Bump Topic Add Reply RSS Feed New Topic New Poll

> Shipping from USA to Malaysia, what is the cheaper option available

Jenglot
post Aug 19 2009, 10:43 AM, updated 17y ago

308 posts

Hi all,

anyone know what is the cheapeast shipping option when shipping from USA to Malaysia.

My cousin sending something. weight approx 10 pound @ 5 kg..

appreciate your input...
nimrod2
post Aug 19 2009, 03:41 PM

the imba one
2,521 posts

courier would be more expensive than normal mail.
but definitely faster.

5kg i scared kena tax. haha what issit you shipping might i ask?
Jenglot
post Aug 20 2009, 05:07 PM

308 posts

lots of jeans..

POKAUS
post Aug 21 2009, 11:20 AM

182 posts

u ask him list the courier service with price then ask him to compare them..huhu
nimrod2
post Aug 21 2009, 03:55 PM

the imba one
2,521 posts

wah alot of jeans ah? i think sure kena wan wor.

new or used? clothes tax is 30%.
melt
post Aug 21 2009, 05:51 PM

974 posts

QUOTE(Jenglot @ Aug 20 2009, 05:07 PM)
lots of jeans..

If it is a used item you wont get taxed... but I dont think you are shipping used items...

Like nimrod say cloths are taxed 30% so your actual values (Shipping cost +insurances) multiply by 1.43
Jenglot
post Aug 23 2009, 04:56 AM

308 posts

thanks all..

i just stick with fedex...slightly exp but have very good experience with them..

kudapowerr
post Aug 23 2009, 08:03 AM

dont use ups bro. if kena tax they will pay for you and charge service charge for you. then you have to pay them cash before they give you the item. if taknak kena tax just mark the item as gift and put a low value on the item. sure tak kena tax.
flyboy87
post Aug 23 2009, 08:29 AM

Have you considered using USPS Postal Service's International flat rate box? You can send things which can be at any weight as long as it fits in the box for about $40 or $50 dollars (don't quite remember, but it's around there) and it's insured automatically for $100 - you can add the value of insurance by paying a little bit more.
Jenglot
post Aug 25 2009, 10:23 AM

308 posts

UPS/FEDEX/DHL when come to tax, they will pay first, then claim it back to you..

not sure about the service charge, but fedex never charge anything from me beside the custom tax..for textile item the tax rate is 30% and Duty is 10%...till now i still confuse what the diff between tax and duty...

so total is 40%!!...

so..declare as a gift with lower value..but take a risk if anything happen to the shipment,

0.0185sec    0.72    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 04:12 AM