Power Conditioner, Recommendation

TScyberion86
post Aug 12 2009, 11:57 PM, updated 17y ago

36 posts

hey guys, any recommendation of good and budget power Conditioner? How was Belkin PureAVĀ® Home Theater Power Console PF30?

And I'm having 'hiss' noise coming from plasma TV set, around Power Socket part, by using this power conditioner, does it solve the problem?

This post has been edited by cyberion86: Aug 13 2009, 11:31 AM
arremie
post Aug 13 2009, 12:03 AM

hmm...
4,865 posts

remmendation? laugh.gif doh.gif
cosmicmeadow
post Aug 13 2009, 12:06 AM

223 posts

I think he means Power Conditioner... asking for a recommendation.

Try a UPS?
arremie
post Aug 13 2009, 12:11 AM

hmm...
4,865 posts

haha sori can't help it. u can try tacima. good n cheap from futureshop.
Reix
post Aug 13 2009, 12:16 AM

468 posts

I got this Bada LB3300
at KLAV with offered price.
The boss there told me that those brands like belkin, monster etc are crap, all use small components.
His power conditioner uses good quality components.
I don't know true or not. I don't really believe him.
But the build is very solid, better than those plastic or pvc housing.
Hence I bought it.
arremie
post Aug 13 2009, 12:38 AM

hmm...
4,865 posts

have u ever knock on tong kosong? that's bada tongue.gif
Docan
post Aug 13 2009, 12:39 AM

132 posts

Reix, any difference? I was told that the PSaudio centre makes alot of difference to the sound and the PQ because it check and filter interference. Is that true?
arremie
post Aug 13 2009, 12:44 AM

hmm...
4,865 posts

Basic rule is u want to use filter on ur source (cdp, dvdp, bdp, etc) but for amp u do not want to filter/restrict the incoming power. Just connect direct to wall. Anyway, if you choose to use an external surge protection or power filtering device, make sure that it is sufficiently rated for the power requirements of your amp.

This post has been edited by arremie: Aug 13 2009, 12:46 AM
Reix
post Aug 13 2009, 12:51 AM

468 posts

Well, I have not actually compare it.
I never use it with my old set up, only recently use it with my new speakers.
Maybe this weekend I will try to compare.

Docan
post Aug 13 2009, 12:56 AM

132 posts

If that is the case Arremie, better not use it lor
arremie
post Aug 13 2009, 01:04 AM

hmm...
4,865 posts

QUOTE(Docan @ Aug 13 2009, 12:56 AM)
If that is the case Arremie, better not use it lor
what i meant was u must use it with ur source to filter out the noise but not recommended to use with amp. some power block like qed has a unfiltered socket for amp or high wattage equipment and the rest are filtered for ur source.
TScyberion86
post Aug 13 2009, 09:37 AM

36 posts

QUOTE(cosmicmeadow @ Aug 13 2009, 12:06 AM)
I think he means Power Conditioner... asking for a recommendation.

Try a UPS?
AFAIK, UPS is not a power conditioner rite? it's power backup

Added on August 13, 2009, 9:38 amwhat about the 'hissing' noise from plasma set? is it related to power line noise?

This post has been edited by cyberion86: Aug 13 2009, 09:38 AM
moomoos
post Aug 13 2009, 10:55 AM

Mushi Mushi
1,409 posts

seriously, check it out at the audiophile section (might have recommendation.. sorry, i am lazy to check}

get the right tools for the right job if can

Filters are meant for sources.... namely, CD DVD BD Astro,
if you connect Power Amps (or maybe AVR) here think you will get a thinner sound

Stablelizers or Automatic Voltage Regulator (AVR) think oso not recommended for hi power equipments like AVR ( when AVR want to boom the voltage will pull it back ~stablelize ma~
you still get effect but maybe not that good

That is what i was told, you still have to check it out biggrin.gif

Added on August 13, 2009, 11:51 am
QUOTE(cyberion86 @ Aug 13 2009, 09:37 AM)
AFAIK,Ā  UPS is not a power conditioner rite? it's power backup

Added on August 13, 2009, 9:38 amwhat about the 'hissing' noise from plasma set? is it related to power line noise?
UPS is for power back up, my whole system is on UPS, smile.gif next time will separate the AVR from it biggrin.gif
but if you can get an "ON-Line" UPS means better still, you will get a very clean constant output say 220 or 225 all the way ( not fluctuating voltage from 215 to maybe as high as 245~ industrial area.

Housing area daytime high voltage night time low voltage
Industrial area is the reverse tongue.gif

This post has been edited by moomoos: Aug 13 2009, 11:54 AM
uneek
post Aug 13 2009, 05:36 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Aug 13 2009, 01:04 AM)
what i meant was u must use it with ur source to filter out the noise but not recommended to use with amp. some power block like qed has a unfiltered socket for amp or high wattage equipment and the rest are filtered for ur source.
Try out something called AudioMagic. Available from the guys @ Audio Creations. Most proper conditioners will have a voltage regulator and a filter so you won't need to worry about voltage block. I would recommend using one for the power amp especially since it will be decoding and converting the the signals from your source units to your analog outputs.
moomoos
post Aug 14 2009, 11:40 AM

Mushi Mushi
1,409 posts

QUOTE(uneek @ Aug 13 2009, 05:36 PM)
Try out something called AudioMagic. Available from the guys @ Audio Creations. Most proper conditioners will have a voltage regulator and a filter so you won't need to worry about voltage block. I would recommend using one for the power amp especially since it will be decoding and converting the the signals from your source units to your analog outputs.
can you recall the Price and how many UK/US sockets
uneek
post Aug 14 2009, 02:45 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(moomoos @ Aug 14 2009, 11:40 AM)
can you recall the Price and how many UK/US sockets
Its got 6 outputs if I am not mistaken all using US plugs. Price is around 4K but I think you can get it for lesser now. I have attached a link below.

http://audiocreationskl.blogspot.com/searc...l/audio%20magic
arremie
post Aug 14 2009, 02:57 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

4k? sweat.gif

I rather stick with my 200+ Tacima. Good enuf to filter all sources.
moomoos
post Aug 14 2009, 04:00 PM

Mushi Mushi
1,409 posts

QUOTE(uneek @ Aug 14 2009, 02:45 PM)
Its got 6 outputs if I am not mistaken all using US plugs. Price is around 4K but I think you can get it for lesser now. I have attached a link below.

http://audiocreationskl.blogspot.com/searc...l/audio%20magic
thanks.... really costs a BOMB.!!
prescott
post Aug 14 2009, 05:07 PM

324 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Aug 14 2009, 02:57 PM)
4k? sweat.gif

I rather stick with my 200+ Tacima. Good enuf to filter all sources.
different ppl different requirement bro... btw, which model of Tacima u used?

arremie
post Aug 14 2009, 05:27 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

QUOTE(prescott @ Aug 14 2009, 05:07 PM)
different ppl different requirement bro... btw, which model of Tacima u used?
That's true but 4k simply too expensive la for me. I use the normal 6-plug Tacima CS929 for all my sources and also the LCD. My amp n sub each connected to a single plug Belkin and direct to wall.
prescott
post Aug 14 2009, 05:34 PM

324 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Aug 14 2009, 05:27 PM)
That's true but 4k simply too expensive la for me. I use the normal 6-plug Tacima CS929 for all my sources and also the LCD. My amp n sub each connected to a single plug Belkin and direct to wall.
Tacima CS929 got quite good review from internet. How much the postage to here? And what about warranty?
arremie
post Aug 14 2009, 05:38 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

About RM220 plus shipping from Futureshop. Source usually does not use a lot of power so Tacima is adequate. No need to go crazy.
moomoos
post Aug 14 2009, 07:02 PM

Mushi Mushi
1,409 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Aug 14 2009, 05:27 PM)
have u tried removing the Belkin....
think should get better sound biggrin.gif
dopp
post Aug 14 2009, 07:29 PM

1,733 posts

like normal 4 gang
htkaki
post Aug 14 2009, 09:44 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Tacima CS929 user too. Cheap and nothing much to complain.
arremie
post Aug 14 2009, 11:19 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

QUOTE(moomoos @ Aug 14 2009, 07:02 PM)
have u tried removing the Belkin....
think should get better sound biggrin.gif
Yes direct power sounded the best (tested without the Belkin and Tacima) but my whitesnake has no fuse so to be safe I use Belkin for now. I have E2 power saver which stabilize AC current of my house against power spike and lightning so later I'm gonna get another longer whitesnake with fuse for direct connection.
uneek
post Aug 14 2009, 11:33 PM

36 posts

My bad. What's the budget?
moomoos
post Aug 15 2009, 08:58 AM

Mushi Mushi
1,409 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Aug 14 2009, 11:19 PM)
Yes direct power sounded the best (tested without the Belkin and Tacima) but my whitesnake has no fuse so to be safe I use Belkin for now. I have E2 power saver which stabilize AC current of my house against power spike and lightning so later I'm gonna get another longer whitesnake with fuse for direct connection.
OIC..... I only dont trust belkin smile.gif
i am using PK UPS for whole system, hehe
aiman04
post Aug 15 2009, 09:16 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

QUOTE(moomoos @ Aug 15 2009, 08:58 AM)
OIC..... I only dont trust belkin smile.gif
i am using PK UPS for whole system, hehe
I don't really trust any brands actually, but the RM25k insurance coverage from Belkin I thought, what the heck. It's cheap and at least I got the peace of mind until I get better ones. smile.gif
pgf501
post Aug 15 2009, 10:09 AM

154 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Aug 15 2009, 09:16 AM)
I don't really trust any brands actually, but the RM25k insurance coverage from Belkin I thought, what the heck. It's cheap and at least I got the peace of mind until I get better ones. smile.gif
how to claim the insurance? i'm also owned the surgemaster. just curious
arremie
post Aug 15 2009, 12:26 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

QUOTE(aiman04 @ Aug 15 2009, 09:16 AM)
yep my single point surgemaster got rm5k. that's more that what my avr cost biggrin.gif
s6xs9x
post Aug 15 2009, 03:17 PM

My Stars Not Growing?
904 posts

Those below 500bucks are more or less the same, just get which ever you find trustworthy.
Belkins are good as they offer Insurance in case of damage to your gadgets, but they sure don't look nice *this is for me thou*
Tacima gets quite good feedback from few forumers here, but it just look like giant extensions in black.
As I said they are more the less the same if you're getting those below 500bucks.
Learjet35
post Aug 15 2009, 03:22 PM

500hp
1,931 posts

Yesterday i went to Mr.Lim shop at Amcorp Mall.Theres a power conditioner in front of his shop.Got review some more,selling for Rm500.I forget what brand.Does every HT setup need power conditioner ?
Reix
post Aug 15 2009, 04:34 PM

468 posts

Mr. Lim carries a few brands, one of them is Bada from China.
If RM500, should be LB-5500.
Does it look like this?

This post has been edited by Reix: Aug 15 2009, 04:38 PM

gsdev
post Aug 15 2009, 05:25 PM

819 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Aug 14 2009, 11:19 PM)
What is this product "I have E2 power saver which stabilize AC current of my house against power spike and lightning" blush.gif
jchong
post Aug 15 2009, 05:53 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(maryjane9996 @ Aug 15 2009, 03:22 PM)
Yesterday i went to Mr.Lim shop at Amcorp Mall.Theres a power conditioner in front of his shop.Got review some more,selling for Rm500.I forget what brand.Does every HT setup need power conditioner ?
What is the name of Mr Lim's shop?

If that RM500 conditioner is indeed the Bada LB-5500 then I might go check it out.
Learjet35
post Aug 15 2009, 07:42 PM

500hp
1,931 posts

QUOTE(Reix @ Aug 15 2009, 04:34 PM)
Mr. Lim carries a few brands, one of them is Bada from China.
If RM500, should be LB-5500.
Does it look like this?
ya..but not same.single line input only..

Learjet35
post Aug 15 2009, 07:43 PM

500hp
1,931 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Aug 15 2009, 05:53 PM)
What is the name of Mr Lim's shop?

If that RM500 conditioner is indeed the Bada LB-5500 then I might go check it out.
Acoustique Systems
U can call him :- 0123393738 - C.N. LIM smile.gif
jchong
post Aug 15 2009, 08:58 PM

5,989 posts

D_Y2k.4^
post Aug 15 2009, 09:03 PM

Enriching Your Lifestyle!
2,271 posts

Try PS Audio. Their lowest range, Duet gives a significant difference to sound and picture quality. It gives more layers to highs and tighter bass. Images are sharper and have better contrast
jchong
post Aug 15 2009, 09:56 PM

5,989 posts

How much is the Duet?
arremie
post Aug 15 2009, 10:40 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

QUOTE(gsdev @ Aug 15 2009, 05:25 PM)
What is this product "I have E2 power saver which stabilize AC current of my house against power spike and lightning"  blush.gif
http://www.e2saver.com.my/product.htm RM360 for single phase.
jchong
post Aug 15 2009, 11:34 PM

5,989 posts

Is the e2saver a power conditioner? From reading about it, seems more like some kind of power factor correction device trying to reduce your electricity bills. Does it also clean or condition the power?
ar188
post Aug 15 2009, 11:38 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Aug 15 2009, 11:34 PM)
Is the e2saver a power conditioner? From reading about it, seems more like some kind of power factor correction device trying to reduce your electricity bills. Does it also clean or condition the power?
yup looks like power factor device.. rather than a filter...

anyway, I wonder if a full sine wave output from a server grade UPS power supply make for better sound? hmm.gif
arremie
post Aug 16 2009, 04:21 AM

hmm...
4,865 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Aug 15 2009, 11:34 PM)
I don't think so. Its more like a big capacitor for power. It will stabilize the voltage and clean out any spike or sudden power surge. Makes power usage more efficient and hence reduce ur bill. This is my 1st month usage so need to wait for this month's bill to know the efficiency. A few friends of mine shows from 30-40% saving of their monthly bill which is pretty accurate of what E2 claimed.
prescott
post Aug 16 2009, 01:01 PM

324 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Aug 16 2009, 04:21 AM)
I don't think so. Its more like a big capacitor for power. It will stabilize the voltage and clean out any spike or sudden power surge. Makes power usage more efficient and hence reduce ur bill. This is my 1st month usage so need to wait for this month's bill to know the efficiency. A few friends of mine shows from 30-40% saving of their monthly bill which is pretty accurate of what E2 claimed.
keep us posted ~ tongue.gif
gsdev
post Aug 16 2009, 02:58 PM

819 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Aug 15 2009, 10:40 PM)
Oh I see...I have two of similar products like the attched picture. One down stairs and one up stairs. Been using for 3 + years now. I have to say initially it was kinda working or I may have thought so but after a while the bills were just almost the same. Not sure same type of product but looks similar.

This post has been edited by gsdev: Aug 16 2009, 03:02 PM

tongpoh
post Aug 16 2009, 07:57 PM

80 posts

QUOTE(cyberion86 @ Aug 12 2009, 11:57 PM)
hey guys, any recommendation of good and budget power Conditioner? How was Belkin PureAVĀ® Home Theater Power Console PF30?
And I'm having 'hiss' noise coming from plasma TV set, around Power Socket part, by using this power conditioner, does it solve the problem?
good conditioner always heavy, if it can lift easy with one hand, it will not help too much, but good conditioner prices not cheap, try Fuman conditioner, it manly for recording studio use. change your powercord first.
jchong
post Aug 16 2009, 09:14 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(tongpoh @ Aug 16 2009, 07:57 PM)
good conditioner always heavy, if it can lift easy with one hand, it will not help too much, but good conditioner prices not cheap, try Fuman conditioner, it manly for recording studio use.  change your powercord first.
Any local distributor for the Furman power conditioners?

Just got quoted RM1,290 for the PS Audio Duet.
arremie
post Aug 16 2009, 10:36 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

QUOTE(gsdev @ Aug 16 2009, 02:58 PM)
I have to say initially it was kinda working or I may have thought so but after a while the bills were just almost the same. Not sure same type of product but looks similar.
u have to install it closest to ur DB for best effect. i purposely pull another plug direct from my DB just to install it. anyway let's wait for my 1st bill smile.gif
choontoy
post Aug 19 2009, 11:28 AM

837 posts

I use QPS power regulator 3kva,hence i DIY noise filter for individual output from this QPS to my source. tongue.gif
arremie
post Aug 19 2009, 05:23 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

QUOTE(choontoy @ Aug 19 2009, 11:28 AM)
I use QPS power regulator 3kva,hence i DIY noise filter for individual output from this QPS to my source. tongue.gif
where did u get that bro. so far i can only find 1kva the highest. the most is 800va selling for rm55.
choontoy
post Aug 19 2009, 08:15 PM

837 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Aug 19 2009, 05:23 PM)
where did u get that bro. so far i can only find 1kva the highest. the most is 800va selling for rm55.
i got it foc from factory which they scrap old mc. biggrin.gif
arremie
post Aug 19 2009, 08:20 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

QUOTE(choontoy @ Aug 19 2009, 08:15 PM)
i got it foc from factory which they scrap old mc. biggrin.gif
laugh.gif doh.gif
choontoy
post Aug 19 2009, 08:29 PM

837 posts

now test David Foster and Frens BD,wow shocking.gif for SQ and AQ
arremie
post Aug 19 2009, 08:55 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

QUOTE(choontoy @ Aug 19 2009, 08:29 PM)
now test David Foster and Frens BD,wow shocking.gif for SQ and AQ
should post this in bd thread tongue.gif but yeah great sq
ar188
post Aug 19 2009, 08:58 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Aug 19 2009, 08:55 PM)
should post this in bd thread tongue.gif but yeah great sq
maybe he was refering to PQ/AQ improvements after using some sort of power conditioner leh? if not why post here?? biggrin.gif
choontoy
post Aug 19 2009, 09:28 PM

837 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Aug 19 2009, 08:58 PM)
maybe he was refering to PQ/AQ improvements after using some sort of power conditioner leh? if not why post here??  biggrin.gif
I'm using this QPS for some years since i have my Yammy RX-V1400 but toooo impress with this David Foster BD.
tgeoklin
post Aug 20 2009, 07:42 AM

1,230 posts

QUOTE(choontoy @ Aug 19 2009, 09:28 PM)
I'm using this QPS for some years since i have my Yammy RX-V1400 but toooo impress with this David Foster BD.
Its DTS HD-MA fyi tongue.gif
choontoy
post Aug 20 2009, 11:13 AM

837 posts

QUOTE(tgeoklin @ Aug 20 2009, 07:42 AM)
Its DTS HD-MA fyi  tongue.gif
oredi know abt that.
car_o_scope
post Aug 20 2009, 11:19 AM

Cars & HiFi fever!!
1,829 posts

Any of you here have come across an AVR with 2m powercords or detachable powercords? hmm.gif I am looking for one.
tgeoklin
post Aug 21 2009, 08:55 AM

1,230 posts

QUOTE(car_o_scope @ Aug 20 2009, 11:19 AM)
Any of you here have come across an AVR with 2m powercords or detachable powercords?  hmm.gif  I am looking for one.
APC
hsiengloong
post Aug 21 2009, 10:02 AM

~Bass Maniac~
899 posts

I bought a power conditioner (Consonance) from AV fest last month (Tong Lee), made in china. Wanted to use it to connect my AVR, LCD, sub & Dvico..

Thank god, luckily i tested it out on my PC for a few days. After the third day, the whole power conditioner blew up with a loud bang.

Now i'm trying to find for the receipt to get a claim... Imagine if i had hooked it up to my HT set..
car_o_scope
post Aug 21 2009, 10:22 AM

Cars & HiFi fever!!
1,829 posts

QUOTE(tgeoklin @ Aug 21 2009, 08:55 AM)
APC
It is AVR or UPS?
I think this will not come cheap here in BolehLand.
uneek
post Aug 21 2009, 10:35 AM

36 posts

QUOTE(car_o_scope @ Aug 20 2009, 11:19 AM)
Any of you here have come across an AVR with 2m powercords or detachable powercords?  hmm.gif  I am looking for one.
Not sure about the actual length of the power cords but as for those with removable power cords there are many. Any of the latest Yamahas from XV1900 onwards comes with a detachable power cord. Marantz mid-range units also have them. Not an onkyo or denon fan so not sure about those but I am sure certain models in their range do.
hsiengloong
post Aug 21 2009, 10:45 AM

~Bass Maniac~
899 posts

My Onkyo 876 does come with detachable pwoer cords.. I've asked Tong Lee during AV Fest and they mention that even if its built in power cord, they can help to exchange it with the power cord that you choose... Just make sure its done by the authorized dealer then its fine..
car_o_scope
post Aug 21 2009, 10:45 AM

Cars & HiFi fever!!
1,829 posts

QUOTE(uneek @ Aug 21 2009, 10:35 AM)
Not sure about the actual length of the power cords but as for those with removable power cords there are many. Any of the latest Yamahas from XV1900 onwards comes with a detachable power cord. Marantz mid-range units also have them. Not an onkyo or denon fan so not sure about those but I am sure certain models in their range do.
Oh no.. I am very very sorry..
I have made you all confused..
Should state the full name.

The AVR that I mentioned is Automatic Voltage Regulator.
Not Audio Video Receiver. Sorry. notworthy.gif
htkaki
post Aug 21 2009, 12:06 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(hsiengloong @ Aug 21 2009, 10:02 AM)
I bought a power conditioner (Consonance) from AV fest last month (Tong Lee), made in china. Wanted to use it to connect my AVR, LCD, sub & Dvico..

Thank god, luckily i tested it out on my PC for a few days. After the third day, the whole power conditioner blew up with a loud bang.

Now i'm trying to find for the receipt to get a claim... Imagine if i had hooked it up to my HT set..
Probably same. The conditioner blew up only and not other gears since your PC is still ok wink.gif
hsiengloong
post Aug 21 2009, 12:09 PM

~Bass Maniac~
899 posts

true but my heart would have gone with it even though ntg would have happened to my HT..
uneek
post Aug 21 2009, 02:35 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(car_o_scope @ Aug 21 2009, 10:45 AM)
Oh no.. I am very very sorry..
I have made you all confused..
Should state the full name.

The AVR that I mentioned is Automatic Voltage Regulator.
Not Audio Video Receiver. Sorry.  notworthy.gif
Well in that case I am not sure. To my knowledge if it is just a voltage regulator then odds are the cords are not detachable.
car_o_scope
post Aug 21 2009, 02:52 PM

Cars & HiFi fever!!
1,829 posts

QUOTE(uneek @ Aug 21 2009, 02:35 PM)
Well in that case I am not sure. To my knowledge if it is just a voltage regulator then odds are the cords are not detachable.
It's OK bro.. I am just trying my luck here.
Coz all the Auto Voltage Regulator that I have seen so far only come with 1m length non-detachable power cord.
tgeoklin
post Aug 21 2009, 03:54 PM

1,230 posts

QUOTE(car_o_scope @ Aug 21 2009, 02:52 PM)
It's OK bro.. I am just trying my luck here.
Coz all the Auto Voltage Regulator that I have seen so far only come with 1m length non-detachable power cord.
The APC line of AVR does not come with any cord. It uses an IEC connector type and support up to 1200Watt continuous output at 240V @ 5.2A max. Retails for around RM200 only but make sure your amp does not require more than that, otherwise, it will trip tongue.gif

Far as I can tell, its the only AVR which has a detachable cord. I am using an Isotek main cord on it fyi brows.gif

This post has been edited by tgeoklin: Aug 21 2009, 03:56 PM
car_o_scope
post Aug 21 2009, 04:00 PM

Cars & HiFi fever!!
1,829 posts

QUOTE(tgeoklin @ Aug 21 2009, 03:54 PM)
The APC line of AVR does not come with any cord. It uses an IEC connector type and support up to 1200Watt continuous output at 240V @ 5.2A max. Retails for around RM200 only but make sure your amp does not require more than that, otherwise, it will trip  tongue.gif

Far as I can tell, its the only AVR which has a detachable cord. I am using an Isotek main cord on it fyi  brows.gif
Bro... where can buy this?
It is for my stereo system.
Should be ok, right?
I will go hunt for it.
tgeoklin
post Aug 21 2009, 04:04 PM

1,230 posts

QUOTE(car_o_scope @ Aug 21 2009, 04:00 PM)
Bro... where can buy this?
It is for my stereo system.
Should be ok, right?
I will go hunt for it.
Stereo will be no problem. You can probably get the 800 watt version which is cheaper but its always better to get the best as you never know what you will add-on later. You can find it in Sri Computer @ Low Yat if in KL. Otherwise contact your local computer dealer to indent one for you icon_rolleyes.gif
car_o_scope
post Aug 21 2009, 04:23 PM

Cars & HiFi fever!!
1,829 posts

QUOTE(tgeoklin @ Aug 21 2009, 04:04 PM)
Stereo will be no problem. You can probably get the 800 watt version which is cheaper but its always better to get the best as you never know what you will add-on later. You can find it in Sri Computer @ Low Yat if in KL. Otherwise contact your local computer dealer to indent one for you  icon_rolleyes.gif
Got it.
tgeoklin
post Aug 24 2009, 07:51 AM

1,230 posts

QUOTE(cyberion86 @ Aug 12 2009, 11:57 PM)
Yes, it should. Used to have the same problem. Since getting a proper conditioner, its virtually gone thumbup.gif

But a lot depends on what type of conditioner you are using, plus you may also need to upgrade the power cables as well hmm.gif
jchong
post Aug 26 2009, 11:16 AM

5,989 posts

Look what I got in to try...

It's the PS Audio Duet Power Center, which I decided to try based on the good reviews on the Net. Of course another factor is that I could loan it from the friendly chaps at A&L. With others like the Bada, Tacima, etc I would have to buy first.

The Duet has 4 outlets (all US style) configured into 2 zones (2 plugs per zone). Each zone is isolated from the other to prevent cross contamination from plugged in equipment. I like this feature because I read that if there are no zones and you plug several components into a conditioner they can cross contaminate each other. Also, the Duet says it does not restrict current so you can plug stuff like amps, AVRs into any socket.

From the Duet to your power point, a standard IEC power cable is included. However, I used the 'white snake' instead.

So, I plugged in my AVR into Zone 1 and my blu ray player into Zone 2. This is what PS Audio recommends (i.e. separate the digital and analogue components).

Then I spent about 1-2 hours listening to Michael Buble and watched a bit of Kung Fu Panda. What was immediately noticeable was slightly better bass, by better I don't mean more bass but cleaner and more accurate bass. After some more listening I also heard more detail, this was quite apparent on Kung Fu Panda where I heard more subtle sounds and surround effects compared to before. For the Michael Buble concert I also had a greater sense of the ambience or space of the hall.

So my initial impression of the Duet is very positive, though I will spend more time with other movies to see if my opinion changes.

This post has been edited by jchong: Aug 26 2009, 11:21 AM
arremie
post Aug 26 2009, 12:20 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

how muchie?
C.T. Seong
post Aug 26 2009, 01:39 PM

494 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Aug 26 2009, 12:16 PM)
So my initial impression of the Duet is very positive, though I will spend more time with other movies to see if my opinion changes.
" AC cleaning and protection at our lowest price ever. The Duet is a no-compromise performer that features our exclusive Nano Crystalline filters, dual differential zone cleaning, over under voltage as well as surge and spike protection that is state-of-the-art. The Duet has no power limitations and will not restrict dynamic range of connected equipment. Clean spacious and open performance for audio with richer blacks and a more three diemnsional image for video. The Duet is perfect for any small system or as a standalone power center for power amplifiers of any wattage. Compact and powerful, the Duet is the perfect choice for any system" - PS Audio
bryanlee
post Aug 26 2009, 02:05 PM

111 posts

Of course another factor is that I could loan it from the friendly chaps at A&L.

wow......A&L got such service ? U must be a big big customer of it...... biggrin.gif

C.T.Seong.....can i borrow somethings also to test out at my place. hmm.gif
C.T. Seong
post Aug 26 2009, 02:29 PM

494 posts

QUOTE(bryanlee @ Aug 26 2009, 03:05 PM)
wow......A&L got such service ? U must be a big big customer of it...... biggrin.gif

C.T.Seong.....can i borrow somethings also to test out at my place. hmm.gif
brows.gif brows.gif
arremie
post Aug 26 2009, 02:33 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

QUOTE(C.T. Seong @ Aug 26 2009, 02:29 PM)
brows.gif  brows.gif
dont want ur eyebrow....want to know how much tongue.gif
jchong
post Aug 26 2009, 02:48 PM

5,989 posts

A&L quoted me RM1,290. sweat.gif
arremie
post Aug 26 2009, 02:54 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Aug 26 2009, 02:48 PM)
too much....no tq biggrin.gif
Learjet35
post Aug 26 2009, 02:56 PM

500hp
1,931 posts

Jchong,have u seen the conditioner at Mr.Lim shop ?
bryanlee
post Aug 26 2009, 02:58 PM

111 posts

OOPS......out of my budget. rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
jchong
post Aug 26 2009, 03:06 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(maryjane9996 @ Aug 26 2009, 02:56 PM)
Jchong,have u seen the conditioner at Mr.Lim shop ?
Not yet. Didn't have time to drop by, will try his shop another week.
Learjet35
post Aug 26 2009, 03:07 PM

500hp
1,931 posts

Is that power conditioner and regulator ?
jchong
post Aug 26 2009, 03:09 PM

5,989 posts

As far as I know, power conditioner only. No voltage regulation.

Added on August 26, 2009, 3:50 pmBeen doing some more googling. Seems most products for HT use are power conditioners; if you want to add in the function of voltage regulation then those are the high end models which are very expensive.

On the other hand, voltage regulators for PC use are much cheaper (like those from APC). But many don't do power conditioning.

This post has been edited by jchong: Aug 26 2009, 03:50 PM
moomoos
post Aug 26 2009, 07:26 PM

Mushi Mushi
1,409 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Aug 26 2009, 02:54 PM)
too much....no tq biggrin.gif
QUOTE(bryanlee @ Aug 26 2009, 02:58 PM)
OOPS......out of my budget. rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
brothers....thats quality stuff....
arremie
post Aug 26 2009, 11:13 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

useless for me. can't use US socket. all my power cables use UK plug hak milik hospital tongue.gif
s6xs9x
post Aug 26 2009, 11:31 PM

My Stars Not Growing?
904 posts

Mine Klinic oni.
jchong
post Aug 26 2009, 11:39 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Aug 26 2009, 11:13 PM)
useless for me. can't use US socket. all my power cables use UK plug hak milik hospital tongue.gif
Can always re-terminate with US plug what... like Furutech, Wattgate... smile.gif
arremie
post Aug 26 2009, 11:41 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Aug 26 2009, 11:39 PM)
Can always re-terminate with US plug what... like Furutech, Wattgate... smile.gif
true but extra unnecessary cost smile.gif
C.T. Seong
post Aug 27 2009, 11:50 AM

494 posts

QUOTE(bryanlee @ Aug 26 2009, 03:58 PM)
OOPS......out of my budget. rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
come come....let's go to lunch and discuss further...
wink.gif
Learjet35
post Aug 27 2009, 12:29 PM

500hp
1,931 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Aug 26 2009, 11:41 PM)
true but extra unnecessary cost smile.gif
He got new project to spend the paycheck.. tongue.gif
C.T. Seong
post Aug 27 2009, 04:02 PM

494 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Aug 27 2009, 12:13 AM)
don't worry
It available in 220v - 240v receptacle (UK plug)
arremie
post Aug 27 2009, 04:10 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

QUOTE(C.T. Seong @ Aug 27 2009, 04:02 PM)
don't worry
It available in 220v - 240v receptacle (UK plug)
u always have a way round laugh.gif rclxms.gif
jchong
post Aug 27 2009, 04:27 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(C.T. Seong @ Aug 27 2009, 04:02 PM)
don't worry
It available in 220v - 240v receptacle (UK plug) smile.gif
Seong, Duet available in UK plug meh? I thought only Quintet has UK plug version (but only 5 instead of 10 in the US version).
C.T. Seong
post Aug 29 2009, 01:23 PM

494 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Aug 27 2009, 05:27 PM)
Seong, Duet available in UK plug meh? I thought only Quintet has UK plug version (but only 5 instead of 10 in the US version).
yes, it is.
dopp
post Sep 2 2009, 03:35 PM

1,733 posts

Just bought :

jchong
post Sep 2 2009, 04:04 PM

5,989 posts

dopp, how much is that and where did you buy it from?
dopp
post Sep 2 2009, 04:09 PM

1,733 posts

$220 bought in Penang
arremie
post Sep 2 2009, 04:13 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

pretty cheap smile.gif
moomoos
post Sep 2 2009, 04:36 PM

Mushi Mushi
1,409 posts

QUOTE(C.T. Seong @ Aug 27 2009, 11:50 AM)
come come....let's go to lunch and discuss further...
wink.gif
jchong Dinner pula... haha

Added on September 2, 2009, 4:39 pm
QUOTE(dopp @ Sep 2 2009, 03:35 PM)
Just bought :

From Photo.... haha
Manufacture Unit : Bolih land Sound Development Corp

This post has been edited by moomoos: Sep 2 2009, 04:39 PM
jchong
post Sep 2 2009, 04:43 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(dopp @ Sep 2 2009, 04:09 PM)
$220 bought in Penang
Quite cheap. Around the same price as the Tacima.
C.T. Seong
post Sep 10 2009, 12:44 PM

494 posts

PS Audio DUET

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Slf6PgkpL2Q

jchong
post Sep 15 2009, 02:21 PM

5,989 posts

Recently I was informed about a type of power conditioner which uses an isolation transformer. Apparently it is a higher end type of conditioner which adds an isolation transformer to do superior noise filtering, surge suppression, etc.

As a result, this type of conditioner is bigger and heavier than those which look like a power strip.

Anybody heard of this type before?
scsoo
post Oct 17 2009, 07:44 PM

427 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Aug 16 2009, 11:36 PM)
u have to install it closest to ur DB for best effect. i purposely pull another plug direct from my DB just to install it. anyway let's wait for my 1st bill smile.gif
Boss, your E2saver so far got any help to you getting less charges from TNB? Interested to know as I believe you got bill from TNB already since...

Wanna know as wanna follow ship if it really helps.....
Bishop
post Oct 17 2009, 11:03 PM

Diagonal Views
816 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Sep 2 2009, 04:43 PM)
Quite cheap. Around the same price as the Tacima.
Where to buy Tacima?

arremie
post Oct 17 2009, 11:27 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

QUOTE(scsoo @ Oct 17 2009, 07:44 PM)
Boss, your E2saver so far got any help to you getting less charges from TNB? Interested to know as I believe you got bill from TNB already since...

Wanna know as wanna follow ship if it really helps.....
my bill maintain around 250 per month. before that it was 300+ so definitely got saving

so now i can dump 600w power amp into my setup and another 2hp aircon whistling.gif

Added on October 17, 2009, 11:30 pm
QUOTE(Bishop @ Oct 17 2009, 11:03 PM)
Where to buy Tacima?
http://www.futureshop.co.uk/tacima-cs929-6...-2m-p-2055.html

with current exchange rate its <rm220 plus shipping.

This post has been edited by arremie: Oct 17 2009, 11:30 PM
scsoo
post Oct 18 2009, 01:06 AM

427 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Oct 18 2009, 12:27 AM)
my bill maintain around 250 per month. before that it was 300+ so definitely got saving

so now i can dump 600w power amp into my setup and another 2hp aircon whistling.gif
Oh.. so no saving (That if you dump in another 600W and 2 HP AirCond) Maybe got increase somemore......

So, look like its worth, you got 20% saving...... at the moment.....
arremie
post Oct 18 2009, 02:47 AM

hmm...
4,865 posts

QUOTE(scsoo @ Oct 18 2009, 01:06 AM)
Oh.. so no saving (That if you dump in another 600W and 2 HP AirCond) Maybe got increase somemore......

So, look like its worth, you got 20% saving...... at the moment.....
yeah they claimed from 10-40%. my friend got 40% saving but he use lame a$$ htib tongue.gif
mikapoh
post Oct 18 2009, 09:27 AM

1,263 posts

Guys,

HOw is it compare Tacima with Belkin Gold series?? Any difference made to our system?

scsoo
post Oct 19 2009, 11:01 AM

427 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Oct 18 2009, 03:47 AM)
yeah they claimed from 10-40%. my friend got 40% saving but he use lame a$$ htib tongue.gif
Look like need to save up to buy the power saver... Also to buy a lame a$$ HTIB to get 40% saving......
Bishop
post Oct 19 2009, 04:25 PM

Diagonal Views
816 posts

QUOTE(arremie @ Oct 17 2009, 11:27 PM)

Added on October 17, 2009, 11:30 pm
http://www.futureshop.co.uk/tacima-cs929-6...-2m-p-2055.html

with current exchange rate its <rm220 plus shipping.
Heard UK postmen all on strike... rclxub.gif

Added on October 19, 2009, 4:30 pm
QUOTE(mikapoh @ Oct 18 2009, 09:27 AM)
Guys,

HOw is it compare Tacima with Belkin Gold series?? Any difference made to our system?
I also wondering this, cause can get Belkin Gold here in Malaysia...

This post has been edited by Bishop: Oct 19 2009, 04:30 PM
arremie
post Oct 20 2009, 12:51 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

belkin got no whathifi 5 stars tongue.gif cabutz...
viper1912
post Oct 21 2009, 11:49 AM

44 posts

The item mentioned earlier by the forumer on CN Lim shop is this Abis Conditioner.

http://sites.thestar.com.my/audio/story.as...reviews/4238821.

Btw, CN Lim also do sell Tacima CS929 and the Abis.

I personally owned both the Tacima n Abis. I found Abis gives better picture resolution on my CRT. I can see the differences.
arremie
post Oct 21 2009, 12:58 PM

hmm...
4,865 posts

CRT? doh.gif:

0.0574sec    0.37    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 04:02 AM