You can try Pioneer HTZ-LX61. It has HDMI in for lossless audio.
The FEMALE noob HT audiophile needs more advice..., Updated first post
Aug 23 2009, 05:22 PM
17 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
You can try Pioneer HTZ-LX61. It has HDMI in for lossless audio.
Aug 23 2009, 11:29 PM
12,275 posts Joined: Dec 2005 From: KL |
QUOTE(evad14 @ Aug 23 2009, 05:22 PM) I already decided to get an LG Blu-ray HTiB. It's definitely pricier than the set you recommended but for the difference, I get a Blu-ray player so less work for my Sony. BTW, any idea how much the Pioneer set is priced? |
Aug 23 2009, 11:33 PM
5,909 posts Joined: Jan 2006 From: 06.02.58.44.23.08.03 |
Female?
Aug 23 2009, 11:33 PM
You interested?
Aug 23 2009, 11:35 PM
5,909 posts Joined: Jan 2006 From: 06.02.58.44.23.08.03 |
There will be a new model coming to replace the SF2300.. I will let you know tomoorow as soon as i got the information
Aug 23 2009, 11:40 PM
Not only that, do let me know how much and when it is coming out as well. =) Thanks.
Aug 24 2009, 01:45 AM
Now that I have settled for a LG Blu-ray HTiB, I am looking for a media player that can play downloaded stuff on my TV without having to burn them on DVD format and play in the DVD player or transfer via thumb drive on my PS3.
Are there media players that allow me to do just that? It'd be preferable that these players have an internal hard disk while allowing connections to an EXTERNAL hard disk (I plan on transferring media from hard disk to media player) and a USB slot to transfer media from PC (downstairs) to media player upstairs. Also, I'd like to ask, the media stored on these media players, are they virus proof? I was told that whatever media stored on my PS3 is virus-proof since virus for PC can't attack my PS3. The same concept applies to these media players? Lastly, can these players play MKV files and am I right to assume the media played will be upscaled to 720p? Thanks. This post has been edited by kobe8byrant: Aug 24 2009, 01:54 AM |
Aug 24 2009, 01:58 AM
1,976 posts Joined: Jun 2005 From: 55100 |
I believe your PS3 is already a media center but it looks like a bit of work to make it, er.. work
You could get a WD TV instead This post has been edited by SiriuslyCold: Aug 24 2009, 01:59 AM |
Aug 24 2009, 02:13 AM
QUOTE(SiriuslyCold @ Aug 24 2009, 01:58 AM) I believe your PS3 is already a media center but it looks like a bit of work to make it, er.. work I'm trying to reduce the workload on my 40GB PS3 to a bare-minimum here and I've constantly popped in and out my USB thumb drive to play movies on the PS3.I'm hoping a media player will allow me to stop that by having the movies and other media (pictures and music) stored on the hard disk for good.You could get a WD TV instead Yes, I am considering WDTV but I'd like to have my questions answered before committing to such a purchase. |
Aug 24 2009, 03:18 AM
1,976 posts Joined: Jun 2005 From: 55100 |
I don't think anyone's written a virus to attack the WDTV yet, so it's safe (for now, fingers crossed)
It can play MKV files (supports MPEG1/2/4, WMV9, AVI (MPEG4, Xvid, AVC), H.264, MKV, MOV (MPEG4, H.264), MTS, TP, TS) I don't think it upscales video - it can output 1080p or 720p if your source files are at that resolution (someone can correct me on this I am not sure) |
Aug 24 2009, 04:32 AM
1,931 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
QUOTE(SiriuslyCold @ Aug 24 2009, 03:18 AM) I don't think anyone's written a virus to attack the WDTV yet, so it's safe (for now, fingers crossed) Yup,if u using WDTV,its depend on your source.Bare in mind, its worth to buy if u want to play mkv. since the PQ quite impressive.But are u going to download 12G-30G of mkv. file ?It can play MKV files (supports MPEG1/2/4, WMV9, AVI (MPEG4, Xvid, AVC), H.264, MKV, MOV (MPEG4, H.264), MTS, TP, TS) I don't think it upscales video - it can output 1080p or 720p if your source files are at that resolution (someone can correct me on this I am not sure) It will take sometimes for u to dl it..Just my 2 cent.. |
Aug 24 2009, 09:51 AM
I already have 20GBs of MKV files so you'd be surprised. And 13GBs of albums so there you go. =D
Aug 24 2009, 10:09 AM
3,421 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: 2 30 N, 112 30 E |
Aug 24 2009, 10:50 AM
76 posts Joined: Dec 2005 From: PJ, Selangor, Malaysia |
A few TBs worth would be the norm.
There doesn't seem to be any info regarding virus attacks targeted at the WDTV or the Dvico Tvix. But any PC viruses should not affect them either as they're probably running proprietary software/firmware, like the PS3. Two of my brothers own the Tvix (the round tube shaped one) and they seem happy with it. Costs about RM1.8k, though IIRC. I'd go for the WDTV, since that seems to be a popular and cheap option. Alternatively, if you have a good quad-core computer and a gigabit connection between the PC and the PS3, you can install a media server on the PC and stream your media to the PS3. I hope you considered wiring your place during renovations. Edit: removed brothers' Tvix model since I'm not sure. This post has been edited by myuu: Aug 24 2009, 11:06 AM |
Aug 24 2009, 11:37 AM
2,214 posts Joined: Feb 2009 |
QUOTE(kobe8byrant @ Aug 24 2009, 01:45 AM) Now that I have settled for a LG Blu-ray HTiB, I am looking for a media player that can play downloaded stuff on my TV without having to burn them on DVD format and play in the DVD player or transfer via thumb drive on my PS3. For media players with internal hard disk, you may consider DVICO or AC Ryan. I am using the DVICO (for main HT setup) and WDTV (for bedroom - for high def TV series, etc, that's not HT demanding).Are there media players that allow me to do just that? It'd be preferable that these players have an internal hard disk while allowing connections to an EXTERNAL hard disk (I plan on transferring media from hard disk to media player) and a USB slot to transfer media from PC (downstairs) to media player upstairs. Also, I'd like to ask, the media stored on these media players, are they virus proof? I was told that whatever media stored on my PS3 is virus-proof since virus for PC can't attack my PS3. The same concept applies to these media players? Lastly, can these players play MKV files and am I right to assume the media played will be upscaled to 720p? Thanks. Added on August 24, 2009, 11:39 am QUOTE(myuu @ Aug 24 2009, 10:50 AM) A few TBs worth would be the norm. I have the tube tvix - it's MA7000AThere doesn't seem to be any info regarding virus attacks targeted at the WDTV or the Dvico Tvix. But any PC viruses should not affect them either as they're probably running proprietary software/firmware, like the PS3. Two of my brothers own the Tvix (the round tube shaped one) and they seem happy with it. Costs about RM1.8k, though IIRC. I'd go for the WDTV, since that seems to be a popular and cheap option. Alternatively, if you have a good quad-core computer and a gigabit connection between the PC and the PS3, you can install a media server on the PC and stream your media to the PS3. I hope you considered wiring your place during renovations. Edit: removed brothers' Tvix model since I'm not sure. This post has been edited by podrunner: Aug 24 2009, 11:39 AM |
Aug 24 2009, 03:46 PM
1,931 posts Joined: Mar 2008 |
Aug 24 2009, 04:11 PM
4,403 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: Johor Bahru |
Aug 24 2009, 07:50 PM
468 posts Joined: Feb 2006 |
The key word is FEMALE.
May be those MKV files are converted from TVB series rmvb. So 20GBs are around 200 episodes liao. |
Aug 24 2009, 09:15 PM
135 posts Joined: Jan 2008 |
Aug 24 2009, 09:16 PM
2,353 posts Joined: Jun 2008 From: D'Pearl of d'Orient |
| Change to: | 0.0206sec
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 01:56 AM |