after unlocking, it works fine.

Check SETTINGS>Messages to see if MMS is enabled or not.

Lord_Ashe
post Jul 20 2009, 10:24 AM

1,495 posts

QUOTE(saksoba @ Jul 20 2009, 10:01 AM)
If refer to this pic, http://www.iclarified.com/images/tutorials...16070/16070.png , i dun have any camera icon beside the input section..

Settings>Messages, i only have show preview and repeat alert.. nothing else..
That means you have to reenter your MMS settings for it to work.

go to SETTINGS>GENERAL>CELLULAR DATA NETWORK>

look at the settings there, and refer to the pinned thread on settings for different telcos.

Reboot your iPhone.
Lord_Ashe
post Jul 22 2009, 10:38 AM

1,495 posts

QUOTE(anjamal @ Jul 22 2009, 09:18 AM)
iPhone Generation : 3GS
Locked/Unlocked (or Part Number)Unlocked via Redsn0w
Current Firmware :3.0
iTunes Version :Latest
Computer Platform Vista
Jailbreaking software : Redsn0w
Problem Encountered : Very High Celcom cellular data charge
Steps Had Taken (list down) :

-disable 3G
-have not even activate cellular data network with celcom
-disable any type of apps or data received or sent
-check usage of cellular data: nothing has increased
-even disable wifi sometimes
-call celcom they said virus on the iPhone. Really?
All I know is the virus theory is very unlikely.

QUOTE(wen9x88 @ Jul 22 2009, 10:34 AM)
i think my edge only show at the screen,but not working.
because cannot access internet.

and i got another people,ppl can cannot mms to me.
and i found i don have this "mms messaging",and "show subject field".
Please refer to the iPhone user guide thread for MMS settings.
Lord_Ashe
post Jul 23 2009, 09:58 AM

1,495 posts

QUOTE(*-a|i3n-* @ Jul 23 2009, 12:29 AM)
iPhone Generation :iphone 3g 16gb
Unlocked? (or Part Number): non official unlocked
Current Firmware : 3.0
iTunes Version :8.216
PC/MAC :window
Jailbreaking software :redsnow 0.8
Problem Encountered :after update it and jail break it.it show me this. please insert a valid sim card with no pin lock to active it.
Steps Taken So Far :redsnow step has been done on it.
Screenshot of Problem(if applicable) :dont have.
Congrats, you've jailbroken it.

Now, please proceed to unlock it with ultrasn0w. Do refer to the pinned threads on how to do it.

0.0744sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 10:16 PM