HTC Touch Pro 2 Official Thread, The best QWERTY phone, perhaps?

benny888
post Aug 25 2009, 09:57 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

My TP2 is now on Energy Rom Titanium ( aka WM 6.5 unofficial ) ( can download from forum.xda-developer.com) . My unit I found has better response. Once you are on unofficial rom, no more warranty. So better restore back to stock rom before sent in - software provided too to do this under the hard SPL section. I have tried all the avaible WM6.5 options available over the last 3 days, and I would say the Enery rom is the best and stable with little bugs - go for the standard version if you want Touch Flo and not the TF 2.5 or 2.6 as still beta stage

Added on August 25, 2009, 9:59 pmI have also upgraded my TP2 radio 3.46.25.30 to the latest version - highly recommended as the GPS signals pickup very much better, BUt you need to do hard SPL first before you can install the new radio

This post has been edited by benny888: Aug 25 2009, 09:59 PM
benny888
post Aug 30 2009, 10:35 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

My TP2 on NRGZ228 Enery Genesis 2.5 Manila rom. So far has no major issues with it

[attachmentid=1167730]
benny888
post Aug 31 2009, 03:48 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

The start button will launch the WM 6.5 staggered program listing. Yes the weather image is always moving = is very nice especially when it is in raining/thunderstorm mode there is additional image of a "car wiper" swishing across the screen
benny888
post Aug 31 2009, 06:29 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

Frendly: What software you install in your tp2 -some might be incompabitble ??? Even mine on unofficial rom very rarely hang and I have so many programs installed. But one thing I do not install any cracked programs
benny888
post Sep 18 2009, 08:50 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(shahie @ Sep 8 2009, 10:37 AM)

Any of you all using Blackberry connect on your TP2 ?

Regards
I have tried Blackberry Connect ver 4.0.0.106 ( tips from forum XDA ) but fail as mine is on BIS not BES. After you install and change the unit ID ( to treat it as a Raphael aka htc Touch model) , the Blackberry server respond back the PIN number is invalid. It might be possible if you are on BES

Added on September 18, 2009, 8:53 pm
QUOTE(ise @ Sep 7 2009, 11:47 AM)
Guy, where u guys find a good pouch for our beloved TP2? i already check Capdase or Meiko but i'm prefer to get rubber case. easy to fit in pocket..
I have ordered a Aluminium lined leather Proporta case ( cost me 21 GBP ) which is expected be recieved by next week. Will post pics once recieved

This post has been edited by benny888: Sep 18 2009, 08:53 PM
benny888
post Sep 20 2009, 10:04 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(josephchan90 @ Sep 20 2009, 02:50 AM)
hi, got one minor question for TP2... about the music player. does it come with equalizer...

still cannot make my mind up whether to get TP2 or iphone... haiz...

any suggestion ppl?
Actually the decision is simple. Ask yourself what are your NEEDS not your WANTS in your PDA. If you are looking at browsing/video/audio - iPhone is your best choice. If you need a serious PDA as a business tool - the TP2 is a better choice. I have used a iphone ( out of curiosity ) but sold it off at loss aftedr 2 weeks as did not meet my needs.

Example my neeed : is important the PDA can sync with my Windows notebook and my Macbook Pro : I carried same PIM database in both O/S. The windows PDA ( in this case TP2) serves both O/S very well. I can update my data in either my TP2 or my Macbook or Windows notebook and need not worry about data different in any of this units. The iphone can only sync with the Mac and for sync with Windows PIM. I need to go thro a more complicate and tedious process

SMS capabilities is poor is poor in iPhone - has however improved in ver 3 finally

I do not like the virtual keyboard in iPhone ; always making mistakes - so I prefer the Windows virtual keyboard ( just use finger tip or any pointed object to poke) and furthermore TP2 has keyboard

Lastly over the past 10 years , I have accumulated a collection of Windows software ( more than half are originals which I purchased) and have been addictedc to using it. I find the equivalent iPhone software does not \meet my needs again.

So you see I make decision based on my NEEDS ; I would wish /or WANT a iphone as is very geeky and fashionable but reality sucks in . My NEEDS is more important

Anyway as a consolation, I do have a iPOD Touch which is exactly similar to iPhone except no phone functions. I use the ipod mainly for listening to audio books when I am travelling and sometimes watch movies while on flight

benny888
post Sep 26 2009, 11:40 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

The SIS original set at RM 3099 comes with the Sharp photoprinter which is packaged together. So is not worth the price if you do not need the printer. I have purchased a AP set for considerably less. Actually AP sets same as original only difference is different importer and many people are doubtful about service support. For this I suggest if you get AP get it from a proper PDA shop NOT from those temporary setup kiosks which you see a lot ( unless is a branch of the official shop). So far my AP sets purchases for my various PDA I have been getting good support and any services usually done within a week
benny888
post Oct 1 2009, 09:40 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(jamc @ Sep 30 2009, 01:35 PM)
yo guys,

My friend has been telling me that a HP seller has quoted her a price of 2.58 k for HTC touch pro 2 with 15 months warranty and insisted its an original set. In fact telling her HTC does not have AP set ( yeah right, i immediately told her its an AP set cause the price is ridiculously lower than the market price and 15 months warranty? SIS sets comes with 1 year warranty am i right? )

But she just doesnt get it so i am planning to go down to the place and check out the set. I got not much experience with AP phones, can anyone point out what should i be looking for? and if its an AP set, what kind of sticker should i look for?

thanks in advance. hope you guys can help me out smile.gif
Most probably is AP set based on price and 15 months warranty. The present retail price from SIS is RM3099 inclusive of printer and standard 12 months warranty. YOu will know wherther is SIS by looking for SIS stickets fixed outside box and also inside unit where sim card is placed. In Msia most common AP dealer is Mobilesquare or PDAGadgets who I know offer 15 month warranty. But now AP sets only selling about 2300 to 2400 only ; easily check these at lelong.com

Added on October 1, 2009, 9:44 am
QUOTE(Kion @ Sep 30 2009, 09:22 PM)
Hi, did you guys get a screen protector for your TP2? Any recommendation?
I am thinking of finding one for my unit. Or you guys think with out any screen protector will do?
Of course better to have screen protector. Check your boz, there is a screen protector provided - but quality average . Temporary use it first till you find a better quality

This post has been edited by benny888: Oct 1 2009, 09:44 AM
benny888
post Oct 1 2009, 09:55 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(babi3036 @ Sep 30 2009, 08:40 PM)
1) WHY HARD RESET HELP? SINCE I OPERATE THIS PDA I ALREADY INSTALL THE GARMIN *(AINT IT'S NEW THAT MOMENT?)

2) HOW ABOUT THE FLASH STUFF? ANY IDEA?

3) ANY OF YOU FACE PROBLEM WITH THE ALARM NOT RINGING AS WELL( AT LEAST NOT RE-RING)?

FOR JAMC,
CHECK IT OUT HERE
http://www.sis.com.my:8383/esvc/JOB/JOB0075.asp
ON9 TO CHECK THE CODE OF THE PDA BEFORE PAY
You mentioned you upgraded your O/S from htc ??? If you have done that all your added 3rd party software is deleted. Garmin is 3rd party and does not come builtin . Most probably your seller added in to you as a "gift". So to get it working, you need reinstall it

For flashing - check out these at http://forum.xda-developers.com RHODIUM section. Please follow instructions carefully or you end up with a expensive paperweight. Flashing is for those who wants the faster or latest firmware. Example my unit is now on Windows Mobile 6.5 Manila 2.1 - these are not official released by Microsoft yet and will appear in the new PDAs scheduled released this mid Oct. Anyway TP2 users will get a free upgrade. However if you have hflashed your unit to the umofficial one, you will need to reflash it back first to remove the HardSPL IDs ( learn aall these from XDA )

Alarm issue - RARE ; why don't you check your alarm files - maybe is not there as probably again the file you have chosen is a added file not builtin by htc. Just go to Systems/Sounds and Notifications to check and select a new alert file

This post has been edited by benny888: Oct 1 2009, 09:56 AM
benny888
post Oct 1 2009, 08:42 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(babi3036 @ Oct 1 2009, 07:43 PM)
1) upgraded to the latest rom on htc website
    - the garmin will jam up the time when i started to use and after the upgraded the new rom and reinstall the garmin  it still the same, no problem on mapking

2) flashing checking now... what do you means by expensive paperweight?

3)  the alarm, what do you means by check the file? means how? or any others software that give a better alarm?
1. How did you install your Garmin ?? Are you using a original or "ahem" version???
Anyway during installation there are 3 steps to install namely : garmin XT program, BaseMap and Voice Support File. On your SD card in the Garmin folder there are 2 important ID files : gmapsupp.unl ( Map ID) and sw.unl ( your Card ID) . These 2 IDs will authorized your map and program on card as LEGAL and not some cracked version. Perhaps there is a problem with these ID files . If you are using those "crack or ahem" version , sorry I cannot guide you how to rectify in this forum as is against forum rules

2. Means - your unit is DEAD cannot be used anymore except use as paperweight loh !! Only solution then send in to SIS to rectify pay them about RM 350 to do or maybe send to others ( example me ) who can help to resuscitate it to life

3. For alarms - Go to SETTINGS/SYSTEM/Clock & Alarms/Alarms - tap the "bell" logo and choose your sound file. You will see a dropdown list of all the sound files you can use. As a standard , "wav" format files used as alarms. If you have any other sound file in wav format and you want to use as alarm, just copy it into the unit WINDOWS folder. Google and you will find there are actually quite a number of Alarm freeware or Shareware where you can even use other file format eg MP3 files, setting various type of alarms for different ocassions, setting multiple alarms etc - the variety available too many to mention. For me I simple guy, I just use the builtin alarm function which is good enough for me

benny888
post Oct 4 2009, 08:17 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(josephchan90 @ Oct 4 2009, 03:08 AM)
TP2@lelong

somebody, anybody...pls tell me this is not true... for an Ori Sis set only rm 2599. even the retail price is 3099rm.  rclxub.gif
RM3099 is INCLUSIVE of photoprinter. So decide based on this - the site had mentioned limited stocks only
benny888
post Oct 6 2009, 12:12 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(el.primero @ Oct 4 2009, 10:18 PM)
hi, am a novice in windows mobile, would like to know how to start utilizing the GPS function in tp2??

any link or site which i could get more info? if it is free?

learnt some about garmin & mapking but not really sure how to "start", which to be installed??

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
btw, would like to double check also if tp2 will show landscape ONLY when we slide out the keyboard & portrait with the keyboard hidden right?
For new users , I suggest you start with Mapking 2007. It is easier to setup/install than Garmin ( which require a 3 step process) . You can find good guides on both at http://malsingmaps.com or www.mapking.com.sg. ( Maps are free downloads )

Personally I prefer Mapking 2007 than Garmin - this is a neverend debate as some others prefer Garmin. Test both and see which suite you better

benny888
post Oct 6 2009, 10:21 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

Yes I am using "cooked" rom all courtesy of forum.xda-developers.com. The official Windows 6.5 will be available for new PDAs releasing around mid Oct. I has been following the developments and so far the most updated review of actual WM 6.5 today is updated at www.pocketnow.com

But compared the current cooked roms - the official version is still lacking many features vs the "cooked" ones

My TP2 is now on AtomAng FUsion V5 manila 2.1 while my htc HD is on EnergyGenesis rom Manila 2.1 released 22sep09

For newbies who want to try these roms, stronly advised you not to try the Manila 2.5 versions as till now still many bugs

The Manila 2.1 versions are pretty stable

El.Primero : the WM 6.5 official versions is FREE for htc TP2 - juz got to wait announcement from HTC. Normally the upgrade is very easy and straightforward - just connect your PDA to your PC and run the exe file. Usually takes about 10 minutes to upgrade BUT you will lose all your data ( so backup important personal data) before upgrading. As for me I will stick to the cooked versions as the official version is still "lame" compared to the cooked versions

This post has been edited by benny888: Oct 6 2009, 10:26 PM
benny888
post Oct 7 2009, 09:45 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(josephchan90 @ Oct 7 2009, 08:12 PM)
anyone know whether there is new product from HTC in the very near future? am hoping the price of TP2 drop when HTC launch new product.
There seems to be no plan for HTC to release any keyboard units , at least not for the next 6-9 months !!!! So you'll not see any price drop that's for sure ( insider info from HTC Spore friend)

benny888
post Oct 7 2009, 10:23 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(josephchan90 @ Oct 7 2009, 09:50 PM)
aww...icic sad.gif

heard some rumor about HD2....

thanks anyway.. at least i dont have to wait for nothing...
the HD2 is a big upgrade to htc HD ( non keyboard ) with 1 GHz processor, 488MB Ram and a massive 4.3" screen. It will be launch around mid Oct so probably Nov , Dec will be in Msia hopefully. Most belive This was the reason the present htc HD price reduce by nearly RM900 2 weeks ago. As HTC has so far never shown/or indicate any replacement models for the TP2 yet, so no price drop expected
benny888
post Oct 9 2009, 11:40 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(pcboy @ Oct 9 2009, 02:27 AM)
the problem with wm6.5 is, when we press "Start" hardbutton, it shows windows start menu.. which i dont like.. i prefer it shows Program shortcuts like wm6.1 does..

anybody knows how to overcome this?
Example on Windows Mobile 6.5 Manila 2.1 : just tab the Programs tab ( the 4 minisquare logo) and you can allocate up to 30 commonly used programs; screenshot of mine shows the first screen of 16 programs

benny888
post Oct 9 2009, 07:02 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(pcboy @ Oct 9 2009, 04:52 PM)
benny, is there any way to change shortcut by pressing Start button and it goes to Program tabs like u snap above ?
I do not know why you would like that changed ( maybe we have different taste )

I find that it is very convenient just to choose the tab - is just a one step process tio select the program I need

If I select the start button - I will have the htc manila program selection ( see screenshot below): I find this is more versatile - I choose the tab and I get to access the 30 commonly used programs. I select start button - I get to see all the folders . I have organized my programs and put it in the various folders. The "plain" look folders is created and is not part of the rom

This post has been edited by benny888: Oct 9 2009, 07:04 PM

benny888
post Oct 15 2009, 09:50 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

I downloaded the Europe version lastnight and it runs very well . Compared to my earlier cooked rom Fusion V5.1 , the official rom is more stable and everything works fine especially areas in video calling, GPRS data download ( obviously very much faster than WM6.1), browsing etc. The My Location functions much better and consistent than the cooked rom.

My only complaint is that officially HTC ( or Microsoft ) do not design folders for you in the start menu to organize the programs. You need to scroll down a long list , is not so user friendly. Anyway is small issue, I just create few folders ( if you need graphics with it, just google from forum XDA ) and shift the various programs over. Now is more organized

The rom comes with htc latest radio ver 4.49.25.17 and ROM version is 1.86.4010 (67102) WWE. As it meant for Europe , if yours is a Asian unit you can install only after you perform a HSPL. Anyway restoring back to stock rom is a breeze with the restore program provided by the HSPL guys at forum xda. Download the EXE file about 181 MB ( took me 45 mins) from www.htcpedia.com.The whole install process is very fast - connect your TP2 thro activesync, run the exe file and whole process takes about 10 mins only and now you have a spanking new O/S Windows Mobile 6.5

Now with this official release, I am waiting for the Rom cooks to make a better version of it in the weeks to come

benny888
post Oct 15 2009, 07:33 PM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

I seldom do video calls but the time I do it was OK ; infact I never even notice whether there is any greensiish background. Anyway don't expect top quality images for video. The most obvious difference between WM6.5 ( even cooked roms included ) vs WM 6.1 is the performance. Especially if you use data download a lot ( browsing, update programs - eg Tweeter, Spb Traveller, RSS, email download etc, browsing ) you will see the major difference in WM6.5. Only thing I don't like in WM6.5 is the manila based sms - so I always go back use the non-manila version

By the way I have a used set one month old for sale ( selling for friend) : see http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1195512 . UNBELIEVABLE NEW like day one from shop

This post has been edited by benny888: Oct 15 2009, 08:26 PM
benny888
post Oct 22 2009, 03:51 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

QUOTE(dinraxxx @ Oct 21 2009, 10:34 PM)
PM me to know how to get Windows Mobile 6.5 installation instruction.This is official Europe and I'm using it on MY TP2 on Celcom postpaid.It has HTC Sense also where you'll have Leo weather background animation. smile.gif
STEP 1
http://htcpedia.com/forum/showthread.php?t=399 : to perform HSPL if your unit is Asian and you want to use the Europe rom

STEP 2
http://htcpedia.com/forum/showthread.php?t=905 to download and install,the Europe version

0.0299sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 03:05 AM